Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP Envy dv6-7245us Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Next Gen AMD A10 Accelerated Processor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Office Depot.

HP Envy dv6-7245us Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Next Gen AMD A10 Accelerated Processor

Item #:100879
Average Customer Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(4)
4 stars
(3)
3 stars
(0)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(2)
7 of 9(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HP Envy dv6-7245us Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Next Gen AMD A10 Accelerated Processor
Review 1 for HP Envy dv6-7245us Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Next Gen AMD A10 Accelerated Processor
May 29, 2013
Tazzin
Dallas, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:36 - 45

solid laptop

Pros: Sound Quality, Good Value, Display Screen, Design, keys soft to touch, speakers well placed
Cons: Performance, battery life, Difficult to Set Up
First off I have HP PAVILION DV9917CL I bought from Sams for about 900 that is no longer cutting it due to the fact it can't handle HD video, but compared to this laptop dv6-7245us (at the time 550.00 after all rebates and discounts), the performance is incredibly better than that of the DV9917CL due to 2 more processors and 3 more gigs of memory and video increase. The video is of the 7660G is satisfactory for that I need it for HD Playback of videos The speakers are cleverly just below the monitor facing the user instead of on the keyboard facing up or in front/bottom where they can muffled by object directly in front of the laptop. The battery is average typical 2.25 hours of work once you unplug.. only average use there. I use this for my computer repair business for many different things and the performance is solid. If you want to get something done, this will do the job. Of course it is not a gaming laptop so dont expect blazing speed when they talk about 'boost' to 3.20 ghz of processor speed. It helps but again. Is not a gaming machine but can handle some light 3d games. Portal, etc. The Display is VERY clear. Also, for people that moan and complain the start menu missing.. Just download Start8 start menu addin. Looks just like Windows 7 start menu (barring a little theme color difference and font difference). I'm actually using it now and it works great. So for a ~ $550.00. You will definitely get the job done for the average user with this laptop. OH, one other con is the brand of hard drive they used in this one.. a Seagate. In my line of business I have seen more Seagates, Fujitsu's, & Toshiba hard drives go bad faster they anything else. HP needs to bite the bullet and get Western Digital brand. I feel those are better and last longer. Just my personal and professional observation. And Yes, i have all WD hard drives in my personal desktops and laptops where applicable. ;) I also run Avast Free and Comodo Firewall free which is a bit more taxing on the system during start but once started, all the hardware kicks in and handles the processing just fine. Average or slightly better than average for what the processor and memory are defined as in the specs. A little disappointed that this didn't come with a minimum of a blu-ray player but that's ok, i can always replace that at a later date. I hope this helps.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Envy dv6-7245us Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Next Gen AMD A10 Accelerated Processor
May 7, 2013
pops
jax, florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65

bad build

Pros: Easy to Set Up
Cons: Build Quality
got one that had a bad dvd player.... took it back.
second one had a bad sound card. hear music,pop, music stop,pop,hear music. updated drivers. did not help. took it as a sign.....
got a refund
Staff was awesome trying to help me.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Envy dv6-7245us Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Next Gen AMD A10 Accelerated Processor
March 13, 2013
Cali007
Danville, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:In-store

Not just for the price

Pros: value, Battery Life, Easy to Use, Design, Performance, expandable memory to 16gb, Sound Quality
Cons: Display Screen
With the Quad-Core and latest graphics card, this laptop is good for both business and home. It has a numeric keypad which comes in handy to us accountants. The screen resolution could be better though. It's fast when switching between programs and can be made even faster if upgraded to its full RAM capacity of 16GB. Standard that comes built-in: 6 GB. This laptop will serve my needs for a few years to come. I've always had better luck with AMD cores... So I might be a little biased towards this model.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Envy dv6-7245us Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Next Gen AMD A10 Accelerated Processor
March 2, 2013
William Croft
Denver CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Pleasure
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:16 - 25

Impressed!!!

Pros: Features, Quiet, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Design, Performance, good for mid to high end gaming, audio, windows 8
Cons: no samich', price was about $100 high but not an issue.
So, i scoped this bad boy out for over a month. I bought it at the office depot next to my work. Once a week I would go in just to keep interest and check a few more specs out on this laptop. Let's start with Windows 8. So many computer users talk down on windows 8. I think it's new and very user friendly and that's what I like about Technology and why I show interest in what I do. I'm not going to sit here and talk about Windows 8 because that's not what this reviews about. It's A10 processor is pretty comparable to an i5 3RD Generation CPU. It doesn't handle multi-tasking as well as the i5, but that is not what it was made for. This CPU is built for Power. The power it provides is enough to run Mid. to Med-High games. Unfortunately it won't max out the one game i wanted it to (World of Warcraft). But it come pretty close. I can run the game on High around (29FPS), but i dropped the View distance a click and it popped it up to (48fps). The reason behind that it the processor. But overall, i spent $600 on this computer. It's fantastic. If you buying this for a gaming computer and your on a $600 budget, this is the one. If you can spare more to spend, go upgraded to an XPS.
So away from what it can run.
The design it self is fantastic. It's metal Lid and palm rests are great.
The buttons are sturdy and well designed as well as the touch pad and buttons. All very firm and feel right when using them. The 10-key is a way bonus. The Finger scanner (AWESOME!!!!!) You can set websites up to automatically log in with a swipe of a finger (And you can set up all 10 of you fingers to 10 different things!!!) Very awesome. I haven't taken this mobile yet, so no comment on battery life. (Guessing 4 hours of use, 7 or 8 on standby?, just guessing.) The screen is beautiful, clear, and vibrant. Of course the beats Audio is a bonus. Since i haven't a pare of Beats, I can be beneficent from it's potential. Straight speakers sound very good. The computer has a Sub woofer installed in the lower part of the computer. Nice! The laptop itself is quiet and stays cool (On a cooling pad *PUN!*) No reading on Temp.
Con:
Seems to be making my Palms sweaty O.O' haha...
Doesn't make me breakfast
Expected more for the price, but it's still way worth it.
To leave this post with a good note =)
Amazing PC, Glad i purchased it.
Runs, WoW at 50 FPS in Mid- High
Planet Side 2 on Low (Massive Game)
Diablo 2 on max with 40-50 FPS average.
Other games from 11-12' on Med to High with high FPS.
LOVE!
F3X
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Envy dv6-7245us Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Next Gen AMD A10 Accelerated Processor
December 25, 2012
Christmas kid
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Student
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online

I love it

Pros: Features, Quiet, Design, Performance
This was my Christmas gift and i love it. I Don't see why some people don't like it. The fan works like a charm, it sounds like it isn't even on when it is running. WIndows 8 is easy and a lot better. This is a recommended buy, The only game i played so far was team fortress 2 and i had no problem with it, it is installing metro 2033 right now and i'm sure that will work well too
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Envy dv6-7245us Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Next Gen AMD A10 Accelerated Processor
December 20, 2012
DC
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65

Nice Laptop

Pros: Value for Money, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Performance
First laptop purchase (always purchased desktop). So far, so good. Was a bit crazy trying to navigate Windows 8, but after a day or two all is good.
Review 7 for HP Envy dv6-7245us Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Next Gen AMD A10 Accelerated Processor
December 19, 2012
Monique
Chulavista, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Pleasure
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female
Age:16 - 25

right now I love it!

Pros: Features, Design, Performance
Cons: battery life
It's been a week and right now I'm very happy with this laptop. It's actually more than I expected.
I play video games so I was trying to get a nice laptop with a decent graphic card for a little nice price because right now I don't have money for a very expensive laptop for gaming, so I decided this one. RIGHT NOW i played so far SKYRIM, NFS:MOST WANTED and SLEEPING DOGS I know they are not to much games but it's been only a week haha, and I played them with no problem at all, all of 3 I played them in high medium resolution or even in high, and they work fine more than I expected!, my next games that I'm going to try are Hitman absolution, Assassins creed 3 and battlefield 3 when I try them I'll tell you. OH and by the way It never gets hot only a little warm but that's all.
I love the metallic design, its very nice and feels nice, the keyboard is good to I don't have any problems with it. the sound quality its good I actually expect more because of the beats audio but it's okay, the battery life it's good but I really really would love to last longer, but still okay.
I would recommend this.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Envy dv6-7245us Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Next Gen AMD A10 Accelerated Processor
December 3, 2012
ALLEN123
ATLANTA, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:26 - 35

worst purchase forever

Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Short Battery Life, Design, Performance, Build Quality, noisy, hot, keyboard
I bought this computer several days ago, when I removed the plastic cover, the cover of the speaker was also off from the computer. then when I set up the computer, the fan is keep running, and the computer become very hot, and noisy. The right-click keyboard is very loose make big noise. The most wired thing is the DVD-ROM continue running automatically time by time. overall, this machine is very cheap and not value the price. will never buy a HP laptop.
5 of 30 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Envy dv6-7245us Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Next Gen AMD A10 Accelerated Processor
October 28, 2012
ProfessionalUser
Goldsboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:26 - 35

Excellent Bargain

Pros: Value for Money, Features, Battery Life, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Design, Performance
This was a great buy. I am very impressed with the multi-tasking abilities of this laptop. I work with very large databases in Access and they run flawlessly on this machine! I was skeptical of Windows 8, but after a day of use, I am able to navigate with no problem, and actually enjoying it more than Windows 7! Definitely a recommendation to anyone.
30 of 31 people found this review helpful.