Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso

Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso

Item #:101095
Average Customer Rating:
4.397 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(305 Reviews) 303
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(186)
4 stars
(86)
3 stars
(13)
2 stars
(8)
1 star
(12)
254 of 280(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
Review 1 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
October 20, 2014
LeAnn
Sarasota, Fl.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Regret the purchase

Pros: Functional
Cons: Packaging, Easily Damaged
Item has several damage markings.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
October 20, 2014
Rocky
Santa Clara, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Nice table

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
The assembly has 27 steps. Took so long to assemble. But all the details are well done including the packaging of screws. One problem though happened when we install the left side drawer, it didn't fit. We realized that the pre installed rails are wrongly placed. We uninstalled it and corrected then it fit well.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
October 20, 2014
Junior
Dyer, IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Good price for average product

Pros: Appearance/Design
Cons: Quality: Flimsy
Item was ordered online, on sale with free delivery. We also ordered the hutch. Saw the products in store, visually looked good and nice size for home office. Once products where deliver, they where just left on the porch. When opening the box we right away saw a shelf cracked. While assembling desk another piece cracked. Customer service offered exchange but we took a partial refund to not deal with the repackaging of desk.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
October 20, 2014
Karen
Annapolis, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Love It!

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight
This is a really nice desk. I highly recommend it for a corner desk! It is very sturdy and well made.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
October 17, 2014
Mervin
Seattle WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Laminate peels off with post-it notes

Pros: Functional
Cons: Easily Damaged, Difficult to Assemble, Quality: Flimsy
Bought this for our office room. Had kept some post-it notes on the desk. Upon removing the post-its guess what, the laminate simply peeled off and now I have a desk with exposed particle board and looks very shabby.
Didnt realize this desk would be so flimsy. Totally disrecommend!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
October 13, 2014
Gabriella
Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

disappointed consumer

Cons: Easily Damaged, Difficult to Assemble
Was disappointed in the product. It was already damaged on the top surface of the desk, but was in need of a desk and didn't have the time to send back and receive another one. Took over 3 ours to put together. It's usable, but poor quality
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
October 8, 2014
Matt
Telford,pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Very good

Pros: Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy
Good price, not to difficult to put together and pretty quick service when picking up the product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
October 7, 2014
Lisa
Milwaukee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Nice desk for the price

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Size & Weight, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: Unaligned
They only bad thing is that the drawers don't align properly. But what are you going to do send it back? It's too big to do that.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
September 30, 2014
Devon
Seattle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Nice looking, but how will it age?

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design
Cons: Easily Damaged
I got this desk at an incredible deal. Was on sale and then another 35% off coupon (think I paid $120 for it after tax). So for less than half the normal cost I have to say I'm pleased. Though reading other reviews and having a few nicked pieces to start with I am somewhat concerned about how long it will last or at least how long it will look good.
Obviously you'll want to keep water or any kind of moisture away from the surface & definitely use coasters. Second you'll want to take great care to not scratch the surface as the lament is paper thin and easily scratched. Because this is the "Espresso" color one might be able to hide minor dings and scratches with a sharpie.
Bottom line for what I paid I'm please and my wife and kids thinks it looks nice as well. Unlike other furniture such as book cases and such a desk you use quite a bit, so we'll see how it holds up over time. I would probably not recommend this as a professional work desk just because the surface is so easily scratched. I'm sure if you show this desk some tender loving care it will last okay
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
September 29, 2014
Sardinha
Seattle
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

You get what you paid

Pros: cost
Cons: Easily Damaged, Size & Weight, Quality: Flimsy
I got this in a very good deal.
Quality wise is OK for the price.
Cover is sort of paper, scratches easily.
Place for chair is small.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
September 29, 2014
Impressed
South Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Very Impressed

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight
This desk is very nice looking, and was fairly easy to put together. Connecting the two sides together should be done with two people, or with one person and some ingenuity.
I am very impressed with the quality, especially for this lower-range price.
I would definitely buy another one, and I would recommend this to anyone.
Also, it was very easy to order this online, and then pick up at the store. The store staff were all very helpful and accommodating.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
September 29, 2014
LindaH
Penn Valley CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Excellent value for Business or Home

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: Packaging, Size & Weight
Very sturdy, nice looking and probably one of the easiest pieces of furniture to put together but it still took 5 hours to do it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
September 29, 2014
sama208
newyork ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

l shape desk

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy
Best Purchase 2014 excellent design as I see.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
September 29, 2014
Fireoasis
Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Wonderful desk

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design
Cons: Easily Damaged
This desk is sharp looking. The process to put together is very simple if you can follow directions. The ONLY downside is the 'leather inset' piece. This scratches very easily and I see in the future that I will either need to replace it someway or cover it, which defeats the purpose of it in the first place.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
September 29, 2014
Bhavin
Moody, Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Worth it !

Pros: Quality of Material, Features, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy
Excellent quality of wood. Solid. It seems assembly will be very time consuming since there are a lot of parts. I wish Officedepot had a video which I could have seen and assembled the desk. I am more of a video person so reading instructions on a page becomes very hard for me but that does not take away anything from the product. Product is excellent. They do have phone support to help you assemble so it may work for some of you but I would have done better with a video.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
September 28, 2014
MSRE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Home Office

Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Cons: Easily Damaged, Difficult to Assemble, instructions
For the sale price $159, I guess it was worth it. The box weighs approx 170 lbs and 5' long, I had heck of a time getting it in the house #my fault, I told the delivery guy to leave on porch or I guess they would've brought it in#. The top and the drawer fronts are nice, the rest is particle board/pressed board, cheap/flimsy/easily broken. It took me literally all day to assemble this myself, with help putting the top on because of the weight and length and trying to match up the pegs/holes. The instructions aren't the greatest -,drawing/diagrams, no words, but I figured it out. I do have to say that all the little screws etc are in bags marked to match the step they go to and that was very helpful! The color says espresso which to me is brown #referencing other furniture I've purchased# and this is more of a black/brown, looks black from distance, which I like/prefer for this room. I just hope it lasts!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
September 22, 2014
Brandy
Saint Louis
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

great look

Pros: Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Size & Weight
LOTS of pieces to assemble. But a very nice and functional piece of furniture . the tracks were on backwards for the file drawer so if you find yourself puzzled as to why it won't snap in and close..just reserve them. Could of just been a fluke on mine
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
September 6, 2014
rudebwoyja
Mount Kisco, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

great desk for a great price

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight
This is as good as it gets for self assembled furniture. The instructions were properly explained and each step was numbers and the individual parts were packaged to coincide with the steps
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
September 5, 2014
AdminAssistant
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Easy Assembly

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design
Cons: Easily Damaged
So far, this seems like a great desk. It's very easy to assemble, looks nice in our small office, and gives plenty of room to work and organize.
Not sure how well it will hold up over time, but it's not bad for the price!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
September 2, 2014
Brad
Cincinnati, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Surprisingly Nice

Pros: Appearance/Design, Durable, Quality
Cons: sticky drawer
After taking about 2.5 hours to put together I was very pleased with the quality of this desk. I have one drawer that sticks a little but overall I am pleased
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>