Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso

Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso

Item #:101095
Average Customer Rating:
4.431 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(290 Reviews) 288
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(182)
4 stars
(80)
3 stars
(10)
2 stars
(7)
1 star
(11)
244 of 266(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
Review 1 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
September 28, 2014
MSRE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Home Office

Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Cons: Easily Damaged, Difficult to Assemble, instructions
For the sale price $159, I guess it was worth it. The box weighs approx 170 lbs and 5' long, I had heck of a time getting it in the house #my fault, I told the delivery guy to leave on porch or I guess they would've brought it in#. The top and the drawer fronts are nice, the rest is particle board/pressed board, cheap/flimsy/easily broken. It took me literally all day to assemble this myself, with help putting the top on because of the weight and length and trying to match up the pegs/holes. The instructions aren't the greatest -,drawing/diagrams, no words, but I figured it out. I do have to say that all the little screws etc are in bags marked to match the step they go to and that was very helpful! The color says espresso which to me is brown #referencing other furniture I've purchased# and this is more of a black/brown, looks black from distance, which I like/prefer for this room. I just hope it lasts!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
September 22, 2014
Brandy
Saint Louis
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

great look

Pros: Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Size & Weight
LOTS of pieces to assemble. But a very nice and functional piece of furniture . the tracks were on backwards for the file drawer so if you find yourself puzzled as to why it won't snap in and close..just reserve them. Could of just been a fluke on mine
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
September 6, 2014
rudebwoyja
Mount Kisco, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

great desk for a great price

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight
This is as good as it gets for self assembled furniture. The instructions were properly explained and each step was numbers and the individual parts were packaged to coincide with the steps
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
September 5, 2014
AdminAssistant
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Easy Assembly

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design
Cons: Easily Damaged
So far, this seems like a great desk. It's very easy to assemble, looks nice in our small office, and gives plenty of room to work and organize.
Not sure how well it will hold up over time, but it's not bad for the price!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
September 2, 2014
Brad
Cincinnati, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Surprisingly Nice

Pros: Appearance/Design, Durable, Quality
Cons: sticky drawer
After taking about 2.5 hours to put together I was very pleased with the quality of this desk. I have one drawer that sticks a little but overall I am pleased
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
August 30, 2014
JEB
Sealy, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Nice desk!

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design
This is a great desk. It looks nice and the sale price was reasonable. This IS a particle board desk, but it's leather topped desktop and simple hardware makes it look like an expensive piece of furniture. It took me about 3 ½ hrs to assemble. The directions were very easy to follow. All of the pieces were clearly labeled and each page had it's own clearly labeled packet of hardware you use to assemble that specific part of the desk. I gave this desk a 4 stars because it is, after all, a particle board desk. The drawers are nice but will not be sturdy enough to hold large textbooks...but will do the trick for paper and light office products. Also, I'm not sure if I will be able to disassemble and reassemble when my daughter goes to college in a couple of years...
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
August 25, 2014
CJRicks
McKinney, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Solid, Hits Above Weight

Pros: Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: Unaligned, lengthly time to assemble
This desk is solid, especially for the price. It looks much nicer than its price would suggest and is a good size and fit for most office spaces, I'd imagine. Like others have mentioned, it takes considerable time to assemble, but the instructions are very detailed and well organized. I highly recommend this desk to anyone, just make sure you've set aside a lot of time.
One drawback, be wary of the leg "cushions" that supposedly protect the floor if you move the desk some. One of the nails stuck through the protective plastic and ended up scratching our hardwood floor, instead of protecting it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
August 25, 2014
LK250
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Sturdy, roomy & beautiful

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy
I was so surprised by this desk. It was exceptionally easy to assemble: the directions are crystal clear and the hardware is packaged individually by steps. The desk is a beautiful espresso color, and the faux leather insert is a really nice touch. The desk is very sturdy also, which I didn't expect considering the materials used.
The cabinet and drawers are very roomy (I have a laptop computer so I can use the CPU cabinet as storage) so you may not need the coordinating hutch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
August 21, 2014
lbaker4476
League City, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Extremely Pleased

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy
The desk goes together very easily. I love that they have the many little pieces separated into little pouches by steps. Looks awesome all put together; almost like it's a professional built-in desk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
August 18, 2014
Woodrizzo
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Magellan Desk

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy
Great desk and great value. Instructions were very clear and not confusing at all. Very Happy with Purchase
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
August 16, 2014
Lynn
Margate FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Looks great

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight
The desk is well made and looks great. I wanted the larger model - but it wouldn't fit in the area we had designated for our "ofice". I was afraid that there wouldn't be room for all our "things"...but I'm amazed at what the desk has accomodated - especially with the addition of the hutch. Great desk - epecially for the price!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
August 14, 2014
Yerik
Los Angeles, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Other

The MOST ACCURATE REVIEW OF THIS THING

Pros: Quality of Material, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, easy installation
Cons: Easily Damaged, no computer ventilation
First off, I'd like to mention that I am a gamer, so my desktop is a huge engine that requires a lot of airflow.
After 2 hours of assembling this together, I was a little frustrated to find out that my desktop barely fit into the computer storage unit of the desk.
Even though it fit, I didn't keep my computer in there for over an hour because I knew it would overheat due to the lack of ventilation on the back wall. A computer collects airflow from the sides/tops/front (depending on your build), and throws out the hotter air out the back. If the back is completely covered without any opening besides two small holes for wiring, the computer will be damaged. It might not be fast, but over time, I guarantee your computer will crash on you.
I can't remove the back wall of the computer storage because then that would be a whole other hour to do, and I won't be certain that the desk will be stable after.
This didn't cause me too much trouble, because the desk is big enough to put my desktop on the bottom right side of the desk (in the corner) without any trouble. Only wires look a little unorganized, but that's my fault.
Second, my chair is high, so I actually liked the fact that I could not install the keyboard frame. I just use the whole desk for my monitor/keyboard/mouse.
Third, I feel like any hard object placed on this unit will easily scratch it. Buy a desk cover, or just don't even care about those scratches.
Fourth, the desk is higher than the average work station, so If you're tall like me, this is a good desk.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
August 13, 2014
KIM
VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

HIGH END LOOK

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight
ENDLESSLY SEARCHED AND THE LAST PLACED I LOOKED FOR A DESK FOR 19 YEAR OLD SON, BEST DEAL AND PLEASANTLY SURPRISED AT HOW EXPENSIVE IT LOOKS. IT IS JUST BEAUTIFUL!! MASCULINE AND HAS SIGNIFICANT PRESENCE. SLIGHTLY TEDIOUS AND TIME CONSUMING (3 HRS) TO ASSEMBLE BUT EASY ENOUGH FOR KIDS TO DO. MY 14 YEAR OLD ASSISTED HIM. PACKED VERY WELL. SO HAPPY WITH THIS PURCHASE AND I AM SO PICKY .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
August 10, 2014
MLS
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Looks more expensive than it costs

Pros: value, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
Fairly easy to assemble -- seen more difficult, seen less difficult but overall if you read the manual so you know what each step leads to it's a piece of cake. The hardware is in a string of bags that are labeled for each step -- you rip open step 1 to perform step 1, step 2 for step 2, and so on and so forth. Assembly instructions were written by someone with a grasp of English and, surprisingly enough, Spanish.
Material is fiberboard, but rather sturdy and comes with an attractive finish. Fit is above average for the price. Leatherette surface looks and feels far beyond the price of the desk.
No real complaints with the desk. Any shortcomings -- the fiberboard, leatherette over leather, drawer hardware, etc, relate to it being a <$1000 desk.
Purchased this with the hutch as well. Hutch is about the same; great value and looks far more expensive than it is.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
August 5, 2014
Momto5Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Beautiful Desk

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
I was really surprised by how nice it looks. It has a "leather" top on one half that I'm sure it will help with wear and tear of the surface. There’s plenty of working surface space and storage drawer space too. This is a great desk and you can't beat the price!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
July 31, 2014
Andrew
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Real Nice, Clark.

Pros: Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Size & Weight, Well Made/ Sturdy
I got this while it was on sale for $149 - and I'd have to say, it was an awesome buy at that price. Sure, it's made of particle board with a laminate veneer (the desk top and drawer faces are a good quality MDF#, but honestly, you'd never know it without giving it a close inspection. The color is nice and fits in with most any decor. Once assembled, it is very stout; I’d imagine that with normal wear-and-tear it should last for years. I'm not sure if the leather insert is authentic leather or faux, but it does add a nice touch and looks good. There is plenty of space on one end for two, 24-inch monitors, which leaves the other end free for paperwork or peripherals. It took me a little over an hour to assemble the desk, but I could see this giving someone a headache who doesn't have much furniture-assembly experience or patience.
My only real gripe #and it's a small one) is that the drawer slides are a little on the cheap side. They work fine enough, but some nicer, smoother units would have been nice.
At the normal price, it's a good buy; at the sale price, it's a steal. I'm actually heading out tonight to pick up a matching file cabinet and hutch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
July 15, 2014
MistieAnn
Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Nice and simple to install

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight
Cons: Unaligned
The box I received was huge and contained a bunch of parts. However, once I opened them and got familiar with everything, I began to put the pieces together. The directions were pretty easy to understand, The separate packages with the little screws made each step super easy to do. Only one issue I came across was one piece contained the incorrect letter which made me have to go back a step and change around the set-up. Overall the set up was very easy to follow as I did it on my own (and yes I am a girl :-)). The pieces were in good shape with a very few scratches. The desk is really nice for the price I got and was exactly what I was looking for! The color is beautiful! Great buy!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
July 14, 2014
Lucas C
Pasadena, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Great L-Shaped Desk!

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: Packaging, Size & Weight
If you are looking for an L-Shaped desk look no further. This is a great one that comes in 3 colors. For our office we have purchased two, one oak and one espresso. It has a lot of draw space and also a place for a pc tower if needed (if not even more storage!). The only down side was the package was very large and heavy. This caused there to be damage inside of the espresso packaging. One piece that was needed on the first step was cracked completely in half. I was able to go back to the store I bought it at and pick up a replacement part after speaking to a manager. I will be going back to get replacement tops, as both the pieces that make up the top of the desk were damaged as well, there were multiple scratches and dings.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
July 12, 2014
Brian
Washington, DC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Performance and Elegance

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
This desk is affordable, durable, functional and elegant. My last desk seemed like an airplane tray table by comparison.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
July 12, 2014
Marcus
el paso,tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

worth it

Pros: Quality of Material, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight
It's a beautiful desk. Instructions are easy to follos, there's a lot of them though.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>