Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso

Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso

Item #:101095
Average Customer Rating:
4.31 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(387 Reviews) 384
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(225)
4 stars
(110)
3 stars
(19)
2 stars
(13)
1 star
(20)
313 of 350(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
Review 1 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 24, 2015
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great looking and functional desk

Pros: Durable, value, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
Cons: Quality
I needed a desk for my home office. However I did not had a big budget. I found this desk with good reviews at a discounted price. It was easy to put together, step by step instructions, it just took a few hours to be put together. The only problem I had is that I hit the side of one of the corners with my hand to make the little wood guides to get in the hole and a small part of the black finish came off (it pealed very easy, I am not that strong). Please do not hit it near a screw or a wood guide thing. I love it, very funtional, sturdy and stylish.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 24, 2015
Lexington, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Broken, scratched,

Pros: Appearance/Design
Cons: Quality, Flimsy, arrived broken
I ordered 2 of these for my office. Once we started assembling the first one we quickly got to a piece that split as we were trying to screw it together. After setting it aside and ordering a replacement part, we started on the 2nd desk. It had 3 broken pieces. We were able to get one full desk assembled while waiting for our 4 parts to be delivered. They were wrapped well with no damage to the packaging so I feel like they were shipped broken.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 23, 2015
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Uh-oh--Get what you pay for

Pros: Features, Appearance/Design, Size & Weight, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: Easily Damaged, extremely easy to scratch
Husband had no problem putting together except for the drawers which are all labeled the same. Make sure the grooves for the rails are alike for each side of the drawer. We found 4 identical sides and two identical with each other but not with the others. Once we figured that out and matched sides, the drawers fit perfectly.
Should have given the poor reviews about the extremely poor quality of the finish more attention. I read where people were applying an acrylic finish to keep it from scratching so easily. Would sure like to know how that turned out for the others--for us, it still scratches easily even after 3 coats.....keeping the Sharpie busy. Get what you pay for, I guess. But, very sad that a desk that looks so good is finished so poorly that you cannot comfortably use it without experiencing damage.. Never had this problem with Sauder products..
It's nice to look at.. Bought the blotter to help protect the right side. But, all in all...we regret this purchase because a desk should be used, not just looked at. A lot of work went into assembling and protecting the finish, and will have to keep for awhile, but convinced now that we should have invested in a better quality desk.
Wondering why there are so many 4 & 5 star reviews with this problem???? Did they get a different finish than the rest of us? Pay attention to the negative reviews. They are true. Wish we had.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 21, 2015
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

it is ok

Pros: Appearance/Design, Comfortable
Cons: Easily Damaged, Difficult to Assemble, Size & Weight
took a long time to put together to many parts
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 18, 2015
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Scratched pieces

This desk would make a nice desk if it does not come with scratched pieces. It seems like every piece is scratched. BEWARE THIS DESK COMES WITH A LOT OF SCRATCHES.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 16, 2015
Las Vegas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great Value and Good Quality

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight
Lots of pieces, but it was actually somewhat fun putting it together. Instructions were VERY easy and clear, so there was no confusion on what went where and how. Seems like a nice product for the money. Looks great with the hutch and offers lots of storage with drawers and cabinets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 15, 2015
Gainesville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Very Nice Desk!

Pros: Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: Easily Damaged, Size & Weight
I read a lot of the reviews myself before deciding to buy this desk and went ahead and made the purchase. I could not be more happier with this wonderful desk! It's sturdy, well made, has lots of draw space, and has a nice finish. Love it! Only downside is it's heavy and nicks easily.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 14, 2015
ct
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

ok desk, chips easy

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design
Cons: Easily Damaged, Quality: Flimsy, Unaligned
the directions were easy, easy to put together. However the laminate cips quite easily and this is putting in hardware given. Parts needed were separated by each step which was awesome and made assembly easier.
Color espresso is more black than brown, does take quite a while to assemble and som
e screws were stripped. have liguid nails on hand
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 10, 2015
Miami, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Product Came with Broken Pieces

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design, Comfortable
Cons: Easily Damaged, Unaligned
I was so disappointed that the product came with a broken handle. The handle had a broken piece in it when it arrived and as a result the bottom drawer has no handle on it. Will be contacting Office Depot for a replacement.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 9, 2015
Auburn, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Awesome!

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy
I would highly recommend this desk...the style and look are perfect. A little technical to put together but the finished product is gorgeous!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 9, 2015
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Just right

Sturdy, great quality and more than I expected.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 9, 2015
Middlesex, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great for the price

Great for the price! However it took 3 hours to build. Came very well packaged.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 9, 2015
Modesto, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

L shaped desk

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy
I have put together many pieces of furniture & this one was well engineered. Easy to follow, but very detailed with lots of pieces. Love the end result!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 9, 2015
Bay Saint Louis, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Other

Office Desk

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight
I got this desk on sale with a hutch. It was easy to put together with all pieces clearly marked and each of the necessary tools, nuts, bolts, screws, etc., separated by step. The desk is sturdy and looks professional.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 9, 2015
Philadellphia, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Excellent choice

Pros: Quality of Material, Appearance/Design
This was truly a good buy at a great value. This new desk enhanced the look of my office.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 7, 2015
Tulsa, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Good desk. Good price

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design, Comfortable
Overall I am very pleased with this desk. I am a graduate student with no children in the house. This desk will only be used by one person, a few hours a week. I have had the desk for about a month and I don't have any scratches! However after reading the reviews I take extra care.
During assembly we had a little difficulty with the drawers opening and closing but was easily repaired. The metal was slightly bent on track.
Good desk, good price.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 2, 2015
Elk Grove, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great desk but damages easily

Pros: value, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
Cons: Quality
I bought this desk for my home office and it looks beautiful. It wasn't difficult to put together which was wonderful since I didn't have any help. My only complaint is that the surface scuffs/scratches very easily, however, half of the desk surface is a leather-like material so it's protected pretty well. Other than that, I absolutely love this desk. Considering I purchased it on sale, I'm really happy!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
February 28, 2015
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great Product

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight, beautiful, Easy to Assemble
This desk is great! It was very heavy and the package was big, but that was a good thing because the product is very well constructed, and very sturdy and durable. The desk had step-by-step hardware. I have never had a piece of furniture have that pro before. Literally each step in the instructions page by page had a package with all of the hardware for that step! It will look overwhelming because there are many pieces, but once you start it is VERY easy to assemble and it is a beautiful desk and very well made! Enjoy! I recommend buying it and I would definitely purchase another piece of furniture from office depot!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
February 27, 2015
Colorado
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Nice but with reservations

Pros: Functional, Features, Appearance/Design
Cons: Easily Damaged, Appearance, Quality: Flimsy
This is the kind of piece that you really want to be everything it appears to be, but it's not. The design, initial appearance are great but the faults show through quickly with normal use. My biggest complaint is the finish quality. Paper thin veneer on particle board chips and peels easily. I've actually had it peel off when i accidentally put a piece of scotch tape on it. Sliding things across the surface, putting things down, all these will cause the finish to mar and wear. My only recourse was to keep a magic marker on hand and regularly blot the marks to keep from becoming unsightly. If you want a piece that you don't use and it just needs to look good this is it... if you want something to hold up to normal wear, you're better off saving some money and heartache and buy a better quality material product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
February 23, 2015
Goose Creek, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great desk overall

Pros: Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Size & Weight
I purchased this desk a few weeks ago. I have to say, it's one of the best put-it-together-yourself desks I've ever bought. Obviously I can't speak to it's durability over time, but I like what I see. About the only the I wish was that the corner supports were thicker and better secured (only two screws on each).
But the little things done here are impressive. It's been about 8 years since I had to put together a desk, but this was a great experience. Everything is well labeled. And the truly impressive thing is that each steps hardware comes in a separate, labeled pouch so you don't have to sift through the pile of screens and bolts to find what you need. You just open the pouch for the current step and use it.
I bought this on sale with the hutch for just over $200 and for the money you can't beat it. The drawers fit great and open/close easily. The doors on the hutch are designed impressively so they don't fall on you when they're open. The finish is good. It is a manufactured wood desk so I imagine leaving glasses of ice water on it will likely leave a mark. But it seems solidly built and should last as long as you don't beat on it.
With where it is in my home, I had to make few extra cuts out of the back for wiring but that's not a mark against this desk. You'll easily fit a monitor, keyboard, mouse and printer without the hutch. With the hutch space gets a little tighter on the surface if you want a printer. I just set the printer in an opening and will pull it out when I need to use it (which isn't often). But I got all my stuff on it with still room to put my feet up when I want to.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>