Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso

Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso

Item #:101095
Average Customer Rating:
4.314 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(414 Reviews) 411
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(240)
4 stars
(117)
3 stars
(24)
2 stars
(13)
1 star
(20)
339 of 376(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
Review 1 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
May 26, 2015
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Impressive Quality for the Price

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Size & Weight, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: Easily Damaged, Difficult to Assemble
This desk looks a lot more expensive than it is. The only issue we had was a few scuff marks on some of the pieces and one of the corner was separated a little, not enough to prevent us from assembling it but frustrating because we didn't notice until the very end. There are 27 steps to assemble this desk and it's much easier to do with two people. The parts are all well labeled and easy to understand. It was incredibly heavy in the box so we assembled most of the pieces in our garage and then moved them inside for the final assembly steps.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
May 25, 2015
Antioch
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Best Purchase Ever

Pros: Appearance/Design
If you need a office desk this is the best one for the price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
May 22, 2015
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Nice solid desk, but be aware...

Pros: Functional, solid build
Cons: Easily Damaged, wood coating scratches & peels
I have had this desk (with hutch) for 6+ years. It is a very solid piece of furniture with a nice amount of storage.
However, I use this desk for several hours daily and after about 1 year of use, the facing where my arms touch (on the front lip over the keyboard tray) began to wear away, which reveals the light brown wood underneath. At first I just touched up with a permanent marker but, pretty soon, larger sections of the facing started peeling off.
I think this is a great desk for a light-duty work surface, but would not recommend for full time home office purposes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
May 18, 2015
Buffalo, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Good Deal

Pros: Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
I got this desk on sale. It looks good and easily holds the electronics I need when I work from home a couple of days a week. It is a bit of a pain to put together. For example, some of the screws/nails were too small for the pre-drilled holes and we had to make the holes bigger. Took a few hours to put together but the end result met my needs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
May 18, 2015
Brenda
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

magellan L Desk

Pros: Quality of Material, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy
I love this desk, took my son a couple of hours to put together but very well made and directions were very clear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
May 18, 2015
Clearwater, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

great desk for the price

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Size & Weight, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
We use these for our Travel Office and my agents love the desks,.. lots of storage, takes a while to put together,.. about 3 hrs with two people. Desk looks good and sturdy,.. Highly recommend,.. we now have 4 of these.. makes the office look great at a wonderful price,..!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
May 17, 2015
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Love it

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design
Cons: time consuming to assemble
Very good looking, drawers smooth
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
May 16, 2015
Delray Beach, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Functional at a fair price.

Pros: Functional, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: Easily Damaged, Difficult to Assemble
Difficult to assemble. Very heavy because it is pressed composite board with very thin layer finish. Chips and scratches very easily. Good work area at a fair price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
May 12, 2015
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

excellent price when on sale

Pros: Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy, nice color
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, not pre assembled
When I took it home, After assembling it I found out the desk was not the rite model. I bought the one I wanted but I was given the wrong one. When I made it back to the store to talk with the Manager (Jeff) He was very understanding and brought the correct L shaped desk to my house and took the wrong desk with him. That was excellent customer service. You now have a customer for life. I have been sharing my experience with friends. Jeff did a great job with how to turn an unpleasant experience into a positive one. He should be commended for going above and beyond.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
May 12, 2015
Anna, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Best desk we have had

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Appearance/Design, Size & Weight, Well Made/ Sturdy
This desk is steady and has a heavy weight to it. We were afraid it would have been too brown but it shows darker close to a black tint it fits great and no issues with the drawers. We love it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
May 12, 2015
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Great purchace

Pros: Appearance/Design
We love the desk!!!! Looks Great!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
May 11, 2015
Chattanooga, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Nice Desk- difficult to put together

Pros: Features, Appearance/Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Size & Weight
Lovely desk, extremely difficult to put together. There are no words in the instructions and there are a ton of parts.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
May 11, 2015
Tunica, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Much better than expected

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy
This is much better than I expected, It meets all my needs and then some. I would recommend this product to everyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
May 11, 2015
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

A++

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design, Comfortable
Cons: Easily Damaged
Love my new desk!! I purchased two, great price!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
May 5, 2015
Gallatin, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Computer Desk

Pros: Quality of Material, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Size & Weight, Well Made/ Sturdy
I love my new computer desk. It looks fancy and wasn't hard to put up. I am at my desk everyday. It was a little costly but I'm a firm believer that you get what you pay for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
May 4, 2015
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Excellent for the Money

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: quality of material
The desk is solid, and the instructions are well laid out for assembly. It's not a 500+ dollar desk so the materials used are on par with the lower quality, but it looks nice when it's put together. It's sturdy and functional. It's an awesome desk for the money. So if you're looking for a desk that looks nice, and functions fine and not expecting an all wood construction this is the desk for you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
April 21, 2015
South Dakota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great Desk

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: Packaging, poor instructions
I was pleasantly surprised with this desk. I didn't realize when ordering that the top of the longest part of the desk has a leatherette surface; makes it look more fancy. Once assembled, it is sturdy and looks great.
I am only giving this desk 4 stars since the assembly instructions were terrible. It only showed photos and didn't explain anything. So as I put the desk together, I kept having to redo some things which added to the assembly time. The biggest issue I had was trying to get the drawer fronts to level (so they didn't run into each other). You had to keep messing with the screws and if you've worked with particle boards before, you know the wood ends up being stripped and the screw won't tighten. So a couple of screws I ended up gluing in to give stability. Also, there ended up being two broken pieces that I had to exchange with my local store before I even started assembling.
All in all, I'd recommend this desk to others.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
April 21, 2015
Quantico Va
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

It's a desk!

Pros: Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Size & Weight
Cons: Easily Damaged
As the title states, its a desk! I have seen complaints about build quality, time/ difficulty assembling and price. Ok I don't agree with any of them, I paid $129.00 for this desk. If you want an executive quality desk this may not the one for you!. Put the money and get something more "executive" like. does is look nice? Yes! Am I happy? Yes! As for the time and difficulty assembling the desk yes it can be a pain. But if you can read and hold a screw driver it shouldn't be that hard. If you are not that handy or just don't have the time just pay to have it assembled. Bottom line for what I paid and time invested I am pleased I purchased it and will be buying some of the accompanying pieces soon.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
April 20, 2015
Charleston, SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

You Get What You Pay For

Pros: Appearance/Design
Cons: Easily Damaged, Unaligned
The desk was damaged when we received it (2 of the boards had cracks in them). The cracks are on the inside of the desk, so would not be visible, but still, the packaging could have been better to prevent this. Also, there was no mention the desk was designed for "moderate use," only be used up to 5 hours per day. This was purchased for an office and the employee works 8-10 hours per day. Wish we had known this before purchasing. Drawers do not line up perfectly. Visually, it's off and you can notice it. But, for the price we paid, I would say it was worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
April 15, 2015
lynchburg va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

love it great desk

Pros: Quality of Material, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy
I drove to Roanoke va just to buy this desk, I live in Lynchburg va it was truly worth the drive. I seen it and had to have it. great high quality love it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 21 next>>