Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso

Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso

Item #:101095
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(273 Reviews) 272
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(173)
4 stars
(73)
3 stars
(9)
2 stars
(7)
1 star
(11)
230 of 252(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
Review 1 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
July 15, 2014
MistieAnn
Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Nice and simple to install

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight
Cons: Unaligned
The box I received was huge and contained a bunch of parts. However, once I opened them and got familiar with everything, I began to put the pieces together. The directions were pretty easy to understand, The separate packages with the little screws made each step super easy to do. Only one issue I came across was one piece contained the incorrect letter which made me have to go back a step and change around the set-up. Overall the set up was very easy to follow as I did it on my own (and yes I am a girl :-)). The pieces were in good shape with a very few scratches. The desk is really nice for the price I got and was exactly what I was looking for! The color is beautiful! Great buy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
July 14, 2014
Lucas C
Pasadena, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Great L-Shaped Desk!

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: Packaging, Size & Weight
If you are looking for an L-Shaped desk look no further. This is a great one that comes in 3 colors. For our office we have purchased two, one oak and one espresso. It has a lot of draw space and also a place for a pc tower if needed (if not even more storage!). The only down side was the package was very large and heavy. This caused there to be damage inside of the espresso packaging. One piece that was needed on the first step was cracked completely in half. I was able to go back to the store I bought it at and pick up a replacement part after speaking to a manager. I will be going back to get replacement tops, as both the pieces that make up the top of the desk were damaged as well, there were multiple scratches and dings.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
July 12, 2014
Brian
Washington, DC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Performance and Elegance

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
This desk is affordable, durable, functional and elegant. My last desk seemed like an airplane tray table by comparison.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
July 12, 2014
Marcus
el paso,tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

worth it

Pros: Quality of Material, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight
It's a beautiful desk. Instructions are easy to follos, there's a lot of them though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
June 29, 2014
Sallie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

great for the money

Pros: Appearance/Design
Desk looks good and it is a perfect size for tighter spaces. Very Happy. Con many parts to assemble.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
June 23, 2014
Tracy
Buckeye, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Good purchase for cost

Pros: value, Appearance/Design
Cons: has a scratch on the side
Desk is a great deal for the price. Pretty easy to put together. Bough 2 of these for our home office and they look great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
June 23, 2014
Maq
Los Angeles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Excellent !!!

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Appearance/Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
Great quality, recommend it to anyone.
A little hard to assemble, (do not skip any step)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
June 21, 2014
TalabVier
MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Good

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Appearance/Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Flimsy
Pretty decent sized desk, I would reccomend putting this together *or at least taking everything out of the box* with someone else though.
It's pretty durable everywhere but the corners of connector pieces, which if you don't push on the desk *which you shouldn't* then you won't have any issues.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
June 21, 2014
AHSP
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

What a great value!

Pros: value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
Just finished putting this together with my husband. He did most of it and no complaints. Follow the instructions in order, and you won't have a problem. The desk appears to be good quality, and I am excited to add it to my office. In fact, we decided to buy one more! Plan to add the lateral file and 4 drawer file cabinet as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
June 16, 2014
Adam
MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Cheap paper veneer

Cons: durability
This desk looks very nice when it is new. It is particle board construction, but basically every desk in this price range is made of particle board. The leatherette inlay is a nice touch and is pretty durable. The drawers have operated smoothly for several years.
The problem I had is after a couple years the veneer started to peel off and revealed itself to be a very thin, flimsy, paper-like substance. The finish on the drawers is also not very durable. The corners got scuffed up and the underlying particle board shows through.
I tried to upload a photo of my desk but the site had technical issues.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
June 16, 2014
BG
Smyrna De
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Easier to Install than the Sauder

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design, excellent delivery
Between these two desk assembly's there is no comparison. Magellan was so much easier
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
June 13, 2014
CasieT
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

All the Single Ladies!!

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
Ok ladies, let me tell you... you CAN do this by yourself. I am a single mom of a toddler that works from home. I was highly considering buying a desk used because I did not want to put something together. I bought this and had it delivered and it's worth the delivery fee!. You will not be able to bring this from your car/truck inside to your house. Get the delivery!! They set it in the room you want it.
I waited until my son went to sleep to set this up. I started at 10 and got about half way through at 1am. Then I started back again in the morning after taking him to daycare. I worked on it from 7am -10am so it took me 6 hours. But I did it! I had no trouble! All of the pieces come in their own little packs for each step you are on. It was so easy. You can do this!! I promise.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
June 7, 2014
cathy
michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Easy to put together

Pros: Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
Cons: Quality
I just finished putting this together. It goes together very easily. The one thing that I don't like is pin/cam hardware. It is not going to stay together if you try to move it. I tried moving one of the end pieces with the back piece attached and it fell off and messed it up. I ended up using l brackets to put it back together. Otherwise it looks great once it is done.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
June 2, 2014
Thomas
TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great purchase great customer svc

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Appearance/Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
I ordered this desk on a Tuesday got it on a Wednesday delivered to my door. The desk itself is awesome. Nice sturdy desk with plenty of space for whatever. Big drawers on the sides can fill up all my bills and stuff. The leather inlaid desktop is really nice too. All of the edges are rounded which are nice so thecorners dont dig into your wrists while you are using your computer (i dont like keyboard trays so i didnt install it). The only reason I gave it 4/5 stars is because it was a pain in the rear to assemble. Other than that , awesome purchase, awesome cust svc from Office Depot.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
May 31, 2014
Chomper
Palm Springs, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great Purchase

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
I love this Realspace Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk! I am so happy with this purchase and it really looks great. Assembly was time consuming but the instruction were all marked and easy to follow. Anytime spent putting this desk together will be worth it in the end. Enjoy your new desk because I am!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
May 23, 2014
Vincent
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great Desk

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
I just finished putting this desk together it it only took about an hour and a half with two people. Probably one of the easiest builds i have ever done. All the parts are broken down by step so you do not have to go searching for screws. Color is beautiful, a few chips but a paint pen will fix it all. I probably won't need to buy another desk for a while just because this one is very solid and looks great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
May 19, 2014
susan
Chattanooga, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Very Impressed

Pros: value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
This product was so easy to assemble. Instructions and the way the instructions/items were packaged made this task extremely easy to follow and organized where you didn't have to search for the right screws for the right part. Everything was labeled and packaged where you knew what went with what. I can't find anything negative to say, got a great bargain on sale and it's looks very good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
May 19, 2014
Matt
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Exceptional value

Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: Durable, value, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
Before deciding on this desk, I was looking at other desks ranging from $250-$500. I came across this desk at Office Depot and saw the unbeatable sale price of $159. After reading all of the overwhelmingly positive reviews, I decided to give it a shot. This desk did not disappoint. Assembly was not difficult, but very time consuming with just 1 person. Took me abut 4.5 hours. The end result was well worth it. It is a great looking desk, and very sturdy for the price tag. Don't hesitate to buy this desk, especially if it is on sale for $159!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
May 17, 2014
Gia03
Bay Area, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

awesome desk!

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
This is an awesome desk! I was a bit skeptical at first because the price was too good, I wasn't expecting a high quality piece of furniture, but it is sturdy and looks very nice. I'm extremely happy with this desk and I'm glad I didn't spend an arm and a leg on other desks I was looking at. The packaging comes with numbered and lettered parts so it's pretty idiot proof to assemble. Trust me you will not be dissatisfied with this desk!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
May 15, 2014
Malldog
Bakersfield, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Awesome Desk

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
What an awesome buy for quality and cost. The leather inset with stitching give this desk a most elegant appearance. The drawer handles are also unique and practical. I am a Senior Citizen who had no problem assembling this desk. Great buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>