Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso

Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso

Item #:101095
Average Customer Rating:
4.312 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(398 Reviews) 395
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(231)
4 stars
(113)
3 stars
(21)
2 stars
(13)
1 star
(20)
324 of 361(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
Review 1 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
April 21, 2015
South Dakota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great Desk

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: Packaging, poor instructions
I was pleasantly surprised with this desk. I didn't realize when ordering that the top of the longest part of the desk has a leatherette surface; makes it look more fancy. Once assembled, it is sturdy and looks great.
I am only giving this desk 4 stars since the assembly instructions were terrible. It only showed photos and didn't explain anything. So as I put the desk together, I kept having to redo some things which added to the assembly time. The biggest issue I had was trying to get the drawer fronts to level (so they didn't run into each other). You had to keep messing with the screws and if you've worked with particle boards before, you know the wood ends up being stripped and the screw won't tighten. So a couple of screws I ended up gluing in to give stability. Also, there ended up being two broken pieces that I had to exchange with my local store before I even started assembling.
All in all, I'd recommend this desk to others.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
April 21, 2015
Quantico Va
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

It's a desk!

Pros: Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Size & Weight
Cons: Easily Damaged
As the title states, its a desk! I have seen complaints about build quality, time/ difficulty assembling and price. Ok I don't agree with any of them, I paid $129.00 for this desk. If you want an executive quality desk this may not the one for you!. Put the money and get something more "executive" like. does is look nice? Yes! Am I happy? Yes! As for the time and difficulty assembling the desk yes it can be a pain. But if you can read and hold a screw driver it shouldn't be that hard. If you are not that handy or just don't have the time just pay to have it assembled. Bottom line for what I paid and time invested I am pleased I purchased it and will be buying some of the accompanying pieces soon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
April 20, 2015
Charleston, SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

You Get What You Pay For

Pros: Appearance/Design
Cons: Easily Damaged, Unaligned
The desk was damaged when we received it (2 of the boards had cracks in them). The cracks are on the inside of the desk, so would not be visible, but still, the packaging could have been better to prevent this. Also, there was no mention the desk was designed for "moderate use," only be used up to 5 hours per day. This was purchased for an office and the employee works 8-10 hours per day. Wish we had known this before purchasing. Drawers do not line up perfectly. Visually, it's off and you can notice it. But, for the price we paid, I would say it was worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
April 15, 2015
lynchburg va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

love it great desk

Pros: Quality of Material, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy
I drove to Roanoke va just to buy this desk, I live in Lynchburg va it was truly worth the drive. I seen it and had to have it. great high quality love it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
April 14, 2015
Naples, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

New desk for High School age son

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Size & Weight, Well Made/ Sturdy
After looking around for a few weeks my son and I finally agreed to purchase this desk for him. We went to the store and looked at it then came home and ordered it on line. At first the desk was on sale for $100.00 less than the price at the store. When we went to order it the desk was back at full price.
I ordered the desk and had it delivered then had the company that you recommeded come and put the desk together for me. Not more than a few days after I received the desk then it was back on sale.
I was disappointed that the price was less and am hoping to be credited for the price difference. It is a great desk, L-shape and fits in my sons room perfectly. Nice quality and very functional.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
April 13, 2015
Washington,DC.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Very nice desk, easy to assemble.

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Size & Weight, Well Made/ Sturdy
The tittle says it all. I am glad I got this desk. The overall quality is great. The hardware came in separate bags that were numbered for An easier way to locate them. 5 stars desk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
April 7, 2015
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Perfect Home Office Desk

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Size & Weight, Well Made/ Sturdy
The desk looks amazing and matches all of my other furniture. It is extremely functional and has a drawer for my scanner/printer which will pull out when I want to use. Assembly took a little while, but seems sturdy and well put together.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
April 6, 2015
Newton, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

Great Desk!!

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Appearance/Design, Size & Weight, Well Made/ Sturdy
I love this desk...it was easy to assemble, but seems very sturdy!! Love the look and feel of this desk. Glad I made this purchase!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 30, 2015
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Best Value & Easy Build

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Size & Weight, Well Made/ Sturdy, ease of assembly
I am so happy with this purchase! The desk is remarkably solid for the price and looks even better than I had anticipated. The best thing, though, is how EASY this went together. The directions are very easy to follow, and all of the hardware is sorted by steps and sealed in its own packet. Everything is labeled very well and even the heaviest piece of the desk can be installed with only one person (assuming you don't have a back problem or something). Overall, I am THRILLED with the desk, and would absolutely buy it again.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 30, 2015
CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Easy

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy
Easy to put together and the product looks great so far.
I'm giving it 3 stars because they showed one price at check out and charged another. They didn't redeem the coupon I had on the order after taking the coupon and last but not least the delivery guy couldn't put the desk where I needed it to go. So why pay the $30 to have it delivered after I supposedly had free shipping and handling???
Other than that so far the desk seems to be sturdy and I love it!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 27, 2015
phoenix, az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

desk

Pros: value, Appearance/Design
Cons: time consuming to assemble
my client loves the new desk. it took about 6 hours to put it together but it was worth it. we got alot of desk for only about $160.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 24, 2015
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great looking and functional desk

Pros: Durable, value, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
Cons: Quality
I needed a desk for my home office. However I did not had a big budget. I found this desk with good reviews at a discounted price. It was easy to put together, step by step instructions, it just took a few hours to be put together. The only problem I had is that I hit the side of one of the corners with my hand to make the little wood guides to get in the hole and a small part of the black finish came off (it pealed very easy, I am not that strong). Please do not hit it near a screw or a wood guide thing. I love it, very funtional, sturdy and stylish.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 24, 2015
Lexington, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Broken, scratched,

Pros: Appearance/Design
Cons: Quality, Flimsy, arrived broken
I ordered 2 of these for my office. Once we started assembling the first one we quickly got to a piece that split as we were trying to screw it together. After setting it aside and ordering a replacement part, we started on the 2nd desk. It had 3 broken pieces. We were able to get one full desk assembled while waiting for our 4 parts to be delivered. They were wrapped well with no damage to the packaging so I feel like they were shipped broken.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 23, 2015
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Uh-oh--Get what you pay for

Pros: Features, Appearance/Design, Size & Weight, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: Easily Damaged, extremely easy to scratch
Husband had no problem putting together except for the drawers which are all labeled the same. Make sure the grooves for the rails are alike for each side of the drawer. We found 4 identical sides and two identical with each other but not with the others. Once we figured that out and matched sides, the drawers fit perfectly.
Should have given the poor reviews about the extremely poor quality of the finish more attention. I read where people were applying an acrylic finish to keep it from scratching so easily. Would sure like to know how that turned out for the others--for us, it still scratches easily even after 3 coats.....keeping the Sharpie busy. Get what you pay for, I guess. But, very sad that a desk that looks so good is finished so poorly that you cannot comfortably use it without experiencing damage.. Never had this problem with Sauder products..
It's nice to look at.. Bought the blotter to help protect the right side. But, all in all...we regret this purchase because a desk should be used, not just looked at. A lot of work went into assembling and protecting the finish, and will have to keep for awhile, but convinced now that we should have invested in a better quality desk.
Wondering why there are so many 4 & 5 star reviews with this problem???? Did they get a different finish than the rest of us? Pay attention to the negative reviews. They are true. Wish we had.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 21, 2015
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

it is ok

Pros: Appearance/Design, Comfortable
Cons: Easily Damaged, Difficult to Assemble, Size & Weight
took a long time to put together to many parts
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 18, 2015
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Scratched pieces

This desk would make a nice desk if it does not come with scratched pieces. It seems like every piece is scratched. BEWARE THIS DESK COMES WITH A LOT OF SCRATCHES.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 16, 2015
Las Vegas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great Value and Good Quality

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight
Lots of pieces, but it was actually somewhat fun putting it together. Instructions were VERY easy and clear, so there was no confusion on what went where and how. Seems like a nice product for the money. Looks great with the hutch and offers lots of storage with drawers and cabinets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 15, 2015
Gainesville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Very Nice Desk!

Pros: Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: Easily Damaged, Size & Weight
I read a lot of the reviews myself before deciding to buy this desk and went ahead and made the purchase. I could not be more happier with this wonderful desk! It's sturdy, well made, has lots of draw space, and has a nice finish. Love it! Only downside is it's heavy and nicks easily.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 14, 2015
ct
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

ok desk, chips easy

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design
Cons: Easily Damaged, Quality: Flimsy, Unaligned
the directions were easy, easy to put together. However the laminate cips quite easily and this is putting in hardware given. Parts needed were separated by each step which was awesome and made assembly easier.
Color espresso is more black than brown, does take quite a while to assemble and som
e screws were stripped. have liguid nails on hand
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 10, 2015
Miami, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Product Came with Broken Pieces

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design, Comfortable
Cons: Easily Damaged, Unaligned
I was so disappointed that the product came with a broken handle. The handle had a broken piece in it when it arrived and as a result the bottom drawer has no handle on it. Will be contacting Office Depot for a replacement.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>