Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso

Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso

Item #:101095
Average Customer Rating:
4.34 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(371 Reviews) 368
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(219)
4 stars
(105)
3 stars
(19)
2 stars
(10)
1 star
(18)
303 of 336(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
Review 1 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 2, 2015
Elk Grove, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great desk but damages easily

Pros: value, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
Cons: Quality
I bought this desk for my home office and it looks beautiful. It wasn't difficult to put together which was wonderful since I didn't have any help. My only complaint is that the surface scuffs/scratches very easily, however, half of the desk surface is a leather-like material so it's protected pretty well. Other than that, I absolutely love this desk. Considering I purchased it on sale, I'm really happy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
February 28, 2015
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great Product

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight, beautiful, Easy to Assemble
This desk is great! It was very heavy and the package was big, but that was a good thing because the product is very well constructed, and very sturdy and durable. The desk had step-by-step hardware. I have never had a piece of furniture have that pro before. Literally each step in the instructions page by page had a package with all of the hardware for that step! It will look overwhelming because there are many pieces, but once you start it is VERY easy to assemble and it is a beautiful desk and very well made! Enjoy! I recommend buying it and I would definitely purchase another piece of furniture from office depot!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
February 27, 2015
Colorado
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Nice but with reservations

Pros: Functional, Features, Appearance/Design
Cons: Easily Damaged, Appearance, Quality: Flimsy
This is the kind of piece that you really want to be everything it appears to be, but it's not. The design, initial appearance are great but the faults show through quickly with normal use. My biggest complaint is the finish quality. Paper thin veneer on particle board chips and peels easily. I've actually had it peel off when i accidentally put a piece of scotch tape on it. Sliding things across the surface, putting things down, all these will cause the finish to mar and wear. My only recourse was to keep a magic marker on hand and regularly blot the marks to keep from becoming unsightly. If you want a piece that you don't use and it just needs to look good this is it... if you want something to hold up to normal wear, you're better off saving some money and heartache and buy a better quality material product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
February 23, 2015
Goose Creek, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great desk overall

Pros: Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Size & Weight
I purchased this desk a few weeks ago. I have to say, it's one of the best put-it-together-yourself desks I've ever bought. Obviously I can't speak to it's durability over time, but I like what I see. About the only the I wish was that the corner supports were thicker and better secured (only two screws on each).
But the little things done here are impressive. It's been about 8 years since I had to put together a desk, but this was a great experience. Everything is well labeled. And the truly impressive thing is that each steps hardware comes in a separate, labeled pouch so you don't have to sift through the pile of screens and bolts to find what you need. You just open the pouch for the current step and use it.
I bought this on sale with the hutch for just over $200 and for the money you can't beat it. The drawers fit great and open/close easily. The doors on the hutch are designed impressively so they don't fall on you when they're open. The finish is good. It is a manufactured wood desk so I imagine leaving glasses of ice water on it will likely leave a mark. But it seems solidly built and should last as long as you don't beat on it.
With where it is in my home, I had to make few extra cuts out of the back for wiring but that's not a mark against this desk. You'll easily fit a monitor, keyboard, mouse and printer without the hutch. With the hutch space gets a little tighter on the surface if you want a printer. I just set the printer in an opening and will pull it out when I need to use it (which isn't often). But I got all my stuff on it with still room to put my feet up when I want to.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
February 23, 2015
Pawleys Island, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Pretty Nice Desk

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight
Cons: Easily Damaged
I did tons of research and read ALL the reviews before I purchased this desk. It's solid, professional, nice looking, spacious, etc. Love the built in faux leather desk blotter (black with white stitching) along the left side of the desk. I immediately went out and bought a desktop blotter to put on the right side of the desk because - as I read in the other reviews - this thing scratches SUPER EASILY (a simple coffee mug sitting on top scratched mine). With the new blotter on the desk the thing looks very clean and nice.
There is a hole for cables on the back of the bottom left side of the desk (where the computer tower cabinet is) which makes it ugly if you are not putting it against the wall (I ordered the matching bookcase to sit in front of it and cover the wires as I don't want to stare at the wall all day and have mine facing outward) - there is also a hole for cables coming out of the inside top right corner of that panel - this is super handy (and not visible) for keyboard wires, etc.
Also, I read a ton of reviews complaining about how long it takes to put together....4 hours, 6 hours, etc. Don't know what that's about....my husband had the thing solidly built and set up for me in about 45 minutes.......dont' be scared of assembly.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
February 23, 2015
Kent, WA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Very impressed

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy
I have had previous experience with office furniture that you assemble at home.This unit was not only easy to assemble but also not bad quality wise. The instructions were easy to follow and the hardware was broken out by each step, how easy is that. I'm a "get what you pay for" kind of person. In this case I believe I got more than I paid for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
February 22, 2015
Panama City, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

returning asap

Pros: on sale
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Quality: Flimsy, Wobbles, Unaligned
nightmare of an assembly process. most of the pieces are squared but unfortunately a few arent,, so it wont even go together as i am on step# 19 out of 27 and really just wanted to be able to finish it even if it is made like A HOUSE OF CARDS... but i cant because it just WONT GO!!
i got it on sale for $200 for desk and hutch, havent even received hutch and wont because as soon as i can get a spare moment im taking this back to store.
*** THE PIECES ARE ALL HELD TOGETHER BY TINY PINS(NOT SCREWS) AND HELD TOGETHER MAINLY BY THE WEIGHT OF TWO TOP PIECES*** UNMOVABLE THEREFORE DISPOSABLE..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
February 21, 2015
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Nice desk for the money

Pros: Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: finish does scratch easily
This desk was not difficult to put together .. Take your time and read the instructions carefully .....After installation the desk was very sturdy and looked nice. I have had this desk for two years and now giving it to my son. I mention this because it was so easy to break it down.. It took literally 15 minutes to get the desk into manageable pieces to be able to move.. Another 15 minutes to set the desk back up at his home and he was in business. I would recommend..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
February 18, 2015
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Beautiful desk

So far, we love the desk, it is not completely put together, but the instructions this far, have been very easy to follow, and all pieces fit together well. We have not completed it yet as we are putting a sealer on the surfaces that get the most wear. Because of previous reviews that it scratches very easily, we are hoping this will protect it from becoming badly scratched, although we are pretty careful, things do happen. Price was too good not to purchase, inspite of the reviews regarding the finish. It seems like it will be very sturdy. I rated it 4 stars simply because of the finish, otherwise it is beautiful.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
February 16, 2015
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

good functional desk

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, easily scratchs and shows defects
good looking desk and hutch. very functional and appears sturdy. The expresso finish shows all scratch's and scuffs. Assembly is not quick but manageable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
February 16, 2015
Lubbock, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

It's great

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight
My nephew put the desk together for me and I helped (sort of). We were both totally impressed that every item that you need for each step is packaged separately. That makes it so much easier. The desk, hutch & bookcase came with several parts pre-assembled which also helped.
I feel certain I will be much more efficient because my office looks so much classier now. I love it!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
February 16, 2015
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Horrible assembly process

Pros: Appearance/Design
Cons: Easily Damaged, Difficult to Assemble, Quality: Flimsy, Unaligned
The desk was OK, but it's really flimsy and unstable and I have never seen such a ridiculous assembly process. Not one single piece of this comes already assembled and the directions are awful. I have put together a fair amount of desks and this one was by far the worst. If you want a desk you will ever be able to move or have for any length of time, I would not buy this one again.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
February 9, 2015
Levittown, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Good decision

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Easy to Assemble
I thought about purchasing this desk for about a month before finally making the decision to purchase. Everything was very easy - from the website to home delivery.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
February 9, 2015
phoenix az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
Excellent quality for the money. So easy to put together (I am 75 years of age and did it all but lift top on). Hardware individually packaged for each step.
Highly recommend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
February 9, 2015
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Great Desk

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Appearance/Design
Cant beat this sale price, Have just bought a second one for my office
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
February 3, 2015
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Good Value

Pros: value, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
lots of pieces to put together, but if you take your time its not that bad. Instructions were good. All the pieces were there and labeled well.
Just be careful can scratch easy. Good desk for the money. Had delivered to my home. Came on time no problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
February 2, 2015
Freeport florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

looks great

Pros: value, Quality, Appearance/Design
Cons: scratches to easy
Very sturdy but the finished was scratched out of the box. This is the only flaw I could see it would be hard to assemble to a novice but I do handyman work for a living.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
February 2, 2015
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
Professional appearing and classy. Displays as is advertised
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
February 2, 2015
Hamilton, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Quality furniture!

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Appearance/Design
Cons: a lot of pieces but well worth the effort.
My family is extremely pleased with this product. It's very well made and I would highly recommend it to others. The customer service with the delivery was also excellent! Well done!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
February 2, 2015
pittsburgh pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

A great desk for the money

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
When the desk arrived (170lbs) I didn't know what to expect regarding assembly etc. I was presently surprised to discover the instructions were impeccable and the corresponding screws etc were individually sealed in clear see through packets that corresponded to each page of the instruction manual. Allow yourself at least 4 hours to fully assembly but you'll be well pleased with the results. Screw driver, small hammer and a pair of scissors is all you'll need by way of tools. Finally, the actually desk was so pretty it looked, when completed, like a $500 to $1000 desk.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>