Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso

Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso

Item #:101095
Average Customer Rating:
4.425 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(247 Reviews) 246
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(158)
4 stars
(64)
3 stars
(8)
2 stars
(6)
1 star
(11)
208 of 228(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
Review 1 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
April 21, 2014
Ritz
Secaucus, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great Desk for home office

Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design, neat look
Cons: sensitive to scratches., cant reverse the l-shape alignment
I have been searching for a sturdy desk for my home office and found this one here at a discounted price. Very good material and the leatherette on top gives it a neat look.
It took me 3-4 hours to assemble this. If you are going to use it as a corner desk then I would recommend using another pair of hands as at one point it becomes too heavy to move to the corner.
I took 1 star off due to its sensitivity to scratches, already had 1- 2 scratches while assembling (mainly due to my negligence) otherwise its a great desk.
Note (things that I didn't know from the description online):
1. It comes packaged in a single box of 170 lbs.
2. The box fits well in a standard SUV (with back seats folded) definitely not in a sedan.
3. All parts (screws, nuts, etc) are labelled/numbers for each step in separate pouches which made it simple to assemble.
4. Please take special care while assembling the drawers, use the correct slider strips on left/right else you may have to redo that drawer assembly.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
April 19, 2014
Luis
El Paso, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Other

Excellent desk

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
100% quality, elegant desk
Review 3 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
April 19, 2014
Mama B
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Other

Exactly what I was looking for

Pros: value, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
The assembly was seamless. The hardware was packaged for each step in the assembly process. The dimensions are perfect for the size of my office. I'm extremely pleased with the look and functionality of this desk.
Review 4 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
April 19, 2014
Satisfied Shopper
Panama City Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Excellent Desk

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
I'm a new home owner and needed a desk to put in my home office. I looked for probably 2 months, and I looked everywhere. Then I found this desk at my local Office Depot, and on sale no less. Is it by far the best desk and the best deal. I assembled it myself, with some help from my boyfriend. There was a lot to it but the instructions made it really easy. I'm pretty handy when it comes to tools and construction, for someone who has trouble with that kind of thing, I would recommend taking advantage of their in home assembly . It takes some time but that because it uses quality assembly pieces not like those cheap desk you can get at other retailers. It exactly what I was looking for, and it looks really nice too.
Review 5 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 31, 2014
Trish
Chicago,IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great Buy

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
This is the best desk! Was easy to put together. Very sturdy and strong. I would definitely reccomend this desk.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 30, 2014
cabbage
Chicago
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Good for the money

Pros: value, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
Cons: Quality, Flimsy
For a cheap desk, its great!! Just understand, its cheap. Oh and it takes about 3 hours to put together. Its easy to assemble, they put all the hardware in separate pouches that are labeled for what step they are for. That was nice. Good luck! I'm happy with mine!
Review 7 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 29, 2014
lynn
ct
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

it works for us

Pros: value, Appearance/Design
lots of pieces and parts but well organized and went together well
Review 8 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 29, 2014
Mike
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Awesome desk

Pros: value, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
Looks great! Took 5 hours to assemble, but steps and directions were well labeled. Appears to be high quality but we will see how it holds up.
Review 9 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 26, 2014
Happy Customer
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Sophisticated

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
Husband said the instruction couldn't have been any more simpler. It is sturdy, spacious, and sleek. I love this desk!!!! I highly recommend it!
Review 10 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 24, 2014
TylerPhillip
Oklahoma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Sturdy, Solid, and Lots of Desk Space!

Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Durable, value, Appearance/Design
Great desk, glad I purchased! Fairly easy to assemble but a little time consuming. Also, make sure to push the small wood dowels in ALL THE WAY when assembling -- I found out the hard way that you DO NOT want to try to push them in further when pressing the other conjoining desk piece together. The dowels busted through the other side of the wood because I failed to push them in all the way and then applied the wood glue which kept them 2/3 of the way in. Not too horrible, it doesn't look too horrible but just an FYI for everyone else.
Also, the cabinet that holds my pc case isn't large enough -- to be exact, if I can make the wire opening in the back larger there won't be a problem, but for now the door doesn't close completely. It should once I get the energy up to widen the wire holes.
Have had the desk assembled for about 3 weeks now and I love it!
Review 11 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 24, 2014
srkm
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Nice for small home office

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
Easy to assemble and looks firm. Very nice for a home office.
Review 12 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 22, 2014
ssgcy
West Seneca, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Excellent for the price

Pros: value, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
Cons: scratches very easy
If you read the instructions this product is fairly easy to assemble. BUT you should have a helper for the later stages of instructions. Pieces do get awkward to handle.
I agree with other the finish is very easy to scratch, be careful.
Once together though it is a very attractive piece of furniture for the price. I would wait for the sale price however.
I had one piece that broke. One phone call later and replacement pieces were sent to me. Cannot complain about that.
Review 13 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 22, 2014
Skip D
Lebanon TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Good value

Pros: value, Appearance/Design
Very nice looking desk at a very reasonable price. Easy to follow instructions, but it does take a few hours to assemble. Sturdy packaging and fast delivery. I'm very satisfied.
Review 14 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 15, 2014
GG
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Remarkable Desk

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Appearance/Design
I have several desks over the years, but this is, by far, the best one yet. It serves all my office needs and then some. Absolutely remarkable and the price wasn't too bad either. Thanks Office Depot.
Review 15 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 13, 2014
dlett
GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

pretty good

I think overall the desk is pretty good. It's very sturdy but my concern would be the drawers...I think they are made from a different material because if you bump them the wrong way...they chip...and I had to pay 140 dollars to have my stuff assemble way to high compared to other furniture stores
Review 16 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 12, 2014
Whyz
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Awesome purchase

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
Cons: need two people to put together
The separated pieces for each step makes this desk very easy to put together. I purchased it a week ago and it is very sturdy, looks more expensive than it is and is a great addition to my home office!
Review 17 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 12, 2014
Mark
Panama City Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Very nice desk

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
Great price -purchase this on line when it is on sale for possible additional savings. I saved 20 dollars. One assembly issue -make sure all the wooden pegs that you glue in the initial steps are completely inserted. I left one a little high and when putting the desk drawer sides together, I needed to hit it with a rubber hammer. That left a dimple on the outside of the desk. Fortunately it is under the desk and not noticable.
Review 18 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 11, 2014
Ren
South Park, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

great desk

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
easiest desk I ever put together each step has screws in a packet for just that step so no guessing on which screws to use, best desk I've ever bought, love it, a lot of storage space in drawers, I would recommend it to anyone looking for a desk, downside its a very heavy desk in the box so you need 2 people to carry it
Review 19 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 10, 2014
KathleenSFL
Fort Lauderdale, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Great, just wish hub had USB!

I would have given this desk 5 stars if the power hub that came with it had USB in it. Everyone wants USB ports!
Review 20 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
March 10, 2014
sam
Coral Springs, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Really nice desk

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
One of the main reasons I purchased this desk was because of the smaller size of it. It is a full size office desk but fits really nicely into my smaller room. The quality is definitely on par and looks beautiful
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>