Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso

Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso

Item #:101095
Average Customer Rating:
4.355 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(349 Reviews) 346
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(208)
4 stars
(98)
3 stars
(18)
2 stars
(9)
1 star
(16)
286 of 316(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
Review 1 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
January 30, 2015
North Carolina
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Cheap for a reason

Pros: Appearance/Design
Cons: Easily Damaged, Quality: Flimsy
I have used this desk for three years now. The laminate has peeled off the edges and also the top in some places. The desk looks very nice but it's not meant to last very long as it does not stand up to daily use very well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
January 26, 2015
Apple Valley, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Best Purchase Ever

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight
Meet my needs Perfectly would recommended to others
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
January 25, 2015
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

great product!

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Appearance/Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
everything is perfect, except the 2inch grommet did not come. takes 3-4 hours to assemble
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
January 23, 2015
Tucker, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Perfect

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
I love the desk. Its durable and pretty sturdy. Excellent corner desk. I had shopped for comparable products, but this one was on sale and I got it for $199. Was very easy to put together. Only difficult part was sliding the "L" pieces together along the carpet in my office. Had to get some help, but that was nothing compared to the functionality of the desk.
Currently using 23" all in one HP computer and HP Officejet pro 6830 on the desk with no problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
January 19, 2015
St. Louis, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Best desk I have ever had

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
I love my new L-Shaped desk. I love the angles and the space I got. My old desk didn't have any drawers. This one has three plus the file cabinet. Great value for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
January 19, 2015
Statesville,NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great Desk!!!

Pros: value, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
This is a great desk for the money. It looks nice and is a pretty good size for a home office. We bought two of these, one for me and the other for the wife. One of them came in perfect condition and the other had some marks on it from shipping. None of which could really be seen once is was completely assembled. This desk comes with tons of pieces but they did a very good job at putting the instructions together. I'm an Engineer by trade and have had to make such drawings before and these by far are excellent. If you can read and operate a screwdriver, you can put this thing together. The first one took me 4.5hrs and the second one took me 2.5 hrs. In just 27 steps you can do it too. Overall, I'm very please with these desks. They seem pretty sturdy and well thought out. You won't find a better desk for $144. I would have probably paid double that for this and most others like it are well up in that price range. You can't go wrong with this desk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
January 19, 2015
Marrero LA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

desk problems

Pros: value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
Cons: uneven space in drawer, scratches gouges
First I thought, after putting the desk together it looked great. My problems were that their were too many small scratches and some gouges on the top that were deal killers. After getting it to my house and put together I was not going to return it. The overall quality suffered because of these problems. Also had to put washers behind two drawer slides because space in between file cabinet area was not square. overall great value, bought hutch also but small scratches and gouges really bothered me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
January 19, 2015
Panama City, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Happy with the look and functionality of the desk

Pros: value, Quality, Appearance/Design
I am Happy with the look and functionality of the desk. The assembly process was not too burdensome.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
January 19, 2015
Round Lake Beach, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Neat Great Design

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
This desk look's awesome in my home. I would recommend this to anyone, you can put it together very easy. The number instruction are a great and the hardware is put into separate bags for each step. There is also a bag of spare hardware as well. I know I have order many piece and can't stand when it's missing hardware pieces. All around great look.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
January 15, 2015
Columbus, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Peeling everywhere!

Pros: Functional
Cons: Easily Damaged, Quality: Flimsy
I've only had this desk for a month and the laminate is peeling already. I bought the hutch with this also so ultimately this was over $300 of a waste! SO disappointed and will NEVER order from this company again. Awful, cheap furniture. This should be a $50 desk at most.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
January 12, 2015
Fort Worth, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Nice Desk

Pros: Features, Appearance/Design
Cons: Easily Damaged
Nice desk with easy to follow instructions. Easier with two people, but can be done alone. All parts well labeled and separated into step by step process. Don't use a power screwdriver, which is also noted on instructions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
January 12, 2015
Gwynn Oak, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Real Classy

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight
Cons: takes time to put together
I am very impressed by this desk. The online view doesn't do justice to the beauty and desktop surface design. This desk is more than true to its description.. It's classy, looks very expensive and professional. I would never expect this from an online item at this price. Delivery came less than a week after ordering, and everything was perfect. No pieces were missing and the instructions were clear and easy. The only drawback is that this item does take some time to put together--4 hours for us. You can't go wrong with this one!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
January 12, 2015
Ponte Vedra, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Great product!

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight
Cons: Size & Weight
Found this product while scouring through a recent Slickdeals find and was able to secure for a super great price! Everything was well labeled, and loved how all the hardware pieces were all compartmentalized/separated for each step. The only downside was getting this table home from the in-store pickup. We have a 2015 Chevy Traverse with the 3 rows of seating + trunk space... and had to rearrange the 2nd row to move 1 of our 2 kid seats to the 3rd row in order to slide it all the way up one side. It is definitely a heavy piece as well- and will need two people to move it. Top notch, highly recommended!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
January 12, 2015
Carolina, PR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Nice

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design, Comfortable
Easy step by step instructions on assembling.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
January 12, 2015
Atlanta,GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Very satisfied with this purchase

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight
I and my family liking this once installed in my office room.
It gave a grand look to my room. 5 star product with no doubt. Assembling took some time but it is straight forward and no difficulties.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
January 9, 2015
Asheville, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

It is What it is.

This is a good desk configuration, but for more of a "student" size than an office. But functions well and not bad for the money.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
January 7, 2015
Miramar, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great office desk

Pros: value, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
Cons: Quality
This office desk was easy to put together with the detailed instructions and neatly separated out hardware for each step of the build. It looks great and very professional.
The laminate covering is pretty thin though and I could see it was chipped at multiple places even as I unpacked the pieces out of the box.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
January 4, 2015
Detroit, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Nice Affordable Desk and Hutch!

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy
I know someone who bought this desk so I went on their word about the quality. They like the desk and hutch just fine. It looks very nice and is a really good quality set. I would not use it for business grade office furniture but for the occassional family use of web surfing, making phone calls, shopping and paying bills it's top notch. The finish is a veneered or covered press board surface and should be used and cared for with that in mind. Use a mouse pad so the surface will not be marred and if any nicks or rub offs on edges should occur there are a multitude of matching wood color pencils and markers at any home improvement store that will keep your furniture looking top notch. I have assembled furniture (and even finer furniture) I've owned for 10 or more years that still looks new by keeping it maintained in this manner. Not to mention if any parts ever need to be repaired or replaced the manufacturer can provide those with a short phone call. I've had great service in the past going through the manufacturer. I always keep the paperwork for the furniture handy in one of the drawers. If this does not sound convenient there are plenty of desk sets that will suit your needs but they will cost much more!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
January 1, 2015
Clayton, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Very excited about my beautiful new desk

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Size & Weight, Well Made/ Sturdy
I will start this off and say that I have NEVER put anything together by myself. I am very impressed that was able to put this together with no problems at all! I love the fact that all of the steps were in its own separate plastic bag! The sections and drawers were easily marked with stickers. The screws and dowels were very easy to figure out where they go from looking at the instructions. I am excited to say that I ABSOLUTELY adore this desk and EVERYTHING about it! I can't wait to get additional pieces to add to my home office. I have gotten so many compliments on it. Thank you Office Depot for such a great product :-) I was trying to upload pictures but for some reason it won't allow me to attach anything....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Realspace® Magellan Collection L-Shaped Desk, 30H x 58 3/4W x 18 3/4D, Espresso
December 30, 2014
Hudosnville
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Laminate Peels Off Instantly

Pros: Appearance/Design
Cons: Easily Damaged
Looks nice but that's where it ends. See my video. A simple piece of scotch tape will peel off the laminate.
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
See How Easily It's Damaged
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>