Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nuova AS892C 8-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Office Depot.

Nuova AS892C 8-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder

Item #:104807
Average Customer Rating:
4.381 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(11)
4 stars
(9)
3 stars
(0)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(1)
19 of 20(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nuova AS892C 8-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
Review 1 for Nuova AS892C 8-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
January 20, 2014
Sammy
Edsion, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Excellent

Pros: Quiet, affordable, strong, saves space, secure
I upgraded my old shredder to this one. This one is so quiet compared to my old shredder. This shredder cuts paper into small tiny pieces (not micro cut). This shredder is worth every penny. This shredder is powerful. This is good for a small office or for a personal desk. When you remove the lid it automatically turns off the shredder for safety.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nuova AS892C 8-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
January 14, 2014
Trance
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Wow!

I got this shredder it is great! My old one bit the dust after decades of use. This one does the job for us and works great. After shopping reviews I am glad I chose this lower cost unit over a much higher one. It works just as well.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nuova AS892C 8-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
January 7, 2014
R Raghavan
CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Decent low cost shredder

Pros: value, Easy to Use
NOTE: The spec on the website is incorrect. It mentions Shred size as 0.12" x 0.84", but infact it is 0.1875" x 1.85". Gave feedback in the stores and they refused to do anything about it !!
Pros:
- Not very noisy
- Does the job well as long as you feed 4 or less sheets. More than that, i think it will scream at you ;)
- 3 yr warranty on the cutters. Not many shredder brands stand by their cutters
Cons:
- The shredder is top heavy and a tapering bottom, so has a tendency to topple even with the slightest push. Good thing is they have a sensor to shut off the shredder if the cutting head looses contact with base.
- Not a micro shredder as advertised on the website
- Does not have slot for CDs. (Ok for me, I don't shred CDs anyways)
- Exposed cutters, need to be very careful when cleaning
- Shred size not too small. I could see my full name in some of the shred pieces.
I purchased this when it was on sale for $19.99. For that price, its a good buy :-)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nuova AS892C 8-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
January 4, 2014
friends of coal
Johnson City, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

thumbs up

Pros: value, Easy to Use, compact, love the sight glass
I have filled (4) 13 gallon trash bags with success. The only problems where my fault. 1 I tried to feed it to much and jammed it up witch led to over heating. I let it cool off and was back in business.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nuova AS892C 8-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
January 3, 2014
Liz
henderson, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Not Bad

Pros: value
Not bad for an inexpensive shredder. Perfect for home use.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nuova AS892C 8-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
December 28, 2013
karl52
oak park mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

good value

so far works well for home use
Review 7 for Nuova AS892C 8-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
December 28, 2013
shredder for Christmas
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Wasn't as described

It was described as a cross-cut shredder on-line and on the box we received but it only cuts in straight lines. Seems to work fine, so we are keeping it, but just wanted to share that the description isn't correct.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nuova AS892C 8-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
December 28, 2013
summer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Awesome shredder

Perfect for light shredding, shreds credit cards wit ease. Delivery in 2 days, great online shopping here.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nuova AS892C 8-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
December 28, 2013
Us Two
New Haven, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great Purchase

Does a great job. Basket fills up fast.
Review 10 for Nuova AS892C 8-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
December 27, 2013
Everything Mom
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Did the Job Inexpensively

Pros: very inexpensive, for $30 bucks it does an awesome job
Cons: have to wait for a cool down(10 min)
I agree with "Good for the Buck". I looked at models that were around $180-$200. I read the reviews on this model and decided to purchase it. In one day I have shredded approx. 500 pages. It does need to cool off(10 min)after shredding 2 buckets worth. Works better with 4 pages instead of 8 at a time. It will shred 8 pages at a time but seems to work the motor too hard. This product works well for the $30 price. Very glad I didn't buy the high dollar one.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nuova AS892C 8-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
December 21, 2013
Perkman
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

I'm Absolutely Shredded!

Pros: value, Quiet, Easy to Use, Performance
Cons: short power cord, small catch bin
This unit works very well, makes little paper pieces out of big one's, has not choked on anything I have fed it, relatively quiet. It's all you could ask of a shredder. The catch bin is a little small, but has a viewer where you can see how full it is, and is easy to empty. Can't give it 5 stars until I have a good feel for how long it will last before failing, which I am sure it will at some point. The power cord could be a little longer, as it is pretty stretched out at the location I have placed it, but I have no other place to put it.
Review 12 for Nuova AS892C 8-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
December 21, 2013
Dave K
Austin TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great Shredder at a bargain price

Pros: value, Performance
Not much to say other than this was the least expensive shredder I could find to do light duty shredding in my home office. It has performed flawlessly in the weeks since I purchased it and continues to do the job.
Review 13 for Nuova AS892C 8-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
December 18, 2013
Mengy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Good for the buck

Pros: value, Easy to Use
Cons: Sound Quality
Inexpensive.
Lightweight.
Shreds 4 pages easily (says it shreds up to 8 but I feel like anything above 4 pages starts to work the motor really hard).
The credit card section in the middle is also perfect for thin spam mail that you don't even want to open.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nuova AS892C 8-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
December 16, 2013
Liz
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Works great

Pros: value, Easy to Use
We bought this on black friday, and it works great so far!
Review 15 for Nuova AS892C 8-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
December 14, 2013
JIM
LAS VEGAS, NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

BADLY DESIGNED

Cons: read the above
I RETURNED THE SHREDDER BECAUSE THE SLOT WAS BARELY WIDE ENOUGH TO ACCEPT A STANDARD SIZED 8.5 BY11 INCH SHEET. IF THE SHEETS WERE TO BE PUT IN SLIGHTLY ASKEW, THE SHREDDER WOULD BE FORCED TO FOLD THE SHEETS TO BE ABLE TO SHRED THEM. i DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY THE SLOT COULD NOT HAVE BEEN WIDER AS THERE WAS ENOUGH SPACE ON EITHER SIDE OF THE SLOT TO ACCOMMODATE A WIDER SLOT.
THIS IS A BAD ENGINEERING DESIGN THAT MAKES THE SHREDDER MORE DIFFICULT TO USE.
J KABAS
Review 16 for Nuova AS892C 8-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
December 14, 2013
wml
Tampa, Fl.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Very nice Shredder

Never heard of this brand before, but have been using heavily for 2 weeks since my purchase with no problems. Have not used the CC function as of yet, but this has lived up to specs of 8 sheets.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nuova AS892C 8-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
December 14, 2013
Nancy
St Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great Little Shredder

Pros: quick and powerful for the size
This replaced a desk top shredder that had about one good year, then limped along for another two. It's slightly larger, really too large unless you have a substantial desk, but it's much faster than the little one I had and it's very inexpensive.
Review 18 for Nuova AS892C 8-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
December 5, 2013
LPL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Good

I have used it only three times. It works great no problems.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nuova AS892C 8-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
November 30, 2013
Gary C
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great for home

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Performance
Does what I need it to do and works great!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nuova AS892C 8-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
November 23, 2013
Ken
Sacramento, Calif.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Smaller than expected but performs well

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Design, Performance
I ordered this online and did store pick up.For some reason I expected it to be taller and have a larger basket. For personal use on a occasional basis this is a good fit, however unless you want to make a lot of trips to the trash can it is not good for high production. It performs well in all other areas.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>