Office Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Office Depot
Shop Clocks or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Apex® Tablet 7 (AP-7S118) 7 Tablet

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Office Depot.

Apex® Tablet 7 (AP-7S118) 7 Tablet

Item #:112034
Average Customer Rating:
2.585 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(10)
4 stars
(10)
3 stars
(13)
2 stars
(7)
1 star
(25)
27 of 57(47%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Apex® Tablet 7 (AP-7S118) 7 Tablet
Review 1 for Apex® Tablet 7 (AP-7S118) 7 Tablet
August 23, 2013
Askeron
Hermiston Or
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

love it

Pros: Sound Quality, value, Battery Life, Screen/Display, Easy to Use, Lightweight
love it for videos and music and pdf ebooks. great tablet
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Apex® Tablet 7 (AP-7S118) 7 Tablet
September 2, 2013
Patrice
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Best purchase ever for an affordable price!

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Display Screen, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
This is a great tablet for the price. Why pay all hundreds of dollars when you can buy this tablet that does the same thing. I purchased my tablet on the 21st of August and been on it everyday since and absolutely love it. In fact I am going to buy another on today for a Christmas gift.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Apex® Tablet 7 (AP-7S118) 7 Tablet
September 4, 2013
boondox
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

3 Replacements

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Easy to Set Up
Cons: battery life, Quality, Performance
I am on my 3rd replacement tablet and i have the same issue. The battery cant decide if its charged or not. Cant decide on the percentage its charged. My first unit wouldn't see the charger at all. My other two would go from 80% to 30% or similar ranges while charging. I turned it off and back on then it says that i have 5% left and shuts off. I dont want to bring it back again but it just doesn't work. I even tried my newest one 10 miles away from my house thinking maybe on some off change it was the wiring in my house (plus i was going to work anyway). Very sad to see this happening...
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Apex® Tablet 7 (AP-7S118) 7 Tablet
September 7, 2013
Chocolatecvb
Pensacola, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Don't Bother With This Tablet

Pros: none
Cons: Quality, Performance, just plain doesn't work
I tried this so called bargain of a tablet for my 2 year old because she kept crying about getting on my 10 year old's Kindle Fire. I bought this tablet, set it up, and it froze once on her not even 4 hours after purchasing it from the store. By the morning of day 2 it froze again. Before the day was out it froze again and wouldn't reset. I took it back to Office Depot and bought a Kindle Fire. You get what you pay for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Apex® Tablet 7 (AP-7S118) 7 Tablet
September 7, 2013
jazzy1
Dallas, Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Don't waste you time

Cons: Performance
This is one of the worst things I've spent money on. I just bought it today and tomorrow it will go back for a full refund. I was at home using my wifi and the connection was horrible as if I was far away when I was only in the next room. I have high speed internet and the tablet was still moving extremely slow. I wouldn't recommend buying this. ( not even for children)
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Apex® Tablet 7 (AP-7S118) 7 Tablet
September 12, 2013
Me.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst purchase ever, a waste of money

Pros: Battery Life, Lightweight
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Performance
I purchased this tablet for my daughter, and it was a complete waste of money! This tablet price is low because of the quality of the overall tablet is worthless! The tablet overheat, after only days of purchasing it, mainly every time I download something from the google play, after a day or hours, it end up deleting itself, then like it reset itself back to factory setting! 0n top of that, it always pop up with errors which keeps me from going to the web on it because of that. I assume that even though the price was low, it was worth it, but I was mistaken, I am returning this soon for a different tablet, I hate spending more money, but after the pain of this one, it's worth it in the long run!!!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Apex® Tablet 7 (AP-7S118) 7 Tablet
October 1, 2013
TechGuru89
Santa Clara, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

Good tablet for simple things

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Easy to Set Up
Cons: battery life
For those who are 'technically' challenged, I don't suggest getting this tablet.
Pros: This tablet is great for any 'light work' such as reading PDFs, checking email, using apps for organization, etc.
Cons: This tablet has low GHz, which means that the speed stinks, so it's going to be really slow. I do not suggest this as a cheap means of downloading a game just to get your child to be quite. It's not meant for games or apps that have a lot of features, and are meant for speed.
This would be a great tablet for students who want their notes stored on a simple tablet. For note taking, organizing, adding reminders. Sort of like a palm pilot. It can't take too much.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Apex® Tablet 7 (AP-7S118) 7 Tablet
October 1, 2013
StephanieC
Key West, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

Not supported by Google Play

Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Set Up, Quality, Performance, no app availability, freezes
I bought this product in spite of bad reviews. The first product did, in fact, freeze. I sent it back and it was replaced, easy peasy. No problem there. The second one seemed to be working just fine. I managed to get through set up, which was farther than the first one had gotten. I went to download an app, and guess what? Not supported. After 45 minutes on the phone with the company that produces the app, and another 30 minutes on the phone with google play, i learned that this product, although it is preloaded with Google Play, is not actually supported by google play, so you can't download a single app for it. I had only bought this product so I would be able to access my text books on the go, and since that failed, I have no use for this.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Apex® Tablet 7 (AP-7S118) 7 Tablet
October 5, 2013
riley1982
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

You get what you paid for

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Easy to Set Up
Cons: battery life, Display Screen, Quality, Performance
Whenever I make an impulse purchase, I will eventually pay for it, and I'm paying for this one. I've had this tablet for a month and it has reset by itself at least twice per week! If you want a quality tablet, do yourself a favor and go for either the Nexus 7/10 or any of the Samsung tabs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Apex® Tablet 7 (AP-7S118) 7 Tablet
October 5, 2013
Nise
California
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Everything and nothing I expected.

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: battery life
It's everything I expected in my first android device. Alot of great apps and ease of use. What I didnt expect was the battery life. It says four hours which is minimal and the battery life lasted even less. I had a $50 gift card and ended up paying $15 total with the shipping. For the money it's fabulous. I just wish the battery lasted MUCH longer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Apex® Tablet 7 (AP-7S118) 7 Tablet
October 5, 2013
frenchie
Wethersfield,Ct
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

best purchase so far

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Easy to Set Up
Cons: battery life
since i purchased my tablet i have used every day since
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Apex® Tablet 7 (AP-7S118) 7 Tablet
October 5, 2013
TxHandywoman
Hamshire, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Nice and simple

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Easy to Set Up
Cons: battery life
For the price, this Tablet does what it says. I can go online, play videos, take my picture with the front facing camera. I can search by voice. Great starter for kids - even though most kids are far more advanced in their knowledge of electronic devices. Battery has held up, but does heat up pretty quick. Because of the screen size, a stylus is almost a must!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Apex® Tablet 7 (AP-7S118) 7 Tablet
October 6, 2013
ComputerGeek
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Not really worth the money

Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Set Up
Cons: Display Screen, Performance
The resolution of the camera and the screen are really poor. The interface is sluggish. I got it on sale and even at that price was not worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Apex® Tablet 7 (AP-7S118) 7 Tablet
October 8, 2013
MatTay
KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Not bad for the money

Pros: value, Lightweight, Easy to Set Up
Cons: battery life
I purchased this item for my job to use during the day when im away from my desk. I purchased it while it was on sale and i am very happy with it. It may not be the top of the line product but it does exactly what i need it to.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Apex® Tablet 7 (AP-7S118) 7 Tablet
October 8, 2013
swhitlow
montgomery, al
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

not satisfied

I was not able to get this item replaced. I was not offered the insurance and now I have to fully purchase another one. The screen cracked and it is white and I have never gotten my 10.00 discount whenever i use my reward as promised.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Apex® Tablet 7 (AP-7S118) 7 Tablet
October 8, 2013
Sunny
Georgia
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Not impressed

Pros: Display Screen, Lightweight
Cons: Quality, Performance
I purchased this just to use in the kitchen with recipes I have saved as documents and also online at Pinterest. After going thru all the setups, it crashed and lost everything. I set it up again and it seemed ok. Next morning, turned it on and it was all gone again and back to factory settings. It ended up crashing a total of 3 times in the 24 hours that I owned it. I returned it the day after I received it, I wouldn't have even been able to use it for the simple things that I wanted to do with it. I thought it was possible that I just had a defective one, but when I returned it, I was told by an associate that a lot of them were being returned (they were on sale for $60 when I got it). Don't waste your time.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Apex® Tablet 7 (AP-7S118) 7 Tablet
October 9, 2013
eie3000
zAugusta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

works great, no problems

Pros: value, Display Screen, Performance
no problem downloading from android store, pictures, video music, other files transfered no problem, easy to use, good quality screen, would like better camrea, otherwise a great deal for the price
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Apex® Tablet 7 (AP-7S118) 7 Tablet
October 10, 2013
M.ichigan
Lansing, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

meh, its alright.

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Lightweight, Easy to Set Up
Cons: battery life, Quality, Performance
I knew when I was buying this product that it wasn't going to be top-notch quality but given the low cost- I cant really complain. It has trouble surfing the the web and loading GoogleMaps even when connected to stellar wifi but hey, I'm a patient person so i really don't mind too much.
I do suggest getting some type of screen protector, otherwise the screen will get scratched like no other.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Apex® Tablet 7 (AP-7S118) 7 Tablet
October 31, 2013
MsDidi
Springfield, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Umm...it's okay

Pros: value, Battery Life, Lightweight
Cons: Display Screen, Performance, internet connection
I have a 2 and a half years old grandson that is always using my Kindle to watch Dora, the Explorer and Go Diego Go. I bought this Apex because the cost was in the ballpark range of what I was willing to spend on a tablet for a 2 years old.
Initially I could not get it to recognize, nor connect to the internet. I was on my way to return, when my son tried to connect it again...it worked. I believe that if the signal isn't HIGH then it won't get it. I'm not sure what the issue was. But I downloaded game apps he likes to play and it seemed to be fine. As this is a Christmas gift he hasn't played with it yet, but for now it's okay.
I did discover that although it is 7" like the Kindle, I was not able to use the protective kid's Kindle case with this tablet as it is shorter (up and down) than my Kindle. I purchased him a sleeve and I'm still looking for a case for it.
I do not believe that an adult who requires a tablet that will stand the test of time would enjoy this tablet, but I'd recommend it for anyone under the age of 14years.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Apex® Tablet 7 (AP-7S118) 7 Tablet
November 4, 2013
DenverSB
Boulder, Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Bad Choice Bad Purchase

I have many tablets and tend to buy any new one that I find on sale. I purchased the Apex Tablet 7 (AP-7S118) yesterday and returned it today. I've purchased a few faulty tablets in the past, but I usually exchange the tablet for a working one instead of returning for a refund.
The reason I requested a refund is that whenever I find a defective electronic device right out of the box, I do research online to see if this is a common problem with the device. When I find a variety independent issues I know it is safe to exchange. When I find, as in the case with the Apex Tablet 7, a common problem that many previous buyers shared, I know it is not wise to exchange. Most of the comments by previous owners complained about the tablet crashing and not charging. I charged the tablet out of the box for 8 hours. When I unplugged it and turned it on. The batter showed full charge. It remained on for 6 seconds then shut down, displaying a message that the battery was depleted. I charged it overnight and it would never turn back on. It only displayed a red battery symbol on the screen.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>