Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 15-n071nr Laptop Computer With 15.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Office Depot.

HP Pavilion TouchSmart 15-n071nr Laptop Computer With 15.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor

Item #:119756
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(9)
4 stars
(5)
3 stars
(0)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(0)
12 of 12(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 15-n071nr Laptop Computer With 15.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
Review 1 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 15-n071nr Laptop Computer With 15.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
April 1, 2014
Rod S
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Excellent Fast, Value Machine!

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
The HP Pavilion TouchSmart 15 with the AMD A10, Radeon graphics, 1 TB hard drive, touch screen and 8GB system memory is an outstanding system for the money. I was wary of purchasing another HP product because I had many overheating problems with my CQ laptop. But so far the processor and graphics run cool enough enough to all the handle movies, music and videos that I've thrown at it. I don't play games on it, so I can't comment on that aspect. Sorry, gamers. For productivity, the laptop's processing power is more than adequate for light/medium financial modeling and other office duty. Windows 8.1 takes getting used to but I love being able to navigate by swiping and by tradition keyboard and mouse. It is slightly heavier than other laptops in the class, but not overly so. Overall, highly recommended machine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 15-n071nr Laptop Computer With 15.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
March 29, 2014
Pleased With Purchase
Panhandle of Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Excellent Value for the Price

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
I needed to replace my four year old laptop with a laptop that I considered to be a quality product with at least 6gb of RAM, 500gb hard drive, touchscreen capability, an excellent processor, operating at least Windows 8, from a name brand company, and with a price tag of $600 or less. After about two months of online searching, I found this laptop on the Office Depot website, and it met my purchase requirements. I have been using this laptop for three weeks, and it has performed admirably. The setup was very easy, and the startup and shutdown time is fast. I upgraded to Windows 8.1 and it was very easy to do. It took me about two hours to do so with my DSL connection. But before upgrading to Window 8.1 I had to install all of the upgrades to Windows 8 first. It took me three iterations before all of the Windows 8 upgrades were completed. Once that was done upgrading to Windows 8.1 was a snap. The touchscreen of this laptop works wonderfully. With the touchscreen I found that I no longer need to use a mouse. The combination of the touchscreen and touchpad does everything a mouse does without having to do all of that clicking. I'm still learning how to use Windows 8.1, but it has not been difficult at all. I think having a touchscreen makes it easier to use the Windows 8.1 features over using a mouse, but I cannot say for sure since I no longer use a mouse. The speed (performance) has been outstanding. The graphics quality has also been very good and meets my needs, but if you use your laptop to watch a lot of movies then perhaps a laptop with better resolution and graphics card would be recommended. I haven't determined how long the battery lasts as I keep my laptop plugged in, but I do hope it is at least four hours as advertised. The exterior of the laptop is silver, and the interior is black. It looks very nice. The speakers work well, and produces a quality sound with no distortion. The 8gb of RAM is great to have, but that is the maximum you can have, which is all that I need. Having a 1 TB harddrive has been a bonus for me. Overall, for a laptop with all of these features with outstanding performance and at a price of $479, I have been extremely pleased with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 15-n071nr Laptop Computer With 15.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
January 6, 2014
Sandi
Ft lauderdale fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Good laptop

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: battery life
I got this Black Friday great deal and love it despite windows 8 my only complaint is battery time for me is only been 2 hours when it said 4. 1/2 I am going to try it again at 100% and see what happens before I take it in
Really nice and lite
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 15-n071nr Laptop Computer With 15.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
January 3, 2014
bholo
bradenton florida.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

realy good purchase ....

Pros: value
good leptop its save my time with touch screen ....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 15-n071nr Laptop Computer With 15.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
December 19, 2013
jtvan
Ocala, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Love The Touchscreen!

Pros: value, Display Screen, Easy to Set Up
I purchased this computer on Black Friday weekend at $20 more than the current sale price. I was able to purchase it online and used my PayPal account for payment.
The keyboard has a nice touch. Although the computer has a touchscreen I added a cordless mouse. It came with Windows 8 installed but I had to install the 8.1 upgrade. Registering the computer with HP was easy and there is a nice selection of FREE programs available for downloading. The screen has a good resolution and the 15.6" screen seems to be just the right size.
The delivery by Office Depot was prompt. The computer works well but there is a learning curve when you go from Windows 7 to 8. HP has some tutorials installed on the computer to help new users. I also purchased a reference book for Windows 8.1.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 15-n071nr Laptop Computer With 15.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
December 18, 2013
Happy Camper
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Good Features and Great Price

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
This is an excellent product, just what I would expect from HP. It has a slick exterior and it was set up and working very quickly. I was not familiar with Windows 8 and bought with some trepidation considering some of the reviews. But it was very easy to get started and I do not have any issues. This laptop has good features at a great price point. The AMD A 10 is close in speed to the Intel Core i5 at a lower price.
I think it might be useful to have a lighted keyboard which this laptop does not have. It should be noted that there is just one jack for both mic and headset so if you have an older model headset that needs two jacks, you will need to buy an adapter which is hard to find.
I was able to upgrade to Windows 8.1 after some difficulty finding the utility in the App Store. It turns out that you need to clear out the casche and then the box for the upgrade appears. Look for instructions on the Web. The upgrade is a rather time consuming process that needs a fast connection because it is 3.5 GB in size, but the process works well and is basically automatic.
I am very pleased with the quality of this machine.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 15-n071nr Laptop Computer With 15.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
December 15, 2013
iufan2010
Indianapolis, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

Good but with some faults

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Easy to Set Up
Cons: battery life, Display Screen
In reality, I would give this a 3.5, but I'll be nice and round up. I came from using a Dell Inspiron with an Intel processor that I purchased 4 years ago. I needed a new laptop after mine went down just before the semester ended and I came across this one black friday. A few things I noticed about the laptop you may be curious about before investing.
The pros first. I love how responsive the touchscreen is and how nice the keyboard is to use. The start up time is extremely fast and the sound quality is good too. It's not a problem to have multiple screens open at once and to swipe between them quickly. I do like how light and thin the model is. Much better than my clunky dell.
A few cons with it. The video quality isn't the best for what it could be. I watch a lot of movies and tv on here and I would say I am somewhat disappointed in the video quality. My dell had a better video quality than this one. Luckily I have an HDMI cable so I can hook it up to my tv and get a good picture. I've had a few crashes already and forced restarts. The battery life is just under 4 hours with moderate usage, and there aren't any extended batteries for this model.
Overall it's a good laptop for the money I would say. If you want to do gaming or video editing, not the computer for you, but for those who do multiple things at once and need a good laptop with plenty of storage, this is a good option to look at.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 15-n071nr Laptop Computer With 15.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
December 15, 2013
John4774
Bay Area, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Excellent value.

Fast AMD quad-core A10 processor (CPU speed: 2.1-2.9 GHz) + 8 GB RAM + 1TB HDD + Windows 8.0 (free upgrade to 8.1) + touchscreen + excellent ergonomics. All for <$500. Are you kidding me???
Also: Touchscreen works perfectly. Beautiful aesthetics. HP Protect Smart hard drive protection. EPEAT "silver" (environmental) rating. Fine keyboard lights for: caps lock, mute, and Wi-Fi. Removable/replaceable battery. Free 25GB lifetime storage on the cloud.
Stunning value. I've been using it constantly for two weeks. Upgraded to 8.1. Zero problems. Fast.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 15-n071nr Laptop Computer With 15.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
December 14, 2013
William Gosset
Preston, Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

HP at a Great Price

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: battery life, Heavy/Bulky
I have owned HP computers for 20+ years. I am sold on their quality. Not only was this the best price I found on this or a near equivalent HP, it was the best price of any brand laptop with the same or equivalent processor.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 15-n071nr Laptop Computer With 15.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
December 7, 2013
Jsgeb
Brighton, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

My first laptop

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: battery life
My first experience with a laptop and touch-screen display. Really am enjoying it. I did have one problem with it that required a call to HP tech support but it seems to be doing fine now. Do love Windows 8.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 15-n071nr Laptop Computer With 15.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
December 6, 2013
AZCookie
Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great for the price!

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Display Screen, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: can occasionally freeze up
I bought this laptop on Black Friday, and have had a few days to play with it. In 15 years, this is my first non-Dell laptop, so I was skeptical. I work from home, so my computer is on ALL DAY, and I often have numerous screens open.
The keyboard is very solid, and has the chicklet keys, which are very easy to use. The touchscreen is really responsive, and you can switch between using the keyboard/mouse and the touchscreen at any point. I upgraded to Windows 8.1 immediately, as I had read it's a lot better than Windows 8, and if you do that, be aware it's a whole new operating system - not an upgrade, so you need to remove Windows 8, since it takes up a ton of space. If you have a smartphone, then adjusting to Windows 8 will not be difficult. The speed is great, and the computer is entirely quiet. So far, the laptop has frozen on me once. It was super easy and quick to set-up, and load my other software. Once I had linked up my router, the laptop automatically found and synced up my printer, which was excellent - didn't need to load drivers. software, anything. HP does a great job of alerting the machine to problems or updates, too. For the price, it's a really well built machine, and so far, I'm really happy I made the change to HP! For a touchscreen with so much space and speed, it's a super buy!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 15-n071nr Laptop Computer With 15.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
December 5, 2013
Laxmikant Bondre
Hackensack NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Blue Tooth

Pros: Display Screen, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: bluetooth
I am unable to connect to my blue tooth devices such as my smart phones / my bluetooth headset through this laptop.
When I do Add Device from laptop it does not recognize the device at all. The bluetooth discovery on my devices is on.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 15-n071nr Laptop Computer With 15.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
December 4, 2013
free willy
san diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

butiful laptop

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Lightweight, Easy to Set Up, Performance
it is a very nice laptop ,the setting is very easy ....you just follow the instructions ,for the price its really worth it ,the touch screen it is very nice and useful ...the processor speed is amazing comparing to my old laptop... make sure you read the product details so you know what i am talking about .
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 15-n071nr Laptop Computer With 15.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
December 4, 2013
rickygtz
McAllen,TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Good Laptop for the Price

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Set Up
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
I am very happy with this laptop purchase, is fast and easy to set up, I would only like to see more HP with full HD resolution as most of the current models are still in the 700s.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.