Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP 564, Black Original Ink Cartridge (CB316WN)

HP 564, Black Original Ink Cartridge (CB316WN)

Item #:126405
Average Customer Rating:
3.246 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(289 Reviews) 279
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(114)
4 stars
(33)
3 stars
(31)
2 stars
(32)
1 star
(79)
173 of 287(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for HP 564, Black Original Ink Cartridge (CB316WN)
Review 1 for HP 564, Black Original Ink Cartridge (CB316WN)
December 15, 2014
buyer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

great

this ink is as always great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP 564, Black Original Ink Cartridge (CB316WN)
December 8, 2014
TPC
Dartmouth, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Other

Does not last

Cons: Short Cartridge Life
I replaced the cartridge then made copies, less than an inch of copies and the ink already ran out. Very frustrating.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP 564, Black Original Ink Cartridge (CB316WN)
December 8, 2014
Gene
Milford, ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Expensive

Cons: value, Short Cartridge Life
This is the only ink I can use in my printer
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP 564, Black Original Ink Cartridge (CB316WN)
December 1, 2014
michael
Boise
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Lost the ink upon opening

Pros: easy to replace
Cons: Messy Replacement
Usually easy to open and install. When I removed the orange "tab", black ink landed upon my hands and on the carpet. I had to buy a replacement cartridge. Hopefully, Office Depot will reimburse me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP 564, Black Original Ink Cartridge (CB316WN)
August 9, 2014
GTS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Always Great

Pros: easy to replace, Sharp Tones & Colors, Clean Replacement, dries quickly
HP ink always works well. Office Depot brand works almost as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP 564, Black Original Ink Cartridge (CB316WN)
June 16, 2014
LisaRe
garland, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

great purchase

love getting this product quickly without going to the store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP 564, Black Original Ink Cartridge (CB316WN)
March 16, 2014
Jesadora
Katy, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great Price!

Pros: value, easy to replace, Sharp Tones & Colors, Clean Replacement
This was the best price I have found anywhere for this ink!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP 564, Black Original Ink Cartridge (CB316WN)
October 7, 2013
sparechange
Atlanta, GA.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Gotta Have Them

Pros: value, easy to replace, Sharp Tones & Colors, Clean Replacement, dries quickly
This ink is a must at all times in the office. It prints neatly without smudges and a sufficient amount of pages. Gotta have this ink in the office at all times.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP 564, Black Original Ink Cartridge (CB316WN)
May 20, 2013
uggie
City, State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

hard to say

past use of this product has been excellent. This time shortly after receiving the cartridge, my HP printer quit printing in black and I had to order a new one. I assume the ink will work as always in the new one
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP 564, Black Original Ink Cartridge (CB316WN)
March 26, 2013
Ebayuser
Chicago,IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

PURE GARBAGE

I had a HP 882C for years. I print a couple of labels each week. It worked perfect for over 13 years. Then it died.
So I purchased this HP printer that uses 564 ink cartridges(HP Deskjet 3520). I just use black to save on cost. These cartridges DO NOT LAST!!! Beware! I printed under 50 labels, and 1 tax return in four months. BLACK INK IS DEAD! My print setting was set on normal.
States 250 per cartridge. Yeah, 250 copies if you print one 1/4" smiley on each page, it might last to reach 250!
Since I purchased this piece of junk, I am forced to buy another ink cartridge. I reset my print settings to fast drafts, lets see how many shipping labels I can get out of this new 564 cartridge!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP 564, Black Original Ink Cartridge (CB316WN)
March 18, 2013
garyjo57
City, State
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Capacity

The ink does not seem to last as long as it should, I am not a heavy printer and I run out of ink about every 6 months. I don't know the page count for me,... but not what is advertised. But when you get the printer fairly reasonable I guess they get you on the ink.!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP 564, Black Original Ink Cartridge (CB316WN)
January 16, 2013
BTS_MHC
Suwanee, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65

Short Lifespan

Pros: easy to install
Cons: costly, short
Not clearly marked for one thing when the printer takes 2 different cartridges of black ink. HP claims 250 print life and I becha that we might get half of that.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP 564, Black Original Ink Cartridge (CB316WN)
December 31, 2012
teacherbusinessmom
Coeur D'alene, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

HP ink 564

Have had some bad experiences with these cartridges from Office Max. Sometimes the ink doesnt last long. Got some at Walmart and they were fine. KEEP TRYING>>>>
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP 564, Black Original Ink Cartridge (CB316WN)
November 19, 2012
Disappointed
San Francisco, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:36 - 45
Gender of user:Female
Age of user:41 - 50

HP Photosmart 7510

The product in itself was easy to set up to use the eFax and Scan capabilities but to use the ePrint is extremely difficult (not user friendly by any means). The most disappointing portion is that the ink does not come close to 200 as they claim.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP 564, Black Original Ink Cartridge (CB316WN)
October 8, 2012
Anonymous
Loachapoka, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

HP 564 Black Ink Cartridge

Excellent product, dries quick and leaves no residue. Best if used with HP Photo Paper.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP 564, Black Original Ink Cartridge (CB316WN)
May 17, 2012
Rbarnes
City, State
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

250 copies? Really?

If I had known that the advertising concerning the # of copies you can get from this ink was wrong, I would not have purchased printer. I don't do a lot of heavy duty printing. My last cartridge ran out in less than 2 weeks time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP 564, Black Original Ink Cartridge (CB316WN)
December 21, 2011
BlueLu
Portland, OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65

Incomplete info leads to wrong cartridge

Cons: bad product description
HP has an odd ink cartridge numbering system. The PhotoSmart Premium C309 and C310 series use inks numbered 564. It has both 564 and 564XL (the XL is supposed to indicate greater ink capacity). No problem figuring out which of the color cartridges to get; they all fit in their assigned slots. The problem comes with the black cartridges. There are TWO slots for a black ink cartridge. One is about twice as wide as the other, but will hold its regular 564, the original 564XL and a small 564XL that has recently come out. The smaller one will hold -- well, I'm still trying to find out what it will hold. It will NOT hold the smaller 564XL that recently came out; that only goes in the big slot. I am about to reluctantly conclude that my only option for that slot is the lower-capacity 564 (no XL). HP needs to fix this numbering system or give more info so people do not order the wrong cartridge.
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP 564, Black Original Ink Cartridge (CB316WN)
June 14, 2011
Mistique
City, State
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

HP 564 Black Ink Cartridge - Great deal!

Great deal!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP 564, Black Original Ink Cartridge (CB316WN)
April 11, 2011
Anonymous
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Not a good buy

I needed this ink, but you did not have the XL in this color available. The 564XL is a better buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP 564, Black Original Ink Cartridge (CB316WN)
October 10, 2009
me too
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

buy the XL

Although they look the same on the outside, this cartridge contains less than half the ink of the XL cartridge. If you buy this one, you'll be replacing it again very soon, particularly if you print photos (which is probably what you bought the printer for). Yes, the XL cartridge is more expensive per cartridge, but is cheaper per page. Save yourself the gas to and from the store, time, money and help save the environment by not throwing away empty cartridges as often - buy the XL version of this ink.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>