Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Lenovo® G500 (59374977) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Celeron® Processor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Office Depot.

Lenovo® G500 (59374977) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Celeron® Processor

Item #:127793
Average Customer Rating:
3.583 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo® G500 (59374977) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Celeron® Processor
Review 1 for Lenovo® G500 (59374977) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Celeron® Processor
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

laptop

lishia
stockton
January 28, 2014
I enjoy this very much it is a life savor when it comes to my studies
Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Display Screen, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
lishia
stockton
Primary Use:School User
Review 2 for Lenovo® G500 (59374977) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Celeron® Processor
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Cheap

hhhhhh
November 9, 2013
Notebook works good In spec's it says it has Intel HD 4000 it does not have It only has a Intel HD graphics product was miss represented in the spec's Out side of that it is ok for the price
Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Easy to Set Up, you can upgrade to windows 8.1 for free
Cons: Heavy/Bulky, does not have intel hd 4000 as stated in spec's
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
hhhhhh
Primary Use:Home User
Review 3 for Lenovo® G500 (59374977) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Celeron® Processor
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Works Great

jec100
greenville sc
November 8, 2013
I purchased this laptop because I needed one in a hurry and it was in my price range. I have since had my other laptop fixed but have continued to use the G500.
Pros: battery life, speed of functions, fairly easy to set up.
Cons: no indicator for num lock. Keypad requires a little harder pressing to record actions.
This is my first windows 8 OS and so far is ok...takes some getting use to, but appears to be easier to maneuver around in than previous MS OSs
Pros: value, Battery Life, Quality, Performance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
jec100
greenville sc
Primary Use:Business User
Review 4 for Lenovo® G500 (59374977) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Celeron® Processor
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Laptop

Z-time training
Tamarac, Florida
October 7, 2013
I did a lot of research and landed on this one. I'm a HP gal, so Lenovo was not familiar to me. I have to say that this is a really great buy. I wanted to return it at first for the Window's 8, but after I finally forced myself to learn it, I actually love it now! I love the keypad with the rise buttons and the options for the quick buttons (lighting of screen, volume, etc.). The only thing that you may need is a cover because your fingerprints will get all over the cover. My wrist area hurts sometimes when I lay them on the edge because the edge isn't that smooth like my last laptop ,but other than that it is a great buy. I use it is for presentations and it connects great to my projector and the video's play and look amazing.
Pros: value, Battery Life, Display Screen, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance, connects easily to hp printer and projector
Cons: needs a cover for the fingerprints
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Z-time training
Tamarac, Florida
Primary Use:Business User
Review 5 for Lenovo® G500 (59374977) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Celeron® Processor
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It's just a laptop

Disappointed by Office Depot
Pensacola, FL
October 6, 2013
If you’re looking for a good laptop this is it. I was looking for an inexpensive laptop to use in a church sound booth. We currently have two 3.5mm inputs. 1 headphone for audio in (recording) and 1 mike for audio out (video projector). So this laptop will sit around the house and I'll buy a Toshiba for the sound booth.
In my opinion differences between products like this should be highlighted by Office Depot. Ports are identified except for the 3.5mm ports.
Cons: audio/mikeinput
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Disappointed by Office Depot
Pensacola, FL
Primary Use:Other
Review 6 for Lenovo® G500 (59374977) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Celeron® Processor
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Junk

jv92
Coopersville, MI
October 5, 2013
Between Windows 8 and the computer itself is total junk. Needed to do a total system reboot 3 times in 2 weeks because of unexplained failures. Returned it for a total refund.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Set Up, Performance, unstable
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
jv92
Coopersville, MI
Primary Use:Home User
Review 7 for Lenovo® G500 (59374977) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Celeron® Processor
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Value

Kimco
Little Rock, AR
October 4, 2013
This computer has met my expectations. The value is good and the ease of set up was self explanatory.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Kimco
Little Rock, AR
Primary Use:Home User
Review 8 for Lenovo® G500 (59374977) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Celeron® Processor
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lenovo G500

Gordy
Minnesota
October 4, 2013
Great machine, just what I wanted, but Windows 8 leaves something to be desired! Windows 8 would be great if the laptop was touchscreen.
Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Display Screen, Lightweight, Quality, Performance
Cons: Difficult to Set Up
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Gordy
Minnesota
Primary Use:Home User
Review 9 for Lenovo® G500 (59374977) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Celeron® Processor
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Buying a third one!!!!

ajwoodward
Leoma, TN
September 20, 2013
I bought one of these laptops, for a backup computer a few weeks ago.....I am now using it instead of my $1200 Sony laptop!!! The sound is wonderful, great speed for the price! I bought a second one this week and set it up for a karaoke computer for the local Elk's Lodge, and it sounds amazing hooked up to the amp! Buying a third next week to setup for karaoke at the local American Legion. The salesman at the Columbia, TN Office Depot, treated us wonderfully, which most employees in electronic stores try to force extra products on you. We explained that it was for charity events, he was very helpful in making sure we got the best products for the best price! Thanks for helping us care for our veterans and needy children!
Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Display Screen, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
ajwoodward
Leoma, TN
Primary Use:Business User
Review 10 for Lenovo® G500 (59374977) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Celeron® Processor
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lenovo G500 with Intel best value IMO

Tim
California
September 1, 2013
The dual core Celeron is better than any comparable AMD offering. This PC is plenty fast for tasks, but don't expect to do any gaming though. The only thing missing is Bluetooth & Win7. I am getting used to Win8 and I already installed the 8.1 beta. Do expect about 2-3 hours of updates upon setup so just walk away. After its done updating (50+ of them) things are great. It is plastic all over.
Pros: value, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Easy to Set Up, Quiet
Cons: plastic
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Tim
California
Primary Use:Business User
Review 11 for Lenovo® G500 (59374977) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Celeron® Processor
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Price Based Purchase

DarA
Delaware County, PA
September 1, 2013
First, there is a one star review on here that does not have anything to do with this laptop, but rather a tablet which is not what this item is. With that said, the G500 is relatively fast and has everything I was looking for, including a separate number pad. The system is fast and has plenty of storage capacity. My only concern is the placement of the 'touch pad/mouse". I find that there is not enough room on the left side of the pad for you to comfortably rest your hand so you end up touching the pad while attempting to type which causes the mouse to "jump" to places on the screen you do not want it to. Moving the pad slightly to the right should resolve this issue, so I would suggest that to the manufacturer. The other issue I found is that the display screen is much shorter than I would like it to be. Although this is supposed to be a 15.6" screen, it neither looks or feels like it. This may be an issue for someone like me who uses a split screen to view 2 documents at a time. I would rather prefer a taller screen as opposed to a wider one.
Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: Display Screen
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
DarA
Delaware County, PA
Primary Use:Home User
Review 12 for Lenovo® G500 (59374977) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Celeron® Processor
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Lenovo a1000 tablet 7" - worse tablet I have

jerry
Winston-Salem, NC
August 24, 2013
Don't take my word, test drive this 7" tablet that come with is laptop. it slow as slow. My Blackberry playbook is slow and its faster than this. I am done with tablets. I order a 14" laptop. Tablets ( unless you get the best ) are way too slow.
Pros: Sound Quality, Battery Life, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Design
Cons: too slow, toto slow
-45points
1out of 47found this review helpful.
jerry
Winston-Salem, NC
Primary Use:Home User