Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP Envy 4500 e-All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner

HP Envy 4500 e-All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner

Item #:143228
Average Customer Rating:
4.124 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(129 Reviews) 129
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(78)
4 stars
(23)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(8)
1 star
(13)
103 of 125(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for HP Envy 4500 e-All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner
Review 1 for HP Envy 4500 e-All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner
August 18, 2014
Lydia
Bloomington, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

New Printer

Pros: Good Value, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Set Up
High quality - good price!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Envy 4500 e-All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner
August 10, 2014
Bill
New Orleans
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

MIcrosoft users beware

Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Difficult to Set Up
Set up instruction sheet is small two sided page without instruction words so some of the set up is by trial and error. Once set up everything worked well except the printer would not print documents. I worked on this without success until I noted in Troubleshooter a note about Windows. This led me to a July 2014 HP download for Microsoft users. After this was downloaded printer worked fine. I have Windows 8.1
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Envy 4500 e-All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner
August 2, 2014
Hokie
VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Much improved

Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Set Up
This is an improvement over my older wireless printer. Easy set up. Ran out of ink quicker than expected but shouldn't be a problem with enrollment in the instant ink program.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Envy 4500 e-All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner
July 15, 2014
jimmy8711
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

HP Envy 4500

Pros: Good Value, Easy to Use, Easy to Set Up
Cons: Slow
Compact, excellent printer.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Envy 4500 e-All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner
July 12, 2014
TNjune
Sevierville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great purchase

Pros: Good Value, Easy to Use, Fast, Quality, Performance, light weight
Cons: Difficult to Set Up
Bought a wireless computer and needed a wireless printer. For the money, the HP Envy 4500 all-in-one is a great buy. Works like a charm and can print 2-sided copies.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Envy 4500 e-All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner
July 5, 2014
rosmit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Easy set-up

Pros: easy set-up
Was easy to set-up multiple devices to the printer.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Envy 4500 e-All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner
June 21, 2014
Kirby's mommy
Lima, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Really dependable

Pros: never fails
This is a great printer, very easy to install and always does as it is supposed to .
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Envy 4500 e-All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner
June 19, 2014
Don
Fort Smith, Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

good machine

Pros: Good Value, Easy to Use, Fast, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: jams but not easily
The printer works good. The paper storage could be better as when the storage door is closed for several hours it turns up the end of the paper which encourages paper jams.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Envy 4500 e-All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner
June 14, 2014
strategichr
cincinnati, oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Perfect for Small Office

Pros: Good Value, Easy to Use, Fast, Easy to Set Up, Performance
This was my second purchase of this printer. I bought one for my home office and liked it so well that I bought second for my office at work to have a printer on my desk.
Works great.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Envy 4500 e-All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner
June 11, 2014
Mari
Sarasota, fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

HP Envy 4500 all-in-one printer

Pros: Good Value, Easy to Use, Fast, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Happy with this product. Easy to set up and use and appreciate the ability to copy without having the computer on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Envy 4500 e-All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner
June 7, 2014
Floorman 2408
Burlington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Works Well 4 Me

Pros: Good Value, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Set Up, good print speed
I operate 2 small businesses I already have two 4500 printers, one each at separate offices. They connect quickly and easily, print reliably, and are ink efficient. I am placing these additional (2) 4500's one in each office as check printers. I can pre load with checks and quickly switch between devices making it faster and less loss of check blanks due to forgetting blank check stock is loaded. The price makes this flexibility possible for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Envy 4500 e-All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner
June 7, 2014
Robin
cincinnati, oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Perfect for Small Office

Pros: Good Value, Easy to Use, Fast, Easy to Set Up, Performance
I purchased the HR Envy 4500 for my home office and loved it so much that I bought another for my desk at my office so I had a dedicated printer.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Envy 4500 e-All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner
May 26, 2014
Laurie
Las Vegas, NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

A Piece of Junk

Pros: like the double-sided printing
Cons: see my review
First, let me say that the folks at my Office Depot store were fabulous. They did their best to find this machine for me, and made sure I had enough ink.
Now, the not so good news: Had I known what this printer was like, I would have told them not to bother, because this product is junk.
Where do I start? First, if you want the cover to the paper tray closed, you have to do this manually (to keep dust out). When printing, you have to open it manually. Unlike the Canon, it won't open automatically.
Then you have the cheapest plastic extension to catch the paper spitting out. Not like this is much help, because the paper as it collects will somehow move into the paper tray because the paper is all over the place, and before you know it, you have a paper jam! That's not supposed to happen.
After you replace the ink cartridge, you have to place a new printed alignment sheet to align the paper again. Didn't I do this when I first installed it? Why should I have to do this again?
Worse, the photo quality is subpar. If you print lots of photos, get anything but this printer. Canon is excellent for photos.
I don't know what's happened to HP. They used to be tops, known for their excellent printers. But with this product, what I'm feeling is employee apathy, because there seems to be very little quality control in their product. I don't expect this printer to last very long.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Envy 4500 e-All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner
May 24, 2014
tom
los angeles ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

great printer

set up a little challenging
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP Envy 4500 e-All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner
May 17, 2014
Cashier home
Cashiers, North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great purchase

Great purchase at this price point. Perfect for what we need a printer for. Extremely easy to set up. The additional wireless features are amazing.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Envy 4500 e-All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner
May 10, 2014
Charly
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

everything in a small "box"

Pros: Good Value, Easy to Use, Easy to Set Up
This printer does everything, and fits in a small office. Just a great item
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Envy 4500 e-All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner
May 9, 2014
Thomthom
Los Angeles, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Paper Feed Nightmare

Cons: Jams Easily
The item constantly jams paper. Absolutely terrible. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Envy 4500 e-All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner
March 22, 2014
Eddie
Tampa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Other

EZ

I've used HP printers for years and have always been satisfied with their products. The set up has gotten easier, although I'm old fashioned and stick with a USB connection. I'm looking forward to getting started with the Instant Ink program as I make a lot of photographic prints. So far the picture quality is as good as I've come to expect.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP Envy 4500 e-All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner
March 22, 2014
Dodie
Two Harbors MN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

setup problem

I paid a computer technician to set up this printer and sync it with my wireless MacBook--he couldn't get it to scan. It messaged something about downloading a program. He has to come back to fool with it some more. I call that a problem for a very basic printer not to easily work.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP Envy 4500 e-All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner
February 15, 2014
SueC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Well satisfied

Pros: quick printing, good sale price, easy set up
Cons: haven't found any yet
I purchased this to replace an old HP printer that was a workhorse for me. I was finding it harder to find the ink for the old one. I am very happy with this new printer. Set up was easy and the price was great. I use wired printing for my desktop and can easily switch to wireless printing for my laptop. I've printed both photos and regular text. I'm happy with the quality and the speed.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>