Office Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Office Depot

Customer Reviews for Lenovo® H520 (57317222) Desktop Computer With 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5 Processor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Office Depot.

Lenovo® H520 (57317222) Desktop Computer With 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5 Processor

Item #:144839
Average Customer Rating:
3.125 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(2)
4 stars
(2)
3 stars
(1)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(2)
4 of 6(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo® H520 (57317222) Desktop Computer With 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
Review 1 for Lenovo® H520 (57317222) Desktop Computer With 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
February 16, 2014
PGHCS
Louisiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Very Good Computer for the price

Pros: great price for i5, memory size
Cons: none
Purchased three of these desktops, and because they are used on a network, upgraded all to Windows 8 pro. Only problem has been a noisy CPU fan on one, which just needed adjustment.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lenovo® H520 (57317222) Desktop Computer With 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
December 14, 2013
Waltham
philadelphia,pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Worse purchase

Cons: Difficult to Set Up
bought 2 for our office and could not upgrade the os to pro. Did not get any assistance from IBM, who had told me that it was an ongoing problem. Even hired an IT specialist who could not fix the problem. The only option I had was to return both computers.
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lenovo® H520 (57317222) Desktop Computer With 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
December 9, 2013
Jam Wizard
London, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Good Product

Pros: Easy to Set Up, Performance
I found this machine easy to set up. The monitor is an Acer. The largest obstacle I had was trying to get through Windows 8 for the first time. I upgraded to Windows 8.1 without a hitch. I am using a wired network with three other computers and two printers. I am very pleased with the performance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lenovo® H520 (57317222) Desktop Computer With 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
December 7, 2013
Disappointed
Miami Beach, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

something's wrong wtih it

Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: somethings wrong with it
We set up the computer easily. Everything seemed to be going well, and the computer is fast. However, then the monitor went black and said "no signal." So, we changed the monitor, and it started to work fine for a few days. Now it went black and says "No signal" again. The computer is only 2 weeks old! By the way, both of those monitors work fine on other computers.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lenovo® H520 (57317222) Desktop Computer With 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
December 7, 2013
Lenovo Guy
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Perfect Purchase

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Easy to Set Up, Performance
It works the exact way I expected it to. Can handle everything I need it to.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lenovo® H520 (57317222) Desktop Computer With 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
December 2, 2013
jamesearl001
Chatsworth,GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great value, but not for the computer newbie

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: windows 8.1 upgrade is not smooth
Ok. This is a great computer, and works very well out of the box with Windows 8. It is lightning quick and hasn't missed a lick on anything I have thrown at it. I am most impressed by the hdmi output and enjoy using it with my 32" HD TV.
The bad news is for anyone who wants to upgrade their "brand new computer" to Windows 8.1. Lenovo support is useless. I called on several occasions to try to resolve my problem with my "brand new computer" not having wifi signal after I installed Windows 8.1. They advised me to install the updated driver they offered on the website. It didn't work. At that point all they could tell me was I might be stuck with Windows 8. That's the wrong answer when I just purchased the computer that day. Thanks to some great people in the forums, I finally was able to upgrade to Windows 8.1 with everything working properly including wifi. My problem wasn't solved by tech support at Lenovo, but people on forums. The night before I figured out a fix the rep at Lenovo actually told me I might have to send in my new computer and have a different motherboard installed. WHAT? When I finally fixed the problem, with only help from other forum users, I called Lenovo tech support and informed them of the simple fix for the problem. I told them to remove the "so called" upgraded driver from their site because it only adds to the problem. This is not good customer support at all. If you rely heavily on tech support, do not buy a Lenovo product, because they don't know what they are doing, and will not be able to help. You are in it alone. They actually took down the fix that I called in to them and were going to let the other tech support people know about it so they could help other customers. This is crazy. I am glad I could help other users, but it wasn't my job or any of the great people on the forum. It was Lenovo's responsibility. Lenovo. The people who actually built the machine and, with their own admission, had access to Windows 8.1 for over a month before the public release. Why is a product that is still being sold new in stores, not ready for the latest update?
One thing to remember about Lenovo. If your product comes with Windows 8 on it and you want support beyond that, don't expect to get it from Lenovo. You're not going to get it. If you, on the other hand, don't care about customer support, go ahead and buy it. It is a fantastic computer for one heck of a good deal. I purchased this tower for $499.99. I cannot build the computer this cheap. Great buy for anyone who doesn't need customer support.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lenovo® H520 (57317222) Desktop Computer With 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
October 14, 2013
Prab
Seattle WA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Not so great desktop (software issues)

The windows 8 desktop that I bought recently has an issue with shutting down. When I shut down the machine, it automatically turns on after few minutes. I ran some windows updates to see if the updates will take care of the problem but the problem is still there.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lenovo® H520 (57317222) Desktop Computer With 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
October 12, 2013
Mickey
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

so so

Pros: Quality, Easy to Set Up
The machine is powerful and fast. Unfortunately, it comes with Windows 8 :( That's to be expected on a new machine. What I did NOT expect and was utterly disgusted with is that it also came with over 2000 adware files! A brand new machine with constant pop ups? That's just not right!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.