Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Brother® P-Touch® PT-D200 Label Maker

Brother® P-Touch® PT-D200 Label Maker

Item #:225067
Average Customer Rating:
3.92 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(46)
4 stars
(15)
3 stars
(11)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(12)
67 of 82(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brother® P-Touch® PT-D200 Label Maker
Review 1 for Brother® P-Touch® PT-D200 Label Maker
September 29, 2014
rssk321
Longview, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

No power Cord?

Cons: no power cord
Really? Now I have to go back and buy a power cord that cost as much as the printer? You have got to be kidding!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brother® P-Touch® PT-D200 Label Maker
August 31, 2014
JudMc
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Hard to see the display

Pros: works pretty well
Cons: hard to read display, runs down the batteries
This works pretty well, but the worst drawback is that the LCD display is extremely hard to read. If you look at it directly, you probably cannot see what you are entering. It helps to look at it at an angle, especially if you can get overhead light reflecting off it.
Also, it does seem to use up the batteries pretty quickly. I put in eight new AAA batteries. I've printed only a few labels and the batteries were down below 1.35 volts.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brother® P-Touch® PT-D200 Label Maker
August 5, 2014
Cactus605
Austin, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Energy Hog

Pros: looks good feels good prints well
Cons: kills 6 batteries at a time
The PT-D200 looks good, feels solid, and prints well. However, if you use batteries, print a label, and then not print another one again for two weeks, the batteries are dead. This has happened to me every time I use it. Six (6) AAA batteries every few weeks gets to be very expensive and wasteful. My previous P-touch label maker would print after sitting for several months. The PT-D200 is a bad investment, unless you own stock in a battery producing company.,
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brother® P-Touch® PT-D200 Label Maker
June 23, 2014
Ray
Hammon, IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

New Home

I saw this label maker on sale, and needed it because we were moving into our new house and things need to be label and put in the right place in the house.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brother® P-Touch® PT-D200 Label Maker
May 21, 2014
AScrapOfKindness
Southern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Better Than Expected

Pros: user friendly
Cons: none
I saw a couple of reviews on YouTube and thought I would give it a go as I love organization, but hate it to be a chore. When I saw it on sale, I couldn't resist. This is very easy to use and quick to learn.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brother® P-Touch® PT-D200 Label Maker
March 31, 2014
harlee
laredo, texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

brother label maker

I strongly recommend it . value for the buck. awesome
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brother® P-Touch® PT-D200 Label Maker
March 19, 2014
propellerhead76
Fort Worth, Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Easy to use, but no AC Power cord? Really?

Pros: Features, Quiet, Easy to Use, Design, Performance
Cons: battery life, no ac power cord
Love how easy this is to use, but it EATS BATTERIES BY THE DOZEN! Interesting that the AC adaptor costs more than the unit itself. I'm going to fork over the dough to buy an adaptor, but Brother needs to get their act together because this is the LAST Brother product I will buy until they address this situation. I totally get that they want to keep the costs down, but any "feel good" that the customer has upon spending around $20 for a great label maker is soon destroyed when they realize the machine is eating batteries faster than they can buy them.
As an aside, I would ONLY recommend this product to a friend with the caveat that they buy the separate AC power adaptor.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brother® P-Touch® PT-D200 Label Maker
January 30, 2014
TheOfficeMgr
Tennessee
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Horrible battery drain

Pros: nice enough labels
Cons: power waster!, awkward cutter position
Serious battery drain. EVERY TIME I USE IT (every couple of weeks?) I have to replace the SIX triple-A batteries. But only to PRINT my labels - I can mess around in the menus and enter/edit text and play with treatments for as long as I want - but if I want to print, then the batteries are dead. Ridiculous! Maybe it will fall apart or tear up quickly so I can replace it . . .
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brother® P-Touch® PT-D200 Label Maker
January 8, 2014
BUYER BEWARE
Austin, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Not Worth the "Sale" Price

Pros: lots of fonts, pretty borders
Cons: battery hog, no power cord, wastes tape
As others have stated, this drains batteries like there's no tomorrow. I have to replace the 6 (that's SIX) batteries EVERY SINGLE TIME I use it. Oh, and the adapter cord is way more expensive than I paid for the labeler itself. I guess that's where they really make their money! Oh that's right, Brother doesn't include the power cord with printers either anymore. Should have been a clue!
It also wastes tape, as I always have to trim the edges off because they are way too large compared to the labeled part itself.
I gave it one star because the machine and the fonts are cute.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brother® P-Touch® PT-D200 Label Maker
December 21, 2013
Matt
Dallas,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Other

"NICE LABELER"

Pros: easy setup
Cons: needs a power supply
Good keyboard layout, and a lot more functions and extra features than I will ever use, but could not beat it for fifteen dollars.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brother® P-Touch® PT-D200 Label Maker
December 19, 2013
Mee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great machinie

Great machine, useful around house
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Brother® P-Touch® PT-D200 Label Maker
December 16, 2013
Ziona
Fullerton, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great price for great Quality

I purchased ths Label Maker during Black Friday for $9.99 which is AWESOME. It comes with more functions and features than another Brother Label Maker that was on sale for $19.99. It's light, portable, user-friendly. The fonts came with multiple choices and are nice and clear. I can finally make my own labels!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brother® P-Touch® PT-D200 Label Maker
December 14, 2013
ibelievein3
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Everyone needs one of these

Pros: value, Features, Battery Life, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Performance
Million uses. Label multiple switch light plates, drawers shelves etc. ad labels to things when reusing containers. Incredible price while on Black Friday sale.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brother® P-Touch® PT-D200 Label Maker
December 14, 2013
neotehguy
Silicon Valley
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Other

Great Label maker for the price of $10

Pros: value, Easy to Use
Cons: expensive cartridges
This is a perfect label maker for anyone that is looking for something simple to use out of the box. Comes with 2 starter label cartridges. I have not purchased any extra cartridges yet, but I will start searching for some discounted ones soon. I expect that the cartridges are where Brother makes their money on this label maker so if anyone knows of a place where discounted label cartridges can be found, send me a message.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brother® P-Touch® PT-D200 Label Maker
December 14, 2013
Marlajean
Punta Gorda, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Just what I needed

Pros: value, Features, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Performance, versatile
Had to recreate some lettering on the dash bezel of a classic car, some vertical, some horizontal... and it had to be clear so the dash lights could shine through. My husband didn't believe I could do it. Used the label maker and clear tape with black ink. It worked perfectly ..right out of the box. Made the right size (some very tiny) type and was able to print both directions.
It works great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Brother® P-Touch® PT-D200 Label Maker
October 16, 2013
Mike
Emporia, KS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Battery hog ...

Pros: nice labels
Cons: battery hog
It prints nice labels but I only get 7 or 8 labels before it shows low battery. After low battery shows, I've got one or two labels to go before it is dead. It takes six AAA batteries each time. I've been through about 30 batteries so far. It is great if you own a battery factory.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brother® P-Touch® PT-D200 Label Maker
October 4, 2013
jber
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Great Options

Pros: lots of options, lots of tape variety, Easy to Use
Cons: wastes blank tape when printing
This is fully loaded with font, picture, border, and layout options. It does a great job! There is also a wide variety of tape types, colors, and sizes available. Overall, I love it. If I were to change one thing, I would like it to need less lead tape to print. It wastes a little more blank tape than some of the other label makers I have had. However, I love having all the options and the tape is not so expensive.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brother® P-Touch® PT-D200 Label Maker
March 22, 2013
alea78
Miami, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female
Age:26 - 35

Super short battery life

Pros: fonts, Easy to Use
Cons: Short Battery Life, no wall plug, expensive cartidge refills
This thing has got to have the shortest battery life of anything i've ever purchased. It prints like 7 labels then it needs new batteries. 6 new batteries. This is getting expensive. I try to turn it off after each use but I must forget once or twice for the batteries to go dead so fast. Even so, it needs an auto shut off or something. I like that the labels can have different fonts and its easy to use. Another thing I don't like is that it didn't even come with a wall plug, though there is a place to add one on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brother® P-Touch® PT-D200 Label Maker
March 11, 2013
Tracey
Valdosta, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:26 - 35

Wonderful

Pros: works wonderful, stylish, dependable, reliable
I have had no complaints with this machine. I bought it to label scrapbooking supplies and other household items. It works beautifully. I love all the designs I can print with it makes everything look so much better and who could beat getting it for $10.00 on sale. It was the best 10 bucks ive ever spent. I would defintely pay full price for it too.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brother® P-Touch® PT-D200 Label Maker
March 9, 2013
Beth
Harvey,La
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female
Age:36 - 45
Gender of user:Male
Age of user:21 - 30

Great Buy

I love it! It also has lots of great features.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>