Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sentry®Safe Fire-Safe® Waterproof Security Chest, 33 Lb., 0.36 Cu. Ft.

Sentry®Safe Fire-Safe® Waterproof Security Chest, 33 Lb., 0.36 Cu. Ft.

Item #:228426
Average Customer Rating:
4.21 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(13)
4 stars
(2)
3 stars
(1)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(2)
16 of 19(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Sentry®Safe Fire-Safe® Waterproof Security Chest, 33 Lb., 0.36 Cu. Ft.
Review 1 for Sentry®Safe Fire-Safe® Waterproof Security Chest, 33 Lb., 0.36 Cu. Ft.
November 13, 2014
Jake
Sheridan, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Good Buy

Product came like described.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sentry®Safe Fire-Safe® Waterproof Security Chest, 33 Lb., 0.36 Cu. Ft.
June 24, 2014
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great High School Graduation Gift

Ordered this safe that is both waterproof and fireproof from Office Max for all my nephews and nieces across the country for their high school graduation gifts. They though it odd, until I reminded them that as they go off to college, they can keep their special treasures safe. And since my neighborhood was destroyed by fire in San Diego in 2003, I know that treasures have to be kept fireproof AND waterproof. This is the safe that does both. Once the kids got where we were coming from, they were proud to put their special things in a box that signified they were growing up. And finally, since the safe is heavy, it really helped that the shipping was free. My N&N's live all over the USA. Convenience, perfect gift, and no shipping. I'm the "cool aunt!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sentry®Safe Fire-Safe® Waterproof Security Chest, 33 Lb., 0.36 Cu. Ft.
September 7, 2013
Tpat
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

So far seems good. I am satisfied with my purchase

Pros: value, Performs Well, Appearance, Easy to Use, Design, Perfect Size, High Quality
Cons: Difficult to Use, how to know it is truly and completely fpf/wpf??
I have only owned this product for a few weeks so I still cannot be sure that it holds up to its fireproof and waterproof promise but the structure seems to be very strong and sturdy. It does give me a peace of mind knowing that my important things are well protected. It is heavy so shifting it around is difficult but that is good also that it is not something that someone can quickly grab and run off with it is much more bulky than that. But someone who is strong and determined to steal it can certainly do it. I read reviews about the lid being difficult and it does take developing the right trick but still overall it is not that hard to open or close. You sometimes have to work with it a little bit until you get a feel how to open and close it smoothly. Overall, I am very satisfied with the product thus far. I ordered it online from Office Depot's website and I was able to pick it up for free from the store so it was convenient to purchase online and pick up the next day bc I already had to stop there.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sentry®Safe Fire-Safe® Waterproof Security Chest, 33 Lb., 0.36 Cu. Ft.
July 12, 2013
StephanieG
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:36 - 45

Good value safe

Pros: price/value, locks, fire/water proof, protection
Seems like solid construction. Heavy duty. Lock opens / locks well. It's a small safe, it would deter someone from walking out of my house with something locked in. Now, there's no way to anchor it down to the house. So, it wouldn't take someone very strong to pick it up and walk out of the house with it. But, a repair man coming in wouldn't be able to slip out with it. It's locked, so I hope my stuff in there is good. It's got our paperwork and USB drives with plenty of room to spare. I got it so that should our house burn down, my photos and birth certs would stand a chance. Hopefully the house wouldn't burn for long! :) It was reasonably priced and provides me a little peace of mind.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sentry®Safe Fire-Safe® Waterproof Security Chest, 33 Lb., 0.36 Cu. Ft.
March 18, 2013
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Very good safe

I have 3 other fire/water protective safes. One is a very large 2 drawer file cabinet. The second one is a midsized safe I bought for valuable photos. The third is very small, but it is the one I bought years ago for birth certificate storage and the like. This is my 4th, as I closed my Bank Safety Deposit Box. Besides the yearly charge for the bank box, it was so very inconvenient to get there. Also, the bank attendants were always on break when I was there. VERY FRUSTRATING!! This safe is quite roomy inside. It is very nice. I just wish it had a handle, like my small one. It is hard to move for an old lady. The lack of a handle is the only thing I did not like about it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sentry®Safe Fire-Safe® Waterproof Security Chest, 33 Lb., 0.36 Cu. Ft.
January 29, 2013
gary
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Amateur
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:66 and above

WYSIWYG

Pros: Value for Money, Performs Well, Appearance, Easy to Use, Design, Perfect Size, High Quality, fits inside most "real" safesw for extra protectio
What you see is what you get. (WYSIWYG). This is not a home safe. It is not a theft deterrent (unless the thief already has a bad back and can't lift twenty pounds!
It is to protect you "stuff" from little hands and eyes at home. Nothing more. Said to be water tight - don't know and am not putting it in a lake or anything.
If you want a real safe break out the checkbook and pay for it. This is for what it looks like it's for. Simple paper and small item protection.
The lid closes hard - ergo, water tight (?). When opening it, press down to take the strain off the lock, then turn the key and press the opening lever. Opens and closes easy if you do that.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sentry®Safe Fire-Safe® Waterproof Security Chest, 33 Lb., 0.36 Cu. Ft.
January 2, 2013
disappointed
Houston, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65

lid came off

Pros: Appearance, Easy to Use, Perfect Size
Cons: Design, Quality, Performance, no resistance to physical impact
I accidently pushed mine off of a 4 foot high shelf.
The lid broke off and the contents spilled on the floor.
I have been through a house fire and seen what damage can be incurred.
So my recommendation would be: if you use one of these keep it on the floor, the lowest floor, of your house. It will not survive any physical impact.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sentry®Safe Fire-Safe® Waterproof Security Chest, 33 Lb., 0.36 Cu. Ft.
September 3, 2012
lovefamily
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Security safe

This is a wonderful safe.Plenty of room inside,strong box and everything I was hoping it to be.Can't go wrong with this safe.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sentry®Safe Fire-Safe® Waterproof Security Chest, 33 Lb., 0.36 Cu. Ft.
July 30, 2012
Flipper4290
Knoxville, Tennesee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Solid Waterproof Security Case

I really love the fact that the case is solidly built and very heavy. Living in an apartment leaves me not very many places to hide things. Although I put all my valuables in this chest, it would be difficult for someone to run away with it. They would have to be pretty fit. The lock on this chest is easy to open/close/ and lock. I really like this chest and I know I got my monies worth!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sentry®Safe Fire-Safe® Waterproof Security Chest, 33 Lb., 0.36 Cu. Ft.
October 8, 2011
Particular
Sandy, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Perfect Size

A no nonsense, well-constructed, waterproof/fireproof document safe. The perfect dimensions to store in your home or office and yet access and move quickly in an emergency.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sentry®Safe Fire-Safe® Waterproof Security Chest, 33 Lb., 0.36 Cu. Ft.
February 20, 2011
VampPhoenix
Springfield, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Sentry Safe

Exactly as described. Prompt delivery
Great product. Just big enough to hold what's really important to protect.
Would highly recommend this to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sentry®Safe Fire-Safe® Waterproof Security Chest, 33 Lb., 0.36 Cu. Ft.
January 4, 2010
Anonymous
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Gift purchase

This product was bought as a Christmas gift. The recipient seemed very pleased and said it was just what she wanted.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sentry®Safe Fire-Safe® Waterproof Security Chest, 33 Lb., 0.36 Cu. Ft.
October 21, 2009
buns
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must have

This item is a must for when it comes to storing valuable documents. Plenty of room for your documents.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sentry®Safe Fire-Safe® Waterproof Security Chest, 33 Lb., 0.36 Cu. Ft.
October 12, 2009
Karen in Philadelphia
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great firesafe storage box

I hope I never have to test out its ability as a fire safe, but so far it's a great place to store our valuables. It's large enough to hold papers, jewelry, disks, and other things you'd typically put in a safe deposit box. I also like that it is very heavy, so it wouldn't be so easy for someone to steal if they broke in to our house. Finally, the latch is tricky, which would thwart anyone who wasn't authorized who was trying to get inside.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sentry®Safe Fire-Safe® Waterproof Security Chest, 33 Lb., 0.36 Cu. Ft.
September 10, 2009
Anonymous
Fort Worth, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Gender:Male
Age:66 and above
Bought this product:In-store

Good product for the money

Pros: Value for Money
Cons: handles would be nice.
Getting a waterproof, fire safe office chest for this price makes the product a good compromise. Lid is easy to operate when you follow the included instructions.
Interior is adequate, so far, for a reasonable number of documents and a moderate number of other items: gold/silver coins, currency, heirloom items, jewels and jewelry
Handles would be nice, but I'm not sure if you can do that and keep its waterproof, fire safe integrity.
Have not had to test it yet, in fire and/or water!
+75points
76out of 77found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sentry®Safe Fire-Safe® Waterproof Security Chest, 33 Lb., 0.36 Cu. Ft.
July 25, 2009
malibucorp
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Gender:Female

Cons: Difficult to Use
The latch is so hard to open. This is only useful when you want something put away for good.
+7points
12out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sentry®Safe Fire-Safe® Waterproof Security Chest, 33 Lb., 0.36 Cu. Ft.
June 16, 2009
mentalwardmgr
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

it's just okay

Cons: Difficult to Use, Performance
It is difficult to open (latch sticks) and it doesn't have a handle. If you need to move it around at all, buy something else. I am sure it will serve its purpose if there is a fire, but for ease of use: I expect better from Sentry.
+44points
46out of 48found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sentry®Safe Fire-Safe® Waterproof Security Chest, 33 Lb., 0.36 Cu. Ft.
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2