Office Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Office Depot
Shop Clocks or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer

HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer

Item #:231615
Average Customer Rating:
4.398 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(161 Reviews) 158
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(104)
4 stars
(37)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(6)
1 star
(7)
138 of 160(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
Review 1 for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
July 30, 2010
OfficeMax Expert Reviewer
naperville, il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

fast speed easy to use features

More than suitable for small office, home office. This laser offers fast b/w printing with connectivity with up to 5 users. Small and compact, Smart Install, Smart Web Prining, energy saving, quiet mode and more.
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
October 28, 2014
RJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Energy not time saver

Pros: Doesn't Jam, Good Value, Easy to Set Up
Cons: energy save
Its really annoying that the energy save does not automatically turn the printer back on when you queue a print. I am constantly having to turn it on manually and reprint what i need. I looked through the manual and I didn't find anywhere on how to turn off this setting either.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
May 18, 2014
VC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Excellent purchase

Pros: Doesn't Jam, Good Value, Easy to Use, Fast, Quality, Performance
Cons: Difficult to Set Up
Needed some assistance with installation because I was unfamiliar with installing a network printer. Also, it would have been beneficial to have on the website more information regarding what would be needed to install this printer, such as Ehternet cable needed, wireless hub needed, etc. This might have influenced which model HP printer I selected.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
January 6, 2014
angelap
Portland, OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Poor quality!

Cons: Quality, Performance
This printer does not do the most basic of printer functions, namely pull the paper through straight. Each sheet has to be micro-managed to prevent diagonal printing. Super unprofessional looking documents are the norm rather than the exception, and I have had to shred many checks due to it's inability to properly print a form. Customer service was contacted, troubleshooting did not work, stuck with this poor quality printer. Also the toner rubs off, noticed mostly on shipping labels (where legible print is important). Shocked at the number of positive reviews of this machine!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
October 24, 2013
Office girl
Taylorville, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

poor product

Cons: Quality
we only had this product 1 year and the parts to repair are more than cost of printer. It will not print more than 2 pages before the ink no longer adheres to paper.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
October 20, 2013
Vickie
Florence, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Best Purchase Ever

I have not had an opportunity to use my new printer yet .I had a local Computer Wizz come to set it up becuz I am old and not very computer literate. I think it is a great machine and I am so thankful that the purchase and shipping was soo easy and your customer service is awesome!! Best Regards, Vickie Higgins
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
June 19, 2013
Kathy
Boca Raton, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:36 - 45

Don't buy if you print labels

Cons: Pricey/Poor Value, Quality
This printer was purchased because I print labels and other small jobs in the office. I print only two or three labels at a time; reusing the label sheet. After using the same label sheet a couple of times the entire sheet began to darken/gray with multipe uses. After printing on the same sheet after a few times the remaining labels are so dark/gray that sheet has to be thrown away. I tried troubleshooting without any progress with the problem as well as emailing and calling HP supprt multiple time without a response. I am packing up the printer and buying a Epson.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
April 1, 2013
tz820
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great Printer, Expensive Toner

Love the printer, print quality is great, it installed quickly and easily on our network. The printer sleeps quietly until you send it a job, then it quickly wakes up and prints. Duplexing is a great bonus.
Only thing I dislike about the printer is the toner cost. It works out to around $0.05/sheet by my estimation. If you print a lot of pages, this could have you spending a lot of money on toner.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
February 22, 2013
Mary
San Juan, PR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female
Age:36 - 45

In love with my new printer P1606dn

Pros: fast printing, double-side printing, network printer
Cons: i can't think of any
I just purchased this model and I was amazed about how fast it printed its first page, it's so light to carry, small, and the printing quality was perfect. This is a great printer.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
November 20, 2012
Becky
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:In-store

Not so great

Cons: Sound Quality, Performance
Machine is loud, when printing a lot of documents at once it gives off a bad chemical smell, it does not prompt you for envelope which is a problem if using this machine in an office with multiple users, uses tonor up very quickly.
Disappointed!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
November 5, 2012
VforVeysel
City, State
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

printer

You can not rely on it too much. It does not process the job and sometimes takes pretty long to print without physically connecting to your computer. For the low price it is pretty good though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
September 24, 2012
Jakesmp
Lake Zurich, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

P1606dn

The printer, quality of printing, and set up all about as typically excellent as HP should be at this stage of the game.
However, the plastic parts like the paper dust cover/tray for the Manuel feed - the plastic is too cheap. I fear the plastic tabs used to hinge this part are going to break. Same for the extra flap that supports the paper after printing. I have older model HP products and these plastic parts were made with thicker plastic or better construction methods.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
August 27, 2012
Anonymous
Cincinnati, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Little Printer!!

I am very happy with this printer. It does make a clunk sound when you begin printing but it is quick. I have it sitting on my desk so it is not that bad. The print quality is great. The machine is basic but that is less to go wrong in my opinion. I am very happy with my purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
March 6, 2012
sunnybnny
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65

Awesome printer!

Pros: print speed, dual-side printing, large paper tray, print quality
This is the 3rd HP Laserjet printer I've had since 1995. That really speaks to the quality of the product line. The first one finally died after 10 years, the 2nd one (HP LaserJet 1012) is still in great condition, still in my office and such a good workhorse. I added the new LaserJet Professional P1606dn for the dual-side printing capability and it doesn't disappoint! LOVE IT. My worklife just became a lot easier! The print quality is great, the print speed is awesome, the paper tray holds more... I'm very happy about this new purchase!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
January 25, 2012
rwrusty
Natchez, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65
Gender of user:Female
Age of user:61 and above

Great Printer for the money

This is a great Laser printer. Print detail is very good and the replacement cartridge cost is very reasonable compared to other laser printers
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
January 18, 2012
ElizabethG
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:16 - 25

Great printer for busy office.

Pros: fast copies, uses minimal ink
Cons: getting a new ink cartridge is expensive.
At my desk, I am usually printing multiple sheets, regularly going through reams of paper. This printer has really shocked me with how durable it is.
The only possible downside is how large it is, it doesn't really fit on top of my desk or cabinet. But it does fit perfectly underneath.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
November 28, 2011
wittwin2
Scottsdale, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good-OfficeMax came through when shipment poor

Due to a recent surgery, I purchased 2 of these printers online so that they would be delivered and I wouldn't have to haul them. To my surprise, 1 of the printers had previously been returned because it came without some of the packaging, the power cord and the toner was completely empty. I called Officemax down the street, and the manager told me to bring it over and he would give me a new one... He then gave me 20% off the USB cord needed for it as well. Otherwise, each printer was set up and running in just 10minutes. I didn't need the software on the CD because Windows loaded it automatically. It's very fast!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
October 12, 2011
Milfordlefty
City, State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Small Office Laser printer

Great unit for a small office which needs to print black and white documents. It has a network feature which means it can be shared by multiple staff members. It does not take up much desk/shelf space and holds a nice stack of paper to avoid the need to replenish daily.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
September 3, 2011
padsplus
San Dimas, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Got a great deal

After much research, this was the printer I wanted. Needed a printer that could load one sheet so that I can print mailing labels. Went to Costco, Best Buy, Staples. Purchased from Office Max because they offered $50 off if you bring in your old printer which was an old HP 1200. The P1606dn was easy to set up and prints a whole lot quicker. I would highly recommend this printer if you are in need of a laser printer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
July 7, 2011
Large Envelopes
City, State
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Can't do 12.5" envelopes

I needed a desktop printer with double-sided printing, labels and all sizes of envelopes.
When I ordered the printer, I didn't think about the large 12 1/2" x 9 1/2" envelope. The printer doesn't accept this size.
Double-sided printing is good.
Printer didn't come with owner guide
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>