Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer

HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer

Item #:231615
Average Customer Rating:
4.41 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(144 Reviews) 144
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(97)
4 stars
(28)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(7)
124 of 143(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
Review 1 for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
May 18, 2014
VC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Excellent purchase

Pros: Doesn't Jam, Good Value, Easy to Use, Fast, Quality, Performance
Cons: Difficult to Set Up
Needed some assistance with installation because I was unfamiliar with installing a network printer. Also, it would have been beneficial to have on the website more information regarding what would be needed to install this printer, such as Ehternet cable needed, wireless hub needed, etc. This might have influenced which model HP printer I selected.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
January 6, 2014
angelap
Portland, OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Poor quality!

Cons: Quality, Performance
This printer does not do the most basic of printer functions, namely pull the paper through straight. Each sheet has to be micro-managed to prevent diagonal printing. Super unprofessional looking documents are the norm rather than the exception, and I have had to shred many checks due to it's inability to properly print a form. Customer service was contacted, troubleshooting did not work, stuck with this poor quality printer. Also the toner rubs off, noticed mostly on shipping labels (where legible print is important). Shocked at the number of positive reviews of this machine!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
October 24, 2013
Office girl
Taylorville, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

poor product

Cons: Quality
we only had this product 1 year and the parts to repair are more than cost of printer. It will not print more than 2 pages before the ink no longer adheres to paper.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
October 20, 2013
Vickie
Florence, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Best Purchase Ever

I have not had an opportunity to use my new printer yet .I had a local Computer Wizz come to set it up becuz I am old and not very computer literate. I think it is a great machine and I am so thankful that the purchase and shipping was soo easy and your customer service is awesome!! Best Regards, Vickie Higgins
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
June 19, 2013
Kathy
Boca Raton, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:36 - 45

Don't buy if you print labels

Cons: Pricey/Poor Value, Quality
This printer was purchased because I print labels and other small jobs in the office. I print only two or three labels at a time; reusing the label sheet. After using the same label sheet a couple of times the entire sheet began to darken/gray with multipe uses. After printing on the same sheet after a few times the remaining labels are so dark/gray that sheet has to be thrown away. I tried troubleshooting without any progress with the problem as well as emailing and calling HP supprt multiple time without a response. I am packing up the printer and buying a Epson.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
February 22, 2013
Mary
San Juan, PR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female
Age:36 - 45

In love with my new printer P1606dn

Pros: fast printing, double-side printing, network printer
Cons: i can't think of any
I just purchased this model and I was amazed about how fast it printed its first page, it's so light to carry, small, and the printing quality was perfect. This is a great printer.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
November 20, 2012
Becky
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:In-store

Not so great

Cons: Sound Quality, Performance
Machine is loud, when printing a lot of documents at once it gives off a bad chemical smell, it does not prompt you for envelope which is a problem if using this machine in an office with multiple users, uses tonor up very quickly.
Disappointed!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
March 6, 2012
sunnybnny
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65

Awesome printer!

Pros: print speed, dual-side printing, large paper tray, print quality
This is the 3rd HP Laserjet printer I've had since 1995. That really speaks to the quality of the product line. The first one finally died after 10 years, the 2nd one (HP LaserJet 1012) is still in great condition, still in my office and such a good workhorse. I added the new LaserJet Professional P1606dn for the dual-side printing capability and it doesn't disappoint! LOVE IT. My worklife just became a lot easier! The print quality is great, the print speed is awesome, the paper tray holds more... I'm very happy about this new purchase!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
January 25, 2012
rwrusty
Natchez, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65
Gender of user:Female
Age of user:61 and above

Great Printer for the money

This is a great Laser printer. Print detail is very good and the replacement cartridge cost is very reasonable compared to other laser printers
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
January 18, 2012
ElizabethG
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:16 - 25

Great printer for busy office.

Pros: fast copies, uses minimal ink
Cons: getting a new ink cartridge is expensive.
At my desk, I am usually printing multiple sheets, regularly going through reams of paper. This printer has really shocked me with how durable it is.
The only possible downside is how large it is, it doesn't really fit on top of my desk or cabinet. But it does fit perfectly underneath.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
February 25, 2011
kelso
Toledo, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User
Gender:Male
Age:66 and above
Bought this product:In-store

quick & easy

Easy to set up, quick, efficient printing. Highly recommended.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
September 14, 2010
JeremyGFL
Ocala, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Gender:Male
Age:26 - 35
Bought this product:In-store

Awesome!

Pros: super fast start up!
Super fast startup! Works great! Get this and don't get any other printer!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
September 9, 2010
458lott47
Poplar Bluff, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Home User
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65
Bought this product:In-store

A really great little printer

Pros: easy to network, dual sided printing, nice small footprint
Cons: absolutlely none
I needed a printer I could network between two computer. One is a laptop with Windows 7 (64 bit) and the other is windows XP pro. Once I had the machine unpacked it took less than 15 minutes to have both computers networked and running. I have the laptop running wireless n through a Linksys wap610n access point and the desktop is wired into my wired router. I was expecting some problems with the access point link but I was pleasantly suprised in that all things worked without so much as a burp. This machine installed the network print server on windows 7 and windows xp without any hesitation what so ever. I was impressed with the duplex printing operation as well. It is great to have a printer with dual sided operation. I recommend this printer without reservation. I have not tried to install the USB drivers thus far. All in all a great little printer
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
July 6, 2010
OfficeEquipmentUser
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Printer

Pros: fast printing
Cons: cartridge unavailable from office depot.
This printer is fantastic for a busy office. Prints clean and fast. The downside is that you cannot get the refill printer cartridges from Office Depot. One must go to the source, Hewlitt Packard, and order from them. I was disappointed in this level of customer service from Office Depot.
+43points
44out of 45found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for HP LaserJet Pro P1606dn Monochrome Laser Printer
Based on the average of (130) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 114 out of 130