Office Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Office Depot
Shop Clocks or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Toshiba Satellite® C855-S5355 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 2nd Gen Intel® Core™ i3 Processor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Office Depot.

Toshiba Satellite® C855-S5355 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 2nd Gen Intel® Core™ i3 Processor

Item #:264634
Average Customer Rating:
3.556 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(6)
4 stars
(6)
3 stars
(2)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(4)
11 of 16(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Toshiba Satellite® C855-S5355 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 2nd Gen Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
Review 1 for Toshiba Satellite® C855-S5355 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 2nd Gen Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
January 14, 2013
cvzz
Seguin, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:36 - 45

Perfect for a medium range laptop

Pros: Value for Money, Features, Display Screen, Design, Performance, linux mint compatible
Cons: Sound Quality, dvd tray
For the price and specs, it's a perfect laptop, the only one with 8 Gb RAM in that range of price.
Windows 8 it's not an easy OS (after years usings previous versions), so I removed it and installed Ubuntu - Linux Mint, and now its a new, fast and stable laptop to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Toshiba Satellite® C855-S5355 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 2nd Gen Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
January 13, 2013
Chiefredfish
DeLand, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:66 and above

Mostly good

Pros: Value for Money, Quiet, Display Screen, Design, Performance
Cons: Sound Quality
My second Toshiba laptop. My first one was cheaper and slower so I decided to replace it. This new one is a huge step forward but one thing bothers me A LOT. My first one did not have very high speaker volume buy the sound was quite pleasant. This model has far more speaker/sound options but the sound is horrible. I played with combinations of settings for 3 weeks and just was not happy with the tinny, hollow sound. My IT geek was called in and he improved it very slightly before stating "these are just poor speakers, get external ones."
I like to listen to Pandora while doing searches and this machine is just not very good. If sound quality is important think again. Other than that, this seems very good for the money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Toshiba Satellite® C855-S5355 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 2nd Gen Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
January 9, 2013
BAW53
Newburgh, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65
Gender of user:Male
Age of user:11 - 20

Very Nice Purchase

Pros: Value for Money, Battery Life, Quiet, Display Screen, Performance
Ordered this laptop for my son for Christmas. He was THRILLED with it. It's a really nice laptop and performs very well. Great purchase and great gift!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Toshiba Satellite® C855-S5355 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 2nd Gen Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
January 3, 2013
JohnJ
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:36 - 45
Gender of user:Female
Age of user:31 - 40

Really Nice Laptop

Pros: Value for Money, Features, Battery Life, Quiet, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Design, Performance, lots of expandability
I bought this laptop for my wife. Besides getting used to Windows 8, there has been nothing but upside to the laptop.
Pros: Fast, very responsive
8GB of ram, expandable to 16GB
8 processor cores
Large hard drive
Get 5-6 hours on a battery charge. But we are not doing more than Office, web browsing. Nothing processor intensive.
Loaded Office 2010, all of the apps load very quickly
Wireless N card works great
Windows 8 will take a little getting used to the interface and where things are, but similar to when we went from Windows 3.1.1 to Windows 95 or Office 2003 to Office 2007 and their ribbon bar changes.
Cons: Speakers are a little tinny sounding. But plug your headphones into the jack and the sound is amazing. A true audiophile would have real speakers plugged into it anyways.
Awesome laptop.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Toshiba Satellite® C855-S5355 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 2nd Gen Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
December 25, 2012
JoE
NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:26 - 35

Toshiba Satellite® C855-S5355 Laptop

Cons: Short Battery Life, Performance, Difficult to Use
The price and features are what led me to purchasing this item. I totally regret it. This laptop is extremely slow, it freezes, the battery life lasts only about 2 hours with minimal use, the sound is horrible (it sound echoes, as if you're in the bathroom#, & the mouse #touch pad) doesn't move after about 5 seconds when swiping/touching it.
I had a Dell for about 9 years, until I bought this one. This Toshiba I've had for one month and I've had it!
I will return this as soon as I can. I should have known the deal was too good to be true.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Toshiba Satellite® C855-S5355 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 2nd Gen Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
December 15, 2012
skydiver
Topeka, ks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female
Age:36 - 45

Not a bad device

Pros: Value for Money, Quiet
Cons: Design, Build Quality, placement of ports, Size
This is my 4th laptop and I think it's pretty much on par with the others I've had. It's my second Toshiba - I have a netbook - and I have no real issues with it thus far.
The measurements may be 15.6, but you will need a 17 inch bag for this since it has a numerical keyboard. Kinda nice to have, but also a bit of a space taker. I love the usb 3 port, however I do have issues with the placement of the ports. If you're right handed you're going to have issues with cables, etc, sticking out right where you'll likely use your mouse.
I have had to struggle a bit to get rid of the 'convenient' bloatware - then again find any electronics anymore where the manufacturer isn't trying to foist something on you.
Windows 8 isn't horrible, but there is a learning curve, so you may want to look for tips online, that or be very patient figuring it all out.
Since all software is installed, it is recommended that you make a backup disc, and it'd be nice if, as part of the set up process, they prompted you to do just that.
I think my only other gripe is that the plastic of the chassis feels, well cheap. It feels fragile or brittle. May not be so but I do admit I have reservations about traveling with this laptop. If you're a traveler, you may want to consider an extended warranty, just in case the plastic lives up to its feel.
Not the most powerful machine in the world, but not the worst either. I was looking for a medium range laptop for everyday uses with the occasional dabbling into photoshop and this seems to be just that. So if you're looking for your average computer, this one works.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Toshiba Satellite® C855-S5355 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 2nd Gen Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
December 11, 2012
Hannah
Washington DC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Student
Primary Use:School User
Bought this product:In-store

Very Happy With This Purchase

Pros: Value for Money, Battery Life, Quiet, Easy to Use, Display Screen
Cons: Build Quality
I have been using this laptop for 3 weeks and it's been pretty good so far. I am amazed by the quality of its sound recording (better than my iPad); my recordings of class lectures have come out very clearly with minimum background noise. Windows 8 needs some getting used to, but that's true for any new operating system. The laptop starts up, resumes, and shuts off quickly.
Cons: the touch pad responded slowly for a few times during the first week but I haven't had any problems ever since. The bottom of the frame around the screen (where "TOSHIBA" is written) seems a bit loose and I'm slightly worried it might not last a long time. I uninstalled many of the Toshiba apps because they're not very useful and they just take up space.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Toshiba Satellite® C855-S5355 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 2nd Gen Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
December 9, 2012
misha
Michigan City
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store

The worst purchase ever

Stay away from Toshiba laptops.
I bought my laptop 2 years ago and during this period I had only
problems with it. Last year I had to pay for repair $189 and now
this laptop is not starting. I look on Toshiba Website and they
said that the repair wil be around $239.
-6points
1out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Toshiba Satellite® C855-S5355 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 2nd Gen Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
December 7, 2012
toshibalap
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:26 - 35

Good, fast, but Windows 8 is difficult to use

Pros: Value for Money, Display Screen
Cons: Difficult to Use
Pros:
Number key pad
Big screen
Fast
Good price ($399)
Cons:
Touchpad
I'm returning this laptop after 10 days of use. The main problem I have is with Windows 8 and the shortcuts it uses with the touchpad. Any time I swipe in from the right the Charms bar pops up. I've tried adjusting the settings but the touchpad seems like it is very sensitive. I'll be working in a program and swipe over to do something and then my program gets minimized, or the start bar and apps will pop up. It's really annoying.
So most of the problem I have is with Windows 8, but I don't know if I were using it on a different computer if I would have the same problems. I am used to using a Dell Inspiron but I'm tired of them breaking on me and decided to go with a Toshiba this time. The computer itself is nice but I don't like the touchpad. It's bumpy instead of smooth.
But if you are used to using Windows 8 you may not have the same problems I did.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Toshiba Satellite® C855-S5355 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 2nd Gen Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
December 6, 2012
mrjitters
chesapeake ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:36 - 45
Gender of user:Male
Age of user:41 - 50

toshiba with windows 8

Pros: Value for Money, Battery Life, Quiet, Display Screen, Design, Performance
Cons: Difficult to Use, windows8
windows 8 is the worst progam ever
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Toshiba Satellite® C855-S5355 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 2nd Gen Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
December 6, 2012
SW
B'ham, Al
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65

Poor performance

Pros: Value for Money, Battery Life, Quiet
Cons: Build Quality, Difficult to Use
A very disappointing purchase. Fortunately Office Depot allowed me to return the item for credit. After using HP for years, I bought this Toshiba with the idea that it would be about the same and the deal was too good to pass up. Should have passed. The "mouse touch screen" was so poorly responsive that it took forever to perform a simple task. I put this computer aside after three days because my old laptop was so much easier to use. I will not buy Toshiba again. I strongly recommend that you try the computer out in the store before purchasing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Toshiba Satellite® C855-S5355 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 2nd Gen Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
December 4, 2012
george
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65
Gender of user:Male
Age of user:51 - 60

Best gift ever!!!

Pros: Value for Money, Features, Quiet, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Design, Performance
Cons: Sound Quality
I received this as an early Christmas gift from my wife. I wanted as much RAM as I could get in a nice priced laptop. The 8 GB was more than I expected. The laptop really zips around! As soon as I learn Windows 8 there will be no stopping me. This computer does not disappoint! I think you would be hard pressed to find this much laptop for the money anywhere! I am not overly impressed with the built-in speakers but I have never seen a laptop where the speakers were great anyway. Hard to fit great speakers in that small a case but the sound is still OK. Don't let that stop you from buying this computer!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Toshiba Satellite® C855-S5355 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 2nd Gen Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
December 1, 2012
Teddi
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65
Gender of user:Female
Age of user:41 - 50

Love It!!!!

Pros: Value for Money, Features, Battery Life, Quiet, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Design, Performance
Cons: Sound Quality
It was a birthday gift from my boyfriend, at first I didn't know what to expect because I was so use to having a HP but I found the toshiba to be "GREAT" I love the features.... the speakers are terrible...It's worth the price.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Toshiba Satellite® C855-S5355 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 2nd Gen Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
December 1, 2012
ms_cheerful
AL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online

Very poor sound quality

Cons: Sound Quality
Everything is good for the price except the sound quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Toshiba Satellite® C855-S5355 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 2nd Gen Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
November 30, 2012
DEE*
LAKEWOOD, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:School User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female
Age:36 - 45
Gender of user:Female
Age of user:11 - 20

GREAT DEAL!!!!

Pros: Value for Money, Battery Life, Display Screen, Design, Performance
THIS IS A VERY GOOD LAPTOP FOR THE PRICE MY DAUGHTER IN COLLEGE LOVES IT, IT'S VERY FAST AND MUCH SMALLER THAT HP ALSO IT DOES NOT HOLD FINGERPRINTS, FRONT IS SILVER IT'S BEAUTIFUL
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Toshiba Satellite® C855-S5355 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 2nd Gen Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
November 25, 2012
ladymonte
San Pablo Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female
Age:66 and above
Gender of user:Female
Age of user:61 and above

Love this computer.

Pros: Value for Money, Features, Battery Life, Quiet, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Design, Performance
I really do love this computer, I never own a Toshiba before I am happy I bought this Toshiba it work really well does every thing I need it to do. I own a dell before it is nothing compared to this Toshiba I am now a Toshiba fan for ever. You will not go wrong with this Toshiba plus the price is right.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Toshiba Satellite® C855-S5355 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 2nd Gen Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
November 25, 2012
Jack
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:In-store

Great Value

Pros: Value for Money, Features, Battery Life, Easy to Use, Design, Performance
This is a great value! Very nice design and it performs very well. It is much lighter and faster than the HP that I am replacing.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Toshiba Satellite® C855-S5355 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 2nd Gen Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
November 23, 2012
lalalppp
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Student
Primary Use:School User
Bought this product:In-store

Good Computer, Horrible Speakers.

'Nuff Said..................................................................................
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.