Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Lenovo® IdeaTab™ A2109 Tablet, 9, 16 GB

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Office Depot.

Lenovo® IdeaTab™ A2109 Tablet, 9, 16 GB

Item #:280717
Average Customer Rating:
4.214 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(23)
4 stars
(13)
3 stars
(0)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(2)
34 of 38(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo® IdeaTab™ A2109 Tablet, 9, 16 GB
Review 1 for Lenovo® IdeaTab™ A2109 Tablet, 9, 16 GB
December 26, 2013
Dissatisfied!!!
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Garbage After 1yr 1 day

After 1 year and 1 day, no longer could charge Lenovo product. They provided no help because warranty had expired by 4 days.
Never buying another Lenovo product again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lenovo® IdeaTab™ A2109 Tablet, 9, 16 GB
October 18, 2013
Sabrina W.
Chesaepeake, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Awesome Tablet!

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: Heavy/Bulky, short charging cord
I love this tablet. It's simple to pull items off the menu and add them to the home page for easy access. The interface is pretty smooth, despite being one of the cheapest tablets on the market for this screen size.
The charger it comes with is a (rather short) USB cord with an adapter to plug it into the wall. I prefer this to a traditional cord because of the ability to charge it from a computer, but I know some people might also consider this a disadvantage.
The main downside I've noticed is that It is a bit heavier than some tablets I've seen, but I imagine a lot of that has to do with having a larger screen.
Overall, if you're looking for a larger tablet, I recommend this one because of the user interface and ease of use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lenovo® IdeaTab™ A2109 Tablet, 9, 16 GB
July 6, 2013
Jeff T
san diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:26 - 35

I love great Tablets like this one

Pros: Sound Quality, value, Battery Life, Screen/Display, Easy to Use, Well Built/Quality, Easy to Set Up, Speed/Performance, great responsive, bluetooth
Cons: different charger type
Very good tablet. Perfect size for all types of task. Very nice screen size.. Can also connect more than one Bluetooth device. This tablet gets high recommendations from me. Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lenovo® IdeaTab™ A2109 Tablet, 9, 16 GB
June 5, 2013
Dave
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65

Well Done

Pros: Sound Quality, value, Battery Life, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Well Built/Quality, Easy to Set Up, Speed/Performance
I read a lot of reviews before deciding on this tablet. Wanted Android because of all the android apps already bought for my phones, and I like Android. The screen size is great. I had a 7" tablet and found it too small. I don't know about 10" screens, but 9" is plenty big, and the unit is smaller because of the size. The battery life is outstanding, never had an issue with running out even with heavy use during the day (not constant, but using it for all my computer needs). I did not miss my laptop when I took the tablet for a weekend trip (no heavy duty word processing, just email and browsing).
This is an oddball size, so it is hard to find cases. There are some custom cases for it, and many tablet sleeves will hold it, albeit the 10" sleeves have some slack.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lenovo® IdeaTab™ A2109 Tablet, 9, 16 GB
May 27, 2013
neurex
novato
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65

good tablet

Pros: value, Battery Life, Screen/Display, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Well Built/Quality, Easy to Set Up, Speed/Performance
Cons: stupid back cover
I find it easy to use but hard to type on..would rather use a notebook for emailing and business. Using the tablet to lounge around the coach just another toy.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lenovo® IdeaTab™ A2109 Tablet, 9, 16 GB
May 15, 2013
NancyPs
Carson Valley, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65

Excellent for everyday and business!

Pros: Sound Quality, value, Battery Life, Screen/Display, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Well Built/Quality, Easy to Set Up, Speed/Performance, size
This tablet, being a 9" is perfect because of its size and weight. 10.?" tablets are difficult to carry with you daily and 7" can be too small for some fonts/websites. Also, some apps don't have the resizing of the screen or font enlargments to give ease of use.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lenovo® IdeaTab™ A2109 Tablet, 9, 16 GB
April 24, 2013
drfoxx
Lincoln, NE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online

Nice value-priced tablet

Pros: value, Battery Life, Easy to Use, Speed/Performance
Cons: Screen/Display
This is a nice tablet. It has a good screen resolution, although the screen quality could be better. It has a very narrow viewing angle. Seems like Lenovo was trying to make a budget-friendly tablet, and chose to put good quality hardware inside so saved some money on the screen. The tablet has slightly different dimensions than some tablets- it is set up similar to widescreen dimensions when it is held in the horizontal orientation. This means that when it is held in the vertical orientation, the width of the screen is a bit more narrow than on other tablets. This has not been an issue for me, as nearly all apps allow it to work in the horizontal orientation, it is just worth noting. Might be a consideration if you always use a tablet in vertical orientation.
It was easy to set up, and works very well. Lenovo has it set up to update to Android Jelly Bean 4.1, which is great. Although the selection of apps for Android may not be as large as the selection for iPads, there still are tons of Android apps and you usually can find what you are looking for in the app store.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lenovo® IdeaTab™ A2109 Tablet, 9, 16 GB
April 14, 2013
djan2000
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:36 - 45

Great tablet at a fair price

Pros: Sound Quality, value, Screen/Display, Easy to Use, Well Built/Quality, Speed/Performance
Cons: battery life
I've had the tablet for 2 weeks now, and am very happy. It seems like the best combination of size, with various ports (microSD, microHDMI, microUSB), two cameras, quick performance, good sound, good graphics, and price. I and my kids have been using it a lot with no complaints. The screen is very clear and bright. Viewing angle is a minor concern for most people, for the most part it's very impressive. Would highly recommend this product for an overall good tablet at a good price.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lenovo® IdeaTab™ A2109 Tablet, 9, 16 GB
March 27, 2013
ABI2001
Palm Bay, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female
Age:26 - 35

Impressed

Pros: Sound Quality, value, Lightweight, Speed/Performance, Battery Life, Screen/Display, Easy to Use, Well Built/Quality, Easy to Set Up
Cons: glare when outside
I'm a first-time tablet owner. Quite some time ago I had decided I would get an iPad whenever I did get a tablet (I'm not an Apple person, but I know their iPad reputation). Then I saw the price tag...and changed my mind. About 2 weeks ago I had decided on an Asus Google tablet (the Nexus 7), but continued my search for the best price. By accident, I stumbled upon this Lenovo A2109 at Office Depot. The options were far better than the Nexus 7. "Experts" swear the Nexus 7 is the top Android-based mini-tablet and that anything by Asus is top-of-the-line (I agree; I've had an Asus laptop for almost 2 years and it's the best laptop I've ever owned--Asus builds Apple's hardware). Also, you won't find the first "expert" that likes the Lenovo A2109. However, all user reviews that I've read that aren't comparing it with an Apple product just love this tablet. Some have gone through multiple tablets (3 or more) and love this one over the others (even a Samsung). I can understand why! It's fast, there are more apps than I ever thought possible (especially considering when you listen to the "experts"), and it's the perfect size (not too big and doesn't look like an oversized smartphone). We bought it especially for our sons to use (they're almost 3 and 5) because we travel a lot and homeschool. I can't imagine there being a tablet better for our family or anybody else with kids. The price is amazing, and between the quad-core processor, micro-HDMI output, forward- and rear-facing cameras, micro-SD slot, incredible sound, seemingly-endless apps...overall it's a wonderful, well-made tablet. It feels sturdy without being bulky or heavy too (something "experts" griped about). The screen image is excellent HD quality, and while the screen isn't stellar in terms of glare (especially outside, where there's a terrible glare, as with about 90% of tablets), you can still see the screen clearly from several feet away at nearly all angles (and at angles where the screen is more difficult, I consider that a privacy-filter feature). Also, I was uneasy about buying a Lenovo, until I ran into somebody who is still using an IBM first-generation tablet and simply loves it (IBM was/is Lenovo). You won't be sorry if you get this tablet. I didn't have high expectations, but considering my knowledge of computers, operating systems, and such is borderline expert, I am extremely impressed.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lenovo® IdeaTab™ A2109 Tablet, 9, 16 GB
March 23, 2013
Music teacher
CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Amateur
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online

Very satisfied

Pros: Sound Quality, value, Screen/Display, Easy to Use, Well Built/Quality, Easy to Set Up, Speed/Performance
Cons: battery life, Bulky/Heavy
This tablet has met nearly all my expectations, the only one not met being the short battery life. I have to charge it at night and during the day at some point, but I don't use it excessively. That's okay because everything else is top notch. Very user friendly and I love that you have a home screen that you can put all your most-used icons on. I haven't had any problems with speed or anything else. The videos are clear and the sound is very good. It is a little heavy though.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lenovo® IdeaTab™ A2109 Tablet, 9, 16 GB
March 10, 2013
Evelyn
Jupiter, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Amateur
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65

Lenovo tablet A2109A

Pros: value, Battery Life, Easy to Use, Easy to Set Up, Speed/Performance
Cons: Bulky/Heavy
Good purchase. The tablet is fast. Has Jelly Bean.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lenovo® IdeaTab™ A2109 Tablet, 9, 16 GB
March 10, 2013
D.A
Fort Worth, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Pleasure
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65

Heard Good Reviews On Lenovo Tablets

Pros: Sound Quality, value, Battery Life, Screen/Display, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Well Built/Quality, Easy to Set Up, Speed/Performance
No problems at all! I love this tablet so easy to use and has lots of apps. I just wanted something to play games and watch movies. Just got tired of asking my daughter to let me borrow her Ipad when I knew I had to wait in a waiting area. I am very happy with this tablet. :)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lenovo® IdeaTab™ A2109 Tablet, 9, 16 GB
March 8, 2013
seth
Long Beach, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:26 - 35
Gender of user:Female
Age of user:10 or younger

black Friday purchase

Pros: value, Battery Life, Easy to Use, Well Built/Quality, Easy to Set Up, Speed/Performance, google play access
Cons: Sound Quality
I had seen this tablet advertised for $199 on black Friday. However, when I drove by the store in my area Thursday night and saw a line already building, (the store didn't open until the next morning) I decided it wasn't worth waiting in line for 12 hours. The next morning I decided to see what they offered online. I was very pleased to find it online black Friday for $199 in stock.
:::I have now owned this tablet for over 3 months.
I feel it was one of the best purchases I've made in years. The quad core processor has this tablet moving very fast, load time are almost nil. The micro SD slot is hidden under the plastic cover near the camera but, was easy enough to install once I figured out where the slot was. The HDMI output is great, I hook it up to my flat screen TV and can use the tablet a lot like a roku. I have a 4G LTE internet connection, so surfing the web is usually very fast as well, almost no load time or buffering with Netflix. Over the last few months the tablet has pretty much replaced my other computers.
The built in roll cage is a life saver as well. While doing laundry I had forgotten that I had put the tablet on top of some linens, while preparing the linden for cleaning I accidentally flung, not drop, actually flung the tablet into the air and onto a hard tile floor. It landed screen down and I was sure it was going to be smashed, to my surprise the laptop didn't have a scratch on it! The only downside (if you believe the critics) is that the screen tech is older. Unlike some other tablets, if you are holding this tablet at the wrong angle you can't see the picture well, but, IMHO, it just helps with privacy and security. Being looked at straight on, the picture is high definition and perfectly clear. The only real negatives are the speakers and only one GB ram. The sound quality is good, but the volume does not get loud enough in most environment. This is easily remedied with ear phones or using the Bluetooth with external speakers.
Right now with most apps, and for most current apps the one GB ram is plenty. Also, this tablet comes with android ICS and Google play, (most lower end tablets do not have access to Google play due to the licensing fees, increasing the cost).
So, as I said, at $199.00 this was an amazing purchase. Currently at $259.00 I would still consider it a great buy.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lenovo® IdeaTab™ A2109 Tablet, 9, 16 GB
March 2, 2013
Flufferkins
Arlington, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Pleasure
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:26 - 35

Wont play alot of games nexus7 can

I just brought this little guy home and after messing with it for a few minutes ive decided that its not worth the money if your a gamer or use high end apps. I play order and chaos online and it is not compatible with this or several other of the apps i had on my nexus7.
The perks (sd, hdmi, horrid rear camera) are not at all worth losing so much usability and functions.
Will be returning for another nexus7
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Lenovo® IdeaTab™ A2109 Tablet, 9, 16 GB
February 4, 2013
Durvad1
Greencastle, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:36 - 45
Gender of user:Female
Age of user:41 - 50

Very Impressive

Pros: Value for Money, Features, Battery Life, Quiet, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Design, Performance
Cons: no case made specifically for it
This is my SECOND Lenovo A2109 purchase. I got my Daughter one for Christmas, and my wife kept swiping it to use, so I had to get her one, too - LOL. This little guy is FAST!... To me, it is the perfect size, - big enough to see better than 7" tablets, and way less expesive and bulky than the 10+ inch models. Through office depot, it was only $30 more than a Google Nexus 7, and is much nicer in my opinion.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lenovo® IdeaTab™ A2109 Tablet, 9, 16 GB
February 3, 2013
ivonneak
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Traditional Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female
Age:36 - 45

Very Happy with this tablet

Pros: Value for Money, Features, Battery Life, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Design, Performance
Cons: none so far
This is my first tablet purchase, I didn't want to spend a fortune on a tablet but didn't want to go for a 50 dollar tablet either. After using an Ipod touch for some time I found that I like Android OS much better. So I did some research and came upon this beauty. First off in my area it's hard to find a tablet of this quality for this price in-store. Most of the time you have to have it delivered, I see a trend. I was able to get this tablet for the sale price 229, at the store. I am very happy with this purchase. Once booted it was ready to go in no time I just signed into my Google account and that was that, no need to dig in the settings menu for Google Play or install software or sing it a song, it was just ready to go out the box.. The video/audio quality are very good, the screen is very responsive, system is fast and the 9" size is just right to use as a writing pad to practice words with my 6 year old. Battery life is pretty good and the case feels sturdy and well built.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Lenovo® IdeaTab™ A2109 Tablet, 9, 16 GB
January 22, 2013
Naanu
Torrance, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:26 - 35
Gender of user:Female
Age of user:11 - 20

Good tablet but with few negatives

Pros: Value for Money, Battery Life, Easy to Use, Performance
Cons: Display Screen
Very good tablet for the price. I love the smoothness and performance.
But I will list out few negatives i found:
1. without MTP driver, computer/laptop can not able to detect this device. My previous tablet was like an USB. But this is not. It may be the change in the Android OS itself. I liked the previous way.
2. MicroSD card is at remote location. Bad design. I do not understand the conver they provided near the speakers and camera. Difficult to open the cover to insert MicroSD card. Without the cover they could have designed.
3. Display is ok.
4. Not much online product support. Even Lenovo site does not have suffecient product help documents.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lenovo® IdeaTab™ A2109 Tablet, 9, 16 GB
January 21, 2013
timmyjoe42
Cincinnati, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:36 - 45

Very nice device

Pros: Value for Money, Battery Life, Performance, micro sd slot
Cons: weight/ slippery
I am really enjoying this tablet. The 9" size is much better and easier to use than my old 7" tablet for web use and document reading. The reviews mention the terrible screen resolution, but it doesn't bother me. I would rather have performance and the latest Android operating system. This thing shipped with Jelly Bean and had an immediate software update available. The first time I installed it, the device got bricked. This may have been because I tried to freeze some of the bloatware on it prior to the update. I love the quad core processor and the micro SD slot.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Lenovo® IdeaTab™ A2109 Tablet, 9, 16 GB
January 15, 2013
ringthebell
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Pleasure
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65
Gender of user:Female
Age of user:61 and above

Great value tablet

Pros: Value for Money, Features, Battery Life, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Performance, good customer service
Cons: Design, no good manual
I'm very pleased with this tablet. The quality greatly exceeds the average for it's class. Has a lot of power (CPU, memory), well built, a lot of apps from Google Play (and many of them already installed). Screen resolution is higher than most similarly priced tablets.
There are couple of minor drawbacks, though. The manual almost doesn't exist, just several pictures showing the ports. And Micro SD port is not even shown, it's hidden under the cover on the top of the tablet. You have to take off the plastic cover to insert the card. I called Lenovo customer service and they helped me to find it. BTW, customer service is good, at least I got somebody on the phone right away.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Lenovo® IdeaTab™ A2109 Tablet, 9, 16 GB
January 7, 2013
Turbo
Portland, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:36 - 45
Gender of user:Male
Age of user:10 or younger

super tablet

Pros: Value for Money, Features, Battery Life, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Design, Performance
This tablet is awesome. I have been using it more than my iPad. Its really a nice device. Once I upgraded it to Jelly Bean, it no longer has Flash support, but I knew that when I accepted the upgrade. For the sale price, its a great buy. The Tegra 3 processor is very fast and makes this thing a pleasure to use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>