Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ativa® MD460 12-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Office Depot.

Ativa® MD460 12-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder

Item #:287073
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(5)
4 stars
(1)
3 stars
(1)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(1)
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ativa® MD460 12-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
Review 1 for Ativa® MD460 12-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
March 5, 2011
billsta
Memhis, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65
Bought this product:In-store

Better than most but just a little noisy

Pros: heavyduty motor and blades, good safety features, good size for home office or general home use
Cons: noisy, needs casters, needs handles wheels or not
I've only had it for two days, but I have tried a couple of credit cards and it seemed to do the trick. Nice size for home office. I haven't used it enough to oveheat it. But it will not do the twelve sheets as stated but it seems that from the reviews none of the shredders do as many sheets as stated in their descriptions. To be honest I am considering going bank and testing some others just to make sure if I want to keep this one or take it back, but with the return policy it may not be pratical. If I do decide to keep it I will update this review after I have had it a month or so. Good luck hunting. I read so many reviews that I just gave up and went in the store and tried them all. Not sure about all stores, but the one that I went in had a full display of all sherdders for you to test with all options to test, paper, cards and cd's and dvd's. there was another model that I liked ,but it would have been impossible to work on a jam if necessary. But really GARBAGE BAGS for shredders! This is a very good shredder that I will probably keep for many years.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ativa® MD460 12-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
December 14, 2010
MeMa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Amateur
Primary Use:Home User
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65
Bought this product:Online

Good Choice

Very satisfied with my choice in this shredder. Just what I expected.
11 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ativa® MD460 12-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
December 14, 2010
SmartShopper1
Augusta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Gender:Female
Age:36 - 45
Bought this product:Online

Don't Waste Your Money

Cons: too many to list, waste of money, little engine that couldn't
There was not enough information online to make an informed decision but the delivery confirmed it was worthless. The bin is very small. You can not fit more than 4 sheets of paper without jamming the shredder and it is very noisey. I am still waiting to get my money back.
19 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ativa® MD460 12-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
December 12, 2010
Bling2010
Eastern Shore, DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Business User
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65
Bought this product:Online

More than what I expected!!

Pros: great price for the $
I have had a shredder before that took less batch sheets. I had it for a good while, but wasn't warned about NOT shredding the plastic "windows" on envelopes. Eventually that shredder wound up getting 3 "teeth" broken and it wasn't worth using it anymore. Well, with this wonderful value of a shredder, I feel that I have got the "cats meow" in good service. It is FAR quieter than my other machine, it holds a good amount of product, isn't a problem dumping the shredded product (as most will have some cleaning up to do), and I am glad that the heavy top has it's good weight. I like the fact that the guide keeps the paper from going too far one way or the other to jam the sides of the cutting motor. When you get a full basket the misaligned red light goes on which is a clever idea. When I first received it, I processed 4 -30gal. leaf bags without a problem. It only overheated once, which wasn't an issue really.
19 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ativa® MD460 12-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
November 16, 2010
Pinky
NOWHERE, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65
Bought this product:Online

Chops Great!!!

Pros: it shreds
I have been shredding by hand due to the lack of a shredder.
This one does up to 12 sheets it says, but I would say 6 or 8 at a time is enough. It says CD/DVD's but I don't plan on that or credit cards, I think that is really hard a shredder.
But boy I love this thing.
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ativa® MD460 12-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
November 3, 2010
Dragonfly222
Greensboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65
Bought this product:In-store

Does what we need it to do!

Pros: good capacity, shreds quickly, seems to be a well-made machine
When our old shredder died from old age I began looking online at possible replacements. I found a few different shredders cheaper, both at Office Depot and elsewhere, but decided to upgrade in view of the capacity we needed. We basically shred everything with our name and address on it, and we get a lot of junk mail. There's a recycling issue as well, since we bale up the shreds and put them in a recycle dumpster.
This one has more shredding capacity and speed than our old one, and of course it's a little louder. We can live with that; you can't expect quiet from a shredder that you pay less than a couple thousand for. This is a great household shredder, we use it daily for junk mail and paid bills, and we also use it for the occasional "file-thinning shred party". (It goes without saying that we mainly use it for confidential documents and anything that we don't want anyone else to get their hot little hands on!)
We've had it about two weeks now and have used it a LOT. It has yet to jam or give us any problems. It seems to be a well-made piece of equipment, and I would highly reccommend it. I got it on sale and we're very happy with it so far.
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ativa® MD460 12-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
August 24, 2010
mollyb1008
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Gender:Female
Age:36 - 45
Bought this product:Online

Great Household Shredder

This shredder does a great job. I love that I can put junk mail in it (ie credit card offers) without even opening the envelope! The shredder holds a good amount so I don't have to empty as frequently as I did my old shredder.
68 of 68 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ativa® MD460 12-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
June 9, 2010
marram
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

The product does a nice job of shredding the paper and it is easy to empty. The biggest problem is the NOISE. It is louder than our old one.
54 of 58 people found this review helpful.