Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder

Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder

Item #:320802
Average Customer Rating:
3.341 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(15)
4 stars
(9)
3 stars
(6)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(10)
22 of 38(58%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
Review 1 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
December 5, 2014
SCA607
Houston, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Confusing Shredder

Nice looking Shredder but, when shredding it stops half way (1 sheet!) than it will continue a couple of mins later. Full bin light is on even when its half way full....
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
November 25, 2014
Bob
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Shredder

Works very nicely and very easy to use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
November 24, 2014
Munchkin
Dayton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Very Pleased

Pros: works very well
Cons: bin fils up very quickly.
I am very pleased with how this product performs. I have used it several times and feel it was worth the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
November 14, 2014
Eileen
Long Beach, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Ativa MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder

Pros: Quiet, good mobility, can handle 10 sheets, safety features, great for home use
Cons: none
I am so pleased with this purchase. It is perfect for home shredding jobs. It is quiet and efficient. It can handle staples and credit cards. Good purchase.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
November 7, 2014
Darcy
Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Great product

Pros: Easy to Use
Love this paper/ cc shredder. Very easy to put together and shreds paper in 4- ways. A must to have to shred documents. Love mine.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
November 1, 2014
Kassie
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

So far, So good

Pros: value, Features, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Design, Performance
Cons: Sound Quality
I just bought this shredder and so far it is doing a nice job. I do appreciate the safety feature of a SafeFeed cover, so little kids can't get their fingers cut as long as the cover is in place. I like that it shreds credit cards, paper clips, and staples. I was in the store and just wanted a decent shredder at a fair price and since this was $30 off I thought I'd give it a try. I do kind of wish that I had gone online first and seen this one: Nuova NU894XA, which is $25 cheaper and has 5 star reviews. The only reason I took one star away from the Ativa I purchased is because it is not quiet like they say, but I can live with it. Seems like a good purchase for average home use and so far I'm happy.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
October 20, 2014
Retired
San Mateo, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

It's a great shredder

Pros: Quiet, Easy to Use, Design
Cons: none at this time
The ATIVA is easy to use. It does a fine job in shedding the paper.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
October 8, 2014
Amano
Salt Lake City
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Shred this shredder

Pros: nothing
Cons: too noisy, very slow, stop working when basket is half full
About 3 weeks ago I purchased this piece of trash. The plastic door keeps opening, door open light comes on, shredder will not operate. Basket FULL light comes on even when it is half full. Couple of years ago, I purchased a Fellow Shredder for half the price of this trash and it is working Great. This one is no match to that.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
September 28, 2014
No1khaki
Arlington, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Wish I hadn't been in a hurry.

Pros: it is quiet.
After using this shredder for the first time today, I realized that it doesn't meet my needs. The basket's capacity is much smaller than I thought; the "bin is full" light comes on when it is about half full. The shred size is rather large. It is lightweight plastic when my previous shredder had a nice metal mesh basket. Worse of all, you can only shred papers for five minutes before it has to cool off for 45 minutes!!! I spent more time emptying the bin and waiting for it to cool down than shredding. This is not the bargain I was hoping for.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
September 22, 2014
Mutti
Spring Hill
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Missing parts

Wheels missing-recharge to send replacement! What!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
August 18, 2014
KMG
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Worked fantastic

Pros: value, Quiet, Design
Faced with replacing a burned out shredder, I grabbed this one because it was $30 off and I had a coupon for an additional $10 off, so I kept my expectations low-- especially, after reading the reviews. I found, to my happy surprise, it worked very well. It shredded small stacks of paper effortlessly. I liked how the bucket slid out, vs my other shredder where you had to lift off the super heavy and awkward top to empty it. Overall, I really like it and it works well!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
August 9, 2014
T A S B
Bailey, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great product

Pros: Features, Easy to Use, Design, Performance
Cons: casters were missing
The shredder does exactly what it claims. Recieved it quickly. The casters were not in the box when it was opened but I called and a set was sent immediately. Office Depot gave me a credit for the inconvenince. Very good customer service too.
Although the casters were missing the product was usable without them.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
July 14, 2014
Anna
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great Home Shredder

This shredder is a great home shredder, you can even shred credit cards!
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
June 21, 2014
none
Las Vegas, NV
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

it works

it works as expected BUT COULD SHRED FINER
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
June 21, 2014
PCS09
New Orleans
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Smart Purchase for the Price

Good product for the price.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
May 18, 2014
RealEstateworker
New Mexico
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Not Efficient!

Though this shredder was at a great buy, it was purchased for office use and cannot handle large amount of documents to be shredded in one sitting.
Best for at home use with minimal shredding in one sitting, shredder shuts down after multiple pages.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
May 5, 2014
Gigi
St Louis MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Quiet

Pros: quiet operation, easy empty bin
Cons: shedder thinks it is full before it is.
This is a very nice quiet shredder. It fills up quick, but a great buy.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
April 12, 2014
Joanne
Upland, Cal.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

First Purchase

Pros: Fast
Cons: a little loud
The Shredder is a perfect size for my home office. Like the
rollers easy to move around.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
March 10, 2014
JMT Transport
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Very Nice!

Very Quiet. Great Product.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
March 8, 2014
Kay
Fredericksburg, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Easy to Use Shredder

This shredder is not only easy to use, but has an automatic signal that tells you when it is full. Clean up is a snap.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>