Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder

Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder

Item #:320802
Average Customer Rating:
3.158 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(11)
4 stars
(8)
3 stars
(5)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(10)
18 of 34(53%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
Review 1 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
October 20, 2014
Retired
San Mateo, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

It's a great shredder

Pros: Quiet, Easy to Use, Design
Cons: none at this time
The ATIVA is easy to use. It does a fine job in shedding the paper.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
October 8, 2014
Amano
Salt Lake City
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Shred this shredder

Pros: nothing
Cons: too noisy, very slow, stop working when basket is half full
About 3 weeks ago I purchased this piece of trash. The plastic door keeps opening, door open light comes on, shredder will not operate. Basket FULL light comes on even when it is half full. Couple of years ago, I purchased a Fellow Shredder for half the price of this trash and it is working Great. This one is no match to that.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
September 28, 2014
No1khaki
Arlington, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Wish I hadn't been in a hurry.

Pros: it is quiet.
After using this shredder for the first time today, I realized that it doesn't meet my needs. The basket's capacity is much smaller than I thought; the "bin is full" light comes on when it is about half full. The shred size is rather large. It is lightweight plastic when my previous shredder had a nice metal mesh basket. Worse of all, you can only shred papers for five minutes before it has to cool off for 45 minutes!!! I spent more time emptying the bin and waiting for it to cool down than shredding. This is not the bargain I was hoping for.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
September 22, 2014
Mutti
Spring Hill
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Missing parts

Wheels missing-recharge to send replacement! What!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
August 18, 2014
KMG
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Worked fantastic

Pros: value, Quiet, Design
Faced with replacing a burned out shredder, I grabbed this one because it was $30 off and I had a coupon for an additional $10 off, so I kept my expectations low-- especially, after reading the reviews. I found, to my happy surprise, it worked very well. It shredded small stacks of paper effortlessly. I liked how the bucket slid out, vs my other shredder where you had to lift off the super heavy and awkward top to empty it. Overall, I really like it and it works well!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
August 9, 2014
T A S B
Bailey, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great product

Pros: Features, Easy to Use, Design, Performance
Cons: casters were missing
The shredder does exactly what it claims. Recieved it quickly. The casters were not in the box when it was opened but I called and a set was sent immediately. Office Depot gave me a credit for the inconvenince. Very good customer service too.
Although the casters were missing the product was usable without them.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
July 14, 2014
Anna
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great Home Shredder

This shredder is a great home shredder, you can even shred credit cards!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
June 21, 2014
none
Las Vegas, NV
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

it works

it works as expected BUT COULD SHRED FINER
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
June 21, 2014
PCS09
New Orleans
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Smart Purchase for the Price

Good product for the price.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
May 18, 2014
RealEstateworker
New Mexico
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Not Efficient!

Though this shredder was at a great buy, it was purchased for office use and cannot handle large amount of documents to be shredded in one sitting.
Best for at home use with minimal shredding in one sitting, shredder shuts down after multiple pages.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
May 5, 2014
Gigi
St Louis MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Quiet

Pros: quiet operation, easy empty bin
Cons: shedder thinks it is full before it is.
This is a very nice quiet shredder. It fills up quick, but a great buy.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
April 12, 2014
Joanne
Upland, Cal.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

First Purchase

Pros: Fast
Cons: a little loud
The Shredder is a perfect size for my home office. Like the
rollers easy to move around.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
March 10, 2014
JMT Transport
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Very Nice!

Very Quiet. Great Product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
March 8, 2014
Kay
Fredericksburg, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Easy to Use Shredder

This shredder is not only easy to use, but has an automatic signal that tells you when it is full. Clean up is a snap.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
March 8, 2014
MarGin
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Works great!

This is only the 2nd shredder I've ever had. The first one was a very cheap model and was horrible. About every 10 pages shredded, I had to unjam it with tweezers which took longer than the shredding. The Ativa Cross-Cut shredder worked beautifully and the cross-cut paper took up a lot less space than the old shredder. This was a great purchase.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
February 17, 2014
Manager
Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Frustrated

Cons: Difficult to Use
Extremely difficult to feed paper into shredder, I would not recommend this product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
January 3, 2014
slickconsumer
Orlando, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

overated/poor construction

Used in personal home office , very lightly used. Sensor failed within16 months. Poor design on basket, can not recommend
product at the price. Would never buy Activa again.
Rating= 3 out of !0
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
December 14, 2013
dot1
md
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

good buy

I am pleased with the purchase. It is efficient, cuts quietly and shreds paper into small pieces. Just be aware that the bin fills quickly unless you periodically push down the shreds
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
November 25, 2013
Fred
Palmetto,FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Home Office Use

Pros: value, Features, Quiet, Easy to Use, Design, Performance
I needed a shredder for a home office operation. I first researched what was available at Office Depot on line and then went to the local store. The one that I really wanted was out of stock so I bought the next one down. I brought it home, unpacked it and began to shred a large paper bag of papers. It worked fine and let me know each time the bin was full. Almost to the end of what I needed to shred the overheat light came on. I waited a while, it cooled off and I finished the job. I am happy with my purchase.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
September 7, 2013
Ronnie
Portsmouth, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Not the Best for Money

Pros: Design
Cons: Performance
Purchased product thinking I was getting a deal w/$30 off. Not worth the price. Very slow and limiting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>