Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder

Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder

Item #:320802
Average Customer Rating:
2.963 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(7)
4 stars
(6)
3 stars
(2)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(9)
12 of 25(48%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
Review 1 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
April 12, 2014
Joanne
Upland, Cal.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

First Purchase

Pros: Fast
Cons: a little loud
The Shredder is a perfect size for my home office. Like the
rollers easy to move around.
Review 2 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
March 10, 2014
JMT Transport
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Very Nice!

Very Quiet. Great Product.
Review 3 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
March 8, 2014
Kay
Fredericksburg, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Easy to Use Shredder

This shredder is not only easy to use, but has an automatic signal that tells you when it is full. Clean up is a snap.
Review 4 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
March 8, 2014
MarGin
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Works great!

This is only the 2nd shredder I've ever had. The first one was a very cheap model and was horrible. About every 10 pages shredded, I had to unjam it with tweezers which took longer than the shredding. The Ativa Cross-Cut shredder worked beautifully and the cross-cut paper took up a lot less space than the old shredder. This was a great purchase.
Review 5 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
February 17, 2014
Manager
Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Frustrated

Cons: Difficult to Use
Extremely difficult to feed paper into shredder, I would not recommend this product.
Review 6 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
January 3, 2014
slickconsumer
Orlando, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

overated/poor construction

Used in personal home office , very lightly used. Sensor failed within16 months. Poor design on basket, can not recommend
product at the price. Would never buy Activa again.
Rating= 3 out of !0
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
December 14, 2013
dot1
md
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

good buy

I am pleased with the purchase. It is efficient, cuts quietly and shreds paper into small pieces. Just be aware that the bin fills quickly unless you periodically push down the shreds
Review 8 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
November 25, 2013
Fred
Palmetto,FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Home Office Use

Pros: value, Features, Quiet, Easy to Use, Design, Performance
I needed a shredder for a home office operation. I first researched what was available at Office Depot on line and then went to the local store. The one that I really wanted was out of stock so I bought the next one down. I brought it home, unpacked it and began to shred a large paper bag of papers. It worked fine and let me know each time the bin was full. Almost to the end of what I needed to shred the overheat light came on. I waited a while, it cooled off and I finished the job. I am happy with my purchase.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
September 7, 2013
Ronnie
Portsmouth, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Not the Best for Money

Pros: Design
Cons: Performance
Purchased product thinking I was getting a deal w/$30 off. Not worth the price. Very slow and limiting.
Review 10 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
September 6, 2013
Leanoak
Wimberley, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Good Purchase for Personal Home Office

Pros: value, Quiet
This product works very well and is exceptionally quiet for a shredder.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
July 3, 2013
Just want to shred
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:36 - 45

Junk

Cons: Performance, Build Quality, doesn't work!
This shredder hasn't worked properly since Day 1. There is a tab on the basket that has to push in a switch on the unit to activate it. The tab wasn't engaging the switch so I removed it, put some paper behind it to extend the length, and only have intermittent success. Sometimes I have to take a key and push the switch manually to get this thing to work. Today it totally stopped working. The helpful person at their customer support center recommended turning it over and inspecting the plastic blade separators, none were broken or damaged. Their response "OK it looks like you will have to replace the shredder". No kidding, but was hoping for a helpful hint. So when I go to replace this piece of junk, guess what brand I'll buy #hint- NOT Ativa!#.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
June 4, 2013
Suzannne
Lindale TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65

little slow but steady

Pros: Quiet
Cons: collection box small
I like that it stops before getting to full.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
April 13, 2013
bodydznr
Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online

Cheap materials.

Cons: Build Quality
I am sorry to write a review that is not totally positive.
My (I have a small business with a small office) original shredder, after 3 years just had enough and died. I was in a rush to replace. I went on the OD website and was shopping for quality and price. It seemed that the MD1000 was perfect for my needs.
Upon receipt of the product, while unpacking, I noticed a tiny piece of plastic sitting in the bottom of the box. After a quick search, I noticed it had come from the securing point that allows the waste basket to be secured to the main body. This led me to think, was this piece used, repackaged and than resold (to me?) or, did this piece break off in the shipping process. Either way, it has exposed the poor and cheap materials used in this product. You are wondering why I have not returned it? Time! I have no secretary....so - I gotta make the best of it. If I were shopping again (and I probably will be soon, as I have not much confidence in this product), I will not purchase ATIVA, again. I am hoping this helps someone else.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
March 25, 2013
JD
Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Student
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store

Constantly Jams

Pros: Easy to Use, Design
Cons: Performance
Read the instructions, never shredded paper clips, staples, etc., never exceeded 10 sheets standard paper. Had for a month so far, jammed at least 20 times so far. Returning soon.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
March 15, 2013
plj
Matthews, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65

worst shredder ever

From the beginning when inserting paper to shred, sometimes it worked and some times it did not. We started leaving the paper in the shredder and a couple of hours later it would start up all of a sudden. My home shredder which I have had for 6 years works better than this one brand new.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
March 1, 2013
RAH
Troy OH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am a(n):Amateur
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65

Needs Great Improvement

Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Performance
Have had this shredder only one year and use daily for shredding only mail. All of a sudden it quit automatically shutting off. Cleaned out what little waste was in cutters, even found dlectronic eye and noteced no obstruction whatsoever. Just a nusance to keep turning it on and off. Will purchase a different shredder.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
January 18, 2013
Ft. Lauderdale Jeff
Fort Lauderdale, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:36 - 45
Gender of user:Male
Age of user:41 - 50

Not Worth It

Pros: none
Cons: automatic paper feed motor switch doesn't work, bin isn't held in proper place
The switch that is supposed to automatically turn the shredder on and off when inserting paper stopped working within the first two months of purchase. Then within the first half a year, the waste bin stopped staying properly in place. The junky plastic clips that are supposed to hold it in proper place no longer hold the bin. So I"ve got to turn on the switch then with one hand push in on the bin so it stays where it belongs (otherwise the safety switch disables the motor), and with the other hand, feed in the paper. Then I let go of the bin, it pops out of place and it stops shredding, and I turn off the switch. It's JUNK!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
November 17, 2012
Henry
St Petersburg fl
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65

Bought two

I bought two one for the home and one for the office both automatic shutoff does not work I have to turn on and off. Looking at calling the company to see what they can do
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
September 13, 2012
DrWise
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:36 - 45

Everything worked as expected

Pros: Value for Money, Easy to Use, Performance
I have bought a few shredders for my business, and own this one for a smaller office. Of course, if you are going to need some heavy shredding, then this is not the one. If your shredding needs are 30 pages a day or less, this little r2d2 does the job perfectly. I have had no problems with it, and for the price, I am impressed with the durability and reliability.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ativa® MD1000 10-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
August 9, 2012
Hello12
New York, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:66 and above

Junk

This shredder is a piece of junk. It's flimsy; the basket is difficult; the mechanism doesn't fit firmly on top of the basket. I didn't even turn it on because I wouldn't keep something made so poorly. I'm returning it immediately. I guess I got what I paid for. Ill spend more when I buy another shredder.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>