Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP Pavilion 14-q010nr Chromebook Laptop Computer With 14 Screen & Intel® Celeron® Processor

HP Pavilion 14-q010nr Chromebook Laptop Computer With 14 Screen & Intel® Celeron® Processor

Item #:352685
Average Customer Rating:
4.091 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(22)
4 stars
(4)
3 stars
(0)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(5)
26 of 33(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HP Pavilion 14-q010nr Chromebook Laptop Computer With 14 Screen & Intel® Celeron® Processor
Review 1 for HP Pavilion 14-q010nr Chromebook Laptop Computer With 14 Screen & Intel® Celeron® Processor
May 8, 2014
ivyGoal
San Mateo, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Finally was able to print

Pros: value
Cons: Difficult to Set Up
This review is to follow the last review. I finally was able to print after spending 4 hours working on it. The solution is laughable:
1. In order to set up a printer with Chromebook, you must first connect the printer to a standard PC or Mac. Install the printer on that computer.
2. Then register the printer on Google Cloud Print
3. Share the printer with the Google Account User on Chrome (if dif user).
4. The user goes to his/her email to accept the sharing
5. Finally you will be able to see the printer on your device.
What made the whole process so frustrating is:
1. There is NO any direction on Google Chrome to tell you what to do when you do not have a printer already registered with your Google account on Google Cloud Print. Why would Google makes that assumption? Maybe just a little arrogant?
2. We typically connect printer to a laptop via USB and try to install (forget it, does not work). To make a nightmare for you, it does not tell why and provide any clue on what to do next.
3. I tried to install the printer on the network. All other computers can "see" it except the Chromebook (forget it, does not work). Againt, directions and clues are CLUELESS.
4. In a nutshell, the setup took an extreme none intuitive way of setting up a printer and offers NO NO NO direction and help.
Four hours of a waste is a lot to me. I hope this review will help others.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion 14-q010nr Chromebook Laptop Computer With 14 Screen & Intel® Celeron® Processor
May 8, 2014
ivyGoal
San Mateo, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Cannot set up printer

Pros: value
Cons: Difficult to Set Up
This computer is great except that it cannot print. One would not imagine Google/HP will design a laptop that is so difficult to print. But it is true. I have spent 4 hours trying to set it up. Do not laugh. I am very techy and all computers in our office can connect with all printers easily except this one. I finally found some clue on Google Group chat and still trying to fix it. However, this is a very disappointing experience.
If you do not need to print from this computer, buy it!
Otherwise, stay away so that you would not be an angry and frustrated customer like me.
Here is the post on Google Group by another buyers.
Everybody sooner or later needs to print.
I am a HP Chromebook 14 Newbie -- Chrome OS Newbie
I just received my HP Chromebook 14, 2gb printer. I have been playing with it. Review will follow.
I attempted to add a Google Cloud print, using my Chromebook 14... with no success. (I had previously successfully added, using my Acer Windows laptop, my wifi Canon MP560 Classic printer to Google Print and printed from my Windows laptop. NOTE: Just before receiving my Chromebook, I formatted my Windows Acer desktop and re-installed Windows 7. I did not have time to install any drivers, etc.)
When I tried to locate my Classic printer with Chromebook, no devices were found. I finally realized (Little Eureka)that my Windows WiFi laptop serves as server/storage/holder/host for my Canon classic printer driver. I installed my Canon wireless driver (on my Windows laptop) and I was able to add my Canon printer to Google Cloud printing (using my Windows laptop).
Little Eureka # 1: One cannot print to a Classic printer from a Chromebook,unless you also have a Windows Wifi laptop/computer having your printer driver installed. Specifically, to print, using a classic printer, from an HP Chromebook 14, one must (1) install a WiFi printer driver on a WiFi Windows laptop and (2) using that same Windows laptop, add that printer to Google Cloud Printing using Chrome Settings, Advanced Settings, Google Cloud Print, Manage.
Little Eureka # 2: One cannot print from a Chromebook if the host Windows WiFi computer/laptops is off. (It's logical that it would not work, but I tried anyway.)
Little Eureka # 3: One cannot print from a Chromebook if the host Windows WiFi computer/laptops is on but not logged in.
Simply stated, if one is printing using a Chromebook, your WiFi Windows laptop at home/office (with WiFi printer driver) must be on and logged in.
In spite of my progress, even though the Windows laptop was on and I was logged, I was still not able to print from my Chromebook alone --without accessing my Windows laptop print window. I was having difficulties because, when I originally set up my Windows computer WiFi print options, I had selected, for one of my printing preferences, "Preview before printing."
Whenever I attempted to print from Chromebook, I could only print if I select print (in print Preview window) on the windows laptop. I was having to use two laptops to print one Chromebook file!
On my Windows laptop,I deselected "Preview before printing", and saved the change. I still could not print from Chromebook alone. The Preview window was still popping up on my Windows laptop.
On Chromebook, I brought up print menu by
ctrl + shift + p
Selected my printer,
selected advanced options and
selected off for "preview before printing."
I Still could not print from Chromebook alone.
I went back and (ctrl + shift + p) selected my printer, selected manage advanced options) and the "preview before printing" was 'on' again.
From Cloud print, I deleted my printer.
From Windows laptop, Chrome settings for printer I tried to add canon printer but canon printer not found, "looks like there are no devices to be found."
I turned windows laptop off, then on; Canon printer was located and added.
On Chromebook, I checked (via ctrl + shift + p), and "preview before printing" was finally 'off'!
I was at long last able to print from Chromebook alone (with windows laptop on and logged in).
Little Eureka #4: When setting up "printing preferences" (on your WiFi laptop) for your Windows wifi to-be-Classic printer, keep in my the Google Cloud print remembers the printer preferences you select. (Who knows, if a change is made it may update at some later point, but not immediately.) My advice is to not select "Preview Before Printing," because you will have to preview the print job in the Windows computer and select Print in the Windows computer, thus, requiring that whenever you are printing, you are sitting right next to your Chromebook AND Windows computer.
I hope this helps a newbie like me out there! Let me know if you have any questions.
Let me know if there is an easier way to print with a Classic printer.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion 14-q010nr Chromebook Laptop Computer With 14 Screen & Intel® Celeron® Processor
April 29, 2014
laptop know-it-all
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

GREAT!!!

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Display Screen, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
great. good price good speed good battery live. it looks good BUY ONE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion 14-q010nr Chromebook Laptop Computer With 14 Screen & Intel® Celeron® Processor
March 29, 2014
Cathy
Delray Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

6 weeks in - loving it!

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Display Screen, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
This has been a fantastic purchase. The most difficult part was learning how to use the Google version of Word. I find that 12 point Times New Roman is not the same size as it is in Word, so I just convert the files back to Word on a different computer when needed. It is a bonus to have access to my files on any computer at any time simply by logging into Google. Each letter that is typed is automatically saved, so there is no such thing as losing a document because of forgetting to save. It is also a bonus that Windows is not running this computer. It was fast when I bought it, and it is still fast today.
I originally wasn't concerned about watching videos, but I have and love the quality and speed.
I took it to the public library today and was pleased with how quickly I was able to access their WIFI. As a matter of fact, the entire set up of this computer was simple.
My best friend is thinking of buying one of these for her father.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion 14-q010nr Chromebook Laptop Computer With 14 Screen & Intel® Celeron® Processor
February 8, 2014
DE
Ridgewood, N.J.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

JUST WHAT I NEEDED

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Display Screen, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Happy with my selection. It is just what suits my needs, especially when away from home.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion 14-q010nr Chromebook Laptop Computer With 14 Screen & Intel® Celeron® Processor
January 27, 2014
Clio
New York, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Other

Watch out

Pros: value, Display Screen
Cons: Difficult to Use, Performance
If you want a laptop that downloads things you are used to, watch out, chromebook only lets you go through its app store. This computer blocks everything not a sales tool for itself. I am not a techie and chromebook is a problem to navigate.
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion 14-q010nr Chromebook Laptop Computer With 14 Screen & Intel® Celeron® Processor
January 21, 2014
Brad G.
S.E Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

I made a great choice!

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Display Screen, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
While I'm not new to Chrome OS, I am new to my HP Pavilion 14. So far I think it's a great choice. It replaces my HP Pavilion zv6000 which is on it's last legs and uses Windows XP which will loose it's support in the spring of 2014.
I'm 70 and this is a great computer for surfing the web, games and Google Drive is great too. My Chromebook does anything I want it to do that my old computer did and FASTER! Being on the 'Cloud' takes some getting used to but so far I like it.
I'd recommend this to anyone, but especially to those of us who just want a computer that will update it's self, doesn't need any security added and the 14 in. screen is easy to read.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion 14-q010nr Chromebook Laptop Computer With 14 Screen & Intel® Celeron® Processor
January 16, 2014
sammyb1971
bristol, tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Fantastic computer for most people.

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Display Screen, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance, ultra fast, free wifi for 10 air flights!
This thing rocks! The 100's of hours i've wasted running anti-spyware, anti-malware, anti-virus, windows updates, fixing windows glitches and just waiting to load on Windows machines are over.
I spend my days at work on Windows and usually fight it most of the day. Our IT department can't keep up with all the problems we encounter. I now come home to my Chromebook. I've finally found a computer that does all I want and need to do instantly with no waiting, no hassle and no maintenance.
I've read microsoft fans berate these Chromebooks who deem them trash or at the most a secondary, inferior computer. I believe the opposite to be true. I've now owned mine for 6 weeks, used it daily and it is a pleasure to use.
My wife & I went to Office Depot after Thanksgiving and bought 2 laptops, this one for me and a high-end up-to-date Windows 8 laptop for her. We use our computers at the kitchen table visiting most of the same websites. The main difference is speed. The Chromebook blows her expensive Windows 8 away. She was skeptical at first but now likes using my Chromebook as well.
No, it isn't a hard core (Like World of Warcraft) gaming machine. But it does play all the Facebook games we've tried and has a ton of games on the Chromebook Store including offline games.
You can use the Chromebook offline with games, e-mails, book reading, Google Docs and tons of other things contrary to Microsoft assertions.
Besides hard core gaming a weakness i see is in a few apps and extensions, mainly the photo editing apps. There are several and some are good but not great. So i wouldn't recommend this for a professional photographer but for me the good photo apps are acceptable. The Chrome Store is growing and the photo apps will get better. I would guess the Chrome Store to be at about the stage as the Google Play Store for Android was about 3 years ago. I can't wait to see it 3 years from now and the Chromebooks of the future.
The remaining perceived weakness is the lack of Microsoft Office. After using Google Docs I fail to see why as the Docs are simpler to use and fast to navigate. I use Office every day I work and now it's a relief to be able to use Docs when I get home.
I still have my 6-7 old Toshiba laptop that came from Office Depot but have not touched it since buying the Chromebook. Windows fans keep telling me I need one because Chromebooks won't do everything I need to do but I've already visited all the websites I regularly go to, loaded and played the games I played before, emailed, pic edited, shopped, chatted, etc. I don't see the need to hang on to the Toshiba or purchase a new, much higher priced, slower, up to date Windows machine like my wife's.
Oh yeah, there are things I would have to go back to Windows for: to run anti-virus-malware-spyware programs and windows updates while spending a great deal of time wating. Trying to search the internet on one computer to try to figure out how to fix a glichy or virus-malware-spyware infected Windows machine.
I would like to add that this thing is fantastic on battery life! It usually lasts 8 3/4 to 10 1/4 hours on a charge. This is a result of the power sipping Haswell processor that is in some of the newer model Chromebooks. Awesome!
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion 14-q010nr Chromebook Laptop Computer With 14 Screen & Intel® Celeron® Processor
January 3, 2014
Sarge
Laredo, TX.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

GREAT DEVICE

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Display Screen, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
Remember, this is not a Windows laptop! There is no software/software issues. I purchased this product after doing some research. I found that it was exactly what I wanted. I already have a desktop, laptops, and tablets so I wanted something that would handle documents etc. I found that thisdevice to do just that. The battery life is excellent (and charge time), the display is good,and the speed of startup and use is great. The setup was easy and updates are automatic. The price is well within budget. On top of all this, it has the ports I wanted. This "notebook" works well and is worth the money. I would also recommend the Norton Identitysafe app for those of us that have multiple website logins.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion 14-q010nr Chromebook Laptop Computer With 14 Screen & Intel® Celeron® Processor
December 15, 2013
jug
Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Worst computer I have ever owned

Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality
I wish that I had done more research on this computer before I bought it. I have disconnected it from my network and it now is a poor paperweight setting on a shelf. It does not have a cd player or burner to put in any new programs, it does not allow any programs to be downloaded that Chrome does not want you to have, It does not allow you to use your own computer directly, instead you have to go to the Cloud. I tried to prit something and it sent it to the Cloud and put me in a Queye and it took two days to print! If I could send it back right now and get my money back, I would! Piece of junk!
-18points
7out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion 14-q010nr Chromebook Laptop Computer With 14 Screen & Intel® Celeron® Processor
December 14, 2013
Tammy
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

My daughter loves it!!

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Display Screen, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
I would recommend this computer. My daughter is in college and her old laptop died, she wanted a mac book but I could not afford that. I ordered this computer on line at office depot and she picked it up the next day at the store near her school. She Loves it!! She said it is just like a air mac it is thin and light. It does everything she needs, the battery last all day. She is so Happy with it I would highly recommend it!! It was also a great price for me. Best Deal Ever!!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion 14-q010nr Chromebook Laptop Computer With 14 Screen & Intel® Celeron® Processor
November 16, 2013
Ajax
Baltimore,MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Better than expected

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Display Screen, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Our new hp Chromebook 14 is better than expected after reading many reviews. For us it replaces an aging hp desktop running Windows XP. Since we know Microsoft will stop supporting XP this spring we were on the lookout for a replacement.
Our computing needs and habits have changed much since 2007 when we bought the desktop. Also, we each use NOOK tablets which have shown us how little we need powerful on board software to accomplish all the tasks we ever want. So the Chromebook's operating system and dependence on the internet and cloud computing is really nothing new or disappointing as is for some other reviewers. Practically all we will ever ask the Chromebook to do can be found in an inexpensive or free app.
The hardware by hp with Intel provides a good looking, functioning 14" laptop with 8+- hours of battery time. The track pad and keyboard give good response and feel well made. It is fast, easy to use and meets our changing computing needs very well. And all for just $299 plus tax. Delivery from Office Depot was prompt and quicker than expected...... perhaps we are close to one of the distribution centers. It arrived well packed by hp and further packed by Office Depot for shipping.
It has only been a week, but so far we think this $300 machine as just the ticket.
+32points
33out of 34found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for HP Pavilion 14-q010nr Chromebook Laptop Computer With 14 Screen & Intel® Celeron® Processor
Based on the average of (21) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 18 out of 21