Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Brother® MFC-J410w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Office Depot.

Brother® MFC-J410w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax

Item #:385287
Average Customer Rating:
4.357 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(112 Reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(73)
4 stars
(24)
3 stars
(3)
2 stars
(6)
1 star
(6)
99 of 112(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brother® MFC-J410w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
Review 1 for Brother® MFC-J410w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
September 19, 2011
Lindiana
Boonton, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65

A Remarkable Product

Pros: quick and quiet
Cons: need to buy your own usb cable
I purchased this item to replace my All-in-One that no longer worked. The fact that it had a fax included was great even though I won't need it. It prints quickly and quietly. It is great for home office or small business office. Really a phenomenal product for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brother® MFC-J410w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
September 9, 2011
ford
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65

Excellent purchase

Excellent everyday home printer.Easy set up, prints fast, wireless works great, very well build and $49.99 at office depot 3 weeks ago great price.It puts my lexmark and hp to shame but I would not expect any less from a great co like brother.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brother® MFC-J410w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
August 20, 2011
RangerRoy
Anderson, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store

Powerful Machine at Low Price

Pros: Value for Money, Features, Easy to Use
I have 3 PC's on my wireless network: desktop with Windows XP Home, laptop with Windows 7 Home Premium, and work laptop with Windows XP Professional. The printer connected quickly to the network with my hidden SSID and WPA2 PSK key. I then started installing the drivers with the XP desktop, which connected quickly, but then when I installed them on the Windows 7 laptop, Windows 7 changed the printer configuration to a static IP address different from what the router had automatically assigned, so the WinXP desktop would no longer connect. The printer display showed me the IP address, but I could't find an easy way to adjust properties on the installed driver, so I un-installed and re-installed the software on the WinXP desktop. LESSON: If you have Windows 7 and XP PC's on the same network, better install drivers on the Win7 PC first. One time the printer lost the network configuration, don't know why, but it was rather easy to setup again using the same static IP and setting the IP address.
I concur with other reviewers that this printer does not give the highest quality print, but it is certainly more than adequate for home use.
I will update this review once I have tested the scan-to-email, scan-to-PC, OCR, and fax features.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brother® MFC-J410w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
August 19, 2011
Franxie
New England
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Love this printer!

My printer arrived within two days after ordering, and it took me less than an hour to set up. I'm a 63 year old woman with minimal technical skills, and I'm telling you that it was really easy to set up, including the wireless option. After major disappointments with an Epson printer, then an HP multifunction, I'm ecstatic! Have printed only basic stuff so far, but plan to check out photo printing and other options soon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brother® MFC-J410w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
July 11, 2011
AayCee
Midlothian, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

Love this brand

This is the third Brother printer I have bought and I love them. I use them until they wear out and then buy a Brother replacement. The ink is very reasonable if you buy generic over the internet. They work fine with no problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brother® MFC-J410w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
June 19, 2011
NW Mimi
Issaquah. WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Up and running

I've gravitated towards Brother MFC units for years and I've been generally happy. I managed to, by using stale ink, ruin not only my 3 year old unit but also the brand new, out of the box replacement that I'd been holding "just in case". So 2 Brother MFC's in one day, down the drain. Because of the previous good luck, I decided to go with Brother again and chose this unit because of the wireless printing capability. It arrived right on schedule and was in perfect shape. I configured it easily and was sailing along right up until the point that I tried to add it to my wireless network. After over an hour, I gave up and called my son for help. He spent almost 45 minutes sitting on the living room floor with 2 laptops, alternately jumping up to run over to the desk with the PC. Ultimately he was able to get it working and it's running like a champ now. It's great not to have to keep waking up the PC (the old unit was USB connected to it so it had to be idle, not sleeping, for other network devices to talk to it). I also had some challenges getting the Control Center software to recognize the unit after my son's workarounds just to get everything working together. I was able to get it so CC3 recognized it but it required reinstalling it so now the PC has 2 instances of the printer and the one CC3 will work with is "copy 1", which is annoying. I'm afraid to delete the original version just in case it would cause the printer to be unavailable. Other than that, it works great and I fully expect it to last a good, long time. I won't be keeping large quantities of extra ink on hand, though, believe you me!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brother® MFC-J410w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
June 14, 2011
Anonymous
houma, la
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

great product

I only paid 60 bucks for this all in one. It is much better than the Dells I've had in the past. It's really quiet, not the fastest, but I don't need speed. I've tried all functions, and they all work. I've called Brother a couple of times and they were more than helpful in getting my fax online. I don't expect much from it though. It prints with great quality. It has a self cleaning option that runs in its own. It is mostly plastic, so the quality of materials used is sub par, but from what i've seen on most all in ones is that they are all plastic. Get in on sale and you won't be disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brother® MFC-J410w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
June 11, 2011
cyberclaw
FORT SMITH, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65

OH BROTHER !!

Pros: Value for Money, Features, Quiet, Easy to Use, Design, Performance
lots of bang for the buck. easy to use and every feature i wanted. great price and free shipping to store. office depot clerk was friendly, helpful and short. THANKS!!!
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brother® MFC-J410w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
May 22, 2011
mjosh
Richmond,VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Just the product I was looking for

I owned a Samsung ML2010 for around 4 years. It was time for me to replace its cartridge, which was costing me more than half the cost of the printer itself. So, I started shopping around for a multifunctional printer. After looking at several printers, and keeping in mind the cost of ink to refill an inkjet, I decided not to spend more than 70-80 $ on a new printer. After reading excellent review of MFC–J410w on staples website, I decided to purchase this item. Needless to say, the deciding factor was its wireless printing capability. I tried to install this printer first on my company laptop (windows XP). But due to several restrictions, I wasn't able to do it. I then tried wireless printer installation on my home laptop (windows 7), and it was a snap. I was up and running in 15-20 minutes. The color quality is great. The printing speed is also decent. I have used the scanner once. I love the feature where the printer identifies the computers on the network and prompts you to select one of them to send the scans (just like I have printers set up in my office). Some of us might find it to be bigger than any other printer they might have used. For me, it was because I switched from a single-function printer to multifunctional printer. All in all, an excellent choice.
But my biggest gripe is with OfficeMax shipping. It took them more than 25 days for the printer to arrive. So, on one hand, I am extremely happy with the product, but would be reluctant to purchase a product again from OfficeMax.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brother® MFC-J410w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
May 16, 2011
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great Price for the features

Cheapest all-in-one and good quality. I had to wait 4 weeks for the shipping due to backorders, but it is a great little machine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brother® MFC-J410w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
May 9, 2011
Fl Comp
City, State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great Bargain

Works as advertised. Replaced an HP. Cost of new printer less than new carts for HP. Ink prices a major plus. Could not be happier with this printer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Brother® MFC-J410w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
May 2, 2011
donna9111
Bedford, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good printer, GOOD VALUE

This Brother printer is smaller in size but BIG in value!!! Wasn't as easy to set up with the WIRELESS mode though. prints quicker than my Dell wireless printer BUT that isn't saying much.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brother® MFC-J410w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
April 19, 2011
Anonymous
Green Bay, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65

Glad I bought it

Pros: Quiet, Fast, Easy to Set Up
Just bought this. My husband drives truck and needs to fax a lot of paper. I can't believe how fast it is and how quiet.
I read a review from a woman who said it would not work with wireless. If you have Sprint wireless it will not work unless you have a Sprint router. (How convenient for Sprint!) She also said that there was no USB hookup. There is but it is inside the machine. I am very happy with the product and feel for the price it can't be beat!
+22points
26out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brother® MFC-J410w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
April 15, 2011
annimhere2c
michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65

Really like this printer

Pros: Value for Money, Features, Quiet, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Performance
I ordered this printer because I just got a new computer with windows 7 and couldn't use my older Brother MFC210. I really like Brother brand printers and this one is great. I like being able to print wirelessly from where ever I am in the house. I don't use it for pictures but for every day and business printing its the best.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brother® MFC-J410w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
April 11, 2011
DrBHappy
Westbury, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Replacement a lot better than original

Sirs: I have been using a Brother multi-function center for the last ten years. According to the normal usage cycle, I have actually been overusing it. After that period of time, which EXCEEDED my expectations as to longevity, it became obvious that a new unit would not only cost less than the original, the new one had more features as well. Furthermore, the cost of repairing the old one was greater than just buying a new one. Just as that one DIED, OfficeMax came to the rescue, and shipped me a new one, no shipping charge, so I didn't even have to go to the store. While it took longer than expected to set it up, once that was out of the way, the new unit is FASTER, prints cleaner copies, has a small preview screen [unavailable on the old one], and can now act as a hub-printer for my in-home Wi-Fi network [2 laptops, a mini-netbook, a desktop], and has NO trouble sending faxes on a VoIP line, which was a problem with the old one. While the unit's footprint is somewhat larger, I had already added another table to accomodate it. The auto-document feeder took a bit of getting used to, because of the multi-articulating cover [tilts left to right for documents, front to back for copies], but now I think it's just another good idea. Overall, the new unit [MFC-J410W] is a winner on all counts, and considering the price, is a genuine steal! Five stars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Brother® MFC-J410w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
April 6, 2011
phoenixfg
Georgetown, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Amateur
Primary Use:Home User
Gender:Male
Age:66 and above
Bought this product:Online

A Real Bargain

Pros: Value for Money, Features, Easy to Use, Design, Performance
With a price of $99.99 I didn't think this product could live up to the descrirption and other reviews. But was I wrong. This could be the best bargain I've gotten in years. I've had the maching for only a couple of weeks but I've tried all ot the features and it works like a charm. Once I figured out how to configure my router, wireless setup was a breeze. Having one machine for printing, copying, scanning and faxing is a real space saver. Looks great too.
+13points
17out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brother® MFC-J410w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
March 29, 2011
RainbowLady
Orange County, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Gender:Female
Age:66 and above
Bought this product:Online
Gender of user:Female

Would not work for me - very disappointed

Pros: small compact size
Cons: would not connect to our wireless system
I bought one of these after reading the great reviews. The printer alone could not connect to our wireless network automatically. I was able to connect it manually. So far, so good. After I installed the software on my computer, it was not able to find the printer even though it was sitting right next to the computer and showing an active wireless connection on the printer itself. Spent several hours trying to get it to work trying different things and different installation options. Finally gave up. It also messed up my own instlaation of Paper Port 11, which seems to be part of the software suite that comes with it. I had to do a system restore, then put in my own PaperPort software CD before I could use my own PaperPort software again. I was extremely disappointed as I previously had a Brother MFD that I liked for 7 years. I had to return this one to the Staples store where I bought it for a refund. We have another wireless printer that works OK, just don't like the HP scanning interface, so thought this would be a cheap and better alternative. The instructions suggest installing via cable, however, there is no USB calbe option on ths printer. BEWARE.
-7points
11out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brother® MFC-J410w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
March 28, 2011
Mattana
Baton Ruge, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It is an economical printer. Very good value for the price. Wireless works wonderful, easy to set up. Good for everyday printing. Non-OEM inks are so cheap. I have owned several brother printers and will buy another brother if I need a new one. Inks can also be refilled.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brother® MFC-J410w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
March 27, 2011
mikki
Panama City Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Business User
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65
Bought this product:Online

Extremely Happy

Pros: wireless
I had originally planned on purchasing a different, more expensive, product. I then read a couple of reviews on it that were not good, so I kept reading and ended up with this. I spent $150 less than planned, and am so happy with the product. It was easy to set up and works beautifully.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brother® MFC-J410w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
March 11, 2011
RoverDi
Denver
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65
Bought this product:Online

Brother MFC Printer

Good price and decent quality. I would have rated this 5 stars except that the scanner doesn't work, an error message appears. This happened with my previous Brother MFC Printer also. This is obviously a glitch in the software that Brother hasn't, or can't fix. There should be a downloadable patch or update to remedy this ~ Brother, are you listening?
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>