Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Realspace Big & Tall Heavy-Duty–Series 24-Hour High-Back Bonded Leather Chair, Black

Realspace Big & Tall Heavy-Duty–Series 24-Hour High-Back Bonded Leather Chair, Black

Item #:392830
Average Customer Rating:
3.137 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(139 Reviews) 139
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(45)
4 stars
(24)
3 stars
(17)
2 stars
(11)
1 star
(42)
72 of 125(58%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Realspace Big & Tall Heavy-Duty–Series 24-Hour High-Back Bonded Leather Chair, Black
Review 1 for Realspace Big & Tall Heavy-Duty–Series 24-Hour High-Back Bonded Leather Chair, Black
March 16, 2015
chicago ill
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

poor choice

Cons: does not fit a big man
is not a big mans chair as advertised seat very small and chair is extremely uncomfortable...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Realspace Big & Tall Heavy-Duty–Series 24-Hour High-Back Bonded Leather Chair, Black
March 4, 2015
Raleigh, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Slowly Sinking Rating

Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Size & Weight, Quality: Flimsy, Wobbles
Similar to the chair itself, my opinion of the chair has slowly sunk over time. I am 6'5 and 200#, so nowhere near the maximum capacity of the chair and found that around the 12 month mark the tube failed and several times throughout the day the tube will start to lower me in drops of approximately 1/2-1" from maximum height to minimum height over the course of a minute.
The chairtop wobbles, but is something I can look past outside of the failing gas tube.
This chair has made me consider a standing desk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Realspace Big & Tall Heavy-Duty–Series 24-Hour High-Back Bonded Leather Chair, Black
January 29, 2015
Irvine, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Best chair i've ever purchased!

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Size & Weight, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: Easily Damaged, Wobbles, difficult to figure out settings
I absolutely love this chair. I'm not a big person - only weigh about 120lbs, if that. But I struggle with being unusually tall, because of abnormally long legs for my height (I'm 5'8" and wear a 36" inseam if that gives you any sort of idea of how long my dang legs are). So I've always had issues with chairs not fitting my body properly. In addition, I struggle with an immense amount of chronic pain and I have an office job which requires me to sit at a computer for most of the day 40+ hours a week.
The things i love about this chair:
* The neck/shoulder support is amazing and very comfortable, I can sit in this thing for hours without even noticing
* Due to the type of cushioning the chair has, it's extremely comfortable on my hips, which are a pain point for me so again, I can typically be in this thing for hours and not notice. Or if i do, I can usually find a comfortable position, and/or add a heating pad or ice pack to the mix to help relieve some of the pain while still being able to work
* Lots of flexibility for adjusting to your liking
* Back support is great - though I do tend to notice some pain in my mid/upper back (around the mid to lower shoulder blade area) after a while, sooner than i will notice any of my other injuries/pain flaring up.
* Obviously, I weigh much less than the max or even recommended weight for this chair so I could jump in it and it will hold up just fine and bounce right back upright.
* So far, I've had this for 4 years and it has shown no signs of wear/breaking down. Literally the only thing wrong with it's appearance is my own children's (cat's) doing - my little 18yr old mute, diabetic sweetheart likes to come and let me know when it's dinner time and shot time by sticking one or two paws up on the right or back right side, and typically ends up getting stuck... so there are a number of holes in the leather on that side. But I can't really be mad about that, other than it would be nice if maybe it were a little less easy to puncture. :)
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Realspace Big & Tall Heavy-Duty–Series 24-Hour High-Back Bonded Leather Chair, Black
January 26, 2015
Dayton, Ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Nice Chair But the Hydraulic base not good

Pros: Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable
Cons: hydraulic base fails, round covers fall off
The chair is nice and comfortable and I like it.
The problem is the Hydraulic lift part 'E' has not held up.
I have contacted manufacturer and hope they send me new one which will be my third. chair is rated up to 350Lbs and I weigh 320lbs.
it seems to stay up longer if up all the way but if I lower it at all then it slowly goes down. I have to lift it up 2-3x a day
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Realspace Big & Tall Heavy-Duty–Series 24-Hour High-Back Bonded Leather Chair, Black
November 18, 2014
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Gas tube will fail

I have had 2 of these chairs. The gas tube has failed on both after approx 12 months. I purchased the 3 year warranty for $30, so on both occasions I got a gift card for the purchase price.
The seat does wobble atop the frame.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Realspace Big & Tall Heavy-Duty–Series 24-Hour High-Back Bonded Leather Chair, Black
November 14, 2014
Tulsa, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Definitely NOT Heavy Duty

Pros: Appearance/Design, Comfortable
Cons: Wobbles, not the quality i paid for
I'm a big guy, 6'/ 270 lb., which should not be excessive for a chair SUPPOSEDLY deigned to support 350 lb. For $300 (incl sales tax) I expected a lot from this chair. When it was first assembled, it wobbled a tiny bit side to side (not a good sign). After about 6 months, the gas tube went out, which was a problem since I have long legs. After about 8 months, i was leaning back after a long stretch at my desk and suddenly there was a loud 'POP' and the chair fell over backwards. The recliner locking bar had broken off the base plate. Last week, 11 months after purchase, as I was pushing myself up out of the chair, when one of the bolts holding the right arm to the bottom of the seat broke. Not even a year old and it's headed for the trash. I won't be purchasing anything else from True Innovations.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Realspace Big & Tall Heavy-Duty–Series 24-Hour High-Back Bonded Leather Chair, Black
October 5, 2014
Pembroke Pnes, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Very dissatisfied

Pros: Appearance/Design
Cons: Quality: Flimsy, Wobbles, hydraulics failed, squeaks, arms are plastic
This chair is not the quality you should expect for the price. It is not comfortable. The hydraulic doesn't hold up and it squeaks constantly. When I selected this for a home office use, I expected it to last for many years. It isn't used more than an average of 2 hours a day. I have had it less than a year and it already is falling apart and annoying us to no end with the noise. We are not big people at all so I can't imagine what happens when it is used by the targeted customer of "big and tall".
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Realspace Big & Tall Heavy-Duty–Series 24-Hour High-Back Bonded Leather Chair, Black
August 28, 2014
FLORIDA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

IT'S OK BUT

Pros: Functional, Comfortable, Size & Weight
Cons: Quality: Flimsy, Wobbles, leather pealing, cylinder leakage
I HAVE HAD THIS CHAIR ALMOST 4 YEARS NOW. I AM IN SALES AND SIT IN THIS CHAIR 7+ HOURS A DAY. AT 325 I AM CLOSE TO THE WEIGHT LIMIT. THE CHAIR ITSELF HAS HAD A FEW ISSUES. YES I TOO HAD TROUBLE WITH IT LEAKING OFF. I PUT UP WITH IT AND NOW THE LEATHER IS PEALING AWAY. YES IT HAS A 5 YEAR WARRANTY IF YOU KEEP YOUR RECIPT. I WORK FOR A COMPANY THAT BUYS ALOT OF MATERIAL FROM OFFICE DEPOT. I GAVE MY RECIPT TO THE OFFICE PERSONAL AND THEY BOXED IT UP. NEVER TO BE FOUND AGAIN. WITHOUT IT AND THE ORIGINAL CREDIT CARD I USED, NO WARRANTY. I CONTACTED THE MANF. AND THEY WERE NO HELP. EVEN THOUGH THE MANF. DATE AND INFO ARE ON THE BOTTOM OF THE CHAIR. OFFICE DEPOT WAS TRYING TO HELP ME FIND THE RECIPT. BUT WITH OUT IT SORRY OUT OF LUCK. SO IF YOU BUY IT KEEP YOUR RECIPT. WE HAVE OVER 40 CHAIRS FROM THERE AND THEY HAVE REPLACED SOME OF THEM WITHOUT ANY PROBLEM. BUT NOT THIS ONE YET. NOT SURE I WOULD BUY THIS ONE AGAIN BUT THIS COMPANY MAKES CHAIRS UNDER MANY NAMES AND THEY DON'T SEEM TO CARE. IT'S LIKE THEY WILL GET YOUR BUSINESS ANYWAY. BUT NOTHING BUT GOOD THINGS ABOUT O.D. THEY ARE GOOD PEOPLE.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Realspace Big & Tall Heavy-Duty–Series 24-Hour High-Back Bonded Leather Chair, Black
August 15, 2014
Pleasanton, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

Customer Service???

Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This is a comfortable chair - it is NOT a durable chair. The left arm separated from the plywood in the back cushion and ripped 12 inches along the left side. I first tried the True Innovations website - but when I entered the SKU # and Reference # printed on the bottom of the chair, I got the message "no products match the given information". Then I called customer service - after 90 minutes of listening to how important my call was to them, I hung up. I have sent three emails - no response. Now I am posting to FaceBook and anywhere else I can to let other consumers know that while it starts comfortably, there is NO customer service available.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Realspace Big & Tall Heavy-Duty–Series 24-Hour High-Back Bonded Leather Chair, Black
August 15, 2014
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Most comfortable chair ever!

Pros: value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design, Comfortable
Ordered it one day, delivered the next. Excellent purchase. Good back support. Well worth the money especially when you spend 8 hours a day sitting in it.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Realspace Big & Tall Heavy-Duty–Series 24-Hour High-Back Bonded Leather Chair, Black
July 31, 2014
Modesto Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Marvelous Chair Surprisingly comfortable

Pros: Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, a discount made it a good buy
Cons: Quality
Background. I purchased a chair 1/2 price 89.00. Thought I was getting a deal. within 3 months the gas strut went bad. In 8 months the swivel plate went bad. I do use my chair 6+ hours a day. I was offered this chair as part of a warranty replacement. What a difference in Build Quality. The swivel plate has HUGE bearings that will make it last much longer. The stuffing is thick and strong. The chair is quite comfortable.
Time will tell if this chair holds up. For the moment I am VERY pleased. The quality is MUCH greater than the last chair that had to be warrantied.
The only drawback, I have heard too many horror stories about bonded leather pealing off. We will see what happens with time.
I am giving this 5 stars only because the last chair was such a pile of junk as opposed to this. I can't really rate value because I got the chair at a discount. At retail, 3 stars. What I got it at 5 stars.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Realspace Big & Tall Heavy-Duty–Series 24-Hour High-Back Bonded Leather Chair, Black
July 19, 2014
Clinton Twp, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Gas Lift Broke within 2 years

Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, parts
The chair is/was perfect for my husband. He's a computer programmer and spends a lot of time at his desk. He loved the high back, the cushioned seat, arm rests, and pretty much everything about the chair. One day, the Gas Lift broke. We were pleased to find that you could order the part from the True Innovations web site. Unfortunately, we could not removed the broken Gas Lift. So we will either have to buy a whole new chair, or a complete set of under parts. Very disappointed in the life of the chair.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Realspace Big & Tall Heavy-Duty–Series 24-Hour High-Back Bonded Leather Chair, Black
June 16, 2014
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Best Chair I Have Had in Years

Pros: value, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Quality
I am 6 foot 5 inches and this chair fits me better than any of the others I have tried. Assembly was easy. Chair is comfortable. No back pain.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Realspace Big & Tall Heavy-Duty–Series 24-Hour High-Back Bonded Leather Chair, Black
May 31, 2014
Glen Burnie, Md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

great chair

Pros: value, Quality, Appearance/Design, Comfortable
I put the chair together last weekend and it was fairly easy to put together. The only problem I had was when I had to screw the back of the chair to the seat and armrest it was kind of difficult to line up the holes to put the bolts in but finally got it done. The chair is very comfortable and has very good back support and I would recommend this chair to anyone.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Realspace Big & Tall Heavy-Duty–Series 24-Hour High-Back Bonded Leather Chair, Black
May 3, 2014
oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

best chair in the store

Pros: value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design, Comfortable
Cons: you will sweat
As usual, when buying a new chair, I sit in all the chairs. Since this was for work, an 8-10 hour day, it needed to be comfortable and have good lumbar support. This chair fulfilled all my wants and needs, plus it looked good being leather.
There's only one downfall- leather is hot and your butt will sweat. Forgot all about that issue, but at least I'm no longer in pain.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Realspace Big & Tall Heavy-Duty–Series 24-Hour High-Back Bonded Leather Chair, Black
April 27, 2014
New Orleans
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Doesn't age well

Pros: Easy to Assemble, Comfortable
Cons: Quality
I had this chair about 3 years. after the first the "leather" separated and black flakes can be found throughout the house from it. It held up my weight well but after a year the cylinder collapsed to never rise again. The bottom of the chair has some issues of it leaning that slowly developed over time. Never really noticed it till I got a new chair and say in them side-by-side.
As for use I use it on average 6 hours of a day at work.
It was comfortable, but if you want a chair to last longer look elsewhere.
In short buy it on sale. Not worth the full price.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Realspace Big & Tall Heavy-Duty–Series 24-Hour High-Back Bonded Leather Chair, Black
April 12, 2014
Redding, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Office chair extrodinaire

Pros: value, Quality, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, timely arrival
Looks nice with the "chrome" looking arms.
The upholstery is soft and supple.
So far it is living up to it's claims about supporting a big and tall person.
Grandson was able to put it together in one hour and read the instructions himself. But he is 18 and smart.
( We have had chair one week as I write this review)
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Realspace Big & Tall Heavy-Duty–Series 24-Hour High-Back Bonded Leather Chair, Black
April 5, 2014
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

True Innovations Big & Tall Heavy-Duty–Series 24-H

Pros: Appearance/Design, Comfortable
Assuming your delivery truck can accommodate a ready-to-use chair, your website purchase should offer an assembly option.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Realspace Big & Tall Heavy-Duty–Series 24-Hour High-Back Bonded Leather Chair, Black
March 31, 2014
Irvine, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Great Fit

Pros: Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design, Comfortable
Our office has several of these chairs already... My old chair finally broke.. I am close to 300lbs, so I need a chair that could handle my weight. Plus my upper torso is tall, so most chairs don't fit me very well.
After trying my coworkers chairs, I found them very comfortable. But to make sure, I went to Office Depot and tried all the chairs... Kinda like Goldilocks.. This one too short, this one too hard... And on and on... Well I finally came to the conclusion that this chairs was the choice..
Ordered, and have been using it for several months now. No problems, no fade in the height adjustment... It would be nice if there was some tile control for the seat.
But so far this has been the best chair I've used in years...
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Realspace Big & Tall Heavy-Duty–Series 24-Hour High-Back Bonded Leather Chair, Black
March 30, 2014
Springdale, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

The chair holds me up!

Pros: value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design, Comfortable
I've bought a lot of chairs. Usually 2nd or 3rd hand, or cheap ones. But I'm an author and I do a lot of sitting at the desk -- not very healthy -- which is why I went looking for a B&T Heavy Duty chair. I like it. I'm 5'8" and the top of the chair back hits the very base of my skull. (My husband is 6'2" and feels it is not big enough.) It sits up and is easy for me to get in and out of -- I'll roll it away from my desk to watch TV instead of sitting on our couch (which also needs replacing, but that's a different review).
The chair was fairly easy to assemble -- about 2 hours just me by myself.
At 40% off retail, it was a great deal. I picked it up from the store the next day, and a very kind associate even loaded it in the car for me. My husband has been buying his office furniture from OD for the past 6 years, and I'm happy to be able to use OD to furnish my office at home.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>