Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ativa® Professional Plus HDPRO 2000 20-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder

Ativa® Professional Plus HDPRO 2000 20-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder

Item #:414934
Average Customer Rating:
3.833 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(7)
4 stars
(7)
3 stars
(1)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(3)
15 of 18(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ativa® Professional Plus HDPRO 2000 20-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
Review 1 for Ativa® Professional Plus HDPRO 2000 20-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
July 23, 2014
parker
tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

2 in a row, worst shredder ever

Cons: Build Quality
I bought my 1st one in February 2014, worked great for 2 weeks, lucky me I purchased the extended warranty and replacement for 2 years, asked for a replacement and only sent me a giftcard for what I paid, didn't learn the lesson and went to office depot for the second exactly same model, worked for 3 weeks and stopped suddenly.. the gear that makes everything work is plastic, so got broken...
Called office depot to make effective my warranty and they told me it only covers one time, so in case you get a new one you have to pay again 45 dlls for it.
Lucky me I had it, but I will ask for my money only and try to get something different than ativa.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ativa® Professional Plus HDPRO 2000 20-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
May 13, 2014
DG
Kill Devil Hills, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Shredder review

I purchased a replacement for another Activa shredder which only handled 10 pages at a time and only ran for 15 minutes. This one shreds 20 pages at a time and runs for well over the 15 minutes of the old one. I haven't gotten it up to the 2 hours that's advertised because it handles more pages at a time.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ativa® Professional Plus HDPRO 2000 20-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
April 19, 2014
Plague
State of Confusion
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Ativa® Professional Plus HDPRO 2000 20-Sheet Cross

Pros: seems to shread everything
Cons: takes a minute to warmup & work when first powered
Extremely effective confetti maker
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ativa® Professional Plus HDPRO 2000 20-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
April 15, 2014
Alan
Denver, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Overpriced Junk

Pros: shreds well, wheeled
Cons: electronics malfunctioned, heavy
This machine worked as described for exactly 2 days then malfunctioned. The on/off switch and forward and reverse buttons became totally unresponsive. The only way to shred a piece of paper was to repeatedly flip the main on/off switch on the back of the machine. Way too expensive for such poor quality. Returned it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ativa® Professional Plus HDPRO 2000 20-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
April 9, 2014
myself
colorado
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Shredder Review

Pros: nice size
Cons: Slow, paper feed too sensitive
Nice Size
Loading of paper has to be precise, or shredder will not grab paper - annoying.
SLOW - takes 2x as long as my old shredder to dispose of a piece of paper
Wish I could have tried shredding in the store to get a better feel of how this would work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ativa® Professional Plus HDPRO 2000 20-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
March 1, 2014
rw
N.O.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

SHREAD MONSTOR

Pros: worked right out the box
Cons: costs alot
AMAZING PAPER GOES IN AND IT GET CUT INTO LITTLE PIECES
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ativa® Professional Plus HDPRO 2000 20-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
January 1, 2014
MysteryBuyer
USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Works Well

Pros: value, Quiet, Easy to Use, Performance
Cons: security level 4
In 15 days have run about 300 pounds of paper through it. No jams and quiet. Has a Security level 4 rating and random measurements of the shredded material confirm less than 160 mm2 area (security level 4). Care should be taken on shredding papers with ID theft information given the length of the pieces, the landscape orientation of text can easily contain a complete SSN printed with a small font. This problem can be addressed by folding paper and then feed paper with its text parallel to the paper slot. A micro-cut (security level 5) shred would be more reassuring.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ativa® Professional Plus HDPRO 2000 20-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
December 30, 2013
jacksonville FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

looks like it'll be a good workhorse

Pros: Quiet, Easy to Use, Performance
Cons: not equipped for bags
we're a small law firm & have gone thru cheaper shredders in no time. this one feels very solid & its quiet! so far we've filled about 8 bags full of shredding without a hitch. my only complaint is that it doesn't come bag-ready so we have to tape one side of the trash bags to the bin. the bin is removable though, so if you have a big can you can dump it into, that's easy.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ativa® Professional Plus HDPRO 2000 20-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
December 28, 2013
mikee
Hudson, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Shredder

I have had this shredder for about two weeks. It has done everything that was advertised to do.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ativa® Professional Plus HDPRO 2000 20-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
December 14, 2013
JD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

GIFT

Pros: gift
BOUGHT FOR A CHRISTMAS GIFT
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ativa® Professional Plus HDPRO 2000 20-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
December 7, 2013
Ricky
Shreveport, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

FANTASTIC!

Pros: value, Quiet, Easy to Use, Performance
This machine is wonderful. Our old one was on its last leg and made such a racket. This is quiet, shreds everything we need shredded just beautifully.....we could not be more pleased with our purchase....and it was on sale! Thanks Ativa and Office Depot!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ativa® Professional Plus HDPRO 2000 20-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
November 16, 2013
Photoflash
West Covina, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

My opinion

Pros: very quiet
Cons: top heavy
At first I was very unhappy with this purchase as the original shredder quit after one use and had to be returned and a new one ordered. Office Depot was great with the exchange and so far the replacement seems to be working good. Time will tell, however, it does come with a 2 year warranty.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ativa® Professional Plus HDPRO 2000 20-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
October 11, 2013
John
Florence, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Wish I had this years ago

Pros: value, Quiet, Design, Performance
I just love the fact I don't have to waste time opening junk mail anymore I just drop it in and it eats it up. And it is QUIET!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ativa® Professional Plus HDPRO 2000 20-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
August 13, 2013
superscanner
Newnan, Ga.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

disappointed

Pros: Quiet
Cons: broke after 5 days
After five days of occassional use the shredder will not stop running. We have to turn the shredder off to get it to stop running. Will be contacting Office Depot today.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ativa® Professional Plus HDPRO 2000 20-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
August 4, 2013
MzJay
Fayetteville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Paper hound

Pros: Quiet, Easy to Use, Design, Performance
WOW! I was skeptical at first, but i insisted that the sales rep give me a full demonstration of shredding 20 sheets before i spent 300 bucks. Best 300 bucks i,ve spent yet. I bought the macine about two months ago, and i,ve oiled it 5 times since then. I've shredded about 40 of the large construction worker trash bags, and its still doing an amazing job. Its eases thru credit cards, cd/dvds, staples, even paper clips. I was able to go thru an entire 4 drawer file cabinet stuff to the max in about 2 hours. That completly blew my mind. If i had this machine years ago, i would not have had to go thru so much aggrevation as with my old shredder, it only could do about 3-5 pages at a time, and that was just a regular shred, little security, super slow, had to be turned off just to clear jams, and could not cut thru credit cards or cds. I guess thats why i let it pile up for so long. I have not had to clear one jam yet. The machine works even better than advertised because i got it to cut up 26 sheets in one pass. So if you've got lots to shred, i would recommend this machine.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ativa® Professional Plus HDPRO 2000 20-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
June 24, 2013
Larry's App
Fort Smith, Ark.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Traditional Office
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65

Love this shredder

Pros: Quiet, Easy to Use, Performance
I ordered this shredder online and received it promptly. The shredder does a wonderful job and has kept my Grandaughter busy for quite a while - it is so easy to use that even a 5 year old can help with my shredding of old business papers - and she LOVES IT!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ativa® Professional Plus HDPRO 2000 20-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
June 13, 2013
joex
Jackson, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65

This Machine Rocks!

Pros: value, Features, Quiet, Easy to Use, Performance
We have purchased quite a few shredders over the years. None of them lasted more than a year. We've had it only about a week and all I can say about it is wow! I read some of the reviews of some the shredders in the Ativa HDPRO 2000's price range and none of them will run continuously for two hours. We've only run ours for about one hour, but based on the way it ran that time, I think that It will exceed the expectations most people might have when it comes to shredding papers etc. in a small office or home environment, It is quiet, but very efficient. The cutting mechanism must be adequately lubricated and she will keep on running and running like a certain bunny.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ativa® Professional Plus HDPRO 2000 20-Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder
February 21, 2013
lynn40
St. Louis, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65

Nice shredder

Pros: automatic shut off
So far so good on this shredder. We are a small office yet shred pretty much. Last shredder we had did not meet the expections listed. This one so far is great! Quite & shreds close to the maxium amount it says it will. Before no one in the office would shred their own things. Now everyone wants to use it!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.