Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5286 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i3 Processor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Office Depot.

Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5286 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i3 Processor

Item #:418637
Average Customer Rating:
3.513 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(13)
4 stars
(10)
3 stars
(5)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(8)
24 of 33(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5286 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
Review 1 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5286 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
March 3, 2014
Thnng
sugar land, texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

C55- A5286

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: sound quality is poor
Well , I have this computer for two weeks now. I reach to the point of no return. Actually this is very fast computer. But if you use this computer
mainly for entertainment like watching DVD or stream moving from internet : the picture to me is about average, but the sound quality is no .no... It is very annoy . My nexus 4 cell phone sound a lot better than this one.
I decide to keep it because i don't watch movie on computer. Other than that it is great computer. It should be 3 1/2 star.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5286 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
January 17, 2014
honest oppinion
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

its ok but not best.

so all in all it is a nice computer, as long as you start it up as directed and set up the domain area and purchase date.
but what i really dislike, is that once you install the windows 8 as it clarifies is a must.. google chrome will no longer function normally.
it will freeze and become unresponsive.
this is due to the fact that google is forcing you to run as its own desktop.
which make it very clear i loathe.
also, the toshiba satellite has an issue playing netflix or any sort of video feed it lags even with stable connection.
if you do buy this laptop, use it for leisure activity, i do not personally in trust this brand with heavy duty functions.
(personal wish is that someone takes the durability of a toshiba and mash it with the running speed of an HP pavilion)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5286 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
January 8, 2014
Stormchaser
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Great Laptop

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Display Screen, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Despite some negative reviews, I decided to give this computer a try because of the specs and a great sale price. I am glad I did. I did not want Windows 8 because of a bad previous encounter. My laptop came with 8.1 and I am glad it did. Within about 4 hours I was able to change the setting I wanted and set the Start page up so it works for me. Removing a lot of apps and resizing others helped a lot. and the desktop works great. I really loved Windows 7 but 8.1 is much faster and not as hard to get used to as I expected. This is my first Toshiba but I doubt it will be my last. Everything works great and the keyboard is easier to use than my last laptop. The screen is brighter too. The only negative I have found is the sound quality and I am looking forward to trying the fix. I have bought several computers from Office Depot and they have always been helpful and good about returns made in a reasonable time for good cause.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5286 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
January 4, 2014
Unsatisfied Office Depot Customer
Houston, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

STAY AWAY!!! Worst Purchase Ever

Pros: none
Cons: Quality
Purchased the C55-A5286 for Christmas gift. A little over a week after Christmas the touch pad froze up. Toshiba technical support had me jump through a bunch of hoops and the final recommended "fix" was to restore the computer. After restoring the laptop half of the apps for Windows 8.1 would not work. This all occurred after Office Depot's 14 day (very short) return/exchange period. BEWARE THE 14 DAY RETURN/EXCHANGE PERIOD AND DO NOT BUY THIS LAPTOP!!! Save yourself the agony.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5286 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
December 31, 2013
DTMMitchell
Bluegrass of Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Good Value In A Home Laptop

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Easy to Set Up, Performance, 8gb ram
This Toshiba is an excellent laptop, particularly for the price. I got it for $350, after the rebate, which is quite a bargain for 8GB of RAM and 750GB storage. The i3 processor is not the fastest, but it is adequate for 95% of what I (and most users) do with a laptop. I had a previous Toshiba with an AMD processor and had some problems with the graphics driver for it, so I am going to stick with Intel from here on. Most of the negative comments in reviews seem to be associated with the Windows 8 OS, and I am not a fan, either, but that is not the PC's fault. I would recommend this laptop.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5286 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
December 31, 2013
fiber_tech
Nebwugrh, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

DO NOT BUY!- Battery Charging Issues

Pros: value
Cons: battery life, Quality
We purchased Laptop in November to be wrapped up as a Christmas present. Turned it only long enough to make sure it would come up and to register the product. When opened at Christmas, laptop would not run without power cord plugged in. Battery showed charging but stayed at 0%. I went to the Toshiba Customer Service Forums and discovered that there were a multitude of posts about this exact problem on quite a few of the Toshiba Satellite Models including this one. This has apparently been a know issue for over a year based on the dates of the various posts I read and yet it is still not resolved nor even acknowledged by Toshiba. Their answer when calling for tech support is to replace the battery or adapter, but many forum posters indicated that this was only a temporary fix and that the problem had resurfaced for them. It is apparently a firmware/software or BIOS issue. I would recommend another manufacturer altogether due to the widespread nature of this problem across their entire laptop product offering.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5286 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
December 29, 2013
Sudsy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

Great Laptop and Great Price

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Performance
With the ClassicShell installed to make Windows 8 usable, this is one fine laptop. Plus the $350 sale price made it very nice. I should have bought 2 of them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5286 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
December 29, 2013
Academic Library User
Mobile, AL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Pretty Good Purchase

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: Quality, defective sd card slot
I bought this Toshiba Laptop in December 2013 because it has an 8GB memory and a 750GB hard drive. I wanted a 1TB hard drive, but I couldn't find one within my budget, however the 8GB of memory matched my specifications exactly. Windows 8 takes some getting used to, but I have been working on acclimating myself to it since July. I'm not having much trouble using it and have basically found out how to do everything that I could before. The main problem that I have with this machine is that the SD card slot is not working. I used it once and when I went back to use it again it would not read my card. Good thing that I had a USB card reader or this machine would be basically worthless to me. Since I just found the problem, I don't know yet how it will be addressed. All in all, this was a good purchase.
My other major problem is with the rebate that was offered with this machine, it comes in the form of a pre-paid debit card and I despise pre-paid debit cards. I don't want $2 deducted from my balance every time that I need to check my balance. I really hate the issuer of all of these low-rent pre-paid debit cards, Meta Bank. I just want a check that I can deposit into my checking account at my credit union. End of rant.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5286 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
December 29, 2013
gnbid
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great laptop, beware how different Windows 8 is!

Pros: value, Display Screen, Quality, Performance, memory--8gb, i3 processor
Cons: Difficult to Use, windows 8
I bought 2 of these computers, one for my wife and the other for my mom. The computer is attractive, fast, and loaded with features, all except one: touch-screen technology. Now, under normal circumstances, this probably doesn't seem to be such a big deal, but with the new operating system of Windows 8, it is a REAL big deal.
The big issue is that without touch-screen technology, a large part of what makes Windows 8 an interesting operating system is taken away. Now, can you operate a Windows 8 system without touch-screen? Yes, but you have to do some modifications to it. First, do yourself a favor and get a 3rd party start screen such as Classic Shell--it's been rated as excellent by both PC magazine and CNet, and is free (ok--they ask for a donation). Without the 3rd party start screen, you boot up to the "metro" screen, which works like a tablet. Once you start up, you can select the "desktop" tile on the metro screen, and it will look similar to what we've all gotten used to as a desktop, but you have to select it every time when you start the computer. Oh yes, and where did the START button go? Beats me. Also the shut-down options aren't clearly put on the screen for you to get to.
Also, do yourself a favor and disable some of the screen swipe technology (I'm afraid you'll have to look that one up on your own), because random mouse movements will approximate screen swipes on your tablet/smartphone--and it gets really annoying.
So, is this laptop worth it? Oh yes...it's a really fast (with an i3 processor--amazing, and 8gb memory--crazy!), and Windows 8 does do things VERY quick. However, I wish that someone had posted a review with some of the warnings I have given here. Really, I'm not for sure that with the tough-screen technology that Windows 8 would be THAT much easier to figure out, but I can see how it would help. But, if you install a 3rd party shell (or, I have read that version 8.1 allows you to boot up direct to your desktop--another free download) and disable some of the tablet-type of functionality, this is a really good computer for the money.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5286 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
December 28, 2013
Larry
Sandy, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Very good deal

Pros: value, Battery Life, Display Screen, Performance
Cons: Difficult to Use, Heavy/Bulky, Difficult to Set Up
I find the laptop to be an exceptional value. I have been waiting for an opportunity to upgrade my laptop and Vista 64 operating system. SO far I hate Windows 8 or 8.1, whichever it is but maybe I'll grow to like it as soon as I can figure out how to navigate it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5286 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
December 28, 2013
moe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

C55-A5286

as soon as it was opened found the down key stuck, glad I did not send in the rebate, now I have to rush back to the store hope its in stock and return it. Sad
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5286 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
December 23, 2013
average Joe
Mustang, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

very fast and a great deal

Pros: value, Battery Life, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
we got this over the weekend after looking at much higher priced cpu's decided to go with this one because of the 8gb of ram and it was a great choice! it is def worth the money and a lot faster than my old samsung which had an i5 and 4gb of ram.
i found out that the processor does not help you surf the web faster, but the Ram does and, this computer will go as fast as your connection.
Also, it has a built in microphone and you can search the web by voice.
i know a lot of computers have these but, for this price it is a nice feature.
Also one more key thing is the USB 3.) which is a high speed usb that will help you download photos and videos very fast by USB.
the only hard thing is windows 8 which is on most new computers will take some time to get use to, it is very differant than the old windows OS.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5286 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
December 16, 2013
Sens
Santa Clara, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Toshiba messed up a good PC

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Display Screen, Lightweight, Quality, Performance
Cons: Difficult to Set Up
This PC is probably on sale because of the WiFi and Audio issues reported by many. Realtek website is junk and doesn't carry the driver for the adapter this PC has. My guess is that the pre-installed driver is wrong. It was frustrating for me as well and was planning to return it the next day. Specs was great for the price and hence wanted to spend little more time one. Connected via Ethernet, installed Windows 8.1 update, downloaded 8.1 drivers for Realtek WiFi from Toshiba support. This worked like a charm and my 30 MB internet get 28 MB download speed on speed test.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5286 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
December 7, 2013
Happy in Littleton
Littleton, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great Value for the money!

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Display Screen, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Love my new laptop. I did the free upgrade to Windows 8.1. Extremely easy to set up. The battery lasts about 5 hours. The
sound leaves a little to be desired, not that good. Still trying to
find a fix for that. All in all a very good value for the money!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5286 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
December 2, 2013
DM
Houston,TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

Good Value but a lot of adjustment for user

Pros: value, Battery Life, Lightweight, Performance
Cons: Difficult to Use, Display Screen, Quality, sound, keyboard, no bluetooth
We actually have two of these for our schoolers. For the value, this is a good buy for the RAM and Hard Drive memory and the processor. Battery life with 1/4 setting of the brightness, browsing, music playing is quite good. It is lightweight that the kids can carry it around and work while on the couch.
The overall make of the shell is I would call fragile. The sound/speakers is a big disappointment.
The display, I find it a little grainy, a combination of the highest resolution and power saving settings can make the display flicker so be careful. the web cam is pretty decent too. The keyboard is where a lot of adjustment is made - it feels too flat and the spaces between the keys are a bit awkward. The difficulty in the set-up might lie in our exposure to Windows 8 - we're used to XP, Vista, Windows 7.
Overall, it is an acceptable laptop.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5286 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
November 10, 2013
Paul
Bay Area, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

Great Buy, more bang for buck

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Easy to Set Up
Cons: dvd
Did quite a bit research online. Came across this Laptop from Office Depot. Great Price. 8 GB memory makes for quick navigation on the internet. Have i7 as desktop, and this is similar performance in terms of using internet.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5286 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
November 9, 2013
katting99
San Antonio, Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Toshiba Laptops

Pros: Battery Life, Display Screen, Lightweight
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Set Up, Quality, Performance, pure trash
This has to be the WORST laptop i have EVER bought. It is SLOW and STOPS and FREEZES constantly. I have NEVER been dissatisfied with a Laptop from Office Depot in my LIFETIME. Now i am considering where to get my NEXT Laptop!!!!! I doubt it will be Office Depot.
-5points
3out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5286 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
November 9, 2013
cat
Fayetteville, Ga
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

DO NO BUY

Pros: Easy to Use, Battery Life, Display Screen, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: value, Quality
I had to exchange this computer 3 times. The first time the CD drive did not work. The second time the wireless net work did not work. This was all in a 2 week period. With the 3rd one two months later my fan stopped working. It was a good running computer but it kept having problems, I think Toshiba rushed to make this computer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5286 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
November 5, 2013
geoffhazel2
Seattle, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

fix for sound is bluetooth speakers

Pros: value, Battery Life, Performance
Cons: internal speakers
I reviewed this earlier and said that poor sound quality marred a good laptop. One way you can fix this is to get headphones. Another way is to get a USB bluetooth dongle (the laptop doesn't have bluetooth) and a bluetooth speaker. Then you can watch movies or listen to music and have it sound pretty decent. The onboard speakers are remarkably bad, and I wish someone at Toshiba would explain why. I had a transistor radio in 1967 that sounded better. But the bluetooth speaker fix is fairly low cost, and aside from dragging another piece around, works pretty well.
Good battery life, and decent non-gaming use performance make this a good buy, as long as you wait until its on sale for three seventy or so.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5286 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i3 Processor
October 28, 2013
Tony
Puerto RIco
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Other

SOUND FIX!

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance, sound
I bought it today despite your reviews about the sound. An hour later i was totally angry about the awful sound... but i found the fix online!!!
you gotta search for something called "DTS Sound" and turn it off, [or uninstall it] I turned it off and the sound is perfect. TRY IT!
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>