Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP Envy 17-j020us Laptop Computer With 17.3 Screen & 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7 Processor With Turbo Boost Technology

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Office Depot.

HP Envy 17-j020us Laptop Computer With 17.3 Screen & 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7 Processor With Turbo Boost Technology

Item #:419537
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
15 of 15(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HP Envy 17-j020us Laptop Computer With 17.3 Screen & 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7 Processor With Turbo Boost Technology
Review 1 for HP Envy 17-j020us Laptop Computer With 17.3 Screen & 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7 Processor With Turbo Boost Technology
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great!

Christian
FL
March 1, 2014
Pros:
Doesn't get warm until you play games. Very quiet. Speakers can get pretty loud. Nice design. (Although it looks a lot like a giant MacBook Pro) Battery life lasts long as long as you don't run something too heavy. Probably one of the best notebook laptops for 2014. 1 TB of space is great! Audio is good.
Between:
Weight. Seems just about right. Gaming performance. You can play a lot of games without lag, but can't always max out on high-end games.
Cons:
Not a touchscreen. No back-lit keyboard. Laptops this size are coming out with 1920x1080 resolution and soon, even sharper. This is at 1600x900. It's preinstalled with some junk, so you'll have to clean up, then update, then update more, then update to Windows 8.1, then update more, which can end up taking a few hours. The touchpad feels strange, so I use a mouse instead. The charger plug is in a weird spot. It's right next to the disc insert/ejector.
Other Notes:
Feels weird when I use it in class/college because everyone else has an smaller laptop or a tablet. This is like a beast next to theirs. Also, update and get Windows 8.1 for free if you buy this.
Pros: Easy to Use, Battery Life, Display Screen, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Christian
FL
Primary Use:Home User
Review 2 for HP Envy 17-j020us Laptop Computer With 17.3 Screen & 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7 Processor With Turbo Boost Technology
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

nice computer

Jake
Punta Gorda, Florida
December 29, 2013
The laptop set up easily and is easy to use. I had to play around a bit with Windows 8.0. The keyboard feels positive and I've had no instances of cursor dislocation due to palms on pad. My recent laptop is a Vaio XP. The new HP is faster and brighter. Not sure about battery life as I haven't traveled with it yet.
Only disappointment is not receiving notice of how to recover my $50 mail in rebate. Rating goes to "5 Stars" as soon as I get my cash.
Pros: Easy to Use, Display Screen, Easy to Set Up
Jake
Punta Gorda, Florida
Primary Use:Home User
Review 3 for HP Envy 17-j020us Laptop Computer With 17.3 Screen & 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7 Processor With Turbo Boost Technology
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product

Nevadacoder
Las Vegas
December 29, 2013
Great computer, a little larger than I need and might have a little difficulty when traveling with the laptop. Anxious to see if I have room to work on the plane in those smaller-sized seats. Up overall, very happy with the speed, appearance and functionality.
Pros: Easy to Use, Battery Life
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Nevadacoder
Las Vegas
Primary Use:Business User
Review 4 for HP Envy 17-j020us Laptop Computer With 17.3 Screen & 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7 Processor With Turbo Boost Technology
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good value

Larry
Fargo, ND
December 21, 2013
Good value for a higher end laptop. Purchased 1 week ago, so haven't used it very much.
Pros: value, Display Screen, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: battery life
Larry
Fargo, ND
Primary Use:Home User
Review 5 for HP Envy 17-j020us Laptop Computer With 17.3 Screen & 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7 Processor With Turbo Boost Technology
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good ;laptop,

lees
Minneslota
December 15, 2013
Office Depot delivered as promised and the HP laptop is just what expected. Just learning Windows 8 so it has been fun.
Pros: value, Battery Life, Display Screen, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up
lees
Minneslota
Primary Use:Home User
Review 6 for HP Envy 17-j020us Laptop Computer With 17.3 Screen & 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7 Processor With Turbo Boost Technology
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it

Happy
NC
November 9, 2013
It's exactly as expected, easier than I thought it would be to set up.
Beautiful, fast machine.
Pros: value, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: battery life
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Happy
NC
Primary Use:Home User
Review 7 for HP Envy 17-j020us Laptop Computer With 17.3 Screen & 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7 Processor With Turbo Boost Technology
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great PC...

Irene
San Diego, CA
November 9, 2013
I'm really impressed with everything on the computer (speed, ease of use, etc.).
The only thing I don't like is Windows 8
Pros: value, Battery Life, Display Screen, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Irene
San Diego, CA
Primary Use:Business User
Review 8 for HP Envy 17-j020us Laptop Computer With 17.3 Screen & 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7 Processor With Turbo Boost Technology
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing laptop - exceeds expectations

Bill K.
Maryland
November 3, 2013
It's getting harder to find 17" laptops these days. I suddenly was in need of a replacement laptop due to a hardware failure. When I saw Office Depot offering this model on sale for under $800 I jumped on it. Best. Purchase. Ever. The screen is sharp and clear, the Beats Audio is amazing. I have yet to kill the battery. After *five hours* of use it was down to 16%. The build quality is excellent. With the i7 CPU it is very fast and the fan hardly ever runs fast unless I run a graphic-intensive application.
Pros: Easy to Use, Battery Life, Display Screen, Lightweight, Performance
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Bill K.
Maryland
Primary Use:Home User
Review 9 for HP Envy 17-j020us Laptop Computer With 17.3 Screen & 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7 Processor With Turbo Boost Technology
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Nice Unit

Drifter
Iowa
November 2, 2013
Nice unit. I wish they'd have just given the savings instead of plaguing us yet again with a mail in rebate. NOBODY likes those.
I like the large screen. There's not much selection in laptops these days for that size. Most are 15'" now and smaller for portability. If you like a quality large screen, this is the one for you. The right click on the touchpad is dicey. I liked it better when there were actual buttons. Still learning to control Windows 8. The HP interface helps bridge that so it's more like the older OS. I haven't tried any games on it yet. So far, so good.
Pros: Easy to Use, Display Screen, Easy to Set Up
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
Drifter
Iowa
Primary Use:Home User
Review 10 for HP Envy 17-j020us Laptop Computer With 17.3 Screen & 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7 Processor With Turbo Boost Technology
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Large and Fast

Rome
Coconut Creek FL
October 19, 2013
This laptop is very fast and the screen is large. I can see everything without scrolling
Pros: value, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Lightweight, Easy to Set Up, Performance
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Rome
Coconut Creek FL
Primary Use:Home User
Review 11 for HP Envy 17-j020us Laptop Computer With 17.3 Screen & 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7 Processor With Turbo Boost Technology
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great computer!

Backtoschool
Kentucky
October 5, 2013
I love the large screen, speed, and portability. Runs quiet and not too hot. Not too heavy, either. Battery lasts as long as I need it to.
Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Display Screen, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Backtoschool
Kentucky
Primary Use:School User
Review 12 for HP Envy 17-j020us Laptop Computer With 17.3 Screen & 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7 Processor With Turbo Boost Technology
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

very nice

bigsky
va.
October 4, 2013
Computer is fast, lots of storage and easy to use. Opted for large screen, getting older and it was a good decision. Hope I get a couple of good years out of it.
Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Display Screen, Easy to Set Up, Performance
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
bigsky
va.
Primary Use:Home User
Review 13 for HP Envy 17-j020us Laptop Computer With 17.3 Screen & 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7 Processor With Turbo Boost Technology
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Out of Box - Power Button Didn't Work

Experienced User
northeast TN
September 12, 2013
Title sez it all. Spent about an hour w/ HP Tech Support (reference #3783594) w conclusion power button broken or shorted. Returned to OD for refund.
Sad that companies like HP don't have any better quality control than the no-name computer makers!
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality
1 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Experienced User
northeast TN
Primary Use:Home User
Review 14 for HP Envy 17-j020us Laptop Computer With 17.3 Screen & 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7 Processor With Turbo Boost Technology
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent laptop!

randomchick
Raining in Washington
September 7, 2013
This has surpassed all of my expectations. It is super fast, sleek looking, and sound is amazing for laptop.
I was told this was a touch screen, so was a little confused and frustrated when I got it home and tried using the screen to set it up. Quickly learned it was not a touch screen and was going to return it the next day. However, I fell in love! I kept it and am so happy I did.
The battery life is not so great.
Pros: value, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: battery life
randomchick
Raining in Washington
Primary Use:Business User
Review 15 for HP Envy 17-j020us Laptop Computer With 17.3 Screen & 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7 Processor With Turbo Boost Technology
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Budget Laptop

semid4lyfe
Lagos
September 1, 2013
For a 17", it's pretty light weight. I mean, it doesn't weigh half as much as my previous laptop, the Hp Pavilion dv5. The clinchers for me is the large 17.3" screen, the Beats Audio Quad speakers and subwoofer which gives me good audio and visuals for watching HD 1080p movies.
Also, the 4th Gen Intel Core i7 processor makes it's very fast and the 1TB Hard disk is more than enough storage space.
The minuses for me was the the lack of a full island style keyboard which makes the keyboard look clustered. Also, would have preferred if it had separate right and left click touch pads but I use a wireless mouse so this doesn't matter to me. It should also have come with a longer power adapter and the the battery life and general aesthetics could have been better.
Still, it's a budget laptop and at the price it's been sold, it's a steal.
Pros: value, Display Screen, Lightweight, Performance, low power consumption at 90w, does not heat up
Cons: battery life, short power adapter cable
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
semid4lyfe
Lagos
Primary Use:Home User
Review 16 for HP Envy 17-j020us Laptop Computer With 17.3 Screen & 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7 Processor With Turbo Boost Technology
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Laptop

Business Man
Chicago
July 5, 2013
This laptop is a great value. The fast processor, hard drive capacity and ram make this a wothwhile consideration in your laptop selection. Always did like HP but mainly for thier printers. My old laptop could not hold a candle to this one. Only thing I would have done different is put a lrager cell battery with the unit for the money spent, but no big deal. Windows 8 is not too bad, don't let the public scare you off of this OS. If using in an office enviroment get a wireless mouse.
Pros: Good Value, Easy to Use, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: battery life
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
32 of 32 people found this review helpful.
Business Man
Chicago
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65
Ratings-Only Reviews for HP Envy 17-j020us Laptop Computer With 17.3 Screen & 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7 Processor With Turbo Boost Technology
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2