Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Realspace® Premium Wood File, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry

Realspace® Premium Wood File, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry

Item #:444500
Average Customer Rating:
4.17 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(27)
4 stars
(15)
3 stars
(6)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(2)
44 of 52(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Realspace® Premium Wood File, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
Review 1 for Realspace® Premium Wood File, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
December 1, 2014
Cassandra
Mountville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Really Great Quality for Price

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: drawer locking, not enough glue
My husband and I put this together in about an hour and were very happy with the purchase. It is solid wood and really nice quality - it looks beautiful! It is sturdy too. Even the back paneling that is particle board is better quality - put on with screws instead of nails. I'm glad I read the reviews, because it's really a great product for great price. We did not want to have to get a metal filing cabinet, and I'm glad so far that we didn't.
I don't think the color was that far off the picture, certainly not 10 shades lighter. I would still classify it as (medium) dark cherry, but not deep dark cherry. For the money, definitely get a solid wood piece like this one and do a quick stain if you're super picky about the color.
We wanted an exact match so put on 1 coat of Miniwax Polyshades (the stain and polyurethane combined) using the color Bombay Mahogany. That made it exactly the glossy, deep dark cherry we wanted with very little effort (about 1.5 hours to super lightly sand with just some sandpaper and then put 1 coat on all of the assembled pieces. I did it during the kids' naptime). You could easily stain it with several coats and get an even deeper cherry.
I tried to upload a picture, but it errored out several times.
All our pieces matched the appropriate sizes, with extras too, and they shipped them my favorite way: all sorted out in little packets for Step 1, Step 2, etc. We were also pleased that the most annoying part of drawer installation (the silver sliding bars) were already fully assembled on all components. We were just putting the wood together, which was great.
Cons: I also think it would've been nice if all the drawers locked so young grabby hands couldn't get in, but it's hidden in our office, so I'm not that worried about it.
I also think you needed more glue. But the wood pegs are just stabilizers that are secured by screws, so by the time I ran out of glue, I wasn't that worried about losing any structural integrity.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Realspace® Premium Wood File, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
November 24, 2014
fernando112414
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Good product

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: Size & Weight
I purchased this product for my home office. It is well made and sturdy, I thought it would come assembled (don't know why) but assembly was easy and instructions were clear to follow. Wish it would have a little bit more room in the drawers but good product overall.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Realspace® Premium Wood File, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
November 17, 2014
Ken48
Goose Creek, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Really nice looking very pleased

Very pleased with the finished product but pretty tricky trying to assemble with only one person. A suggestion would be is to assemble the base while assembling the sides instead of after side assembly as shown in the instructions. As with most assembly type furniture particle board is used throughout however all outside surfaces are wood veneers and is very good looking when finished and pretty sturdy, as a matter of fact I may buy another.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Realspace® Premium Wood File, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
November 9, 2014
Lisa
Massachusetts
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Exactly What I Wanted

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design, Comfortable
I wanted a file cabinet to replace my 2-drawer metal cabinet. Most wooden cabinets I've seen were way out of my price range. This fit the bill perfectly. Arrived in just a few days. It took my husband and I about 2 hours to put it together, with no major problems doing it. I know he ended up using some power tools to speed up the process a little, but other than that it wasn't too bad. There is a bit of a wooden musty smell to it, but I think that's dissipating now that it's been out of the box for awhile. I've transferred all my files over and have the extra room I needed. My only minor complaint is that only the top drawer locks - wish they all did. It's not the highest quality wood and the color is lighter than dark cherry as some other reviewers stated, but overall it looks nice and does that job that I needed it to do.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Realspace® Premium Wood File, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
November 3, 2014
Barbara
Boonville, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

EXCELLENT FURNITUE!

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight
The cabinet arrived on time - THANKS TO PITTOHIO - and the quality of the wood is better than expected! ALL of the parts were included with simple picture instructions! My husband had it all together in just over an hour! It can slide easily on a floor without scratching the floor, too, as it weighs approx.100 lbs. The drawers pull out fully in order to see what's in the back of the drawer, and there is a set of keys to lock your valuable information/items. Could NOT be happier - especially for the price! THANK YOU Office Depot and PITTOHIO!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Realspace® Premium Wood File, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
October 6, 2014
LisaZ
fresh meadows NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Gorgeous Well Made piece

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight
After researching wooden file cabinets this seemed better than most..but it's actually PHENOMENAL! I don't usually buy furniture that needs to be assembled b/c it's usually poor quality but this is FANTASTIC. . It's solid, sturdy, lots of real wood, easily assembled with incredibly simple yet detailed instructions! It looks like the furniture I've purchased over the years from Thomasville n Huffman Koos! GREAT QUALITY FOR THE PRICE..delivered in less than 48 hours...IM BEYOND THRILLED!!!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Realspace® Premium Wood File, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
September 29, 2014
Doc
La Grange ,Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great Quality

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight
I really love this file cabinet. The people who figured out how to make the ordeal of putting this together, sure made it simple.Each bag of hardware match's with each step you take.I did have one problem, the holes in the top piece had holes too small. The round medal screw lock's are too big. It's still ok,doesn't cause any problem.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Realspace® Premium Wood File, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
September 16, 2014
TimWhoHatesPaperwork
Sacramento, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Eh

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design
Cons: Quality: Flimsy
After looking for quite some time, I settled on this product. It is more on the cheap side of particle board than real wood, but there is enough real wood to make this a very attractive piece of furniture. Besides, My filing system was a mess and I really had to do something quickly. It was easy to put together. Lots of pieces, but pretty self-explanatory with the diagrams provided. Hope it holds together. I probably can't move it very often before it falls apart, but it does look nice. The "dark" cherry is rather light.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Realspace® Premium Wood File, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
September 8, 2014
Annie
Charleston, SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Good purchase

Pros: Functional, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: Appearance
Assembly was easy enough. Was missing the key and lock cylinder. Not true to color.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Realspace® Premium Wood File, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
September 8, 2014
Eastcoastertex
Houston TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Not the highest quality

Pros: Appearance/Design
Cons: Packaging, Quality: Flimsy, Unaligned, cheap drawer slides
I received the file cabinet in record time upon opening the box I was greeted with a dozen little silver balls which I new immediately were the ball bearings for the drawer slides. I was able to gather them up and reassemble the slide for okay operation. Anyone else would have sent it back. For the price I paid I would have figured it was better quality. Instructions were very easy to follow, not enough glue though, I strongly recommend the glue, get some gorilla glue.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Realspace® Premium Wood File, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
September 2, 2014
emjaybee
Silver Spring, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great Product

Pros: Quality of Material, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy
This item arrived sooner than anticipated and in excellent shape. This item is over 107 lbs so either I didn't read properly or the weight wasn't listed but its a monster. It was super easy to put together except you may need two people because of the weight. All the pieces were inlcuded for assembly with spares. Nothing was broken or damaged. The product color is not as portrayed online. It seems a bit lightter than portrayed and more orange, however it worked to my favor. I love the color and quality of the wood. The drawers open and close smoothly and the look works well, too. Overall, its a great product. Looks like a substancial piece of furniture.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Realspace® Premium Wood File, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
August 2, 2014
SaraC
Katy, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Beautiful!

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
A beautiful addition to our home office. The only issue was that it was very time consuming to put together, but after we finished it is very functional. The drawers slide smoothly and there is plenty of room.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Realspace® Premium Wood File, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
July 25, 2014
skinnydds
Honolulu
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Decent value

Pros: Appearance/Design
Cons: Easily Damaged
Overall initial result is good. It looks good and is functional. Assembly took two hours not including unpacking and cleaning up all the trash. I agree the color is not dark cherry, but rather light cherry. Purchased in store so, the color is what I wanted.
During assemble: The holes in the drawers for the handles are about a eighth of an inch too close, so getting the screws started is difficult. I ran out of glue on the second to last drawer. Take care not to over tighten and strip the fasteners. The factory installed screws holding the rails to the side of two of the drawers were installed at an angle and caused the drawer operation to be rough, I re installed them in new holes.
Keep in mind this is made of particle board. Whether the panels under stress will bend and sag over time will not be seen for a while. Suggest you make sure it is level and doesn't rock on uneven floor, and don't move it while loaded. If it is put in the back of a truck and it hits a bump the fasteners will quickly break out of the particle board.
Overall a good choice for a non abusive environment, where the cost of real wood and dowel construction is not justified and metal won't fit the decor.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Realspace® Premium Wood File, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
June 14, 2014
amama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Very Nice File Cabinet

Pros: Quality of Material, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy
We are very pleased with the quality of this file cabinet. After researching many 4 drawer, wooden file cabinets, we chose this one based on the reviews. It seemed this file didn't have a problem with drawers aligning properly like other files. And others didn't complain of difficulty with putting it together. We found all of this to be accurate. It was very easy to put together. I was able to build it with the help of two of my children who really wanted to help. Everything was aligned properly. We didn't have any problems with holes not being drilled in the correct places. The file is pretty solid and stable. The color is really more of a light cherry instead of dark. It is a beautiful piece of furniture for our library.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Realspace® Premium Wood File, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
June 7, 2014
Mr. Joe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Good finish...but

Pros: Appearance/Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
A little difficulty putting together since 2 holes not properly predrilled. Took about 3 frustrating hours to complete. In the end looks nice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Realspace® Premium Wood File, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
April 7, 2014
chefmom7
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

decent

Pros: Appearance/Design
This is a decent file cabinet. It ended up looking pretty nice in the room we put it in. The door locks are not too terribly strong, so I wouldn't put extremely valuable items in this.
It took my husband several hours to assemble and he reinforced the drawers with glue. He said the parts were all there.
My only complaint is that the rail to hang the file folders doesn't stay in place.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Realspace® Premium Wood File, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
March 23, 2014
Chad
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Significant Misrepresentation of Wood Color

Pros: Functional, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: Appearance
This is a quality product, however the online picture is a significant misrepresentation of the actual wood color of the file cabinet. The file cabinet is a lot lighter colored wood than it appears on the picture. If you are expecting a dark cherry color, than this file cabinet is not for you. Otherwise it is a good product. Would recommend however just expect a lot lighter wood than shown.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Realspace® Premium Wood File, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
March 3, 2014
Lolita
KCMO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

It REALLY WAS easy to assemble!!

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy, hardware packets matched to each step of assembly.
If a bottle of wine and some well-designed instructions allowed this inexperienced person to put it together, You can,too! It looks nice, and is sturdy.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Realspace® Premium Wood File, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
February 25, 2014
Dalton
Albuquerque
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

High quality cabinet

Pros: Quality of Material, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy
We checked the competition and found this to be the best wood file cabinet available for the price.
Delivery was speedy, assembly was not daunting, and the finished product turned out great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Realspace® Premium Wood File, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
February 13, 2014
ashleyc
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!!!!

Pros: Appearance/Design, Size & Weight, Quality of Material, Functional, Well Made/ Sturdy
By far the best quality cabinet I have ever used. I love the appearance. I work from home now and the living room is currently doubling as my office space. But instead of bulky, metal file cabinets taking up space, this beautiful piece sits in the corner and blends in perfectly with the décor. I put it together by myself and it took my about two hours. Not difficult at all. The cabinet is very sturdy and again, just beautiful. I have overfilled it and am waiting for it to go on sale so I can buy another one!!!! Although the regular price for this is still great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>