Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Realspace® Premium Wood File Cabinet, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry

Realspace® Premium Wood File Cabinet, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry

Item #:444500
Average Customer Rating:
4.172 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(31)
4 stars
(20)
3 stars
(8)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(2)
51 of 59(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Realspace® Premium Wood File Cabinet, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
Review 1 for Realspace® Premium Wood File Cabinet, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
June 2, 2015
Mississippi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Good purchase

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy
Delighted to have delivery the next day after online purchase. Easier to put together that I thought it would be. I only needed a Phillips screwdriver and scissors to cut open the step by step parts bags. I was impressed that spare parts were also included but not needed.
I would like to see file folders to fit being offered as an option.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Realspace® Premium Wood File Cabinet, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
May 25, 2015
Orange County, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Quality product

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Appearance/Design, Size & Weight, Well Made/ Sturdy
This filing cabinet is a good value. Appearance is quite good, a great step above typical metal cabinets, for a minor increase in price. This is possible, of course, due to the assembly required of the purchaser. It took about 2 hours to complete, without assistance. The packaging was very effective at protecting the components, and the instructions were well written and organized. Pay attention to the hardware packages, as they are organized according to the assembly procedure, a thoughtful step.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Realspace® Premium Wood File Cabinet, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
May 18, 2015
Fort Washington, Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Realspace Premium Wood File Cabinet 4 drawers

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design, Size & Weight, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: took a lot of time to assemble
File cabinet went very well with current decor of home office. Ordered online and it took a lot longer than expected to get delivered. Though it took a while to assemble the instructions were easy to follow. Parts were labeled very well which was a big help. Overall very satisfied with product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Realspace® Premium Wood File Cabinet, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
April 23, 2015
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

So So

For $200, it's not an expensive file cabinet, but it's not cheap either. The assembly was easy enough with pretty good illustrations to guide you. However, the fit of the finished product is unimpressive. Gaps on either side of the drawers and the drawers are misaligned to each other; so one is centered, the next is to the right, and the next is to the left. If you buy this, it comes with a small tube of wood glue, but I would recommend having your own on hand. When this cabinet has served its purpose, I'll spend an extra $100 - $200 to have a cabinet that is aesthetically better to look at.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Realspace® Premium Wood File Cabinet, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
April 9, 2015
Abingdon, Md
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Very Nice Cabinet

Pros: Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Size & Weight, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
Takes a good while to assemble so patience is requirerd. The small amount of glue sent is insufficient to do the job, so I recommend have a tube of liquid nails on hand which are used to secure the alignment/support plastic dowels. Instructions are limited to pictures and identification of parts. Be careful when installing the short locking bolts, perhaps a 1/4 turn versus 1/2, as I tightened one which penetrated the interior side of drawer.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Realspace® Premium Wood File Cabinet, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
February 16, 2015
Chesapeake, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

A great product for a good price . . .

We've been very happy with this product . . . in fact, we've ordered a total of four of them! They're easy to assemble, attractive to look at, and sufficiently sturdy for our basic household needs. You should be happy with them as well!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Realspace® Premium Wood File Cabinet, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
February 10, 2015
Indianapolis, In
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great purchase!!!

This turned out to be much better than expected. It was very easy to put together and is beautiful. Very happy with this purchase!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Realspace® Premium Wood File Cabinet, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
February 7, 2015
St. Paul, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Nice produt and good assembly instruction

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Appearance/Design
Cons: need more glue than what is included
I have been looking for a wood filing cabinet for my home office for a while. I came to realization that they all require assembly and my dislike of this task delayed my purchasing decision. I looked around and kept coming back to this item as my preferred choice.
I read the very informative review that Cassandra from Mountville, PA had left, insuring that it can be done!
This review also indicated that you need lot more glue than what it is included in the box and that was extremely useful as you REALLY need more glue. So box arrived and I unloaded it right in the front entry because it was too heavy to carry to the 3rd floor. Then I grouped the parts into a matching bundle and reviewed the parts list and the installation doc. I must say whoever designed the packaging of the parts has done a great job as they were very well labeled.
Well this assembly was supposed to be a team effort (my husband and I) but he got very sick that weekend and I was anxious to get going so I started on my own. He dragged himself out of bed for a quick look and gave me a hand to get started.
Assembly was moving along pretty well. I attached the bottom and started on the top section and when I went to add the Cam Lock the hole was not big enough. After some troubleshooting I realized that I had assembled the main sides upside down. I looked at the instruction and I could not find any identifier on the instruction page that would indicate which side was top or bottom. The tracks are positioned equally so that was not an indicator until I noticed that holes on the bottom are much smaller than the top. That should have been my clue by they are hard to notice on the page.
Well by this time I had glued everything (remember I used more glue) so there was no point trying to start over specially since two of the drawers were fitting and working just fine.
Therefore remember that the smaller holes on parts A & B (page 9) are intended for the bottom.
Then it was time to assemble the last drawer and that is when I noticed that the back panel (M) was broken and not usable. So I waited until Monday to call the customer support line. I gave the part information and I was told that unfortunately that part is not available for 4 – 6 weeks. I chose to wait for the part. A week later I was told that the part is no longer available and they offered a different solution. In summary their customer service was great.
So overall assembly is not hard and the finished product looks very nice. I wish drawers were a bit deeper but overall it is a nice product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Realspace® Premium Wood File Cabinet, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
February 2, 2015
Leeds, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

File cabinet

I actually have not put any file material in it yet. It looks nice and has the tools to function well as far as I can see. However, it is not the color shown. I would have sent it back for this reason, but my husband was already putting it together and did not want to put it all back and return.
You had to go far into the box to see the color.
Thanks,
Anita Drake
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Realspace® Premium Wood File Cabinet, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
February 1, 2015
Arkansas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Good Quality But Wrong Color

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: wrong color
Good quality product, and relatively easy to assemble. But the color is completely off. It is not a dark cherry. It is light to medium cherry with an orange tone.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Realspace® Premium Wood File Cabinet, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
January 10, 2015
San Anselmo, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great Quality, but missing parts!

Pros: Quality of Material, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: Packaging
I put the entire thing together then realized that the drawer runners didn't come pre-installed on one of the sides of the cabinet. Now I have to wait to contact the office (during business hours) and hopefully get the correct parts sent to me. Ugh. More waiting.
That said, the quality of this cabinet is better than I expected and the instructions were easy to understand and put together. I love how they individualized the parts required for each "Step". Made it easy to put together.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Realspace® Premium Wood File Cabinet, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
December 1, 2014
Mountville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Really Great Quality for Price

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: drawer locking, not enough glue
My husband and I put this together in about an hour and were very happy with the purchase. It is solid wood and really nice quality - it looks beautiful! It is sturdy too. Even the back paneling that is particle board is better quality - put on with screws instead of nails. I'm glad I read the reviews, because it's really a great product for great price. We did not want to have to get a metal filing cabinet, and I'm glad so far that we didn't.
I don't think the color was that far off the picture, certainly not 10 shades lighter. I would still classify it as (medium) dark cherry, but not deep dark cherry. For the money, definitely get a solid wood piece like this one and do a quick stain if you're super picky about the color.
We wanted an exact match so put on 1 coat of Miniwax Polyshades (the stain and polyurethane combined) using the color Bombay Mahogany. That made it exactly the glossy, deep dark cherry we wanted with very little effort (about 1.5 hours to super lightly sand with just some sandpaper and then put 1 coat on all of the assembled pieces. I did it during the kids' naptime). You could easily stain it with several coats and get an even deeper cherry.
I tried to upload a picture, but it errored out several times.
All our pieces matched the appropriate sizes, with extras too, and they shipped them my favorite way: all sorted out in little packets for Step 1, Step 2, etc. We were also pleased that the most annoying part of drawer installation (the silver sliding bars) were already fully assembled on all components. We were just putting the wood together, which was great.
Cons: I also think it would've been nice if all the drawers locked so young grabby hands couldn't get in, but it's hidden in our office, so I'm not that worried about it.
I also think you needed more glue. But the wood pegs are just stabilizers that are secured by screws, so by the time I ran out of glue, I wasn't that worried about losing any structural integrity.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Realspace® Premium Wood File Cabinet, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
November 24, 2014
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Good product

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: Size & Weight
I purchased this product for my home office. It is well made and sturdy, I thought it would come assembled (don't know why) but assembly was easy and instructions were clear to follow. Wish it would have a little bit more room in the drawers but good product overall.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Realspace® Premium Wood File Cabinet, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
November 17, 2014
Goose Creek, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Really nice looking very pleased

Very pleased with the finished product but pretty tricky trying to assemble with only one person. A suggestion would be is to assemble the base while assembling the sides instead of after side assembly as shown in the instructions. As with most assembly type furniture particle board is used throughout however all outside surfaces are wood veneers and is very good looking when finished and pretty sturdy, as a matter of fact I may buy another.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Realspace® Premium Wood File Cabinet, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
November 9, 2014
Massachusetts
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Exactly What I Wanted

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design, Comfortable
I wanted a file cabinet to replace my 2-drawer metal cabinet. Most wooden cabinets I've seen were way out of my price range. This fit the bill perfectly. Arrived in just a few days. It took my husband and I about 2 hours to put it together, with no major problems doing it. I know he ended up using some power tools to speed up the process a little, but other than that it wasn't too bad. There is a bit of a wooden musty smell to it, but I think that's dissipating now that it's been out of the box for awhile. I've transferred all my files over and have the extra room I needed. My only minor complaint is that only the top drawer locks - wish they all did. It's not the highest quality wood and the color is lighter than dark cherry as some other reviewers stated, but overall it looks nice and does that job that I needed it to do.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Realspace® Premium Wood File Cabinet, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
November 3, 2014
Boonville, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

EXCELLENT FURNITUE!

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight
The cabinet arrived on time - THANKS TO PITTOHIO - and the quality of the wood is better than expected! ALL of the parts were included with simple picture instructions! My husband had it all together in just over an hour! It can slide easily on a floor without scratching the floor, too, as it weighs approx.100 lbs. The drawers pull out fully in order to see what's in the back of the drawer, and there is a set of keys to lock your valuable information/items. Could NOT be happier - especially for the price! THANK YOU Office Depot and PITTOHIO!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Realspace® Premium Wood File Cabinet, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
October 6, 2014
fresh meadows NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Gorgeous Well Made piece

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight
After researching wooden file cabinets this seemed better than most..but it's actually PHENOMENAL! I don't usually buy furniture that needs to be assembled b/c it's usually poor quality but this is FANTASTIC. . It's solid, sturdy, lots of real wood, easily assembled with incredibly simple yet detailed instructions! It looks like the furniture I've purchased over the years from Thomasville n Huffman Koos! GREAT QUALITY FOR THE PRICE..delivered in less than 48 hours...IM BEYOND THRILLED!!!!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Realspace® Premium Wood File Cabinet, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
September 29, 2014
La Grange ,Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great Quality

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight
I really love this file cabinet. The people who figured out how to make the ordeal of putting this together, sure made it simple.Each bag of hardware match's with each step you take.I did have one problem, the holes in the top piece had holes too small. The round medal screw lock's are too big. It's still ok,doesn't cause any problem.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Realspace® Premium Wood File Cabinet, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
September 16, 2014
Sacramento, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Eh

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design
Cons: Quality: Flimsy
After looking for quite some time, I settled on this product. It is more on the cheap side of particle board than real wood, but there is enough real wood to make this a very attractive piece of furniture. Besides, My filing system was a mess and I really had to do something quickly. It was easy to put together. Lots of pieces, but pretty self-explanatory with the diagrams provided. Hope it holds together. I probably can't move it very often before it falls apart, but it does look nice. The "dark" cherry is rather light.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Realspace® Premium Wood File Cabinet, 4 Drawers, 55 2/5H x 21W x 18 9/10D, Dark Cherry
September 8, 2014
Charleston, SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Good purchase

Pros: Functional, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: Appearance
Assembly was easy enough. Was missing the key and lock cylinder. Not true to color.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>