Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black

Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black

Item #:510830
Average Customer Rating:
4.337 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(285 Reviews) 285
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(190)
4 stars
(50)
3 stars
(15)
2 stars
(11)
1 star
(19)
227 of 264(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
78 Questions | 114 Answers
Customer Reviews for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
Review 1 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
November 28, 2014
tochi
Orlando
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Expensive but worth it

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Size & Weight, Well Made/ Sturdy, adjustable length thigh support, seat height range
Priciest task chair I have ever purchased but it was on an expense account, and the benefit is well worth it. Techy looking and was not sure the mesh would hold up (ie stretch, tear), but it has impressed me after only 3 months. It is used 24/7 by myself and then various security guards of various sizes. Best feature of this chair is the length adjustable thigh support to suit various size people. Unbelievable - no staff complaints. Also like the breathable mesh, smooth rolling wheels, sturdiness and the slightly higher seat height range. I don't have a con yet for the desk application it is used, so i plan to replace my home office chair too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
November 27, 2014
SinkingFeelingInCO
Boulder CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

No replacement Parts

I called OD and asked how I could get a replacement hydraulic cylinder for my chair - it slowly sinks every time I sit in it.
They said they don't carry them.
I will look elsewhere for a replacement chair. I object to giving OD my business if they don't support what they sell.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
November 24, 2014
Sonnyboy
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Great Chair

Pros: Appearance/Design, Comfortable
Great Chair for the price! Supports my back for long term sitting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
November 22, 2014
amw
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Fantastic Chair

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Size & Weight, Well Made/ Sturdy
This chair is the best! I have been searching for a long time and have tried many. This one has so many options. What is comfortable and works one day for me may not work the next and this chair has the flexibility to change with my pain.
I have one for my work office and my home office.
It is expensive but it is worth every penny.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
November 19, 2014
Chris
San Diego, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Mesh Support. Not Enough.

Pros: Appearance/Design
Cons: uncomfortable, support
Working off reviews and in store recommendations from manager(s) and support staff, our company purchased ten Realspace Pro 9000. The chairs are good quality and appear to be a great product.
Our employees are experiencing circulation issues with five of the ten chairs. The mesh bottom does not provide enough support for extended seating times (though rated for intensive 8 hours), while the pad in the front of the chair restricts circulation. An ergonomic assessment was completed, establishing the chairs are properly fit for the employees, but the support is not there.
Our company has moved away the mesh for a more supportive dense foam bottom with mesh back.
Thank you.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
November 17, 2014
AllSmiles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

A True Five Stars

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight, very adjustable
We have two of these marvelous chairs in our home office and now I have an early Christmas present - one for my craft room! If you spend a lot of time seated, you'll love the comfort and adjustability of this chair. The mesh allows your body to breathe, especially helpful if you live in a hot, humid environment. So nice to own a product I can highly recommend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
November 16, 2014
Brent10
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Wow. My spine is happy.

Pros: value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design, Comfortable
This is a solid comfortable and highly adjustable chair that promotes good posture.
I tend to slouch in inferior chairs in order to get comfortable. I don't have to slouch in this one.
I was worried that the mesh would be less comfortable than fabric. It is not less comfortable. I like it.
Assembly didn't take long at all and was straightforward.
The only improvement I could wish for would be inifinite adjustment in the angle of the back. Currently, there are only three angles to choose from. Fortunately, the steepest angle is just about perfect 90% of the time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
November 10, 2014
BEBa
Menomonee Falls, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Love it.

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: very close to floor in center
This the second chair I've now purchased as I like it so much. Comfortable, good adjustment options, sturdy and seems to hold up well with use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
November 8, 2014
Bearcat
Barksdale AFB, LA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Ok at best

Pros: Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable
Cons: Easily Damaged, Wobbles
You definitely get what you pay for with office chairs. For the price the PRO Quantum 9000 isn't bad, however it could be improved.
Pros:
-Wheels glide extremely well.
-Vast amount of adjustments to dial in to your exact comfort.
-Mesh backing/seat is extremely comfortable and conforms to your shape well.
Cons:
-Poor construction quality-- It's fairly common for the assembly which holds the back to the chair to the seat to fail (either stripped screws or broken mounts). This occurs whenever too much pressure is applied unevenly to the back-rest due to leaning in your chair or leaning back with your resistance set too high. Once this goes your back-rest will flop around and constantly make loud noises.
-No lumbar support-- I would have loved to see a lumbar support bar to help prevent lower back fatigue when sitting in the chair for long periods of time.
Overall there are better chairs out there and its probably better off grabbing a more expensive chair (i.e. Herman Miller, Allsteel, Steelcase, or Knoll) which will last for many years more and give the extra support for your back.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
November 3, 2014
Elisha
Reed Point, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Best chair

Pros: Quality of Material, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy
Best chair for long hours!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
November 3, 2014
ASitter
Seattle, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Time for an upgrade on that chair!

Pros: Quality of Material, Features, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy
Easy to assemble, great support, mesh fabric is very comfortable, easy to adjust.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
November 3, 2014
WatchfulEye
Seattle, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Most comfortable chair ever owned

Pros: Functional, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy
This is my go-to desk chair for several years now, and I have bought them for all of my family members. It is truly the most comfortable chair I have ever owned, and I put in a lot of desk hours each day in my line of work.
For starters, the chair goes up one notch higher than almost all cheaper price point chairs I've tried. My desk is slightly higher than normal, and sitting in any other chair than this one seems to inflame a past carpal tunnel injury, so having that one extra setting upward is key. No ugly wrist brace required!
Plus, the mesh back support and mesh seat are super supportive. The chair has a lever that allows more or less support at the lower back, which makes it great for people of all sizes (or, as I understand it, up to 250 pounds, according to the manual).
Also, assembly is not that difficult to once you find the sweet spot with the wheels/casters that need to be pushed onto the star-shaped base. (Hint: Maintain constant pressure, but turn the caster around until you find where it goes in.) The rest is just about tightening screws.
I have read other reviews that talk about the mesh losing its springy support after a year or two. Truthfully, I haven't had the chair that long, but even if so, I'd gladly replace it. Sure, the price is a little higher than other chairs, but the comfort level for a desk jockey like me is unparalleled.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
October 27, 2014
jvk
Cincinnati OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

GREAT CHAIR

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight, Easy to Assemble
I've gone through a few chairs pretty quickly the past few years due to the cushions not maintaining their softness / feeling contact with the structure under the seat. I was looking for a chair that would eliminate this problem and this chair is it. I've had it for about a week now and it is super comfortable. The mesh sling type seat doesn't allow any contact with the nuts and bolts of the chair, so I don't anticipate any issues with that previous issue. The chair was super easy and fast to put together - the quickest and easiest I've ever done. Just click a few parts together, screw in the arms and back and you're ready to go.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
October 27, 2014
omegamike
Atlanta, Ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Great chair for the price

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight
This chair gave immediate back pain relief allowing me to work longer without breaks and without paying the price of stiffness later. I agree with other reviews that it'd be nice if you could lock the arms from moving horizontally. However, I removed the rear arm cushion (4 phillips screws) and tightened the bolt (4mm allen head) for the pivot point. it's now takes much more effort to move the arms horizontally. They no longer move unintentionally making the chair near perfect for me. I'm 6'3" / 185lbs an don't mind the height either though I do have it maxed. As long as I don't get much taller, I'll enjoy this chair for a long time. Also, I found a $40 coupon online, then picked it up in store the same day.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
October 22, 2014
Dystopian
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

SHOULD HAVE BOUGHT YEARS AGO

Pros: Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design, Comfortable
This is the first review I have felt compelled to write. Working from home, I am in an office chair more than my own bed. We all know that you should never buy a cheap mattress, so why should an office chair be any different?
This chair had the 5 things I was looking for:
1 - Adjustable and comfortable arm rests. You'd be surprised how few chairs have decent adjustable arm rests. I must have tried out a couple hundred. Having wrist and shoulder problems, this was #1 on my must have list. This alone eliminated 90% of chairs out there. Once I felt the comfortable gel pads, I was sold.
2 - Ergonomic back support. This chair forces you to sit upright, which is what my lazy hulk needed. I sat in this, then my old chair to compare, and I was probably slouched 4 inches lower in the old chair. I had to raise my monitors! Suddenly the world looks cleaner and sharper and I don't have to irk my neck forward to see the screen.
3 - No Cheap plastic look and feel. This has metal arm supports and nice wheels that look higher end than cheaper similar chairs. It looks stylish and expensive. I wish the base was also metal, but that would make this already heavy chair 20 lbs heavier. I told my wife we are getting a divorce if she lets her 5 year old nephew play on this chair.
4 - Mesh. I have no idea why I thought it would be a good idea to sweat in an unbreathable chair all day. Mesh is also stronger than I would have thought and conforms to your lumps. I like it more than I would have thought.
5 - Modern and cool. Let's be real here. Who decided leather was the best office chair material? Your old pleather chair is not fooling anyone. We all know only $1000 chairs are "real" leather, so stop acting like you wear a 3 piece suit with spats, own a humidor, sip single malts and have mahagony book shelves filled with leader bound books. You wear socks with holes in them and have Cheetos' stains on your fingers. Get with the times and get a chair that is good for your posture, adjusts to your specifics, and looks cool.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
October 21, 2014
SLee
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

Love this chair!!

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Size & Weight, Well Made/ Sturdy, Easy to Assemble
I'm a grad student who spends up to 12 hours a day studying so I was in need of a comfortable chair. This chair was on sale for $269.99 and then I found a discount code online for 20% off so I got it for $215.99 + tax. I definitely feel like I got my money's worth! This chair is so good to my back!!! The materials are also of good quality and sturdy. Plus, the chair just looks nice!! I'm a woman who hates putting anything together!! Call me lazy but I usually just pay someone to put things together for me. However, this time I decided to just "man up" and put it together myself LOL. It was so easy!! I did mess up the first time by screwing in both armrests so that they were facing the wrong way - DOH!!! A monkey could put this chair together - it's that easy!! Anyways, totally love this chair!! So glad I got it!! You should buy one too!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
October 18, 2014
BruceL
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Excellent for price

Pros: Functional
Perfect for us. I'm sure an $800 may "feel" a little better (possibly), but @ ~$300, this fulfills the need at a fair price.
Backs support for good posture, bottom side comfort.
*VERY easy to assemble! Sold metal construction.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
October 17, 2014
Shannky5
Westland, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Support

This chair is fantastic! My chiropractor recommended that I get it as I have lower back issues and my job requires me to sit for long periods of time. Since I started using this chair, my lower back does not hurt. Will be getting additional chairs for other office staff.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
October 14, 2014
Crystal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

good investment

Pros: value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design, Comfortable
Very comfortable chair. I definitely recommend for anyone who has to sit behind a computer. I only have good things to say about this chair, no complaints.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
October 14, 2014
avtec
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great chair...easy to assemble.

Pros: Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design, Comfortable
Very good chair. Would recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>