Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black

Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black

Item #:510830
Average Customer Rating:
4.346 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(272 Reviews) 272
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(181)
4 stars
(49)
3 stars
(14)
2 stars
(11)
1 star
(17)
218 of 253(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
75 Questions | 105 Answers
Customer Reviews for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
Review 1 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
October 27, 2014
jvk
Cincinnati OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

GREAT CHAIR

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight, Easy to Assemble
I've gone through a few chairs pretty quickly the past few years due to the cushions not maintaining their softness / feeling contact with the structure under the seat. I was looking for a chair that would eliminate this problem and this chair is it. I've had it for about a week now and it is super comfortable. The mesh sling type seat doesn't allow any contact with the nuts and bolts of the chair, so I don't anticipate any issues with that previous issue. The chair was super easy and fast to put together - the quickest and easiest I've ever done. Just click a few parts together, screw in the arms and back and you're ready to go.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
October 27, 2014
omegamike
Atlanta, Ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Great chair for the price

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight
This chair gave immediate back pain relief allowing me to work longer without breaks and without paying the price of stiffness later. I agree with other reviews that it'd be nice if you could lock the arms from moving horizontally. However, I removed the rear arm cushion (4 phillips screws) and tightened the bolt (4mm allen head) for the pivot point. it's now takes much more effort to move the arms horizontally. They no longer move unintentionally making the chair near perfect for me. I'm 6'3" / 185lbs an don't mind the height either though I do have it maxed. As long as I don't get much taller, I'll enjoy this chair for a long time. Also, I found a $40 coupon online, then picked it up in store the same day.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
October 22, 2014
Dystopian
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

SHOULD HAVE BOUGHT YEARS AGO

Pros: Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design, Comfortable
This is the first review I have felt compelled to write. Working from home, I am in an office chair more than my own bed. We all know that you should never buy a cheap mattress, so why should an office chair be any different?
This chair had the 5 things I was looking for:
1 - Adjustable and comfortable arm rests. You'd be surprised how few chairs have decent adjustable arm rests. I must have tried out a couple hundred. Having wrist and shoulder problems, this was #1 on my must have list. This alone eliminated 90% of chairs out there. Once I felt the comfortable gel pads, I was sold.
2 - Ergonomic back support. This chair forces you to sit upright, which is what my lazy hulk needed. I sat in this, then my old chair to compare, and I was probably slouched 4 inches lower in the old chair. I had to raise my monitors! Suddenly the world looks cleaner and sharper and I don't have to irk my neck forward to see the screen.
3 - No Cheap plastic look and feel. This has metal arm supports and nice wheels that look higher end than cheaper similar chairs. It looks stylish and expensive. I wish the base was also metal, but that would make this already heavy chair 20 lbs heavier. I told my wife we are getting a divorce if she lets her 5 year old nephew play on this chair.
4 - Mesh. I have no idea why I thought it would be a good idea to sweat in an unbreathable chair all day. Mesh is also stronger than I would have thought and conforms to your lumps. I like it more than I would have thought.
5 - Modern and cool. Let's be real here. Who decided leather was the best office chair material? Your old pleather chair is not fooling anyone. We all know only $1000 chairs are "real" leather, so stop acting like you wear a 3 piece suit with spats, own a humidor, sip single malts and have mahagony book shelves filled with leader bound books. You wear socks with holes in them and have Cheetos' stains on your fingers. Get with the times and get a chair that is good for your posture, adjusts to your specifics, and looks cool.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
October 21, 2014
SLee
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

Love this chair!!

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Size & Weight, Well Made/ Sturdy, Easy to Assemble
I'm a grad student who spends up to 12 hours a day studying so I was in need of a comfortable chair. This chair was on sale for $269.99 and then I found a discount code online for 20% off so I got it for $215.99 + tax. I definitely feel like I got my money's worth! This chair is so good to my back!!! The materials are also of good quality and sturdy. Plus, the chair just looks nice!! I'm a woman who hates putting anything together!! Call me lazy but I usually just pay someone to put things together for me. However, this time I decided to just "man up" and put it together myself LOL. It was so easy!! I did mess up the first time by screwing in both armrests so that they were facing the wrong way - DOH!!! A monkey could put this chair together - it's that easy!! Anyways, totally love this chair!! So glad I got it!! You should buy one too!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
October 18, 2014
BruceL
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Excellent for price

Pros: Functional
Perfect for us. I'm sure an $800 may "feel" a little better (possibly), but @ ~$300, this fulfills the need at a fair price.
Backs support for good posture, bottom side comfort.
*VERY easy to assemble! Sold metal construction.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
October 14, 2014
Crystal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

good investment

Pros: value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design, Comfortable
Very comfortable chair. I definitely recommend for anyone who has to sit behind a computer. I only have good things to say about this chair, no complaints.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
October 14, 2014
avtec
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great chair...easy to assemble.

Pros: Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design, Comfortable
Very good chair. Would recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
October 13, 2014
MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Back feels better Already.

Pros: value, Appearance/Design, Comfortable
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
So far so good. I've had the chair for about a week, I can say that from my previous chair that was hurting my back, this one is definitely better. I already noticed after 3 days my back wasn't hurting any more. I love how the arms on the chair move in and out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
October 13, 2014
LikeComfort
Columbia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

So Far So Good

Pros: value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design, Comfortable
So far I'm very pleased with my new chair. Had used one briefly during the summer and then saw these at Office Depot. Have only been using a few weeks but so far I really love it. Very comfortable for long hours and the mesh is cooling versus any other material (some of my "sitting at the desk" days can be 10-12 hours). I'm a small person and the adjustments the chair can make for seating, lumbar support and height work well.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
October 7, 2014
OFFDEPOTmike
Gainesville, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Fairly nice chair but limited for tall folks

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Size & Weight, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: max seat height too low, arm rotation doesn't lock, seat angle unadjustable
A very comfortable sit, but lacks a few features that could make it really great. Too low max seat height and the rocking tensioner, even at max tightness, doesn't put much resistance on the back, no locking arm position or a seat angle adjustment.
All in all, though, it's a good choice. I could give it a high recommendation for my friends below 5' 10" & under 160lbs and a cautionary recommendation for those in excess of either/both measurements.
The mesh seat and back are comfortable to sit in, but I'm concerned about the flow-through air. While some folks prefer NOT to have the extra heat on the back, I wonder if the coolness will lead to backaches. Time will tell.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
October 6, 2014
Denise
St. Cloud, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Best purchase ever

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight
No more back pain when studying for hours at a time when sitting in this chair.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
October 4, 2014
Will
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

High Quality, Comfortable Chair

Pros: value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design, Comfortable
I sat on every display chair in Office Depot, and this chair was the only one that really felt like I had to have it. I waited and thought about it until it went on sale for 279.99, and picked one up. It was really easy to put together, took about 10 minutes. High quality fasteners with thread lock, a good allen key to tighten them. I was really impressed with the quality of this chair, and the comfort and coolness are second to none.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
October 1, 2014
Petermack7
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

GET ONE, GET ONE, GET ONE.

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy
I bought this chair on sale, but not a huge sale like this low in price and I really don't care and am not bothered by not saving as much. It's that good.
I have an internet based business and sit at my computer 7-12 hrs. a day, 6 days a week.
If this chair was $1000 I would get it knowing how much difference it makes in fatigue level. There is NO FATIGUE level with the Quantum.
You can adjust just about every aspect of the seating position.
Important for me is to be upright with proper posture, leaning somewhat forward which most chairs cannot do.
It doesn't make your back hot/sweat due to the mesh material.
It's a 10 on a scale of 1-10.
If you didn't like it, take it back, but you won't!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
September 29, 2014
deskjockey
Los Angeles, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

helped with back/sciatica issues

Pros: value, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design, Comfortable
Cons: just a bit small for tall people.
I sit 10 hours a day (counting my commute) and have developed lower back and sciatica problems. I'm 6'3", 200lbs, so most chairs and cushions just don't fit me. After trying different remedies, chairs, and cushions, a co-worker let me try his Realspace PRO 9000 Series, and I ordered one. Most similarly adjustable ergonomic chairs I researched cost twice as much. I've had it for 4 days, and the difference is noticeable. In the product questions section, some consumers complain that the arm rest swivel direction doesn't lock (true, but has not caused any issues for me) and that the back height adjustment doesn't lock (False, at first, I thought the same, but it does lock, you just have to raise it from the bottom slowly and it will lock at the selected height). The controls are not inuitive, so it does take some time fiddling with it to figure out how to adjust the various positions. But once I found the right set up, it has been great. The only nag I have is that I wish the seat cushion had about 3 more inches of depth for my long thighs and about two more inches of height adjustment. The drawback of being tall. My sciatic nerve can still be irritated by the pressure at the edge of the seat, but it is MUCH better than any other seat I've tried. The mesh seat "cushion" is far better than the usual foam seat bottoms. Good support without being hard. Note for desk jockeys who have back problems: Most of these problems won't be solved by purchasing a new chair. But the right chair can help a little. This one does for me. Can't get a more adjustable chair for less.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
September 29, 2014
genos
San Francisco
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Comfortable chair but unusable armrests

Pros: Quality, Appearance/Design, Comfortable
I work from home and need to sit for 8+ hours every day. I need a comfortable chair that doesn't get too hot and doesn't make my back sore. This chair does the trick.
The only negative part is that the arm rests are too high for me to use (I'm only 5'5") and were too uncomfortable, so I just removed them and have an armless chair.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
September 29, 2014
Kate
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Sturdy, comfortable, easy assembly

Pros: value, Easy to Assemble
For the price of these chairs, they are very comfortable, lots of adjustments and easy to assemble. Our office is new, but so far they seem to hold up very well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
September 22, 2014
Edna
Delray Beach, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Great home office chair

Pros: Appearance/Design, Comfortable
Good value, easy to put together and perfect for working all day on the computer. Nice looking as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
September 18, 2014
nickerooni
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Solid Purchase

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight
Very comfortable, breathes well, solid construction. excellent value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
September 15, 2014
Manatarms
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Chair I've had

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy
This is the second time I buy this chair. The first one is still intact after 3.5 years and a transatlantic move. I was hard to leave behind. When it came down to buy a new one in another place I went through a few models just to make sure there was nothing else that came out new / better... but obviously not.
Breathable, comfortable, durable. Awesome...
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Realspace® PRO Quantum 9000 Series Ergonomic Mesh Mid-Back Chair, Black
September 15, 2014
lcskye
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

Fantastic Chair

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, Well Made/ Sturdy, Size & Weight
This chair is very comfortable for sitting long periods of time, and very adjustable. It compares to very expensive ergonomic chairs for a much more reasonable price. I highly recommend it! Only complaint is that the arm rests don't stay in place - they flip back and forth - but overall not a big problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>