Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple

Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple

Item #:544959
Average Customer Rating:
3.483 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(8)
4 stars
(7)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(2)
16 of 25(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
Review 1 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
June 29, 2015
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Good looking and good value

Pros: value
Compared to similar cabinets this is a good value. The color on the web site matches the color of the unit I purchased.
The downside is that assembly will take a few hours--four hours in my case because I made the mistake of over tightening the screw which attaches the drawer front to the side, which stripped the pre-drilled hole. I drilled two new #6 holes in the plastic angle bracket, drilled pilot holes in the drawer face and attached the two parts with 2 #6 screws from my screw bin.
The assembly instructions are a series of pictures which were generally easy to follow, but there were a couple of minor mistakes, and on the file drawer slide mounting, the pictures were not clear because they were too small.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
June 29, 2015
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Horrible Horrible Horrible

Cons: value, Difficult to Assemble, Quality
Came in a thousand pieces with poor "picture only" instructions, after finally figuring it all out drawers do not slide smoothly and its a piece of junk. Only gave it 1 star because that's the lowest option
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
June 15, 2015
San Antonio Tx.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

love my cabinet

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Appearance/Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
Fit Perfectly. Matches my desk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
May 11, 2015
Southern Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Good product

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
Sturdy file cabinets. We purchased two. We will use as night stands. As others have noted, don't put anything too heavy in the bottom drawer as it is advertised as a hanging file drawer. Follow the directions and it goes together in about an hour.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
February 27, 2015
bloomington, mn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

nice cabinet

Pros: Durable, Quality, Appearance/Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
nice and sturdy, on opinion PAY TO HAVE SOMEONE ASSEMBLE.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
November 24, 2014
The Villages, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Look great but hard to assemble

Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Appearance/Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
The file cabinets look great and are sturdy enough to make the desk I wanted from a big top I already owned. BUT the assembly of several of the screws (drawers, esp) was way harder than expected. The pre-drilled holes were not large enough or deep enough and it made for a difficult time turning while pressing down so hard that my wrist and arm muscles were really strained. There was NO WAY an electronic screwdriver or drill would have worked, as the pressed board was so strong and hard. The only way to make assembly easier was to redrill the prefabbed holes better - which I ended up doing myself.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
November 24, 2014
Irvine CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Useful Cabinet

Pros: Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
Cons: Quality
This was purchased because I needed more storage space and it matches the Realspace Dawson computer desk. It would have been easy to assemble if I hadn't mixed up some of the fasteners. The upper drawer slide hardware is not good--one of the rollers snapped off.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
November 18, 2014
Irvine CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Satisfactory Solution to Storage Need

Pros: Functional, Features
Cons: Easily Damaged, Quality: Flimsy
I bought this cabinet because it matches the Dawson 2-drawer computer desk. Assembly took more time than necessary because I used the wrong fasteners in a few places and had to find and move them later.
The only significant problem is that one of the drawer rollers broke off during initial use--asking for warranty replacement. Also there were a few surface scratches.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
November 4, 2014
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Another winner from Sauder

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design
This is the third Sauder piece I have purchased and assembled for my home office. It went together as well as the others and I am already enjoying the extra storage. I don't know what went wrong with others' assembly experiences, but I had no issues with any of them. Just be organized with the parts, take the time to identify them, read the instructions and take your time. This cabinet was assembled and in place in under 2 hours, by me with no help. I am a 53 year old female. If I could do it, anyone can.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
September 15, 2014
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

So far so good

Pros: Quality of Material, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy
Received this product rather quickly after ordering online. Didn't require a PhD. in Engineering or English to figure out the directions for assembly. Seems to be solid, and well built. Only time will tell, but if you need it for a home office that does not require you to open and close it 1500 times a day, then this is your unit.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
June 29, 2014
G'ville, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great extension piece.

Pros: value, Appearance/Design
Cons: time consuming assembly
It's a great peice to have if you want to extend the matching desk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
February 1, 2014
Gainesville, Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

This Unit Is Terrible!

Pros: Appearance/Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Quality
I purchased this to begin filing in my home office. When I opened the box, I realized the instructions were no where to be found. I went to the Office Depot website and they provided the link. I printed them, and it was all down hill from there. The parts were mislabeled, the unit is poorly constructed and had to be modified for completion. We had a do it yourself business for a long time and it has never taken 6 hours to put something together....Beware before you buy!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
December 7, 2013
Santa Barbara, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

NIce addition to the home office

Pros: value, Easy to Assemble
NIce looking unit, and well made. Sauder makes good products and the instructions are well thought out and easy to follow.
Plenty strong for a home office for light to medium use.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
November 18, 2013
Stockton, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

bang for the buck!

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Appearance/Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
IF you are patient and follow directions with an attention to detail. Then the assembly will be quite easy. Approximately an hour to assemble. A simple yet attractive file cabinet. I bought 2 and have them side by side so it looks like one piece. Will not disappoint.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
October 29, 2013
Ventura
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Love this product!

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Easy to Assemble
Cons: none
I bought this 3 drawer file cabinet in brushed maple 3 years ago along with the matching computer desk and it's held up great. I have it in our guest room where my grandchildren play and it still looks like new. At first I wasn't sure how durable it would be knowing it wasn't solid wood, but the materials used are quite strong including the hardware. We just purchased the same one for my husbands office and he's a tough sell when it comes to buying furniture that's not solid wood. This 3 drawer file cabinet wasn't as hard to assemble as the desk, but even if it was, it's worth it!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
October 14, 2013
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Looks great but difficult to assemble

Pros: Appearance/Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
The product look great, but took almost four hours to assemble.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
October 7, 2013
Delran, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Good Cabinet but Consider the Assembly Service

Pros: value, Appearance/Design
I am pleased with my purchase of the desk and the three-drawer filing cabinet. The cabinet serves to add to the surface of the top of the desk as I have them next to each other. It's like having a bigger desk without the bigger bulk.
These items fit inside my apartment's office the door which is only about 28 1/2 inches wide. Other desks were 30" deep The bottom of the drawers are thinner than I would like and might not support the weight of as much supplies.
I read the other reviews that commented upon the relative difficulty of assembling the desk and cabinet. . I got around this by ordering the assembly service that Office Depot offers. The total cost was $100 for both items. The worker completed the job in 1 hour, 45 minutes. He advised that the wrong brackets were enclosed for the sliding keyboard support. He has ordered the right ones for us. We'll see how it goes from here. It's well worth buying the assembly service.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
April 29, 2013
Oklahoma City, OK
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:66 and above

Too difficult to put together

Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Unaligned
This is the 3rd day of trying to get this put together. It is very frustrating. If you don't know what you are doing carpentry-wise, hire someone else to do it. The drawers are the hardest part. I do not recommend this unless you have done many of these kinds of "kits" before. These should be sold as kits, not as a finished product like you see. FULL ASSEMBLY REQUIRED. You get the hardware and the boards. I should have checked this out better. I'm the dufus here.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
March 15, 2013
Reno, NV
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65

Disappointed

Pros: Features, Appearance/Design
Cons: Easily Damaged, Difficult to Assemble, Quality: Flimsy
I was very disappointed in this cabinet. Looks nice but the screws stripped out and are too short for the thickness of the material.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
March 5, 2013
Asheville, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online

Have Office Depot put this together!

Cons: Difficult to Assemble, frustrating to assemble!
It is now 3 hours and 20 minutes of paying someone (that is a professional contractor) $25.00 per hour - and it STILL is not finished being put together! Why? The print is so small - he had to use a magnifying glass. The second drawer was mislabeled and had to be taken apart and put back together. The end result looks good - but entirely TOO difficult to put together! It has cost more to put this together than I paid for the product. If you can get Office Depot to take the time to put it together - it would be worth purchasing.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>