Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple

Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple

Item #:544959
Average Customer Rating:
3.4 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(5)
4 stars
(5)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(1)
11 of 19(58%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
Review 1 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
September 15, 2014
SomewhereinNY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

So far so good

Pros: Quality of Material, Appearance/Design, Well Made/ Sturdy
Received this product rather quickly after ordering online. Didn't require a PhD. in Engineering or English to figure out the directions for assembly. Seems to be solid, and well built. Only time will tell, but if you need it for a home office that does not require you to open and close it 1500 times a day, then this is your unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
June 29, 2014
Avg consumer
G'ville, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great extension piece.

Pros: value, Appearance/Design
Cons: time consuming assembly
It's a great peice to have if you want to extend the matching desk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
February 1, 2014
Cindy Lou Who
Gainesville, Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

This Unit Is Terrible!

Pros: Appearance/Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Quality
I purchased this to begin filing in my home office. When I opened the box, I realized the instructions were no where to be found. I went to the Office Depot website and they provided the link. I printed them, and it was all down hill from there. The parts were mislabeled, the unit is poorly constructed and had to be modified for completion. We had a do it yourself business for a long time and it has never taken 6 hours to put something together....Beware before you buy!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
December 7, 2013
Handy Dan
Santa Barbara, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

NIce addition to the home office

Pros: value, Easy to Assemble
NIce looking unit, and well made. Sauder makes good products and the instructions are well thought out and easy to follow.
Plenty strong for a home office for light to medium use.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
November 18, 2013
wireman
Stockton, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

bang for the buck!

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Appearance/Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
IF you are patient and follow directions with an attention to detail. Then the assembly will be quite easy. Approximately an hour to assemble. A simple yet attractive file cabinet. I bought 2 and have them side by side so it looks like one piece. Will not disappoint.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
October 29, 2013
cinder
Ventura
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Love this product!

Pros: Durable, value, Quality, Easy to Assemble
Cons: none
I bought this 3 drawer file cabinet in brushed maple 3 years ago along with the matching computer desk and it's held up great. I have it in our guest room where my grandchildren play and it still looks like new. At first I wasn't sure how durable it would be knowing it wasn't solid wood, but the materials used are quite strong including the hardware. We just purchased the same one for my husbands office and he's a tough sell when it comes to buying furniture that's not solid wood. This 3 drawer file cabinet wasn't as hard to assemble as the desk, but even if it was, it's worth it!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
October 14, 2013
Roland
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Looks great but difficult to assemble

Pros: Appearance/Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
The product look great, but took almost four hours to assemble.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
October 7, 2013
Home Office Real Estate Worker
Delran, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Good Cabinet but Consider the Assembly Service

Pros: value, Appearance/Design
I am pleased with my purchase of the desk and the three-drawer filing cabinet. The cabinet serves to add to the surface of the top of the desk as I have them next to each other. It's like having a bigger desk without the bigger bulk.
These items fit inside my apartment's office the door which is only about 28 1/2 inches wide. Other desks were 30" deep The bottom of the drawers are thinner than I would like and might not support the weight of as much supplies.
I read the other reviews that commented upon the relative difficulty of assembling the desk and cabinet. . I got around this by ordering the assembly service that Office Depot offers. The total cost was $100 for both items. The worker completed the job in 1 hour, 45 minutes. He advised that the wrong brackets were enclosed for the sliding keyboard support. He has ordered the right ones for us. We'll see how it goes from here. It's well worth buying the assembly service.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
April 29, 2013
jaycee
Oklahoma City, OK
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:66 and above

Too difficult to put together

Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Unaligned
This is the 3rd day of trying to get this put together. It is very frustrating. If you don't know what you are doing carpentry-wise, hire someone else to do it. The drawers are the hardest part. I do not recommend this unless you have done many of these kinds of "kits" before. These should be sold as kits, not as a finished product like you see. FULL ASSEMBLY REQUIRED. You get the hardware and the boards. I should have checked this out better. I'm the dufus here.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
March 15, 2013
Kathy
Reno, NV
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65

Disappointed

Pros: Features, Appearance/Design
Cons: Easily Damaged, Difficult to Assemble, Quality: Flimsy
I was very disappointed in this cabinet. Looks nice but the screws stripped out and are too short for the thickness of the material.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
March 5, 2013
Kat in NC
Asheville, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online

Have Office Depot put this together!

Cons: Difficult to Assemble, frustrating to assemble!
It is now 3 hours and 20 minutes of paying someone (that is a professional contractor) $25.00 per hour - and it STILL is not finished being put together! Why? The print is so small - he had to use a magnifying glass. The second drawer was mislabeled and had to be taken apart and put back together. The end result looks good - but entirely TOO difficult to put together! It has cost more to put this together than I paid for the product. If you can get Office Depot to take the time to put it together - it would be worth purchasing.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
March 4, 2013
Larry P
Arlington, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:36 - 45

Great File Cabinet

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Size & Weight, Well Made/ Sturdy
I purchased two of these to serve as both a filing cabinet and as nightstands in my master bedroom. They are very heavy duty and look great. The first one took apprx. 1-1/2 hours to assemble but the second one took about half that time. I was pleasantly surprised that the manufacturer included at least 1 extra piece of every type of hardware in every bag (screws, pins, cams, etc). The locking file cabinet drawer is not intended to be a high security feature since you can simply remove the drawer above the file drawer to gain access. Secure enough to keep my tax records in but not a firearm!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
January 26, 2013
Durvad1
San Antonio, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:66 and above
Gender of user:Female
Age of user:61 and above

File Cabinet

Pros: Appearance/Design, Size & Weight, Well Made/ Sturdy
Good value and easy to put together.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
October 18, 2012
DamageInc
Wisconsin
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:36 - 45

poor quality, but looks nice...for now

Pros: Appearance/Design
Cons: Easily Damaged, Quality: Flimsy
This file cabinet is made from the cheapest of cheap particle board (very porous compared to better stuff). That means that it will break easily and screws will strip easily, so be careful putting it together. The finish is fragile, as expected. The bottom of the drawers is essentially cardboard, so I added some quarter-inch plywood to reinforce them. Bottom line: you get what you pay for with this one, so don't expect it to last very long. It also has a lot of parts, so set aside a couple of hours to put it together.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
March 23, 2012
robertrg
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65

Terrible and extremely difficult to put together

Cons: Packaging, Easily Damaged, Difficult to Assemble, Size & Weight, Quality: Flimsy, Wobbles, Unaligned
Unless you are an everyday handy man that can put anything together, i would suggest not buying this. I have put many pieces of furniture together in my life and I have to say this one was the worst. It was so bad I tossed the filing cabinet into the trash can. Just lost 100 bucks. DO NOT BUY THIS!!!
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
February 19, 2012
BobZ
Silicon Valley, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am a(n):Traditional Office
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65

Lots of parts, not really secure

Pros: Appearance/Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, not secure
This file cabinet looks nice but there are two problems. First, there are a lot of parts, so set aside a few hours to put it together. Second, the bottom drawer is locking but the drawer above it comes out giving full access to the locked drawer. Not a great design. We moved the locking drawer to the top, but it required some extra measuring and drilling and moving around the runners.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
February 18, 2012
NowAfan
Westerville, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:66 and above

Utility, quality, economy

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Features, Appearance/Design, Size & Weight, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: heavy?
This Dawson 3 drawer file cabinent was an excellent purchase. It is sturdy. The quality was easy to see in the way it was designed to be put together. Assemby was fun because it was not difficult and instructions were pretty clear and items well marked.. (Stay organized because there are a lot of parts). Although inexpensive, the cabinent is rich in appearance. I am considering another for another purpose. The drawers AND the file drawer is a perfect combination for me. I have no need of two file cabinents so the drawers are very handy. Regular Delivery was first rate.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
July 20, 2011
Kergulian
Bismarck, ND
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:36 - 45

Good For The Price

Pros: Functional, Features, good price, Appearance
Cons: Easily Damaged, time to assemble, many parts, back panels on drawers
I wanted a file cabinet with one file drawer and two smaller drawers for pen, pencils, etc. I looked at many different offerings from various manufacturers and decided to get this item from Office Depot. The color and finish are awesome. The drawers open and close very smoothly.
Some people may find it difficult to assemble because there are many parts. I didn't think it was particularly difficult because the illustrated instructions are straightforward. The only problem I encountered was how to orient the rails on the smaller drawers. I had to stop and think about it for a bit before I figured it out. Also, the item is constructed out of the typical particle board covered with laminate, so it breaks fairly easily. Because of this the screws attaching the back panel of the drawers can be VERY easily stripped if you tighten them too much. Be sure to use the enclosed glue and have additional glue readily available. (I glued every assembly point I could -- not just the ones called for in the instructions.)
All in all this is a good item for the price I paid. Most cabinets of similar quality cost more -- and the ones with better quality cost a lot more. I really like this piece of furniture and plan to buy another one soon.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Realspace® Dawson 3-Drawer Vertical File Cabinet, 29H x 15 1/2W x 21 3/4D, Brushed Maple
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 2