Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sauder® Shoal Creek Lateral File With Concealed Storage, 30 1/2H x 34 3/4W x 21 5/8D, Jamocha Wood

Sauder® Shoal Creek Lateral File With Concealed Storage, 30 1/2H x 34 3/4W x 21 5/8D, Jamocha Wood

Item #:566073
Average Customer Rating:
3.625 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(3)
4 stars
(2)
3 stars
(1)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(1)
6 of 8(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sauder® Shoal Creek Lateral File With Concealed Storage, 30 1/2H x 34 3/4W x 21 5/8D, Jamocha Wood
Review 1 for Sauder® Shoal Creek Lateral File With Concealed Storage, 30 1/2H x 34 3/4W x 21 5/8D, Jamocha Wood
September 15, 2014
asegura
weston , fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Opinion

Pros: value, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
All acceptable, except for the fact that the furniture came with some scratches and dents
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sauder® Shoal Creek Lateral File With Concealed Storage, 30 1/2H x 34 3/4W x 21 5/8D, Jamocha Wood
August 4, 2014
Kelly G
Georgetown, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

LOVE IT!

Pros: Durable, Quality, Appearance/Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, some pieces not marked
I purchased this along with the matching desk. I love it! I was undecided at first but glad I did. It's large enough to sit a printer on and keep the printer paper etc in the cabinet plus you have the filing drawer. It is very heavy/sturdy! I love the modern look.
It does take about 3 hours to put it together. Some of the pieces are not marked so you must be good at putting things together. Luckily my Fiance put it together for me :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sauder® Shoal Creek Lateral File With Concealed Storage, 30 1/2H x 34 3/4W x 21 5/8D, Jamocha Wood
July 8, 2014
aschoen1
Denver, Co
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

poor construction

Pros: Appearance/Design
Cons: Quality
I love the dualality of the book shelf and file cabinet below, which is why I made the purchase. however, after assembly the mechanics don't make sense - the top doesn't latch on so when you lift it to move you have to lift from the base. the doors are too low and don't close together tightly in the middle and the file drawer the face doesn't latch into the side panels. we went and bought wood glue to have it attach properly.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sauder® Shoal Creek Lateral File With Concealed Storage, 30 1/2H x 34 3/4W x 21 5/8D, Jamocha Wood
November 18, 2013
Prospero
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Great office Piece

Pros: Durable, Quality, Appearance/Design
This piece is well built and great looking for any office.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sauder® Shoal Creek Lateral File With Concealed Storage, 30 1/2H x 34 3/4W x 21 5/8D, Jamocha Wood
July 7, 2013
Carmen
Arizona
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65

Nice piece for the price

Pros: Functional, Appearance/Design, Size & Weight
Cons: Easily Damaged, Difficult to Assemble, Unaligned
Love the look and functionality of his sturdy lateral file, however the assembly was a complete nightmare. Holes are not aligned properly and in some cases not big enough. The top 2 doors overlap and it took quite a bit of effort to align them - still not right but can live with it.
Manufacturer needs a heads up!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sauder® Shoal Creek Lateral File With Concealed Storage, 30 1/2H x 34 3/4W x 21 5/8D, Jamocha Wood
July 4, 2013
Bumble
Bloomington. IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65
Gender of user:Female
Age of user:51 - 60

Multi-use cabinet

Pros: Quality of Material, Functional, Appearance/Design, Size & Weight, Well Made/ Sturdy
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Unaligned
I looked for weeks for furniture that could be used for my wife's baking utensils and all of her cook books. This unit plus the matching bookcases did the job and you would never know that this unit was an office file. The furniture right in and we have received many completes on it. Let's be honest, it isn't the easiest thing in the world to put together...but if you have any experience in modular furniture assembly, this won't be a big problem. It will take about 45 minutes to assemble.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sauder® Shoal Creek Lateral File With Concealed Storage, 30 1/2H x 34 3/4W x 21 5/8D, Jamocha Wood
January 31, 2012
Grannny
Normal IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65

Attractive and very functional

Pros: attractive, sturdy, one drawer and one storage cupboard
Cons: heavy but movable
Attractive and another nice complement to the desk and bookcases. Heavy and solid; one drawer and one storage "cupboard".
Make sure you assemble all pieces in the area in which they will be situated because they are heavy and not easy to move (especially the desk).
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sauder® Shoal Creek Lateral File With Concealed Storage, 30 1/2H x 34 3/4W x 21 5/8D, Jamocha Wood
March 21, 2010
AmyH11
Sacramento, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Gender:Female
Age:26 - 35
Bought this product:In-store

Disappointment

Pros: looks nice
Cons: cheap assembly materials
The cabinet looks great, but the construction of the material is poorly executed and the assembly hardware is cheap. The pre-drilled holes are too small for the screws, lengthening the assembly time and making it more likely for them to go in crooked. Sometimes they just spin around the top of the wood without biting into the hole. One type of dowel screw was so cheaply made that it began to strip when I was tightening it by hand. The only reason I did not return this product was because I didn't want to attempt to re-package its 20 pieces.
+30points
36out of 42found this review helpful.