Office Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Office Depot
Shop Clocks or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener

X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener

Item #:595671
Average Customer Rating:
3.4 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(14)
4 stars
(8)
3 stars
(2)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(11)
21 of 34(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
Review 1 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
September 15, 2014
Debsta
Shreveport, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Heavy Duty & Great

Pros: Long Lasting
We use this in our afterschool program and it gets used a lot! Great heavy duty pencil sharpener. Highly recommended!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
June 2, 2014
gtrrp
City, State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

Good value

This sharpener is worth the money for my classroom of 4th graders. It gets heavy use and I expect it to last for quite awhile.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
February 20, 2014
OverIt
Daytona Beach
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Stopped working

Cons: Pricey/Poor Value, Quality, Loud
The sharpener did well at the beginning but after about 50 pencils got jammed every time. We now have to remove the shavings container and reset manually after each pencil.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
January 13, 2014
TeacherTalking
Portland, OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

Going on my 6th sharpener

Pros: Quiet, Large Shavings Receptacle
Cons: Pricey/Poor Value, Quality, Weak Motor
This does not stand up to classroom use. And mind you, I don't let my kids use them, it's only me. I have always alternated between 2 of them doing only 10 pencils at a time and I am on my 5th and 6th which have now crapped out. I only ever use Ticonderoga (the best) pencils in them and still have had terrible luck. Come on folks...this is a $50 dollar sharpener! It should last for a hundred years!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
September 13, 2013
L Potts
Tacoma, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

Not a school pencil sharpener

Cons: doesn't last
This pencil sharpener doesn't last very long in the classroom. One teacher reports she has gone through 3 in one school year. I don't think I will purchasing anymore. The name School Pro is misleading.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
April 30, 2013
resp
Colorado Springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:School User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female

Long lasting in my art room

Pros: Powerful Motor, Easy to Use, Large Shavings Receptacle
My sharpener is 4 years old and has been used in an art room the entire time. I do not sharpen color pencils in it because those would clog any electric sharpener. It is just showing signs of wear but still works. I am going to buy another one.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
April 29, 2013
sjybarra
sacramento ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

xacto pro heavy pencil sharpner

the only complaint i have is that the replacement part is not available thru office max. i had to go to amazon to get the part which was cheaper and worked fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
April 16, 2013
BLR19
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

Good for Elementary School Clasroom

Durable and easy to use Pencil Sharpener for use in the classroom. Larger size fits most pencil sizes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
March 7, 2013
Test Administrator
Bronx, New York
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:School User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65

Worst Product Ever

Purchase 20 of these sharpeners for the 2012-13 school year and every last one has failed. Let's start investing in Quality Made USA Products. I would give this product ZERO Stars if I could.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
March 19, 2012
MSHEL
CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not good.

I bought this for my grandson's 4th grade classroom. It didn't last 2 weeks. OfficeMax was great for letting me return it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
March 5, 2012
medmedguy
la verne
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Pleasure
Bought this product:In-store
Age:15 or younger
Gender of user:Male
Age of user:10 or younger

bast

Pros: best
Cons: led gets stuck
great for a house but not a classroom for a school
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
March 5, 2012
Anonymous
City, State
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

good for classroom use

I am a teacher on a constant quest for the perfect classroom pencil sharpener. I bought this same model two years ago, but it recently stopped sharpening pencils. After looking at many other models, I ended up with this one again. It gets pretty constant use all day long. I think 2 years of life with that much use is pretty reasonable. Love the new one - it's making pencils sharp again!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
January 30, 2012
gfld
loganville, ga
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

second one I've bought

This is the 2nd sharpener of this model I've owned. The first one lasted 3 years, but I've already started to have problems with this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
January 30, 2012
givingtime2achild
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Traditional Office
Primary Use:School User
Bought this product:Catalog
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65

Love this sharpener

Cons: a little peg on the waste container can break off
I have purchased these for our school for the last 2 years. Some people get a little frustrated because they do not realize you have to use the canned air (like for your computer) to spray it out once in a while and then it works like new. These sharpeners will need cleaned more often when using the plastic coated fancy pencils. You can also buy new cutter heads to replace but you will not need to for a long time. Teachers here just send them to my office to clean when they appear to not work. In about a minute, it is working like brand new. Read your directions that come with products and you will not have so many issues.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 15 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
January 6, 2012
HomeRoomMom
Denton, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:School User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female
Age:36 - 45
Age of user:10 or younger

Did not last 3 months

3rd grade class gift. Bought the warranty and teacher sent it home withing 12 weeks of school starting as it would not sharpen anymore... Thought I was getting a quality product but ended up wasting my money!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
January 4, 2012
Anonymous
City, State
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very Disappointed

I bought this for my classroom. It was never great, but it lasted just a few months. Utterly disappointed!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
March 2, 2011
Anonymous
City, State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Works As Expected

This lasted 2 1/2 school years in my 5th grade classroom, which I consider acceptable. I added a one year MaxAssurance warranty ($5.95) to the two year factory warranty when I bought this, so the replacement (now that it is broken) will be free. Other sharpeners I have used are not as good and didn't last even this long.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
February 2, 2011
GrammieP
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This thing works great and is good for kids and the different sized pencils they have. It has a large receptacle for waste and just keeps going!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
December 8, 2010
Cyclone
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This is the worst sharpener ever

I bought this sharpener a year ago and it is eating every pencil down very quickly. It makes a thumping noise. It also breaks every lead. I would not ever buy this again, nor would I tell anyone else to buy it.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
October 5, 2010
teach3
City, State
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

not bad

I bought this for use in my third grade classroom. Thankfully I also bought the insurance for this item as I had to return it for a new one after the first three weeks of school! My class may just be hard on pencil sharpeners. I'll hold that judgement until we see how long the new one lasts. On a good note, it easily sharpens 20-30 pencils without overheating like the cheper models seem to do.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>