Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener

X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener

Item #:595671
Average Customer Rating:
2.562 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(4)
4 stars
(3)
3 stars
(0)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(9)
6 of 15(40%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
Review 1 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
February 20, 2014
OverIt
Daytona Beach
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Stopped working

Cons: Pricey/Poor Value, Quality, Loud
The sharpener did well at the beginning but after about 50 pencils got jammed every time. We now have to remove the shavings container and reset manually after each pencil.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
January 13, 2014
TeacherTalking
Portland, OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

Going on my 6th sharpener

Pros: Quiet, Large Shavings Receptacle
Cons: Pricey/Poor Value, Quality, Weak Motor
This does not stand up to classroom use. And mind you, I don't let my kids use them, it's only me. I have always alternated between 2 of them doing only 10 pencils at a time and I am on my 5th and 6th which have now crapped out. I only ever use Ticonderoga (the best) pencils in them and still have had terrible luck. Come on folks...this is a $50 dollar sharpener! It should last for a hundred years!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
September 13, 2013
L Potts
Tacoma, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

Not a school pencil sharpener

Cons: doesn't last
This pencil sharpener doesn't last very long in the classroom. One teacher reports she has gone through 3 in one school year. I don't think I will purchasing anymore. The name School Pro is misleading.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
April 30, 2013
resp
Colorado Springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:School User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female

Long lasting in my art room

Pros: Powerful Motor, Easy to Use, Large Shavings Receptacle
My sharpener is 4 years old and has been used in an art room the entire time. I do not sharpen color pencils in it because those would clog any electric sharpener. It is just showing signs of wear but still works. I am going to buy another one.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
March 7, 2013
Test Administrator
Bronx, New York
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:School User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65

Worst Product Ever

Purchase 20 of these sharpeners for the 2012-13 school year and every last one has failed. Let's start investing in Quality Made USA Products. I would give this product ZERO Stars if I could.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
March 5, 2012
medmedguy
la verne
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Pleasure
Bought this product:In-store
Age:15 or younger
Gender of user:Male
Age of user:10 or younger

bast

Pros: best
Cons: led gets stuck
great for a house but not a classroom for a school
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
January 30, 2012
givingtime2achild
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Traditional Office
Primary Use:School User
Bought this product:Catalog
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65

Love this sharpener

Cons: a little peg on the waste container can break off
I have purchased these for our school for the last 2 years. Some people get a little frustrated because they do not realize you have to use the canned air (like for your computer) to spray it out once in a while and then it works like new. These sharpeners will need cleaned more often when using the plastic coated fancy pencils. You can also buy new cutter heads to replace but you will not need to for a long time. Teachers here just send them to my office to clean when they appear to not work. In about a minute, it is working like brand new. Read your directions that come with products and you will not have so many issues.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 8 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
January 6, 2012
HomeRoomMom
Denton, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:School User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female
Age:36 - 45
Age of user:10 or younger

Did not last 3 months

3rd grade class gift. Bought the warranty and teacher sent it home withing 12 weeks of school starting as it would not sharpen anymore... Thought I was getting a quality product but ended up wasting my money!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
December 8, 2010
Cyclone
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This is the worst sharpener ever

I bought this sharpener a year ago and it is eating every pencil down very quickly. It makes a thumping noise. It also breaks every lead. I would not ever buy this again, nor would I tell anyone else to buy it.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
August 10, 2010
sallyb
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

won't stand up to hard usage

I've had three of these now and they last a few months. On the last one I bought the extra store coverage because they said it could be replaced for free as soon as it wore out. So I brought in my receipt when it wore out and they said the maunfacturer's coverage is 2 years. It's complicated to get it replaced from the manufacturer. Bottom line is - I'm done with these! They don't hold up to the amount of pencils we sharpen in first grade. The other first grade teacher I work with has had the exact same experience.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
July 28, 2010
Shooie
Napa, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:School User
Bought this product:In-store

This pencil sharpener is not strong

Cons: does not last in heavy usage
I ended up buying two of these sharpeners, during the course of a school year, and found that it is not a hardy sharpener. It stalled all of the time, it did not sharpen well unless you pushed (really hard) the pencil in for quite a length of time, and I would not recommend it ever. I plan on avoiding all of this companies products, they are weak. I used to be able to count on this company for a pencil sharpener that would last about a school year and a half of another year, but this sharpener really only lasted about two months, before I had to purchase something different.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
January 22, 2009
Rain
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Terrible Product

I bought eight of these for our school. Not one of them outlasted the warranty. They are poorly made.
+46points
50out of 54found this review helpful.
Review 13 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
November 29, 2008
skippy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:School User

Ok for price

Pros: quick and quiet
Cons: doesn't work on decorative pencils, blades wear out and can't be changed
I have owned two of these. The motor works great, but the blades wear out after about a years worth of classroom use. The first year I still had the recipt so I sent it back and the company replaced the blades for me. I don't know if they will still do that. I usually just buy one every year with my classroom money. It is worth it.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
September 28, 2008
Teacher76548
U.S.A.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:School User
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65
Bought this product:Online

Holds Up to Middle School Abuse!

Pros: Fast, Quiet, never jams
This pencil sharpener has held up well to the heavy use and abuse of middle school students. It is the least disruptive of any I've tried, because of 2 very important factors:
1.) Quieter 2.) Faster
It's made writing workshops so much more productive... nobody has to wait in line for a frustratingly slow pencil sharpener or fiddle around with a hand-held.
Every classroom needs at least one of these! I've now purchased 2!
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 15 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
September 10, 2008
Zoidbert
Little Rock, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Business User
Gender:Male
Age:36 - 45
Bought this product:In-store

I must have gotten a good one

Pros: large shavings collector, relatively quick, handles multiple size pencils
Cons: not for use with decorative/glitter coated pencils
Judging from the reviews I've read, I must have purchased a few of the rare good & working models of this sharpener. I've had two of these; one was damaged during Katrina but the other, from my office building in New Orleans, is still going strong after about four or five years. I've bought as gifts for several teachers my children have had and all have used it in a classroom environment (granted, a small classroom) with no problems -- save for one, when one of the kids tried to sharpen a bunch of those decoration pencils (i.e., the ones that they give out for holidays and etc. that have that thick vinyl-y coating or glitter-coating). Regular pencils (regardless of size) sharpen great.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 16 for X-Acto® By Boston® School Pro™ Electric Pencil Sharpener
June 28, 2008
teachergirl
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:School User
Gender:Female
Age:36 - 45

Best Sharpener Ever Used

I am a first grade teacher, and of all the electric sharpeners I've used, this one is the best. I'd say it sharpens 9 out of 10 pencils. Every once in a while it won't sharpen a pencil very well and you have to redo it. It's a lot better than fussing with a cheap sharpener or the old timey hand crank ones!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.