Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax

Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax

Item #:615019
Average Customer Rating:
4.063 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(445 Reviews) 437
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(226)
4 stars
(115)
3 stars
(46)
2 stars
(22)
1 star
(36)
362 of 442(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
Review 1 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
June 16, 2014
bobg
san francisco
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Piece of junk

Pros: cheap, dont feel bad throwing away
Cons: it does not work very well
The worst printer I have owned by far. Slow, overall poor performance. This thing drinks ink like wino drinks thunderbird. If you are really on a budget it works, but you will pay much more for ink longterm. I just ended up throwing mine away and buying an hp office jet that has worked much better. Would only buy if you absolutely have to or you like having to buy things twice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
February 24, 2014
rm9873
Chula Vista, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

worst printer ever

I have a small office for over 15 years and this printer by far has to be the worst I ever purchased. I can't print black if one of the colors is low or out of ink. That should have nothing to do with printing black and white document.
Worst par,t I have spent so much money on ink cartridges for a printer I have yet to print more than 100 pages.
I even buy the XL. There is no way 600 pages yield it's more like 60.
I am beyond frustrated with the printer considering I bought two thinking it was a good deal. One for a friend who deals with the same thing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
January 28, 2014
Jeff
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Purchase Ever

I have no problems with the print quality. I only use this printer occasionally, but every time I do I have to buy new ink. After much discussion with Brother, they claim that ink is used for the cleaning of the ink tubes. So if you go weeks or months between printings most of your ink will go to cleaning and not printing. For me this has been one of my worst purchases ever. To me, Brother does not stand behind this product, so it is very doubtful that I would ever buy another product from them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
November 5, 2013
Jabber
WY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Biggest piece of junk I have ever bought

Cons: Jams Easily, Difficult to Set Up, Quality, Performance, Difficult to Use, Slow, takes forever to reset after any job.
Jams all the time or takes 2 sheets to print a page. Takes FOREVER to reset after each printing job. I have owned many printers but this is by far the worst I have had.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
November 5, 2013
Diane
Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

costly ink cartridges need replaced frequently

I use my printer about once per week. I have bought 2 sets of new inkjet cartridges already, as they dry up quickly if not used daily. I thought this would be an economical printer for my small home office, but quickly learned otherwise!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
August 26, 2013
Anonymous
Sandy Springs, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

excellent

This is an excellent printer at a great price ( $49.99) on sale.
The Wi-Fi works perfectly, the printing in both grey scale and color is clean and clear. I haven't used it long enough to know how the ink usage will be but so far so good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
August 18, 2013
loneredwolf
Helena, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Love it

Pros: Doesn't Jam, Good Value, Quality, Performance, Easy to Use, Fast, Easy to Set Up
I bought one for my dad, I turned around and bought another for myself. Easy to use,fax works great; fax is simple to use, can save documents in a word format. Very simple to use printing,scanning features . The ink is cheap to buy and it does a high quality printing, scanning and faxes. Would recommend brother products
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
August 14, 2013
CTA7
Anaheim Hills, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great Home Printer

This printer is a good home printer for the money. A little difficult to set-up but once everything is done it works just fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
August 10, 2013
Cherubian
Newport News, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Good Purchase

Pros: it prints very well.
Cons: usb cord needed to scan, usb cord not included
It is a good printer, but I wish I would have stuck with the MFC-490CW. I moved and left the MFC-490CW for my daughter, so I bought the J430w for my self. I do not like that it has to have a cord attached to my laptop in order for me to scan, I am use to just sticking my USB in the printer for that. Worse, the cord needed to scan did not come with it, so I have to buy one. Thus, I gave it 3 stars, but for some this may be the ideal printer, but not for me. I may switch with my daughter.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
August 10, 2013
TheMuttsNuts
Clermont florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

super value

Pros: easy to use.
Cons: none
So far it is proving to print, fax and scan as well as being much quieter than the more expensive printer we had that stopped working.
All in all the best invention since sliced bread.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
August 8, 2013
Roger B
Upland, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Printer

On average we send one or more customers a day to buy this great Brother printer. Dozens of our customers have raved about what a great printer this is. We recommend it because of its low ink cost and reliability. Former Lexmark, Epson, Dell, HP and Canon owners tell us that when coupled with our ink this is the best printer for the money they have ever owned.
Ink & Toner Outlet, Upland, CA
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
July 29, 2013
MimiC
Bethel, CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Brother MFC-J430W

I really like how quiet this printer is. The only problem I have is that the ink always is adjusting. After every page I print the printer goes through all these noises which I can only assume is the ink shifting into place. Otherwise, I am very happy and glad that I decided on this printer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
July 6, 2013
Mr P
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65

Ex-HP guy. Great product, great price.

I've always purchased HP printers, but now I'm a Brother convert. Four ink cartridges, cheaper ink, great software. fax works great with my internet phone. Exceeded all my expectations.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
July 5, 2013
Jay
Fremont,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:26 - 35

Good printer

I'm using it for a month now. It's working great and good printer.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
June 30, 2013
Renee S
Penrose, CO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65

Inexpensive and you get what you pay for

Cons: jams constantly
Not happy with the paper jams, not being able to use photo paper and just continual problems with paper feed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
June 24, 2013
BeenThereDoneThat
City, State
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Prints and scans well, but....

I am a computer professional and find the setup to be complex and the documentation to be poorly organized and difficult to use. I feel for the average user.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
June 16, 2013
Loufatt
Sullivan County, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65

Great printer

Pros: Doesn't Jam, Good Value, Easy to Use, Fast, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance, multi-function
I've been a lover of Brother printers for years and still have a MFC-240C at my office.
When my wife's printer died, I convinced her to get a Brother. We got this MFC-J430w unit specifically for it's wireless capability and it's ability to print from our iPhones. WE LOVE IT!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
June 11, 2013
ggeeman
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Easy and Convenient

This printer was purchased for a Lake house so we could use it using WIFI for the IPAD and smartphones. It was very inexpensive, easy to set up, very good quality prints and was extremely convenient for the wireless devices mentioned above. I would recommend without reservations.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
June 10, 2013
MaberikNY
Cortlandt Manor, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Fast Scanning with Automatic Document Feeder

The inktanks on my seven year old Canon Inkjet were running out. Replacing all four tanks typically costs upwards of $50.
For the price of these inktanks, I realized I could buy a brand new multifunction printer with Scan and Fax capabilities.
This is the first Brother product I've purchased since one of the electric typewriters/wordprocessors from the early 1990s.
So far so good.
Automatic document feeder for scan works like a charm. Copier is amazing too. Nice to have a "Xerox" machine on your desk. Being able to make quick copies of documents without having to power on a PC or fire up software is a great timesaver.
At the OfficeMax price for this product, you really can't go wrong.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
June 10, 2013
Larry D
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Fast printing, easy setup

I purchased this online because of the low price. I don't do a lot of printing at home so I don't need anything heavy duty. It was very easy to set up the wireless. All the family's laptops are able to print to it. The speed and print quality are great. I've only had it a few weeks so I can't speak about how well it will hold up over time. It feels a little flimsy so I wouldn't recommend it for a lot of printing. But for my home office needs it seems to be a good fit so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>