Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax

Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax

Item #:615019
Average Customer Rating:
4.003 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(380 Reviews) 380
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(184)
4 stars
(100)
3 stars
(42)
2 stars
(21)
1 star
(33)
302 of 377(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
Review 1 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
June 16, 2014
bobg
san francisco
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Piece of junk

Pros: cheap, dont feel bad throwing away
Cons: it does not work very well
The worst printer I have owned by far. Slow, overall poor performance. This thing drinks ink like wino drinks thunderbird. If you are really on a budget it works, but you will pay much more for ink longterm. I just ended up throwing mine away and buying an hp office jet that has worked much better. Would only buy if you absolutely have to or you like having to buy things twice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
February 24, 2014
rm9873
Chula Vista, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

worst printer ever

I have a small office for over 15 years and this printer by far has to be the worst I ever purchased. I can't print black if one of the colors is low or out of ink. That should have nothing to do with printing black and white document.
Worst par,t I have spent so much money on ink cartridges for a printer I have yet to print more than 100 pages.
I even buy the XL. There is no way 600 pages yield it's more like 60.
I am beyond frustrated with the printer considering I bought two thinking it was a good deal. One for a friend who deals with the same thing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
January 28, 2014
Jeff
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Purchase Ever

I have no problems with the print quality. I only use this printer occasionally, but every time I do I have to buy new ink. After much discussion with Brother, they claim that ink is used for the cleaning of the ink tubes. So if you go weeks or months between printings most of your ink will go to cleaning and not printing. For me this has been one of my worst purchases ever. To me, Brother does not stand behind this product, so it is very doubtful that I would ever buy another product from them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
November 5, 2013
Jabber
WY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Biggest piece of junk I have ever bought

Cons: Jams Easily, Difficult to Set Up, Quality, Performance, Difficult to Use, Slow, takes forever to reset after any job.
Jams all the time or takes 2 sheets to print a page. Takes FOREVER to reset after each printing job. I have owned many printers but this is by far the worst I have had.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
November 5, 2013
Diane
Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

costly ink cartridges need replaced frequently

I use my printer about once per week. I have bought 2 sets of new inkjet cartridges already, as they dry up quickly if not used daily. I thought this would be an economical printer for my small home office, but quickly learned otherwise!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
August 18, 2013
loneredwolf
Helena, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Love it

Pros: Doesn't Jam, Good Value, Quality, Performance, Easy to Use, Fast, Easy to Set Up
I bought one for my dad, I turned around and bought another for myself. Easy to use,fax works great; fax is simple to use, can save documents in a word format. Very simple to use printing,scanning features . The ink is cheap to buy and it does a high quality printing, scanning and faxes. Would recommend brother products
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
August 10, 2013
Cherubian
Newport News, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Good Purchase

Pros: it prints very well.
Cons: usb cord needed to scan, usb cord not included
It is a good printer, but I wish I would have stuck with the MFC-490CW. I moved and left the MFC-490CW for my daughter, so I bought the J430w for my self. I do not like that it has to have a cord attached to my laptop in order for me to scan, I am use to just sticking my USB in the printer for that. Worse, the cord needed to scan did not come with it, so I have to buy one. Thus, I gave it 3 stars, but for some this may be the ideal printer, but not for me. I may switch with my daughter.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
August 10, 2013
TheMuttsNuts
Clermont florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

super value

Pros: easy to use.
Cons: none
So far it is proving to print, fax and scan as well as being much quieter than the more expensive printer we had that stopped working.
All in all the best invention since sliced bread.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
July 6, 2013
Mr P
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65

Ex-HP guy. Great product, great price.

I've always purchased HP printers, but now I'm a Brother convert. Four ink cartridges, cheaper ink, great software. fax works great with my internet phone. Exceeded all my expectations.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
July 5, 2013
Jay
Fremont,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:26 - 35

Good printer

I'm using it for a month now. It's working great and good printer.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
June 30, 2013
Renee S
Penrose, CO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65

Inexpensive and you get what you pay for

Cons: jams constantly
Not happy with the paper jams, not being able to use photo paper and just continual problems with paper feed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
June 16, 2013
Loufatt
Sullivan County, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65

Great printer

Pros: Doesn't Jam, Good Value, Easy to Use, Fast, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance, multi-function
I've been a lover of Brother printers for years and still have a MFC-240C at my office.
When my wife's printer died, I convinced her to get a Brother. We got this MFC-J430w unit specifically for it's wireless capability and it's ability to print from our iPhones. WE LOVE IT!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
May 28, 2013
hondo
Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:66 and above

Short Lasting

Pros: Easy to Set Up
Cons: Pricey/Poor Value, Jams Easily, Quality, Performance, Slow, lousy warranty
Most good posts are from short users about the quality. Scanner takes multiple pages if you aren't there, printer refuses to recognize cartridges when replaced, envelopes print with smudges, warranty only good if you buy overpriced Brother cartridges. When it does work, the color pictures are of good quality. Gonna spend a few more bucks and get a good unit, not another Brother.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
May 25, 2013
Jen
Modesto, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female
Age:26 - 35

Pain

Cons: Jams Easily, Quality, ink is used quickly
The worst part about this machine is the way you load the paper, it doesn't hold much and it is such a pain to put more in. I also do not like that if I am trying to print a document with only black- if the color ink is out, it will not print, even though I am not using color. Very clever way for the company to ensure they sell more ink cartridges- but customers will not like it. We have a nice copy/fax/printer at my workplace, so when looking for a home printer, I used the same company and ultimately purchased this, but so far it seems that the cheaper HP printer I previously had was better than this.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
May 25, 2013
mkoz
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Amateur
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65
Gender of user:Male
Age of user:51 - 60

Great buy

Pros: Good Value, Easy to Use, Fast, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Easy set up, good value fax works great, top feeder is a nice addition. Printing seems good ,good quality. Front load paper feed is great also. For the price you can't go wrong. Works great on wi fi and set up was very easy.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
May 25, 2013
wei
flushing ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online

slow but good for home

Pros: Good Value, Easy to Use, Easy to Set Up
Cons: Slow
Slow. The android app doesn't play well with it. IPhone app is good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
May 25, 2013
Nicole
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65

Excellent Purchase

Pros: Doesn't Jam, Good Value, Easy to Use, Fast, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
This is the best printer I have ever owned. It is so user friendly that I can do everything I need to do without looking anything up. I don't even know where my instruction booklet is but I haven't needed it because it is so simple. It never jams and runs perfectly. I highly recommend this printer for quality, price and ease of use.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
May 8, 2013
ted
ny,ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65

printer all in one nothing

Cons: Pricey/Poor Value, Jams Easily, Quality, Performance, Slow, horrible tech support
worst purchase ever. support by brother horrible. please do not purchase this all in one printer.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
March 31, 2013
Bryan
Seattle, WA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:26 - 35

I wanted to like this All-In-One

Pros: Easy to Use, quality printing, quality scanning, wireless is easy to set up
Cons: automatic ink cartridge cleaning wastes ink
I reviewed this All-In-One elsewhere shortly after I purchased it in 2011 and was very pleased with everything about it. As time went on, I discovered that the machine was regularly cleaning the ink cartridges (which uses ink), though I could see no reason why. After speaking to Brother, they said there was no way to turn this setting off - placing the machine in standby mode doesn't deter it either; it checks the heads daily at 12:00PM regardless.
I infrequently print so it is frustrating to see the ink levels drop though the MFC-J430w has seen little to no use.
Unfortunately I am now afraid to purchase other Brother products as I had planned. I've decided I will be going back to my old Epson as soon as this round of cartridges is dry.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brother® MFC-J430w Wireless Inkjet All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
March 23, 2013
Milt
Augusta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:66 and above

Chart Printing

Pros: convenient online ordering
Thus far it seems to be doing what I expected. I needed a printer that would print out candlestick stock charts for further analysis over time. So it serves my purposes and the added feature of being able to use it as scanner and fax machine was just a bonus. Essentially I was just looking for a good color printer and I already had a Brother HL 2140 printer so this was a good fit. The test will be the life of the color cartridges as they can be a little expensive compared to the toner life for the HL 2140?
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>