Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gateway® NV55S05u Laptop Computer With 15.6 LED-Backlit Screen & AMD Quad-Core A8-3500M Accelerated Processor, White

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Office Depot.

Gateway® NV55S05u Laptop Computer With 15.6 LED-Backlit Screen & AMD Quad-Core A8-3500M Accelerated Processor, White

Item #:661567
Average Customer Rating:
4.091 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(8)
4 stars
(0)
3 stars
(1)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(2)
8 of 10(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gateway® NV55S05u Laptop Computer With 15.6 LED-Backlit Screen & AMD Quad-Core A8-3500M Accelerated Processor, White
Review 1 for Gateway® NV55S05u Laptop Computer With 15.6 LED-Backlit Screen & AMD Quad-Core A8-3500M Accelerated Processor, White
January 24, 2012
flakjflkas
United States
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Student
Primary Use:School User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female
Age:16 - 25

DONT BUY!

Cons: hard drive didn't work right
When I first opened the laptop and turned it on I thought I got a great deal. I loved the number keys on the side, and they overall look of it was very nice. After a little use I started to notice that the battery pack felt a little loose and the plastic where the keypad is seemed a little cheap. Then three weeks into using it, I was in the middle of doing homework (college student) and the system shut itself down. If thats not frustrating enough, when I turned it back on an error message came up saying to insert a bootable device. After calling gateway and trying a few things to get it going we determined that it wasnt recognizing the hard drive. AFTER THREE WEEKS OF USE! and just my luck, I was past the 2-week return policy time frame to return it to office depot. Gateway refused to refund my money so my only option was to send it in for repair. It's on its way there now, we'll see how it turns out when I get it back in 7-10 business days with all of my files on the hard drive wiped out. Definitely regretting this purchase! The only reason I bought it was because someone dropped my dell and shattered the screen. I miss my dell so much, such better quality!!
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gateway® NV55S05u Laptop Computer With 15.6 LED-Backlit Screen & AMD Quad-Core A8-3500M Accelerated Processor, White
January 23, 2012
LIONSfan
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:36 - 45

Best I've found after shopping around

Pros: great multi gesture touchpad, crystal clear screen, fast processor that doesn't run too hot., better battery life than most (5-6 hours), awesome full chiclet keyboard, it's a gateway
Cons: speakers aren't real loud (not a dealbreaker), bloatware (expected) but easy to remove
I primarily needed a laptop for writing, research, and web browsing, so being a non-gamer this was perhaps more than what I needed. At the same time, it isn't because with this laptop you are getting much more bang for your buck than other places. I shopped around for a while before deciding on this one. The Multi-Gesture touchpad is easy to use, and overall speed is very impressive. The screen is clear although, as some have noted, the picture staying the same compared to the angle you are looking at is not as liberal as other screens. I haven't used the webcam camera because I don't care to or need it. Everyone has their distaste for bloatware, but that isn't a dealbreaker either. Overall, an awesome Gateway product.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gateway® NV55S05u Laptop Computer With 15.6 LED-Backlit Screen & AMD Quad-Core A8-3500M Accelerated Processor, White
January 14, 2012
ReservoirDog
Grants Pass, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Student
Primary Use:Pleasure
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:16 - 25

Very Nice

Pros: value, keyboard, graphics, processor, speed
Cons: Sound Quality
After searching for the best deals on laptops, I decided to buy this one. It was worth every penny! You cannot find another laptop for the same price with the same performance, graphics, and memory as this. The quad core really comes in handy when doing mutiple tasks. I was listening to pandora, playing a game, and downloading a recovery disc all at the same time, if it were my old computer it would surely shut down. The sound isn't very great on it, but I just bought a pair of decent headphones and solved that problem. Also, the keyboard has a very nice feeling to it; the raised keys really make a difference.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gateway® NV55S05u Laptop Computer With 15.6 LED-Backlit Screen & AMD Quad-Core A8-3500M Accelerated Processor, White
December 20, 2011
Calman
Detroit MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Pleasure
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65

Wait and see

Pros: great when running
Cons: iffy hard drive
I bought this one 12/17, charged the battery, fired it up and the hard drive beeped continuously until Windows 7 started loading, then the log on screen flashed by a few times (3 minutes of this) then settled down to allow me to log on. After setting this laptop up and putting all of my personal stuff on it, reboot, still beeping. Looked up HD beeping and according to all, not a good sign. Made up the Recovery Discs and backed up everything, first thing. Contacted Gateway tech and they were kind of helpful giving me some things to try, but nothing stopped the beeping. So, Office Depot exchanged it for me for the same model...It's charging the batt. now.. We'll wait and see.......
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gateway® NV55S05u Laptop Computer With 15.6 LED-Backlit Screen & AMD Quad-Core A8-3500M Accelerated Processor, White
December 19, 2011
gm25
WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Pleasure
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:36 - 45
Gender of user:Female
Age of user:11 - 20

Worst Purchase ever!

Cons: no service even under warranty
Hard drive failed after 4 months still was under warranty. Gateway expects you to buy the recovery cd 20 bucks . They say its on hard drive but if your hard drive fails to bad and you have to give them credit card info to replace the hard drive. Junk don't buy gateway provides no service!!!
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gateway® NV55S05u Laptop Computer With 15.6 LED-Backlit Screen & AMD Quad-Core A8-3500M Accelerated Processor, White
December 16, 2011
Poego66
Topeka, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Amateur
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65

Plug N Play

Pros: ease of operation
This laptop is so easy to get set up. It is loaded with new technology that is truly amazing. It is lightweight and easy to use. It recognized my router and got on line instantly.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gateway® NV55S05u Laptop Computer With 15.6 LED-Backlit Screen & AMD Quad-Core A8-3500M Accelerated Processor, White
October 16, 2011
DailyNewsFarm
Planet Earth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Pleasure
Bought this product:In-store

Great Laptop for the Money

Pros: amd a8 processor is a champ, 6 gb ram is plenty for most people, dx 11 graphics, hdmi out
Cons: a bit plasticy, speakers among the worst i've ever heard
I purchased this laptop about a month ago. It is used every day to update my website(dailynewsfarm dot com), surf the web, and play games. Granted, I'm not a hardcore gamer, but I do prefer to have a capable machine and this laptop fits the bill.
Here are the Windows ratings that I get running Windows 7 Home Premium.
Overall: 5.9
Processor: 6.6
Ram: 7.2
Graphics 5.9
Gaming Graphics 6.5
Hard Disk: 5.9
In addition to moderate gaming, I also develop software using Visual Studio and other web design tools. Having four cpu cores is a definite plus when working with all of this.
This is a great laptop for students, professionals, and moderate gamers. Hardcore gamers may want to look at something with an I7 processor and a beefier video card. With that being said I play MMORPGs with the graphics in DX11 and cranked pretty high and the laptop does not skip a beat.
This is the first Gateway product I have owned for many years and I have to say I'm impressed.
22 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gateway® NV55S05u Laptop Computer With 15.6 LED-Backlit Screen & AMD Quad-Core A8-3500M Accelerated Processor, White
September 19, 2011
Manco
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65

Nice

Pros: amd quad core + ati graphics, run's cooler than my dell dual core intel laptop
Cons: screen viewing angle is not too wide
I wanted a low cost, yet decent performing laptop for home use. When I did my research, I was pleasantly surprised to see that AMD has come out with a solid Quad Core + ATI video combination at this price point. I have been using it for a few days and I think this will serve me well for the next few years. I almost didn't purchase the computer because the demo system in the store had a keyboard that the space bar didn't work very well on and the keyboard felt cheap. When I got the actual computer, the keyboard felt much better and the space bar doesn't miss a key.
7 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gateway® NV55S05u Laptop Computer With 15.6 LED-Backlit Screen & AMD Quad-Core A8-3500M Accelerated Processor, White
September 5, 2011
leonmac73
Savannah, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Pleasure
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:36 - 45

Excellent Computer For The Money

Pros: 6gb ram, 640gb hard drive, graphics for gaming, keyboard layout
Cons: speakers not too loud
At first it was a little "glicthy", distortions on my Facebook page when using Firefox. Not really noticeable fast. Speaker bar could use a boost, can't really get a loud decent sound. So I decided to lean on it a bit. I'm currently writting this review with three tabs open on my browser, a P2P client running with active uploads and downloads, Windows Explorer open with three Windows, antivirus, HWMonitor running to monitor temps, Adobe Acrobat running, AND I'm watching a movie. Switching between tasks this laptop doesn't skip a beat. The extra ram and quad core design really shows. Very fast for the money. Played two games so far, Tomb Raider Anniversary and Need For Speed Pro Street and it performed very well. Very good frame rates at medium and high settings. Keyboard keys are spaced very nice, laptop runs cool, no heating issues. No buyer's remorse, happy with my decision to buy this Gateway. I used to hate Gateway for about ten years, but I think they are winning me back on this one.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gateway® NV55S05u Laptop Computer With 15.6 LED-Backlit Screen & AMD Quad-Core A8-3500M Accelerated Processor, White
September 5, 2011
pretribrapper
Oak Creek, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:26 - 35

Awesome Machine powered by AMD

Pros: fast quad core processor, 400 shader cores on gpu, raedon graphics, huge hdd, 6gb ram, keyboard layout and design, price, speaker location on top
Cons: mediocre battery life, average audio quality
I have had all sorts of Laptops in my life from cheap little netbooks to Asus gaming laptops and Dell XPS machines and I, by far like this one the most. First off I love the new A series APU's by AMD. Though not as fast as the Core i7 they can easily run with the i5's and even have been benchmarked to outperform them especially when overclocked. I got an extremely great deal on this machine and though many of my brethren do not like anything by Gateway, I love them. They are affordable, simple, and my machines last long. This is the second one I currently have. The huge benefit to this machine is the price and the graphics. Though the graphics are integrated and discrete, the blow away any integrated graphics that come on the intel machines. Windows Experience Index base score for this machine is 5.9.
Processor- 6.7
Memory- 7.3
Desktop Performance for Windows Aero- 5.9
Gaming Graphics- 6.5
Primary Hard Disk- 5.9
This machine is untouched when you compare dollar for dollar.
11 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gateway® NV55S05u Laptop Computer With 15.6 LED-Backlit Screen & AMD Quad-Core A8-3500M Accelerated Processor, White
July 31, 2011
PVTJR
Fayetteville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65
Gender of user:Male
Age of user:21 - 30

Gateway Laptop

The computer was purchased for my son. He is a college student in the computer science field. He told me the computer has the best all around features and software for the price range he was looking for. I use a Gateway and now he does as well. The last one he had he built and this time he didn't have too because this one had everything he needed. My Gateway is still running good after 4 years which is great for a computer so the brand is a solid purchase.
42 of 47 people found this review helpful.