Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Brother® HL-2140 Monochrome Laser Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Office Depot.

Brother® HL-2140 Monochrome Laser Printer

Item #:674670
Average Customer Rating:
3.87 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(9)
4 stars
(9)
3 stars
(0)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(2)
18 of 23(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brother® HL-2140 Monochrome Laser Printer
Review 1 for Brother® HL-2140 Monochrome Laser Printer
October 29, 2010
VincentJG
Great Lakes
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Student
Primary Use:School User
Gender:Male
Bought this product:Online

Good basic laser printer

Pros: fast reliable cheap
Cons: reports toner is out too early
I bought this printer because I print a lot of study and reading material for college. It does an excellent job at that. I almost use the manual duplex mode for everything I print and that works excellent. Out of the 400 duplex pages I've printed so far, its only jammed once.
Like others I have run into the problem with the printer stating the toner is out when in reality it still prints everything fine. The black tape trick worked. This issue is what keeps it from getting five stars.
Review 2 for Brother® HL-2140 Monochrome Laser Printer
October 13, 2010
BBLLLC
LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Traditional Office
Primary Use:Business User
Gender:Female
Age:26 - 35
Bought this product:In-store

Good Enough for What I Need

Pros: prints quickly, good quality print
Cons: toner sensor, expensive drum
Everyone in my small office uses this desktop printer for their basic needs. We are satisfied with the work that it does, but not with the parts. The toner does go out very quickly. The sensor on the toner is very delicate. I had to Google around to see what the issue was with this. I put black tape on each end of the toner sensor to set it off. Now the printer does not notify us when the toner is out.. we only know because the printed pages are light/blank. Another issue we have is the drum. It is expensive and does not last very long. When it goes out, we buy a new printer instead. If Brother would fix these 2 issues then this printer would be a 5 star!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brother® HL-2140 Monochrome Laser Printer
September 12, 2010
BusyNSanDiego
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online

Priced right for home

Love the Brother printers! I have owned other major brands, but for the price Brother beats them. I own the MFC-7840W and the HL2140. They use the same Drum and toner cartridge so I save when buying the consumables.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brother® HL-2140 Monochrome Laser Printer
September 5, 2010
macbookuser
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Student
Primary Use:Home User
Gender:Female
Bought this product:Online

Works great with Mac OSX

This printer worked out of the box with Mac OS X (10.6). I didn't have to install anything, not even the drivers that came with the printer. I have not had any problems with the printer, it has all the promised features and it was a great price!
Review 5 for Brother® HL-2140 Monochrome Laser Printer
August 21, 2010
rebelfutureteacher
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Student
Primary Use:School User
Gender:Female
Age:26 - 35
Bought this product:In-store

Best birthday present I got myself

Pros: great quality
Cons: pricey toner cartridges
I bought this printer in May this year (2010) and am still using the starter toner that came with it. I'm going to school to be a teacher so I have to print out a LOT of stuff! 3 months later, I am going to go buy a toner cartirdge. The toner light blinks when I print but I will still use the starter until the pages start fading away. Those of you who have read the bad reviews on this printer, don't be discouraged. The reviewers may not have taken into consideration that either they printed a ton of pages within 14 days as one person said or they forgot that the toner that came with the printer is just a starter. I was told it would be good for about 1,000 pages but I have printed more than that. Overall, this is a great printer!
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brother® HL-2140 Monochrome Laser Printer
July 26, 2010
aC319
Mississippi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Gender:Female
Age:26 - 35
Bought this product:Online

Worst Printer To Buy!!!

Cons: toner used to quickly, doesn't last long
THis is one of the worst printer's ever....do not purchase it....uses toner up in 14 days.....14 DAYS people please do not waste your money!!!
7 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brother® HL-2140 Monochrome Laser Printer
July 2, 2010
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Traditional Office
Primary Use:Business User
Gender:Male
Age:26 - 35
Bought this product:Online

Great Printer...for my needs

Pros: speed, affordability, size
Cons: pricey toner cartridges
I've had this printer for over 6 months now and have had no issues with it at all. I am writing this review really in defense of all the bad reviews it has received. I set the printer up on our network at work with no problems, and have even since then added my boss with the same amount of ease. The quality is great and the speed is unmatched for a laser printer this affordable. I made the upgrade because I hated having to walk down the hall to the big laser printer to gather my prints, plus having to wait on an inkjet became annoying when I had to grab my prints and run them around the building as quickly as possible. The noise isn't really an issue and don't feel it's any louder than most laser jet printers. Bottom-line: If you want a fast printer that is easy to setup and reliable for a fantastic price I would say look no further than the Brother HL-2140!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brother® HL-2140 Monochrome Laser Printer
June 21, 2010
patr
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65
Bought this product:Online

Great Laser Printer

Fast Delivery and the printer was quick and easy to install. It looks nice and prints fast with great print quality. I only need a black and white printer and inkjets use up the color cartridges as quick as the black and white, then you have to buy both cartridges in order to print again. Will never use an inkjet again.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brother® HL-2140 Monochrome Laser Printer
June 16, 2010
OfficeReviewer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Networking Issues

Pros: good price
Cons: problems networking
Attempted all 3 connection types (USB, Ethernet & Wireless) and had issues with networking this printer. The USB would work but any computer that would connect to the share would then not be able to print to another printer on the network. Also setup the wireless and it initially worked but then lost connectivity and neither wireless or the ethernet connection would work thereafter. None of the troubleshooting or tools would assist in getting it to reconnect.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brother® HL-2140 Monochrome Laser Printer
May 1, 2010
camj
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Business User
Gender:Female
Age:36 - 45
Bought this product:Online

Printer noisy

Has a persistent loud humming noise after printing that last for an inordinate amount of time! Returned it to my local Office Depot store, and they exchanged it. The replacement had a very faint hum, lasting a short amount of time. Not so annoying, but still more than I've ever experienced with the other laser printers that I have owned. It prints quickly and the print quality is excellent. Great price, which is why I'm not trading up to another model. In general, I think Brother printers are excellent.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brother® HL-2140 Monochrome Laser Printer
April 28, 2010
CPAFirm
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Traditional Office
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online

Not Meant For Business Use

If you don't do a lot of printing (500 pages or less per month), this machine is great. Anything over that, this printer just doesn't cut it. We have to order toner constantly (even using toner save mode) and the cost of a drum replacement is ridiculous. This printer is not the "office workhorse" that the description claims.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Brother® HL-2140 Monochrome Laser Printer
April 21, 2010
OfficeSupplyOrderer
Atlanta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Gender:Female
Age:36 - 45
Bought this product:Online

poor product

I ordered this product and was so excited because I read the great reviews and it was on sale. However, when my printer arrived I plugged it up and it did not work. There was no power on it at all and I tried 3 different outlets.
1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brother® HL-2140 Monochrome Laser Printer
February 23, 2010
Itsy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65
Bought this product:Online

Great printer

If all you need to print is B&W, this little printer is great. I use the toner saver mode & run a small business where I may print 300-500+ pages per day. Excellent & I've had no problems with jamming. I don't do envelopes, but labels work just fine.
No problems yet here and a great price, too. I got 2 toner refills (high yield) for less than $100, but am still on the "starter" cartridge that came with the printer.
Wish I'd gotten one with the rebate that made it appox. $50. That's worth the new drum...Was too busy at work to get away that week. Next time I'll either be there or send someone else, lol.
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brother® HL-2140 Monochrome Laser Printer
December 6, 2009
Tractorman3
Winter Springs, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Home User
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65
Bought this product:Online

Brother HL-2140 Laser Printer

Pros: Easy to Use, Value for Money
Excellent home printer. Good quality and speed. Easy set up. Great price included delivery!
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brother® HL-2140 Monochrome Laser Printer
September 12, 2009
centtaco
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Business User
Gender:Male
Age:26 - 35
Bought this product:In-store
Gender of user:Male
Age of user:21 - 30

Awesome for small business

Pros: Easy to Use, Performance, Value for Money, Design, Quiet
I bought this printer in-store one sale for about half off the retail price. So far I have printed about 500 sheets. All have come out great looking. Very quite, easy to set up.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Brother® HL-2140 Monochrome Laser Printer
May 19, 2009
InsuranceOfficeManager
Farmington, Maine
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Gender:Female
Age:16 - 25
Bought this product:Online

Horrible Choice

Pros: Value for Money, Design
Cons: Build Quality, Performance, Sound Quality, Design
The printer is a nice size, but unless you are looking for a paperweight I would NOT buy this printer. It is loud, the envelope deisgn is horrible! You have to pull open the front, which sucks the envelope (or label) under the ink cartridge and then you have to open the trap door in the back and it spits it out there, not in the print tray. I don't know about you, but the back of my printer is not easily accessable. I sent it back the very next day and ordered the HL5340. Which is better, but does have its own quirks...doesn't liek to do labels on a regular basis either. Overall buy a different model!
20 of 50 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brother® HL-2140 Monochrome Laser Printer
March 21, 2009
RadianChalant
Northwest of Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65
Bought this product:Online

HL-2140 - PERFECT LITTLE PRINTER

Pros: Easy to Use, Performance, Value for Money, Design, Quiet, beautiful-looking machine
Cons: none at all
The HL-2140 is intended for light-duty use, personal or home office. It is not intended for use in large office, where hundreds of pages are printed everyday. This printer is a laser printer that uses toner (graphite-colored powder) that is burned into the paper; it is not made to do photos, especially on photo papers. This Brother printer prints fast and is relatively quiet. You can control many of your user preferences from the printer's preferences. The print qualities at 600 dpi and 1200 dpi is simply outstanding. Read the directions. Also, download the newest drivers from the Brother website. To get every bit of toner powder out of the cartridge, first remove the toner unit from the drum assembly. Second, find the little circular window on the right-side of the toner cartridge. Third, place a piece of black electrical tape over the clear window, cannot be clear tape. Fourth, re-install the toner cartridge into the drum assembly. Last, put the complete unit back into your printer. This is a great little printer.
64 of 64 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brother® HL-2140 Monochrome Laser Printer
February 25, 2009
MaryR
Little Rock, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65
Bought this product:Online

Great ....but not perfect....

Pros: Easy to Use, Performance, Value for Money, Quiet
Cons: high toner replacement price, high drum replacement price
I do about 35-40 payroll checks per week and 25-30 A/P checks per week. Works like a charm. Professional quality for great looking documents. Printer cartridge is a little pricey as is the drum price.
My company is on it's second one....and both have been great. (Now if it just print color, too....)
17 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brother® HL-2140 Monochrome Laser Printer
September 17, 2008
Marg
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Amateur
Primary Use:Home User
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65
Bought this product:In-store
Gender of user:Female

Perfect Little Printer

Pros: small size quality printing easy set-up
Cons: the paper tray does feel "lightweight."
For months I drove my family crazy looking for a printer that would fit into the tiny cabinet area when my small HP printer died. I couldn't believe it when Office Depot had this little workhorse on sale for about $50 with a rebate. I got my money back fairly soon. The 2140 has worked like a dream...no problems with set-up, quality printing, paper feed, and I've not had to get more toner. Buying a new 2140 on sale for about the price of new toner is mighty tempting. If you don't have a lot of space nor a lot of printing to do and don't need color, this is definitely the best printer
28 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brother® HL-2140 Monochrome Laser Printer
July 31, 2008
celticfan
Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:School User
Gender:Male
Age:26 - 35
Bought this product:In-store

Very good...but not perfect

Bought this machine for use in my classroom and have used it for 4 months. For printing just documents, it does a fantastic job - quick and excellent print quality. 2 concerns: 1) it is not built in a sturdy manner with some parts that feel flimsy (e.g. paper tray) and 2) the toner cartridges don't have long life (1500 for normal, 2600 for high-yield) which raises the cost per sheet (.03 for normal, .025 for high-yield). I have found other brands where the CPS is about .01-.015. Still, for my simple needs, it was an excellent buy and has given me no problems at all.
31 of 31 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>