Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Brother® HL-2170W Wireless Monochrome Laser Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Office Depot.

Brother® HL-2170W Wireless Monochrome Laser Printer

Item #:674835
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(8)
4 stars
(3)
3 stars
(2)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(0)
11 of 13(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brother® HL-2170W Wireless Monochrome Laser Printer
Review 1 for Brother® HL-2170W Wireless Monochrome Laser Printer
September 21, 2010
914934
Cheyenne, WY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Gender:Female
Age:26 - 35
Bought this product:In-store

Loving it!

Pros: easy setup, prints clean, quieter than earlier models, nice looking printer
I am not sure why others are saying its hard to set up. I have a mac. I plugged it in and immediately started printing. It was that easy but then again, I have a mac not windows. After using it for a bit directly plugged in to one of my desktops, I moved it, plugged it into my airport and never had to any problems.
I don't see any problems with quality. I am loving how clear the printing is, especially since I've been printing resumes and copies of important documents lately. It spits out my prints in no time.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brother® HL-2170W Wireless Monochrome Laser Printer
July 28, 2010
AUSmiths
Thomasville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Amateur
Primary Use:Home User
Gender:Female
Age:26 - 35
Bought this product:In-store

Love It!

Pros: inexpensive, Quiet, Easy to Set Up, quick printing, compact an easy to store
After reading the reviews, I was prepared for set-up to be a long, frustrating process. It was NOT. All I did was pop in the CD, run set-up with my computer connected to the printer, then hooked the printer up to our wireless router via Ethernet cable. Just follow the on-screen instructions and you shouldn't have any problems. It took me less than an hour from start to clean-up.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brother® HL-2170W Wireless Monochrome Laser Printer
March 7, 2010
Norm
SW Mi.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Gender:Male
Age:66 and above
Bought this product:Online

Smart buy

Pros: nice clear print, econominal printing, quite operating
Cons: no auto start print, need to keep on
Wireless very simple via cat-5 cable to set up, quite operation toner change easy, fast printing.and econominal for largely B/W, small footprint, large paper storage feed
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brother® HL-2170W Wireless Monochrome Laser Printer
February 2, 2010
averageuser
Mississippi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Business User
Gender:Female
Age:36 - 45

Great for the price

As the other reviews stated, initial setup is not for the faint of heart. But, I got it done. There is a separate set of instructions on the Brother website that I used to install successfully. They are different from the instructions that come with the printer. Also, use the option to temporarily use an ether net cable even for wireless for the install. Be aware that the default setting on the computer will be that the toner saver is turned off. You may want to change that setting in preferences.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brother® HL-2170W Wireless Monochrome Laser Printer
December 20, 2009
rwscents
New Windsor
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Business User
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65
Bought this product:In-store

Nice Machine

Perfect and sturdy little laser printer. Perfect for my needs and even survived a tumble down a flight of stairs with only a little road rash.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brother® HL-2170W Wireless Monochrome Laser Printer
December 16, 2009
KBnNTX
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Gender:Female
Age:26 - 35
Bought this product:Online

Low price, but high quality

Pros: fast printing, compact size, Good Value
Cons: a little difficult to install
For anyone needing a simple everyday laser printer, this is definitely one to consider. It's small size and wireless feature make it ideal for a home office.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brother® HL-2170W Wireless Monochrome Laser Printer
October 30, 2009
srvfan
IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:School User
Gender:Male
Age:36 - 45
Bought this product:In-store

Excellent for the price paid

Pros: Easy to Use, Value for Money, Design
Cons: made with cheap plastic
Great wireless printer!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brother® HL-2170W Wireless Monochrome Laser Printer
June 4, 2009
magic
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Home User
Gender:Male
Bought this product:In-store

Wireless difficult to setup

Pros: Value for Money
Cons: poor wireless setup
I purchased this printer for my son and one for myself based on fairly decent reviews. I really wanted a wireless printer to reduce clutter and be able to use my notebooks from anywhere in the house.
When I helped my son set this up wirelessly, it seemed a bit awkward even for someone like me who is fairly tech savvy on these types of things. The instructions didn't seem to flow right. Anyway, we did everything per the instructions and it did not work wirelessly. So, we reset everything several times and it still would not work.
So , the next day he called the tech support for Brother, and there was a voice message saying that if you were having trouble setting up the 2170W, enter a certain number (not good when you hear this). When he got connected, they were able to get him running without too much addition work. Works fine.
Now it's my turn. I went through the same stuff, reset, reset, install. Still nothing. So, I called Brother tech support and got a guy who was very familiar with the issue and got me running after a LOT of configuring. We had to play around with the IP address settings and some other things to get it running wirelessly. It should never be this difficult.
I have setup and configured sereral HP wireless printers and they were extremely easy to do. Simple. Not so with this Brother unit. When I asked the tech support guy about this, he said that this was the only Brother printer that they have had issues with, but that it was basically a good printer.
So far, after one week, everything seems OK. Good print quality.
+26points
29out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brother® HL-2170W Wireless Monochrome Laser Printer
February 23, 2009
PenCoast
Moss Beach, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Business User
Gender:Male
Age:26 - 35
Bought this product:In-store

See Good things Come Still in Small Packages

Pros: Easy to Use, Features, Performance, Value for Money, Design, Quiet
Cons: toner notification /low indicator non
Now when it comes to Laser Printers.. You may want to pay a few more bucks and buy the biggest baddest thing out there. For me, my small business is on a budget and I work from home. My key purchasing feature was the wireless capability. I paid a fair price for a fair product. The only thing that I have noticed that was kinda a bummer was when your out of toner.. Your Out. No shaking that drum to get more natures black marker. Nope no warning its just done. I will experiment more on that one.
I noticed a reviewer having problems w/ the interface. I am a tech savy guy so to me there isn't anything different from the configuration of the printer than my other laser printers.
Really remember when your buying a printer.. its not the printer that your so worried about its how much to replace the toner.
Hope this helps out a bit.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brother® HL-2170W Wireless Monochrome Laser Printer
November 20, 2008
Hiroshima
Seattle, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Student
Primary Use:Home User
Gender:Male
Age:16 - 25
Bought this product:In-store

Fastest printer I've had

Pros: Easy to Use, Features, Performance, Value for Money, Design, blazing fast speeds
Cons: none
Easy to setup on a wired network. Haven't tried the wireless yet. Just follow the instructions, load the drivers off the cd before plugging in the printer, and the installation program will prompt you when to hook it up. Worked flawlessly.
I swear this thing printed 250 pages for me in about 6 or 7 minutes, I could not believe how fast it emptied the tray- it seems to print a full page every second. Just watch out when you have 50+ pages printed. Take the batch off the tray while its printing or they will start falling all over the place.
I highly recommend this to anyone who needs to print a lot of pages quickly. The included toner cartridge says it has a yield of 1000 pages, and I'm inclined to believe it. Great quality, no jams, and no paper curls.
5 *****
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brother® HL-2170W Wireless Monochrome Laser Printer
May 5, 2008
Kenneth
Tucson AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am a(n):Traditional Office
Primary Use:Business User
Gender:Male
Age:26 - 35
Bought this product:Online

Average, suitable, does not excel

Pros: small size, Easy to Use
Cons: toner not used effectively, or might not hold as much toner as claimed
This printer rates Average Quality
The benefits are its small size, and ease use
The primary problem is Toner management. The cartridges are supposed to have 65 grams of toner and yield 1500 pages at 5%. However I have gone through 6 cartridges after only several hundred pages. after using the first few cartridges, I decided that they felt heavy when the printer said they were empty and needed to be changed. Simply shaking the cartridge will not allow you to proceed, once the Printer detects it is empty it will not print until an new cartridge is installed.
I weighed the before and after on each toner cartridge, and found a difference of 1.1 ounces between the full and empty cartridges. 1.1 ounces is only 31 grams. so it seems that either the printer is incapable of using all 65 grams of toner, or the cartridges are not as full as they should be.
+45points
47out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Brother® HL-2170W Wireless Monochrome Laser Printer
February 20, 2008
Java1Guy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store

Still configuring

Pros: speed print quality, built-in web server for status
Cons: configuration issues
I also bought this to avoid costly inkjet cartridge purchases. The wireless feature seemed nice since we have 3 computers - Windows and Mac. It configured easily but only in a WIRED configuration. The one step-push button configuration is nice except that it doesn't print out the page that is supposed to come out with the network settings :(
Also, it is somehow stuck on single-sheet feed paper source. No idea how to get it to feed from the tray.
Other than that, it is fast and good quality printing!
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brother® HL-2170W Wireless Monochrome Laser Printer
January 28, 2008
guitarerro
Albuquerque, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65
Bought this product:In-store

Brother HL-2170W

Pros: fast printing, b/g wireless, 14 lbs fully dressed, quick warmup, auto sleep mode
Cons: produces power spikes, slight paper curl
Just bought this two days ago and have printed a few dozen pages.
This replacing a failed HP 2600N color laser.
Here's my take on this Brother printer:
*Setup- A little tricky but not impossible. Be sure to load the software first as mentioned in the setup guide, even on a hardwire network.
*Power Consumption- you may want to put this on its own power circuit as it seems to draws power in big quick gulps. My desklamp flickers dramtically when this is on, even on a separate (AC) circuit.
*Printer speed- This is THE fastest printer I've seen to date for a small office printer! If you just want a small, light, FAST printer with no bells and whistles, get this one!
The wireless option is a great asset and may come in handy now or later.
*Print quality- this prints just fine, looks like output form a copier- matt black print, no gloss. No smear after printing unlike an inkjet.
Overall, for $150 + tax, this is a great little printer. A few quirks like a little paper curl, somewhat noisy printing, power grabbing spikes.
But, for the buck, and it's ability to set an internal IP address, wireless B/G, hardwire NIC, and USB makes this a winner in my book.
Pluses are ultra quick print jobs, sleep mode after 5 minutes (user adjustable timeout sleep/standy).
This little printer warms up QUICK, less than 20 seconds to print. Once warmed up, print command to paper output is less than 10 seconds (text).
VERY happy with this! Easy to move too, less than 15 lbs including paper.
+86points
86out of 86found this review helpful.