Office Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Office Depot
Shop Clocks or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus ePrint All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Office Depot.

HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus ePrint All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax

Item #:708324
Average Customer Rating:
3.468 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(216 Reviews) 216
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(90)
4 stars
(35)
3 stars
(17)
2 stars
(34)
1 star
(40)
128 of 216(59%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus ePrint All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
Review 1 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus ePrint All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
September 16, 2011
dkid43
san antonio, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store

Second review

I bought the HP Office Jet pro and it didn't perform properly and had to return it after 3 days. The second printer works well and does all it promises.
It has many features and prints nicely; love the huge capacity ink cartriges, makes printing affordable. would recommend this printer.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus ePrint All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
August 19, 2011
Pros
Omaha, NE
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Not Very Reliable

At first the printer worked great. Then it started giving repeated error messages that it was out of paper when it in fact had paper. When it thinks it is out of paper you have to wait several seconds for it to run throught its back & forth mode before it will give you the chance to hit ok. Very time consuming. Also the scanner feeds crooked every time. We are sending this printer back and they are sending us a refurbished one. When that warranty wears out I think I'm done with HP products.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus ePrint All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
June 14, 2011
Disgruntled consumer
City, State
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Not HP quality

I was excited at the prospect of saving paper by printing on two sides, it is incredibly slow and often the paper will jam when it is turning the paper over and get stuck. The lid on the paper tray just sits there so it is constantly flying off when it gets bumped. When it prints the quality is excellent but the annoyances are not worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus ePrint All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
June 9, 2011
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Cool feature

Love the e-Print feature to be able to print from anywhere or send someone else a printout at the location where the printer is.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus ePrint All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
April 25, 2011
Anonymous
Omaha, NE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus - Very Pleased

I've read other's reviews, and while I can relate to many of the "cons", overall, our cost-benefit analysis of this machine, overroad the cons. I've never had any set-up, software, driver or any other problem.
We originally purchased another HP8500, and fell in love with it. We spend $300 a month in printing, and this unit reduced our costs by 40%.
Yes, the delay in cleaning the print heads can be annoying at times, but I'm so busy multi-tasking, that it is rarely bothersome.
I'm looking to buy another one of these units for each of our meeting rooms.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus ePrint All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
April 18, 2011
Hevwc
San Antonio, Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Slow but good otherwise

Easy to install and to operate. A lot slower than my last HP color inkjet printer which cost 1/2 as much. Print Quality very good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus ePrint All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
April 18, 2011
turk
Hickory NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Traditional Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65
Gender of user:Female
Age of user:51 - 60

Very good printer

Pros: good product at a reasonable price
I have purchased many printers for home and where I work also, and got to say that all of the HP printers have worked very good. this printer really does a good job and to this day has given me no reason to change to another brand. At work we are always trying other brands, and got to say that HP is one of the better brands for most printing needs.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus ePrint All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
March 25, 2011
scleere1
florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Gender:Male
Age:36 - 45
Bought this product:In-store

Need a Printer ? This one is AWSOME

I am a tecky and do tons of printing. I used to have the HP 7310
up until it just passed on to printer heaven, this one lasted well over 9 years !!! I had been researching for a new printer and desided to stay with the HP Brand. although the 7310 was a huge ink hog and not cheap. Now I have this model "I Love It" for me this was way too easy for the whole setup process, The fax and wireless setup was a breez ! One word of advise no matter what printer you choose If you dont know much about printers and it features Read the Manuals if not go online and research the problem As too the type of Paper to use? Dont get cheap paper like multipurpose that jams the feeders.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus ePrint All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
February 14, 2011
clbrowns
Charleston, CS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Business User
Gender:Male
Age:36 - 45
Bought this product:In-store

Once Again Disappointed with HP

Pros: prints are good quality
Cons: scanner software is very poor
This is the second, and hopefully last, HP printer that I have purchased. I continually have trouble with the scanning feature. If I print something, then immediately insert that page into the scanner, I do not understand how the scanner won’t communicate with my PC. It then tries to reinstall the printer to my laptop. Also, the scanning software that comes with the printer is very cumbersome and not user friendly. Brother printers run with PaperPort software that is MUCH superior.
Also, if the paper size is set to “Automatic” when you copy something, why do I have to go in the menu and specify legal paper? When copying legal to legal, it stops at the 11” unless to specify otherwise.
I never experienced these problems with the Brother printer I used to have. I guess twice burned will teach me a lesson.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus ePrint All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
January 16, 2011
printsalot
Tennessee
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store

OK if you want lots of yellow

Pros: scans well
Cons: colors are not true
Gotta take it back. I've owned lots of HP printers - my last one died and had to be replaced - while I thought it would be nice to have an all-in-one, I must say I'm not pleased. It does scan well, but beware when printing photos or anything that requires precise color. Ivory comes out yellow - no matter what you do. After exhausting all "fixes" the HP tech has to offer - I've come to the conclusion this printer has a quirk that can't be fixed. And you cannot configure duplex printing to work manually.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus ePrint All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
December 24, 2010
Anonymous
lancaster, ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

printer

not many directions for the advanced printer. good thing husband is computer/printer savvy. wouldn't print from laptops or desktop from hp solution center - husband figured out there was a patch online to get it going. it's constantly telling us there is a printer head check or alignment check. it's not as fast as we want it to be when all we want to do is make a simple copy or scan something. for the money we probably should have chosen differently.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus ePrint All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
December 21, 2010
tech guy
City, State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great printer

I have only had the new HP 8500a Plus for about two weeks, but so far it has been great. Easy setup and works like a charm. I replacxed an 8 year old HP.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus ePrint All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
November 22, 2010
mga1
pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Great printer

This is a very user-friendly computer. Love the web printing capabilities and online picture tutorials!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus ePrint All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
November 6, 2010
Anonymous
Houston, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65
Bought this product:In-store

Big Disappointment

Pros: wireless finds and connects easily to the router
Cons: paper feeder does not work, document feeder does not work
I have returned 3 of these printers because either the document feeder and or the paper feeder didn't work.
Has nice features and the setup was easy but HP needs to develop better paper handling mechanisms.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus ePrint All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, Fax
Based on the average of (202) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 120 out of 202