Office Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Office Depot
Shop Clocks or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Epson® WorkForce™ GT-S50 Sheetfed Scanner

Epson® WorkForce™ GT-S50 Sheetfed Scanner

Item #:717325
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(279 Reviews) 279
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(171)
4 stars
(48)
3 stars
(20)
2 stars
(9)
1 star
(31)
228 of 278(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Epson® WorkForce™ GT-S50 Sheetfed Scanner
Review 1 for Epson® WorkForce™ GT-S50 Sheetfed Scanner
March 25, 2014
Tori
Portland, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

TRUE WORKHORSE

Pros: Doesn't Jam, Good Value, Easy to Use, Fast, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
I have two scanners in my office, but this one was suggested by our project manager. I cannot believe the difference! Fast, efficient, and handles a lot of different paper sizes. The only issue I have had is with paper jams, as when I don't catch loose tape or an errant staple.
I have since scanned all our historical personnel data, all of our 2012 and 2013 sales invoices (from our old system) and wow! I got this all done in a few short hours. Best office product I have ever purchased.
Two of my friends have since purchased this same product and have followed up with me to say their scanners are fantastic, too!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Epson® WorkForce™ GT-S50 Sheetfed Scanner
August 2, 2013
Big John
Ojai, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Epson scanner GT-S50

Pros: Easy to Use, Fast, Easy to Set Up
I had a Cannon flat bed scanner before. A single page would take 15 seconds (300dpi) and the file would be slightly over - get this - iMB! The Epson, scanning at 600dpi (its equivalent of the Cannon 300dpi) takes about five seconds, and the file size is under 1 KB. (More than 10 times smaller). It's well designed and compact.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Epson® WorkForce™ GT-S50 Sheetfed Scanner
February 26, 2013
MrBinray
Willmar, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Cross Platform

I use this on both PC & Mac and it works great. Of course the PC software comes with OCR, but the face that it works with both is a plus.
I have also tested the 75 page feed, and the first time it worked no problem, the second and third time it grabbed two pages at the same time which was annoying.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Epson® WorkForce™ GT-S50 Sheetfed Scanner
February 3, 2013
Durvad1
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65

Great Scanner

Pros: duplex scanning in single pass, rarely jams, good software
Cons: only usb connection
We have purchased about 10 of these scanners over the last 2 years. They are very dependable and easy to use. Very few paper jams. If you need duplex scanning this unit will scan both sides in one pass. Comes with nice scanning software also. Wish it had a network connection so it could be shared with multiple workstations.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Epson® WorkForce™ GT-S50 Sheetfed Scanner
November 28, 2012
jde
Austin, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online

okay if not using as work scanner

Cons: Print Quality
I do like this scanner, however I work from home and scan documents everyday. I have had this scanner for about a year and is starting to get a large blue line down the left side of my pages that is about 2 inches wide. For the price of the scanner, I dont think there should be an issue such as this yet. It is very easy to use and would buy again IF I didnt have to use it on a daily basis.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Epson® WorkForce™ GT-S50 Sheetfed Scanner
November 25, 2012
basementjack
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:36 - 45

Great scanner on a mac

I bought this to use with my Mac, I liked that it came with a twain driver so that I wasn't limited in which programs I used.
I found however that twain scanning is a little slow - apple has another method called image capture - there is a cheap program on the app store called PDFScanner which I use - it's lightning fast and easy to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Epson® WorkForce™ GT-S50 Sheetfed Scanner
November 17, 2012
MoGrace2u
Los Angeles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Traditional Office
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female

Best Feature: Create Your Own Jobs

Pros: Value for Money, Features, Quiet, Easy to Use, Design, Performance
Cons: occasional misfeeds
I have had mine now for several months and am very pleased with it. Once in a while it will misfeed a large stack of papers. This is easily fixed however by starting the stack with only a few and then adding the others. But since I often scan NCR paper, this may be the reason. A heavier paper never seems to misfeed at all. This does as much or more than the big machine we have, and since it is attached to my computer, it is even easier to use. Kudos to Epson for a great product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Epson® WorkForce™ GT-S50 Sheetfed Scanner
November 15, 2012
siggy023
Tulsa, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female
Age:26 - 35

Amazing buy!!

I am very pleased with this scanner. It does EXACTLY what I need it to. It feeds through quickly, doesn't rotate the pages (scans straight though) and the quality of the scan is great! Highly recommended!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Epson® WorkForce™ GT-S50 Sheetfed Scanner
September 6, 2012
Msjulie
Maplewood MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Garbage scanner - don't buy

Scanner's page detection sensor is a tiny little piece of plastic that broke off. Now the scanner continues to roll for additional pages then thinks it is jammed. YERY annoying.
Interface software will not allow you to custom name scans so you have to go to the folder and rename the scan.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Epson® WorkForce™ GT-S50 Sheetfed Scanner
February 27, 2012
flower boy
Nassau county, new york
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the dream mechine

i was looking for a good, reliable, easy to use scanner. and end up look at the epson GT-s50. it seems sound good to me and fit in my need except the price is little higher than what i willing to pay. after i went to the store to search more. i kind of like how easy it works. i bought one later and i fall in love at first try out. the set up is average. people with basic PC knowledge should no problem to start. the speed of GT-s50 is super, i love to listen the sound how the papers running through. the PDF image is average but for heavy mass workload. it is a prefect scanner i want. ( you can set the image resolution higher, but not really necessary ). i also did a crazy move, i bought another GT-s50 3 days later, so i can use one at home to reduce boxes of my personal records,bills,letters....etc.
epson Scanner is a good product and everybody should get one and you may fall in love with this small machine just like me. also may help them bring the price down a bit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Epson® WorkForce™ GT-S50 Sheetfed Scanner
February 9, 2012
jminsport
Shreveport, LA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Traditional Office
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online

Dissatisfied

Pros: Easy to Set Up
Cons: too many to mention
Three days and counting. Didn't find it hard to set up and use, BUT, it won't feed through the stated 25 sheets without pulling through multiples, Luckily I did not need it to do that. Probably 90% of the sheets that feed through bend on the top end of the sheet as it feeds. Not good if you plan to keep your original. Often(and I mean often) this bend at the top of the sheet causes a misfeed so I have to pull the sheet out, put tape over the crinkled portion and try again to feed through. I contacted their tech support and was told to reinstall the driver. That accomplished nothing. I am using Office Depot 20lb paper, but will try heavier paper if I don't decide to return it.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Epson® WorkForce™ GT-S50 Sheetfed Scanner
September 12, 2011
CANDLELIGHT
LOS BANOS, CALIFORNIA 93635
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GT-S50 MULTI-SCANNER PURCHASE

This is the best item I have ever purchased for my office. I scan multiple papers (up to 130) and need them PDF'd immediately. I have been doing them separately or using someone elses scanner. I found this on the internet, with a discount for internet only and bought it. I received it in the time period they said (within 3 days) I installed the whole thing (including the CD) within minutes and used it! I absolutely love this machine and its features! Good product, good value, good company!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Epson® WorkForce™ GT-S50 Sheetfed Scanner
May 12, 2011
penpocket
City, State
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Haven't taken the time to explore the features but it was easy to set-up for basic doc scanning and much faster than the multi-function I have been using. Problem with dark edges at the top of some pages. Could be user error.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Epson® WorkForce™ GT-S50 Sheetfed Scanner
April 11, 2011
Anonymous
Bedford, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Fast!

I have had two Epson all-in-one printer/scanners in the past, so I was familiar with the Epson screens/function/process. This scanner is super fast and easy. I can process a stack of legal documents in a matter of minutes. No bad things to say.....LOVE IT!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Epson® WorkForce™ GT-S50 Sheetfed Scanner
January 15, 2011
workingmom74
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Gender:Female
Age:36 - 45

Disappointed overall

Cons: slow scanning, struggles with double sided scanning
The machine works but not as well as stated online. I cannot scan close to the 75 pages at once like it says it will. Also, I get an error message if I try to scan more than 10-15 double sided pages at a time. It works best if I scan things little by little and that is not what this machine is reportedly supposed to do. Overall, I am very disappointed with this purchase. I would not recommend this one if you are looking for a fast scanner.
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Epson® WorkForce™ GT-S50 Sheetfed Scanner
Based on the average of (264) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 217 out of 264