Office Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Office Depot
Shop Clocks or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5387 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i5 Processor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Office Depot.

Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5387 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i5 Processor

Item #:724727
Average Customer Rating:
3.98 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(21)
4 stars
(18)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(4)
36 of 45(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5387 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
Review 1 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5387 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
December 1, 2013
Tony
Louisville, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great Performance for the Money

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Lightweight, Quality, Performance, upgradeable to 16gb ram
Cons: windows 8 difficult to set up, secure boot
Few laptops in this price range come with an Intel Core i5 processor, and expandable to 16GB of RAM.
Battery life is good. I got 3:35 out of it, much of that time was streaming video across a wireless connection. And that was not in the power saving "eco" mode.
Display is decent. Viewing angle is rather limited.
In general, this laptop exceeds my expectations.
Now for what I found to be less than perfect.
First, sound quality is bad. It isn't much better than a top quality cell phone. I thought my old Gateway laptop sound was bad, but I do believe this one is worse. Of course, you can always buy headphones for mobile, and external speakers for home use.
Second, I dislike Windows 8. I spent two full evenings getting it to a semi usable, less than completely infuriating state. But this would be true of any Windows 8 computer I buy, not just the Toshiba Satellite C55-A5387.
Last is another Microsoft related complaint, so called Secure Boot. This makes it very difficult to install and especially tricky to dual boot Windows 8 and a second OS, such as Linux. No doubt, this was Microsoft's intent when they pushed this "standard" onto hardware manufactures. But yet again, this would be true of any Windows 8 computer I buy, not just the Toshiba Satellite C55-A5387.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5387 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
March 17, 2014
Charles
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Intel® Core™ i5 Processor for $400??!!!

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Performance, great price for i5, runs quietly
Cons: battery life, Heavy/Bulky, tinny sound quality, access to cd drive
You cannot find a cheaper laptop anywhere with an Intel® Core™ i5 Processor (after the rebate good thru June 21, 2014, it comes to $400). It did take HOURS to update all the Windows requirements, and another hour to upgrade to Windows 8.1 (which doesn't look that much different than Windows 8. But once up and running, it works very well, very speedy and I was able to open multiple Web sites without getting a low memory message. Most importantly, I was able to access my work's Citrix receiver. Its blue tooth connected easily to my internet provider and wireless printer and I had no trouble installing any softwared #Seagate hard drive and Office 2013). It is a very quiet machine and never heated up though I had it on for hours. Negatives: Sound is "tinny" and you have to push a small button to get the CD driver to open. Accessing the button required me to lift the laptop off the table in order to access it. Also, battery life is dismal compared to other laptops. The laptop is also a bit heavy.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5387 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
December 14, 2013
tiger
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great Laptop

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Lightweight, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: Display Screen
The only problem I had was with the audio output.
It seems the new PC did not like my old external speakers causing it to
have a very low muffled sound. Purchased new set (powered) and now works fine.Also to increase and decrease sound you must hold FN key
then select the F9 or F10 to raise and lower. Installed windows Classic Shell 8
over the windows 8 works great and have start button back with all the extras! Will not install the 8.1 update
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5387 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
December 9, 2013
LikeaBoss
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

Great Deal especially for the price

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Easy to Set Up, Performance, looks pretty
Cons: battery life, mouse, webcam
The outer encasing is silver, and the laptop overall by design is much more sleek. It has speakers that run across the front and IMO are pretty good quality, i mean you're not going to get drop the bass, but pretty good. The performance is amazing, you're talking about i5 and 6gb ram and for $400, that alone should make you want to buy it. It has all the ports: VGA, HDMI, USB 2.0, USB 3.0 and a disk drive. Windows 8 is sleek and the future especially with its pretty animations.
If you're looking for any cons, then you have to nitpick, but a few are there. The webcam isn't that powerful nor is the battery life. They aren't bad, they're as expected. Windows 8 sometimes makes you do an extra step or two, and could take some people some time to get used to, but it's pretty simple. The mouse was very sluggish to me, but you can adjust that easily in the setting. The left click is also very loud.
Overall I think it's a great purchase. But you can't account for the durability or sustainability of the product so soon so that's still up in the air.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5387 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
December 8, 2013
John
Gastonia, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Nearly perfect laptop...nearly

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Display Screen, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up
Cons: Performance
Toshiba and office depot came up with an almost perfect laptop. Size is great, truebrite screen is wonderful, i5 processor is lightning fast, very nice. only 2 problems with this. Both have been mentioned. you have to upgrade to windows 8.1 (which is not too tough) as windows 8 is a pain. The biggest problem (and one which I actually returned the laptop for the L75D, with a bit less powerful A6 quadcore also on sale) is the sound. The speakers are not good at all. when compared to our older Toshiba and the L75D they are seriously lacking. Someone here compared them to a cell phone...that is accurate.
If Toshiba had just put a better set of speakers in this thing it would have been the best deal going. Had to return it as I watch videos and listen to music. It would have driven me nuts. It is rigged with DTS sound, it just does not have a good sound system.
I hope this review is helpful.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5387 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
December 1, 2013
dragon
MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Good laptop for the price

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Display Screen, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: Quality
Got this laptop 3 days ago, to a gamble bought it without playing a display sample or review of it. Got it home and did all the updates for windows 8 then upgrade to 8.1, that whole process took 3-4 hours, which should be done by the manufacturer.
There is no complaint about the hardware, make sure to update the drivers from Toshiba after 8.1, or else some function keys will not work.
Still try to get use of the 8.1, it's much better than 8. Besides windows 8.1, this is a good laptop, the battery lasted about 4 hours, would last longer if the wifi is off. All the graphic program I installed, run fine. The plastic case feels a little cheap, but for what I paid for, I am ok with it.
All and all it's a good buy, I would get the i7 if I got the extra cash. Hope this one will last as long as my first Toshiba that I bought over 10 years ago, it still works, but very slow compare to today's standard.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5387 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
December 1, 2013
trout120
oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

outstanding

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Display Screen, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance, outstanding
Toshiba always put out great products
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5387 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
December 18, 2013
Exp User
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Norton spoils the initial experience...

Pros: Battery Life
Cons: initial setup.
It is a great product, but as soon as I turned on, Norton antivirus started executing and pretty much hoses the laptop. Only after the scan got finished (which was like close to 10 mins) , I was able to uninstall and start using the laptop. I am an experienced user and knew the issue and was able to get that product uninstalled. If not, for an average Joe user, they just feel they got a bad product. Both Microsoft and Toshiba need to step up. It is their product that gets bad reputation, due to the 3rd party software like Norton. Microsoft needs to push harder to eliminate these 3rd party tools to take over the system. End of day they get blamed for these tools. Microsoft Security Essentials, works greats and we don't any paid tools like Norton any more.
By default, Toshiba disables the Function keys (F1..) and enables them for brightness / volume. This is very irritating since each time I hit F5 for refresh, the mouse gets turned off! Again a setting I had to disable. The keyboard layout is nonstandard and takes a while to get adjusted.
The unit did not ship with Win 8.1 but was pre-loaded with 8.0. It’s a 3 GB download, and would have been nice if the unit was pre-loaded with 8.1. If not for these early issues, it is a great product.
If not for these early issues, I would have given a 5 to this product.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5387 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
March 22, 2014
Twinwire
Southern CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Hate Window 8

Pros: value, Display Screen, Performance
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Set Up
The computer itself seems fine, but I really don't like Windows 8 as an OS. For example: I have a WD wireless hard drive. No problems for the computer to connect to it, but it will only "see" .jpg files, not any other types. I have looked for some sort of setting which causes this to no avail. When I click on the "?" icon, it acts as if I am not connected to the internet or the help web address is not valid. Also, the computer came preloaded with a lot of apps which I consider junk, so have had to spend time getting red of them. Overall, not happy.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5387 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
December 15, 2013
sound
fairfax, va
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

A nice sleek laptop.

Pros: value, Display Screen, Lightweight, Easy to Set Up
Cons: windows 8 interface
though I have not used it enough to write a review, I feel the laptop is really good. no complains so far except that I hate Windows 8 interface.
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5387 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
December 9, 2013
positive spin
Cerrtos, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Cheap Plastic

Cons: Quality
I liked the configurations for the price. When I recieved it, I was diappointed that design was very poor, too much sharp edges that you could easily get cut. One edge of the screen plastic was splitting. I had to return it. Well, you get what you pay. I did not even turn on all the way.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5387 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
December 8, 2013
Bob
Port Richey, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Windows 8

Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Set Up, windows 8
I cannot tell you how disappointed I am with Windows 8 on laptop. Update to 8.1 took an hour plus. My 2 year old printer won't work, my over drive book downloader won't work. Issue after issue each taking hours of time to fix. Will be returning unit.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5387 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
December 14, 2013
rkoloms
chicago
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Awful customer service

Pros: Easy to Set Up
Cons: defective cd drive
The laptop had a defective CD drive. Toshiba customer service insisted it was working. Office Depot had a replacement, and then they didn't; they finally offered a comparable laptop (after offering a less powerful laptop, and a desktop). Getting the defective laptop picked up has taken a week.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5387 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
November 23, 2014
Matt
Seattle, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

Best Value Computer of 2013

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: Display Screen, speakers
This computer is capable of playing all games from 2013 from medium down, and is very fast. The display is not full HD but the best value computer I have ever seen, My units right speaker also does not function.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5387 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
February 12, 2014
Will
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

Great Value

Pros: value, Performance
Cons: speakers, keyboard
Can't really beat this in terms of value. Very satisfied with purchase :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5387 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
December 29, 2013
kiddfisher
Nebo, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great Laptop for the Price

Pros: value, Display Screen, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
laptop is great, fast, good startup instructions. MicroSoft 8 is as bad as I heard.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5387 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
December 27, 2013
Kromium
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great buy for the price

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
I love this laptop. it is a great buy for the price. Not a touch screen, however, that is exactly what i needed. Have great experience using Toshiba laptops in the past. Almost no noise. Been using it from past 1 month. Great service from Officedepot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5387 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
December 25, 2013
Bob
Glen Mills, Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Toshiba Windows 8 Laptop

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Very satisfied with my laptop. Good speed and hardware configuration. Disappointed that you had to buy online instead of being able to just go to the store and pick it up saving shipping and sales tax and delay at this time of year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5387 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
December 23, 2013
Eric
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Solid PC For The Price.

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Performance
Cons.
-Plastic body feels cheap but makes PC pretty lightweight.
-Display isn't 1080, It's not horrible but not the best...you can easily hook up PC to TV or monitor with HDMI cord if it really bothers you.
- Windows 8... it's a must to upgrade to Windows 8.1 before using and update Toshiba drivers...wasn't hard at all but took about 2hrs
Pros.
- Price!
- Fast iCore 5 processor
- 6MB of Memory
- Sound (after you adjust sound settings to the highest quality and adjust DTS sound settings it's loud and clear)
- Bluetooth
- Battery Life ... seems pretty good I get about 4hrs of use before having to plug back in
Overall so far I am satisfied with my purchase and i'll be even more satisfied when i receive my $50 rebate in the mail lol. There are little quirks you have to get used to but that comes with any new PC.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Toshiba Satellite® C55-A5387 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
December 22, 2013
Californiaguy
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Commentary/Review

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Display Screen, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
The laptop is a great laptop. As soon as you turn it on, it quickly loads to the password page and your desktop. It is fast and efficient. I couldn't be more satisfied. Excellent delivery service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>