Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers

Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers

Item #:730116
Average Customer Rating:
1.6 out of 5
1.6
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(0)
4 stars
(3)
3 stars
(1)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(15)
3 of 19(16%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
Review 1 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
July 8, 2014
derikgw
Greenwood, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Terrible pencil

Cons: Pricey/Poor Value, Uncomfortable Grip, Quality, skips, Smears
This pencil doesn't really write well on anything. I am constantly missing letters or parts of letters in sentences. This thing will slow down your writing to a crawl because you will constantly be going back trying to scribble in letters or partial letters to make them visible. It's not smooth at all. Useless product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
April 8, 2014
Ev
Jacksonville, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Sharpie Liquid Pencil

Pros: Doesn't Bleed
Cons: Pricey/Poor Value, skips, spotty writing
I have not had good luck with these and for the price I will not buy them again. Inconsistent liquid lead being one of the biggest problems. Erases well, does not write well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
January 21, 2014
djm23
minneapolis MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Awful

Cons: skips, Smears, need to hold almost vertical for it to write
I purchased this thinking "What a great idea!" but it does not work at all. It's like writing with an ink pen that works half the time, plus the pencil needs to be held at just the right angle for it even to write at all. It also smears easily. I am a piano teacher and could not even get through one lesson before I had to go back to a regular pencil. Would not recommend this at all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
September 4, 2013
Army Planner
Chicago, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Thought they finally fixed it

Pros: dries quickly
Cons: skips
I thought finally I found an erasable ink pen that worked....all the time. I'm constantly re-starting (by squiggling circles on a scratch pad) due to all the skipping.
Simply, it works great when it works, which is about 10% of the time. It's rather frustrating to be writing along and then.... nothing. It doesn't matter what type of paper.
Please buy a .70 HB pencil. Closest thing to ink.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
August 26, 2013
BR
Biloxi, MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

Needs work

Cons: Quality, skips
I was really looking forward to trying this product. I use mechanical pencils exclusively and who wouldn't want a product that doesn't need lead refills.
The pencil started out well but quickly developed a skipping problem. I take fast paced college courses and note taking can be a challenge with a good mechanical pencil. I brought both pencils (2 pack fro $4.99) to class but over about an hour they both started skipping. The problem got worse and worse and I had to revert back to my other (leaded) mechanical pencil (thank goodness I brought it). This wasn't what I expected from a Sharpie product, which I've always associated with quality. I'm still interested in a liquid pencil design but this product is unsatisfactory and needs work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
January 14, 2013
Missteree
Californai
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female

Eh....

Pros: creat construction
Cons: poor quality "ink"
I bought these on clearance so I was only out $2. However, they still are not worth the money. It skips quite a bit and sometimes it looks like pencil lead and sometimes it doesn't. The pencil itself is great but the lead needs work. Once they work out the kinks, this would be my go-to pencil for my working needs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
December 15, 2012
Deech
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Pleasure
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female

Sharpie Liquid Pencil - a LOSER

Cons: skips, very light line if any at all, inconsistent
I was really looking forward to trying this new concept by the great Sharpie name. I couldn't get it to work no matter what I tried. Thankfully I saved my receipt and it will be returned. However, I would be willing to try a new and improved product. For now, I will go back to using my favorite Pentel pencils.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
November 20, 2011
mamadutrois
BRLA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:School User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female
Age:36 - 45

dont waste your money

Pros: good idea
Cons: poor performance
These are the worst pencils ever. i had bought several packs, having high hopes, but the pencil does not deliver. Liquid graphite has a flow problem. It's skippy, ends up looking very messy. Better off with a wooden pencil.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
July 19, 2011
BabyBoomerCollegeStudent
Monroe, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Student
Primary Use:School User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65

No more breaking lead!

Pros: no more breaking leads!, writes darker than lead pencil.
Cons: erasers do not last long enough.
I use a LOT of automatic pencils, and because I tend to be heavy handed, I am constantly breaking the lead. This is my first liquid pencil, and I've been using it for almost 2 months now on pretty much a daily basis. And, yes, sometimes the lines can grown faint - in my case it is usually because it has gotten a little clogged from eraser residue. I can wipe it with a tissue and it is back to writing just fine. It did take a bit to get it going the first time out. My only problem with it is the eraser is softer than normal and gets used up quickly. They have extras in the package, but I have already used half of them. About of a third of the eraser is below the insertion point and is unuseable. They really need a little case for the spare erasers also. Something to drop in a pocket or change purse that is easy to find. Over all I am a happy camper and will buy another when I need to!
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
March 14, 2011
fstfngrz76
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Gender:Female
Age:26 - 35
Bought this product:Online

work the liquid out

I was excited about receiving my new pencils. I have to admit I was very disappointed when I first started writing. One of the pencils worked great and actually looked like lead. The other one skipped a lot, and it looked like ink. I found that if you scribble for a minute or so, that liquid will start to flow. Work that liquid out before throwing your new pencils in the trash.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
October 29, 2010
MrRooter2
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Gender:Female
Age:26 - 35
Bought this product:In-store

Pros: smooth writing after it has been used on a few lin
I like this pencil/pen. I use it all the time. At the start of my morning - I do have the flow problems mentioned in the other reviews, but after a few sentences, the flow is great. I like that it is such a smooth writing pencil. I am normally a strick pen user, but I think I will be getting some more of these to have at home & not just at the office.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
September 18, 2010
Reviewer55
california
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Student
Primary Use:School User
Gender:Female
Age:16 - 25
Bought this product:In-store

WORST PENCIL EVER

Pros: nice looking
Cons: doesnt write well, cant move the lead to your desired need
Bought this pen even AFTER reading all these bad reviews regretting that i should of just listened and never bought it. It is what everyone is saying. It doesnt write well at all.. its not even consistant! You cant even get more lead out or whatever. Tried to give it a chance more then once and kept trying to make it work but just didnt. Such a waste of money. Sharpie should just stick to making markers.
+10points
14out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
September 18, 2010
jsmith5380
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Dissapointed

Uneven "ink" generation unless you write slowly and press hard.
Ability to erase writing is good.
I went back to my mechanical pencil.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
September 17, 2010
Accountang
Anaconda MT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Business User
Gender:Female
Age:36 - 45
Bought this product:Online

DON"T BUY!

Pros: erases easy
Cons: Flimsy, Poor Quality, skips when writing
Couldn't wait for this pencil to hit the shelves. Now I can't wait for it to hit the waste basket. Poor flowing. Looks like ink. Does erase easily though.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
September 16, 2010
kada145
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disappointed

I was excited when I first read about this new Liquid Pencil. My first disappointment was not being able to find it in the Store. My second disappointment was that the liquid pencil skipped while writing (I tried both of liguid pencils). The erasure works well.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
September 2, 2010
DallasEngr
Dallas, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Gender:Male
Age:26 - 35
Bought this product:In-store

Big Let Down

Pros: erases well enough
Cons: writes like a cheap pen
Had high expectations for this product that were far from met. Ink flow is terribly inconsistent. Think of that cheap pen you find in your car console when you're at the motor bank and how it writes. You get the idea.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
August 31, 2010
Rian
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Garbage

Cons: smudges, ink comes out spotty
These are garbage.
The ink comes out hideously spotty unless you press down very VERY hard on the paper. If you don't push down hard, it will also smudge with the slightest touch.
The ballpoint is pretty unforgiving to any angles that are not strictly vertical.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
August 30, 2010
Clif
Simpsonville, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65
Bought this product:In-store
Gender of user:Female
Age of user:41 - 50

Poor writing quality

Cons: undependable
I bought this pencil for my wife. She loves to use pencils. Well, when she opened it up, it wrote perfectly on her first line. On the second line, and all others, it was faint and skipped.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
August 29, 2010
Nattgew
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Bad Eraseable Pen

Pros: erases
Cons: cheap construction, doesn't write well
I ordered this product hoping to have a good pen that would be both erasable and eventually permanent.
First, the construction is not very sturdy. It feels cheap and fragile.
I've tried writing with it on many surfaces. Hard table, soft notebook, etc, and it doesn't really work well anywhere. The ink doesn't go on to the page well, letters only come out half written. It's more gray than black, which I guess makes it more like "liquid pencil," but that along with the patchy writing makes it hard to read.
It does erase well, but that's not saying much since it's so hard to get it to write well in the first place.
After a few days it does dry to some degree, but is still mostly erasable.
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
August 27, 2010
ChoujuuGiga
Austin TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Gender:Male
Age:26 - 35
Bought this product:Online

Utterly Useless.

I bought these because I like the fluidity of a ballpoint pen when sketching, but wanted to be able to erase lines and thought these would be perfect. They very much weren't.
There just simply isn't a strong enough flow of ink to draw, or even to write at any sort of useful speed without having to go back and write/draw over what you just wrote/drew.
To make anything approaching the sort of mark one is accustomed to from ballpoint pens, you have to hold the pen perfectly vertical and press down very hard. Of course, when you want to erase the line, you're left with a groove still carved into your paper.
Really disappointed with this product.
+22points
24out of 26found this review helpful.