Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers

Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers

Item #:730116
Average Customer Rating:
1.908 out of 5
1.9
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(6)
4 stars
(6)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(9)
1 star
(40)
12 of 64(19%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
Review 1 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
September 27, 2014
Greg
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Absolute Garbage

Pros: Doesn't Bleed, dries quickly
Cons: Runs Out Quickly, Quality, skips
Sounds like it would be a cool idea, absolutely terrible in practice. The "ink" color closely approximates pencil graphite, but the application (on the few letters where it's working properly) look more like a G2 rollerball that's clogged. Tried the tricks like heating the point, drawing scribbles endlessly, etc. and cannot get consistent output. I couldn't even get a complete sentence written with one of these, without having to go over a second time.
They've tried and tried, but nothing comes close to the good old wooden pencil.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
September 17, 2014
bobb
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

great penicl that writes like a pen

Pros: Doesn't Bleed, Comfortable Grip, Good Value, writes smoothly, Quality, Long Lasting, dries quickly, its just like a pen that you can erase
its awesome the only problem is that the spring isn't strong enough if you open it up and stretch out the spring it works perfectly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
September 12, 2014
LiliClaire
Nevada
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

would not purchase again

Cons: Pricey/Poor Value, skips, Smears
Remember when there used to be erasable pens? This seems to be the same thing but now labeled as a liquid pencil. It does not write smoothly; the ink stops and goes. It erases well, but that doesn't matter to me if it doesn't write well. This is almost six dollars going into the trash.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
July 8, 2014
derikgw
Greenwood, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Terrible pencil

Cons: Pricey/Poor Value, Uncomfortable Grip, Quality, skips, Smears
This pencil doesn't really write well on anything. I am constantly missing letters or parts of letters in sentences. This thing will slow down your writing to a crawl because you will constantly be going back trying to scribble in letters or partial letters to make them visible. It's not smooth at all. Useless product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
April 8, 2014
Ev
Jacksonville, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Sharpie Liquid Pencil

Pros: Doesn't Bleed
Cons: Pricey/Poor Value, skips, spotty writing
I have not had good luck with these and for the price I will not buy them again. Inconsistent liquid lead being one of the biggest problems. Erases well, does not write well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
January 21, 2014
djm23
minneapolis MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Awful

Cons: skips, Smears, need to hold almost vertical for it to write
I purchased this thinking "What a great idea!" but it does not work at all. It's like writing with an ink pen that works half the time, plus the pencil needs to be held at just the right angle for it even to write at all. It also smears easily. I am a piano teacher and could not even get through one lesson before I had to go back to a regular pencil. Would not recommend this at all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
September 4, 2013
Army Planner
Chicago, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Thought they finally fixed it

Pros: dries quickly
Cons: skips
I thought finally I found an erasable ink pen that worked....all the time. I'm constantly re-starting (by squiggling circles on a scratch pad) due to all the skipping.
Simply, it works great when it works, which is about 10% of the time. It's rather frustrating to be writing along and then.... nothing. It doesn't matter what type of paper.
Please buy a .70 HB pencil. Closest thing to ink.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
August 26, 2013
BR
Biloxi, MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

Needs work

Cons: Quality, skips
I was really looking forward to trying this product. I use mechanical pencils exclusively and who wouldn't want a product that doesn't need lead refills.
The pencil started out well but quickly developed a skipping problem. I take fast paced college courses and note taking can be a challenge with a good mechanical pencil. I brought both pencils (2 pack fro $4.99) to class but over about an hour they both started skipping. The problem got worse and worse and I had to revert back to my other (leaded) mechanical pencil (thank goodness I brought it). This wasn't what I expected from a Sharpie product, which I've always associated with quality. I'm still interested in a liquid pencil design but this product is unsatisfactory and needs work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
August 13, 2013
TNT Suz
Vernon, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved this pencil!

As soon as you learn how to write with this pencil you will love it! It will do all the stuff the bad reviews indicated if you do not use it correctly. I love that the ink is dark like a real ink pen and it erases easily.If you write with it from the side it does not work well. If you write directly "up" it works fabulous!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
July 23, 2013
Jimsterman82
City, State
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very Dissapointing

The ink is awful. It is very light and skips repeatedly. On the plus side the ink is so light that it does erase well. So the concept is good just very poorly executed. I would not recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
January 29, 2013
Supplydiva
Starkville, MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

Worst pen ever

Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
The pen just does not write, it writes like a pen running out of ink. The only good thing was I could erase it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
January 22, 2013
auntkldd
Morton, IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Not up to Sharpie Quality

I was very excited to try this new Sharpie product as i am a big fan of all their products....except this one. The concept & description sounds wonderful, however, the pencil did not write smoothly. And yes, i did give it time & used, hoping this would change, but it didn't.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
January 14, 2013
Missteree
Californai
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female

Eh....

Pros: creat construction
Cons: poor quality "ink"
I bought these on clearance so I was only out $2. However, they still are not worth the money. It skips quite a bit and sometimes it looks like pencil lead and sometimes it doesn't. The pencil itself is great but the lead needs work. Once they work out the kinks, this would be my go-to pencil for my working needs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
January 7, 2013
KrisE
City, State
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

These do not write well at all. The eraser leaves black marks on your paper that won't come off. Do not waste your money on these!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
December 15, 2012
Deech
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Pleasure
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female

Sharpie Liquid Pencil - a LOSER

Cons: skips, very light line if any at all, inconsistent
I was really looking forward to trying this new concept by the great Sharpie name. I couldn't get it to work no matter what I tried. Thankfully I saved my receipt and it will be returned. However, I would be willing to try a new and improved product. For now, I will go back to using my favorite Pentel pencils.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
November 12, 2012
Anonymous
Fremont, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Very bad

Pencil do not work at all ....both were bad i had to toss them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
September 17, 2012
hp123
Houston, Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

I just don't like anything about these.

I don't like these. they write weird. I can't grip them good. I just don't like anything about them!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
August 21, 2012
Anonymous
City, State
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Does Not Write Well

I was excited about these erasable liquid pencils by Sharpie because Sharpies always write smooth and bright. I love the idea of erasable ink, but other erasable ink pens I have tried have been skippy and dull. These Sharpie liquid pencils are like every other of these types of products--they don't always write and when they do they are light, dull and the ink skips. I was very disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
May 7, 2012
Auto Broker
City, State
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poor quality

This pen doesn't work well. It doesn't write well and it does not write on all mediums.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sharpie® Liquid Pencil, 0.5 mm, Opaque Black Barrels, Pack Of 2 + 6 Erasers
May 2, 2012
penreview
Ann Arbor, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

Surprisingly Fluid Writing

I had pretty negative connotations of liquid lead before using this product, but it works really well. I heavily prefer lead to ink but find myself constantly breaking it with most mechanical pencils when taking notes at a fast pace. This product eliminates that problem and also works perfectly for written math exams.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>