Office Depot Ratings and Reviews
Audio(3)

Customer Reviews for Style@Work by Thomasville® Endsleigh Executive Big & Tall Bonded Leather Chair, Chrome/Espresso

Style@Work by Thomasville® Endsleigh Executive Big & Tall Bonded Leather Chair, Chrome/Espresso

Item #:743577
Average Customer Rating:
3.13 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(17)
4 stars
(10)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(9)
1 star
(14)
27 of 51(53%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Style@Work by Thomasville® Endsleigh Executive Big & Tall Bonded Leather Chair, Chrome/Espresso
Review 1 for Style@Work by Thomasville® Endsleigh Executive Big & Tall Bonded Leather Chair, Chrome/Espresso
July 18, 2014
Bob G
Hayden, ID
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Poor Product, but Great Service

Pros: Appearance/Design
Cons: value, Quality
As with other reviewers, I bought this chair because I am a Big/Tall man and it was advertised/rated well above my weight. Also, I liked Thomasville's reputation. I have gone thru too many office chairs where the gas cylinder fails within 12-18 months.
I was very pleased initially with this chair, although it was a little challenging to assemble - lining up all the screws. I have had it just about 4 months and the gas cylinder failed; slowly collapsed and wouldn't retain any weight afterwards. The super memory foam cushion is nothing special, and has flattened as well. Not a product I would recommend, especially for the $300 it cost me. HOWEVER...Office Depot customer service is 5 star. The woman on the phone was pleasant and helpful, and quickly arranged for shipment of a replacement cylinder. We'll see how this works out for me, but I fear the chair will continue to fail my expectations.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Style@Work by Thomasville® Endsleigh Executive Big & Tall Bonded Leather Chair, Chrome/Espresso
July 16, 2014
tmass
Franklin, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Seat cushion collapses

Pros: Appearance/Design
Cons: Quality, uncomfortable
I've had this chair a little over 1 year. When I first sat in it it was the most comfortable. Now after a year the memory foam seat has collapsed and can feel and see the screws under the leather. the chair has also gotten a little wobble and cannot find a way to tighten up. 10 year warranty whether with OD or Thomasville requires original sales receipt and box and packing....like I've kept that for a year. I guess I need to get a seat cushion.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Style@Work by Thomasville® Endsleigh Executive Big & Tall Bonded Leather Chair, Chrome/Espresso
June 29, 2014
Biggg Al
Vancouver, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Nice Chair For Big Guys

Pros: value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
This is a sturdy chair for Big & Tall men rated to 350 lbs. The seat padding is a little thin but adding a pillow helps a lot. Otherwise this is a comfortable chair rated 6-8 hours a day use which is me. I would buy this chair again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Style@Work by Thomasville® Endsleigh Executive Big & Tall Bonded Leather Chair, Chrome/Espresso
June 2, 2014
RP
fort wayne
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Seat Not Great

Pros: value, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design
Cons: uncomfortable, seat breaks down
The seat cushion is supposed to be memory foam and very soft/comfortable, but all it does is mash down and you can feel the wood support. This chair is suppose to be an extensive use chair. Meaning sitting on it for 6+ hrs. It starts feeling uncomfortable after an hour or so. I am about 220 and sit at my desk 7 hours a day. I thought this was going to be great chair and last for years. Now I will probably get rid of it sooner than later.. Rest of chair seems very solid but to me the most important aspect is whether it is comfortable. I was strongly disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Style@Work by Thomasville® Endsleigh Executive Big & Tall Bonded Leather Chair, Chrome/Espresso
May 24, 2014
Lennyb724
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Not the worst...but you get what you pay for!

Pros: value, Appearance/Design, Comfortable, warranty service
I really can't complain. I budgeted in excess of $600.00 for a good, heavy duty big and tall office chair. I happened to sit in this one walking through Office Depot one day and felt find. It was on sale for $219.99 so I snagged it.
Like others have mentioned, I've had problems with the hydraulic cylinder and the memory foam in the seat. I am, however, right around the max weight capacity of this chair and I got a full 17 months out of it before the cylinder went completely out.
I really have to give credit to Ed Alexander and his review from 5/16. I called the number he provided ("The Golden Number") and got connected to a Warranty Fulfillment Rep right away. I had the receipt so I was able to give her the exact date of purchase. I told her that both the hydraulic cylinder and the foam in the seat were bad. She dispatched both a new cylinder and seat and they were delivered inside of 72 hours.
I've had no problem with the back. I work from home so I'm in this chair a lot. The casters are great and I love that the arms are adjust up and down.
I would have no problem buying this again at the price I paid. It's a pretty good deal and domestic warranty service at this price point is almost unheard of.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Style@Work by Thomasville® Endsleigh Executive Big & Tall Bonded Leather Chair, Chrome/Espresso
May 16, 2014
Ed_Alexander
Edgewater, MD
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Similar Issue to Prior Reviews... Poor Hydraulics

Pros: value, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design, warranty support
Cons: Quality, hydraulics
I bought this chair in May 2012 for my home office. It was on sale, is rated for 300lb's, and comes with Memory Foam. It looks nice and matches my desk so for me, it was a "no brainer" purchase. I'm only 5'10" tall and weigh a scant 220 so I'm well below the maximum weight threshold. :-)
I have to admit that I don't use the chair as much as some of the others who have left poor reviews. If I sit in the chair for more than 10 hours a week, then that's a good week for me. So imagine my surprise when I sat in my chair almost 2 years to the date of purchase and it slowly started to lower towards the floor. I guess my lack of usage is the reason for the hydraulics' 2 year longevity because most complaints have the hydraulics lasting a much shorter time.
Anyway, I do like the chair so I decided to go online with Office Depot and chat with a customer service rep. I was a bit worried because the receipt is no where to be found, but I did notice a manufacture date on the bottom of the chair and I was sure that it had a decent warranty when I bought it... That was another one of the reasons for my purchase.
Well I can say that the chair has a 10 year limited warranty so the chair is covered. The Cust. Svc rep gave me a 1-800 phone number for Thomasville. When I called that number, they gave me a different number for Office Depot furniture warranty support (800-949-9974). That's the golden contact number. The young woman was very helpful and courteous and took down all of the required information (approximate date of purchase, date of manufacture, SKU #743577, Reg Code, etc.). When I described the problem, she told me that the part was covered and they would mail a part out on the next business day. She took my address and even my email address so I could receive the tracking information for the estimated arrival date of the replacement part. She mentioned that the part would come with the directions on how to replace it. I was very pleased with Office Depot's warranty support. I guess I'll edit this post (if I can) and let you know later how the replacement goes. Let's hope Office Depot gets it right and uses replacement parts that are better made than the original.
I will admit that even though I like the chair, it still has a few flaws. The memory foam has failed and seat is no longer as comfortable as it was when I first bought it. The back and the arm rests are fine, but the seat feels a little softer than just sitting on the plywood. I should have asked if they would replace that, too. Lol.
But other than the hydraulics and the memory foam, the chair has worked well for me. It looks nice and the leather has held up well so far. The chair is fairly comfortable (other than in the seat) and I can't complain about it reclining. When I lean back, I do feel safe and balanced.
Would I buy this chair again knowing what I know now...? To be honest, probably not. I would probably spend a few more dollars and get the next level up in the hopes of getting something with more quality materials and staying power. So my rating is only 3 out of 5 stars. But I do give kudos to the Office Depot warranty people for standing behind the warranty with no muss or fuss.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Style@Work by Thomasville® Endsleigh Executive Big & Tall Bonded Leather Chair, Chrome/Espresso
May 12, 2014
Jackie
Waunakee WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Great purchase

Pros: value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design, Comfortable
I had already purchased this item for another staff member and they loved it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Style@Work by Thomasville® Endsleigh Executive Big & Tall Bonded Leather Chair, Chrome/Espresso
April 17, 2014
Mark
Midwest
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Disappointed

Cons: not well made
The chair looks good when you first purchase it but after 3-4 months, like many others have claimed, the piston that controls the height fails. Sometimes it will go hours with out moving, other times it will sink 3-4 times in a row. What now?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Style@Work by Thomasville® Endsleigh Executive Big & Tall Bonded Leather Chair, Chrome/Espresso
April 9, 2014
gridbum
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Pretty good value !

Pros: value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design, Comfortable
Was just about ready to buy a really expensive chair but didn't want shell out $900. This chair feels as good or better than most of the "high-end" chairs. Easy assembly after I retrieved the bolts from the dumpster (my bad).. Very comfortable so far -- I'm 6-8 and 270.
Very attractive with my new writing desk. "Bonded leather" ?? For $199 what do you want ?! Looks and feels great. Will at Ofc Dep in Chicago is extremely knowledgeable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Style@Work by Thomasville® Endsleigh Executive Big & Tall Bonded Leather Chair, Chrome/Espresso
March 2, 2014
Jeremy
Bismarck, ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Sturdy and ergonomic.

Pros: value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design, Comfortable
Best chair I've ever had. Had it over two years now without much sign of wear. It isn't overly cushioned, but very ergonomic. I sit in it up to ten hours a day without a prob. I only weigh about 200# but I can sit in it all kinds of unorthodox ways and it hasn't broken yet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Style@Work by Thomasville® Endsleigh Executive Big & Tall Bonded Leather Chair, Chrome/Espresso
January 13, 2014
John C
St Petersburg FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Not quite what I expected

Pros: Appearance/Design
Cons: Quality, uncomfortable
A big man's chair should last longer than 4 months for the support cylinder. Called warrenty and backordered. Never received 2 calls later and 1 yr.
Now the plastic support for the chair tilt has failed tipping the chair back when it should be upright. The plastic has deformed . I am 300 lbs and this chair canot handle this even though the specification is 350 lbs. I sit in it 10 hours/day.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Style@Work by Thomasville® Endsleigh Executive Big & Tall Bonded Leather Chair, Chrome/Espresso
January 4, 2014
Rob
Springfield, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Good enough memory foam chair for the price.

Pros: value, Quality
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, uncomfortable
This chair isn't for everyone. It has a stiffer memory foam padding that doesn't feel as comfortable as other chairs when you first buy it. It doesn't wear out as fast though, and it gets more comfortable the longer you sit in it.
Pros:
-Padding seems to be doing very well after 12 months 8-10 hours a day. If you are a heavier person like me, the stiffer padding not fading away to fluff on plywood is a good thing. Make sure you are getting the Endsleigh, and not the cheaper version of this chair. This version is rated for 350 lbs.
-Aluminum components seem stable.
-No problems with the seams after 12 months
-It looks way more expensive than it is.
Cons:
-Padding is stiffer than most. It doesn't have that instant comfort that other chairs have when you first buy them..
-Aluminum seems to scratch easy. There are some dings on the arms and the base that I'm not even sure where they came from. They are not extremely noticeable, but they are there.
-Arms have a small wobble, but most chairs with adjustable arms seem to wobble a little.
-This is bonded leather, not leather. It doesn't feel as nice as real leather, but it isn't as bad as pure vinyl. They basically take scrap leather and mix it with polyurethane. You get what you pay for.
-Assembly is not easy. The back piece is very difficult to wrangle into alignment with the holes. It is definitely worth the money to have them assemble this thing.
If you want something a little softer or with more supple leather, you are going to have to spend at least $100 more. If you want both, you may have to spend $300 more. So this chair isn't perfect, but it is way better than the other options I've seen at this price. Other options seem to fall apart before the year is up. This one is still doing fine between 3 chairs here at the office.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Style@Work by Thomasville® Endsleigh Executive Big & Tall Bonded Leather Chair, Chrome/Espresso
December 13, 2013
Adrraiya
B'ham, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Worst Chair Ever

Pros: value, Appearance/Design
Cons: Quality, uncomfortable, extremely bad seat
I decided to hold my review until I had used the chair for a couple of weeks --- chair padding might as well not even be on there as it collapses in less than 20 minutes
I added a pillow to make it tolerable & that only helps a small amount.
End result is this chair has sent me back to ortho for my hips & spine.. any savings as a result of sale price is negated
I have had the chair less than a month & will be taking it to store tomorrow to return & find a chair that will actually work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Style@Work by Thomasville® Endsleigh Executive Big & Tall Bonded Leather Chair, Chrome/Espresso
December 8, 2013
CAshopper
Pleasanton, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great chair - good value

Pros: value, Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design, Comfortable
My husband spends almost all day at his home computer and wore a hole in the seat of his old Office Depot leather chair after several years of use. We recently purchased this one on-line after trying it out in the store. It was easy to assemble and seems to be good quality. The price was good, too - $100 off the normal cost! So far, he is very pleased with the comfort.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Style@Work by Thomasville® Endsleigh Executive Big & Tall Bonded Leather Chair, Chrome/Espresso
November 8, 2013
guyver60
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

I Thought Thomasville Brand meant Quality, but....

Pros: Appearance/Design
Cons: value, Quality
I bought this chair because it was a Thomasville brand, and I thought it would hold up better than others; since it is rated up to 250 lbs and I weigh 200 lbs. I've had the chair for about two years, and the hydraulic piston has failed twice. The first piston lasted a litte over a year, but the second one lasted less than 6 months. The seat padding has also not held up, as I now feel like I am sitting on a board. I am not real hard on things, so the leather and other parts of the chair have held up for me. I spend an average of 6-7 hours in the chair per day - four days a week. The chair has gone from comfortable to uncomfortable. I almost hate to rate the chair one star, but I don't think a chair advertised as a "Commercial Quality" chair should have failed this soon.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Style@Work by Thomasville® Endsleigh Executive Big & Tall Bonded Leather Chair, Chrome/Espresso
October 19, 2013
Steve
Madison, Wi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Not Actually A Leather Chair

Cons: value, Quality, vinyl material not leather
If you're looking for a good leather office or desk chair, buy something else.
The product does advertise itself as 'bonded leather' and includes words typically associated with leather products on the box, such as 'supple'.
The covering on this chair just didn't feel right to me from the first sitting. Later I decided to do some research on just exactly what 'bonded leather' is.
It turns out that bonded leather is essentially what is known as 'Naugahyde' or 'Vinyl', except that shredded scrap leather is included in the mixture. None of the shredded scrap leather is actually at the surface of the material.
I would have returned it, except that I already had cut up the box.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Style@Work by Thomasville® Endsleigh Executive Big & Tall Bonded Leather Chair, Chrome/Espresso
October 7, 2013
Nikki
Los Angeles, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

FIT FOR A BOSS

Pros: Easy to Assemble, Comfortable
A few of us pitched in to purchase this chair for our bosses birthday. One of the guys assembled it in about 30 to 40 minutes. Our boss is a pretty big guy and the other chair he had he said felt like he was sitting on cardboard. He has repeatedly commented since getting this chair that it's like he is sitting on a pillow and his back feels better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Style@Work by Thomasville® Endsleigh Executive Big & Tall Bonded Leather Chair, Chrome/Espresso
September 16, 2013
Samrich
Lawrenceville, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Nice Chair but wears out to quick

Pros: Easy to Assemble, Appearance/Design, Comfortable
Cons: Quality
I purchased this chair a year ago. About 7-8 months in I began to notice cracks/worn spots along the chair handle and the seat. The leather appears to hold up well but the pleather wears out very quickly. I am in the chair for about 12 hours a day as I work from the home office and I am in grad school so it gets a lot of use. I am between 175-180 depending on the day. I must give props to Office Depot for standing behind their product as they allowed me to exchange it out for another one granted I purchase the two year warranty. Needless to say I purchased it as I am sure I will be replacing the chair in less than a year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Style@Work by Thomasville® Endsleigh Executive Big & Tall Bonded Leather Chair, Chrome/Espresso
September 12, 2013
bksmith
Atlanta GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Office Depot

Pros: Easy to Assemble, Comfortable, Appearance/Design
Cons: shock doesnot hold up
Stood behind this product after bad review I was contacted and sent a new hydraulic piece. I am not a small guy and realize hydraulic had gone bad. I expected them to hold up better than it did .And office depot send new shock or hydraulics what ever you want to call it and I say thank you for standing behind what you sell
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Style@Work by Thomasville® Endsleigh Executive Big & Tall Bonded Leather Chair, Chrome/Espresso
September 6, 2013
Tasmine
Fishers, In
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Office chair

Pros: value, Quality, Easy to Assemble, Comfortable, Appearance/Design
We bought this for our son who is a gamer and he spends many hours sitting in it....he just loves it and its beautiful! Looks great in his new apartment!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>