Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Apex AP-GS918 Tablet With 9 Touch-Screen Display, 8GB Storage

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Office Depot.

Apex AP-GS918 Tablet With 9 Touch-Screen Display, 8GB Storage

Item #:778133
Average Customer Rating:
3.632 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
13 of 18(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Apex AP-GS918 Tablet With 9 Touch-Screen Display, 8GB Storage
Review 1 for Apex AP-GS918 Tablet With 9 Touch-Screen Display, 8GB Storage
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

cheap quality

VGandara
Texas
January 7, 2014
The size of the table was good but the quality poor. The internet access to slow, only has face camera (no usage).
Has goggle store and goggle account access which is good. I ended returning the tablet.
Poor battery life.
Pros: value, Display Screen, Easy to Set Up
Cons: battery life, Quality
VGandara
Texas
Primary Use:Home User
Review 2 for Apex AP-GS918 Tablet With 9 Touch-Screen Display, 8GB Storage
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great tablet

rzarev
henderson, nc
December 29, 2013
i bought this tablet for a gift. My friend really love this tablet, even though is was not bluetooth ready. The size is just right. So far the everything works well. Thinking about buy another one.
Pros: value, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Lightweight, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: battery life, Quality
rzarev
henderson, nc
Primary Use:Home User
Review 3 for Apex AP-GS918 Tablet With 9 Touch-Screen Display, 8GB Storage
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great purchase

Patrick
Fort Wayne, Indiana
December 28, 2013
It is a great tablet the only problem we are having is finding screen protector and a cover or a 9 inche
Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Display Screen, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Patrick
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Primary Use:Home User
Review 4 for Apex AP-GS918 Tablet With 9 Touch-Screen Display, 8GB Storage
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good tablet for cheap price

Suresh
Morrisville, NC
December 21, 2013
Bought this week ago and based on other reviews I was wondering I would need to return soon. But surprising so far it works great, performance is just great.
Pros: Cheap price
comes with Google play so easy to install known apps or already signed apps on other devises.
good performance with 1gb ram
games works well except occasional freez up (rarelythough)
ease of use
camera and microphone so Skype other apps works as expected
Wi-Fi
Long lasting battery, worked over 4 hours playing games by my kids.
email works well
Cons:
screen resolution is very low, hd resolution wud have been ideal
Camera resolution is very low so Skype video calls have to be made with very bright light or almost under the sun but voice quality is good.
No Bluetooth
Not tried other apps as purchased mainly for my kids so it is currently serves the purpose and ofcourse checking yahoo or gmail is breeze.
Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: Display Screen
Suresh
Morrisville, NC
Primary Use:Other
Review 5 for Apex AP-GS918 Tablet With 9 Touch-Screen Display, 8GB Storage
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good stuff

kevin
humble .tx
December 21, 2013
easy to set up . good for this price
Pros: Easy to Use, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
kevin
humble .tx
Primary Use:Home User
Review 6 for Apex AP-GS918 Tablet With 9 Touch-Screen Display, 8GB Storage
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gift

Matt
Dallas TX
December 21, 2013
purchased as a gift. I know my family will like it since they like tablet devices.
Pros: value
Matt
Dallas TX
Primary Use:Home User
Review 7 for Apex AP-GS918 Tablet With 9 Touch-Screen Display, 8GB Storage
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Tablet Buy

Dave
Kansas City area
December 21, 2013
I recently purchased the Apex 9" tablet mentioned above because the price was excellent for the features mentioned in the ad, however I am not one who usually believes all of the hoopla in most ads. When I got the item home and turned it on I was pleasantly surprised at its initial capabilities. Android 4 is an excellent OpSys and it cleans up most of the difficulties encountered with earlier versions. The screen was most responsive and its ability to get online via my router was encouraging. The longer I played with it the more impressed I was with its features. The only drawback was the fact that it did not come with an instruction manual, however for those acquainted with tablets, the general familiarity is the same. What floored me was the fact that it was so relatively inexpensive. It had capabilities matching machines selling for three times its price. I immediately sent my wife to Office Depot to pick up a tablet for herself, lest she fall in love with mine and keep it for herself. Great strategy on my part, huh?
Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Display Screen, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: no instruction guide
Dave
Kansas City area
Primary Use:Home User
Review 8 for Apex AP-GS918 Tablet With 9 Touch-Screen Display, 8GB Storage
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun tablet

Kolorado Kenny
Western Slope
December 21, 2013
Hard to beat for the price. It does everything I need and speedy too! No Bluetooth but not necessary for my needs. Has a good selection of pre-loaded apps.
Pros: value, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: battery life
Kolorado Kenny
Western Slope
Primary Use:Other
Review 9 for Apex AP-GS918 Tablet With 9 Touch-Screen Display, 8GB Storage
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Looked good, but

rona roony
South Michigan
December 21, 2013
I liked the price and most of the features, but after getting to the set-up screen and adding info, I couldn't ever get it to hold a charge afterward. Tried to exchange it, but they were out-of-stock everywhere in our region. So, purchased what they had (Asus), at twice the price, but it has twice the storage, cameras, and more, even though it's only a 7 inch (really wanted the larger view...).
rona roony
South Michigan
Primary Use:Business User
Review 10 for Apex AP-GS918 Tablet With 9 Touch-Screen Display, 8GB Storage
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

budget friendly

nold650
December 20, 2013
its fast, operation is smooth.... front camera isnt great but what would you expect for the price. start-up and shutdowns happens in seconds... the screen display isnt $500 quality but its sufficient, it does its job. overall, i thought id just buy it an try it out.. i ended up liking it, its not as nice as my wifes galaxy tab 3, but with the price... its fine and does all that i need it for. thers no lag, the speaker is great, display is nice when playing youtube video or movies, but looks pixelated when playing games... i like it, and bought another for an xmas present to give. Cant go wrong with $70 for a 9 inch tablet.
Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Quality, Performance
Cons: Display Screen, front camera quality
nold650
Primary Use:Home User
Review 11 for Apex AP-GS918 Tablet With 9 Touch-Screen Display, 8GB Storage
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Would Not Recommend

HeatherM
Boise, ID
December 15, 2013
Got this for a great price online without seeing it in person. Screen was terrible. Picture only looked good if you were looking at it head on, and the picture would go in and out if you moved the tablet at all. Honestly it made me feel a bit woozy using it, so I returned it.
Cons: value, Difficult to Use, Display Screen, Quality
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
HeatherM
Boise, ID
Primary Use:Home User
Review 12 for Apex AP-GS918 Tablet With 9 Touch-Screen Display, 8GB Storage
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A decent functional tablet at a great price

Doug
San Diego
December 15, 2013
I just bought one of these yesterday at the sale price. In various parts of the packaging, the branding switches between Apex and TMAX. IMHO, it's well worth the sale price. I wouldn't pay over $100 for it, but it's a basically functional unit with decent dual core processor performance and 8 GB of RAM, and a straight Android 4.1 implementation. It does what I bought it to do. It won't outperform a $300-500 tablet from Samsung, Lenovo, or Apple, but it's a very sufficient unit for the price. Certainly a better deal than the 7" Apex tablet that is widely being sold for $50. The extra $20 gets a dual core processor, a 2" larger screen, and double the internal memory - all of which are very useful upgrades. The screen is not good at wide angles, and the built in camera is junk, but overall, for the price, it's a quite decent tablet for WiFi internet access.
Pros: value, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Performance
Cons: Display Screen, camera is quite poor
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Doug
San Diego
Primary Use:Home User
Review 13 for Apex AP-GS918 Tablet With 9 Touch-Screen Display, 8GB Storage
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Happy so far

jutbox
London, Ky
December 14, 2013
Have not been able to use as much as i would have liked,,but been busy,,,so far I like my tablet,,,I bought a 2 yr warrenty also,,,Have not heard anything about that as of yet,,,,,tablet is easy to use and still learning what it can & can not do
Pros: value, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: battery life
jutbox
London, Ky
Primary Use:Home User
Review 14 for Apex AP-GS918 Tablet With 9 Touch-Screen Display, 8GB Storage
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So far, so good

JFlashCadillac
Princeton, NJ
December 14, 2013
I bought this to replace a Craig that had battery failure on the first day. The customer service at OD always is good, as it was for my return of the fried Craig. I found enough positive reviews for this Apex (aka TMax) to justify paying the extra $10, so I ordered it from OD. It comes with a "quick start-up" guide, which would not have been enough for newbie me even to turn it on if I had not practiced on the returned Craig for several hours before its battery failed.
The start-up guide refers to the Apex (TMax) website for a more detailed manual, but there was nothing there when I looked. Half the fun of new technology is bumbling through the learning curve, and that is what I am doing. I just got this to use friends' WiFi when I visit them, but I am sure that it will lead to heavier use.
Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Display Screen, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance, comes with cables not included with other brands.
Cons: minimal users manual no on-line support
JFlashCadillac
Princeton, NJ
Primary Use:Home User
Review 15 for Apex AP-GS918 Tablet With 9 Touch-Screen Display, 8GB Storage
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Surprising performance!

CodingProdigy
Illinois
December 12, 2013
Much like the 7 inch variant of this tablet, you can expect to have a poor display with bad viewing angles, but one thing I did not expect is that this cheap $60 tablet would perform so well!
Buying these cheap tablets from Craig, Apex, Polaroid, Jazz and whatnot typically meant you'd be lucky to see it score 5000 in benchmarks, and that you would only get 4gb of internal storage.
Here we have 8GB, the Interface operation is slick, it handled some high resource tasks like mmo gaming, and actually churned out an impressive 12564 in benchmark tests, surpassing quite a few of the name brands!
Pros: value, Easy to Use, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: Display Screen
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
CodingProdigy
Illinois
Primary Use:Home User
Review 16 for Apex AP-GS918 Tablet With 9 Touch-Screen Display, 8GB Storage
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good CHEAP tablet.

Nite
Des Moines, Iowa
December 11, 2013
I bought this tablet for a spare to leave plugged into the family room docking station. I was able to install my home automation apps and DirecTV app on this and was able to root with a rooting tool.
The screen isn't the best, battery life is decent. Had no problems connecting to my network.
Not having to search the house for my only tablet will save me some time with the automation apps.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Nite
Des Moines, Iowa
Primary Use:Home User
Review 17 for Apex AP-GS918 Tablet With 9 Touch-Screen Display, 8GB Storage
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Wouldn't wish on someone

julian
Palm Desert, CA
December 6, 2013
Received tablet quickly but that was about the only good thing about it. It wouldn't hold a charge - I mean that literally. I plugged it in to give it an overnight charge and in the morning it wouldn't turn on when on battery alone. Thought, 'OK, maybe the outlet is bad' so I plugged it into an outlet in another room. After 2 hours the battery meter said it only had enough charge for 6 seconds of operation. It didn't even have that much as the instant I unplugged it it turned off.
I plugged it in to use it because I thought that if I just got a unit with a bad battery, then I just return it and get another. However, it was unbearable to use. The screen was washed out and low contrast. If you viewed it from any any angle other than dead-center, the screen faded away to black. The placement of the on-screen function icons was problematic as well. Since you have to hold it with your left hand at all times to keep it dead-center for viewing purposes, my left hand blocked the function icons and I had to reach across the screen to accomplish anything.
I cannot recommend this tablet to anyone and would never give it to someone unless I really, really disliked them. Only gave a star because I had to. I'd give negative stars if it were possible.
Pros: shipped timely
Cons: battery life, Difficult to Use, Display Screen, Performance, unwieldy
9 of 12 people found this review helpful.
julian
Palm Desert, CA
Primary Use:Home User
Review 18 for Apex AP-GS918 Tablet With 9 Touch-Screen Display, 8GB Storage
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great budget tablet(so far)

Streetguru
December 5, 2013
While I've only owned it for a week this thing has been great. I bought it because it was only 80 dollars and with the 2 year warranty the total came to just over 100, and so far its the best 100 dollars I've ever spent.
Pros:
PS1 emulation
GBA emulation
PvZ 2
Micro SD Slot(The memory is 1 internal SD and 1 external SD both 4 GBs with 1GB built in but its full with the OS)
Mini HDMI slot
Responsive multi-touch screen
Fairly bright display if nothing else
Fair battery life while gaming, lasts me about 4 hours of straight PS1 emulation with wifi on and max brightness.
Cons:
Rather small resolution
Viewing angles aren't too great
Can't use programs to "one-click" root currently
Minor things:
Occasionally after being in sleep mode for a night the gravity sensor has to be reset but the process takes less than 5 seconds
The wifi sometimes doesn't pick up my network and it takes a quick reset for it to get it.
I had to exchange one model because of something loose inside, might want to check before leaving the store, though it did turn on and work just fine.
For the price I'd say its one of the better low end tablets out there, it does everything I ask it to and more. the only other review currently its 2/5 and its not too correct as its a bit biased comparing a 100 dollar tablet to 500 dollar ipads(not to mention ipads don't have android and don't have the HDMI out or microSD)
Pros: value, Easy to Use, Easy to Set Up
18 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Streetguru
Primary Use:Home User
Review 19 for Apex AP-GS918 Tablet With 9 Touch-Screen Display, 8GB Storage
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Really!?

Illyaya
Atlanta, GA
December 2, 2013
I just got this 30 minutes ago. It was fully charged. Set up was less than 5 minutes. The tablet was slower that I expected. I took some pictures it was easy to use but the pictures were horrible. The display is very bad. It was like taking a step in time since I have an Apple with Retina display and pc's and a laptop with HD. I brought this because I wanted something to use when I workout and ride the train to work. If I drop it then or lose it I would not be upset. I would not recommend this product for anyone. I gave it 2 stars because it does do what it says but not in the way I am used to. I just prefer better graphics and speed. I put the display screen as a pro and con. I like the size but not the quality.
Pros: value, Display Screen, Lightweight, Easy to Set Up
Cons: Display Screen, Performance, picture quality
6 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Illyaya
Atlanta, GA
Primary Use:Home User