Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Lenovo® ThinkPad® Edge E420 (1141-A24) Laptop Computer With 14 LED-Backlit Screen & 2nd Gen Intel® Core™ i5-2410M With Turbo Boost 2.0

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Office Depot.

Lenovo® ThinkPad® Edge E420 (1141-A24) Laptop Computer With 14 LED-Backlit Screen & 2nd Gen Intel® Core™ i5-2410M With Turbo Boost 2.0

Item #:780678
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(5)
4 stars
(2)
3 stars
(0)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(0)
4 of 6(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo® ThinkPad® Edge E420 (1141-A24) Laptop Computer With 14 LED-Backlit Screen & 2nd Gen Intel® Core™ i5-2410M With Turbo Boost 2.0
Review 1 for Lenovo® ThinkPad® Edge E420 (1141-A24) Laptop Computer With 14 LED-Backlit Screen & 2nd Gen Intel® Core™ i5-2410M With Turbo Boost 2.0
January 18, 2012
viru
tulsa, ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Student
Primary Use:School User
Bought this product:Online

lenovo

excellent laptop with cheapest price.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lenovo® ThinkPad® Edge E420 (1141-A24) Laptop Computer With 14 LED-Backlit Screen & 2nd Gen Intel® Core™ i5-2410M With Turbo Boost 2.0
December 24, 2011
i8flan
Seattle, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store

Perfect combo of performance, quality and value

Pros: value, Quality
Bought this laptop about a month ago and absolutely love it. It's no frills looks wise like all in the thinkpad line from Lenovo. I have a higher end thinkpad at work which feels slightly more substantial but not much. This is the only reason I gave it 4 stars there instead of 5. But compared to any other machines at the store it was of much higher quality. I added 8 GB RAM mostly because it was only $40. Not that it needed it but can't hurt.
The machine boots up fast, has decent battery life and performs well on all fronts. I used the HDMI out to watch a video on my 42" LCD and the quality was great. No complaints at all.
Don't buy if you need a flashy laptop...it's not. But if you want quality and decent enough performance for anything other than serious gaming...it's a great choice.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lenovo® ThinkPad® Edge E420 (1141-A24) Laptop Computer With 14 LED-Backlit Screen & 2nd Gen Intel® Core™ i5-2410M With Turbo Boost 2.0
October 19, 2011
Zorro
Newark, DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:In-store

Best Laptop Ever

Pros: durability, Performance, Quality
Cons: none for the business minded
This new Thinkpad as the right combination of durability, attractive looks, and turbo performance. It is the business model for home office professionals or mobile college students who do not need the horsepower of a more expensive Thinkpad laptop. Highly recommend this model, with consideration given for boosting the RAM if you plan to multi-task frequently.
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lenovo® ThinkPad® Edge E420 (1141-A24) Laptop Computer With 14 LED-Backlit Screen & 2nd Gen Intel® Core™ i5-2410M With Turbo Boost 2.0
September 17, 2011
Derryank
Boston. MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Student
Primary Use:School User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:26 - 35

First Pc purchase in 6 years

Pros: specifications
Cons: its no mac
I am a mac user and need something for school. After a week of rigorous driving,browsing and research i hope to have found my answer. They say its the next best thing to an apple. It better be.
-25points
3out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lenovo® ThinkPad® Edge E420 (1141-A24) Laptop Computer With 14 LED-Backlit Screen & 2nd Gen Intel® Core™ i5-2410M With Turbo Boost 2.0
September 10, 2011
IceC0ld321
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Student
Primary Use:School User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:26 - 35

Unbelievable Steal

I'd been debating buying this Laptop for quite sometime but when I saw it for $530 at Office Depot, I couldn't pass it up. What made it an absolutely unbelievable deal was the fact that, as a student, I got a $100 VISA Gift Card w/ the purchase.
This laptop w/ the same specs from the Lenovo website w/ their best deal cost at least $100-200 more. The colors aren't that vibrant but I will say I'm very satisfied with the antiglare screen, so much less strain on my eyes. The sound quality is decent, not great, the volume quality is well enough for me to hear downstairs from upstairs. Laptop has sleek design for a Lenovo, and the battery life gets me through about 5.5 hours of class w/ using multiple apps and some internet. Fingerprint reader is a nice feature but I never use it.
It's relatively quiet, not as great as I expected from the other reviews, but it sure beats my previous PCs. One thing I thought was unique is that this computer will not charge if you have more than 95% of power remaining --- this extends your battery life by protecting it from being overcharged.
I'm very happy w/ this laptop and can easily say it's the best PC purchase I've ever made. Shoulda bought a second to gift to someone while it was on sale.
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lenovo® ThinkPad® Edge E420 (1141-A24) Laptop Computer With 14 LED-Backlit Screen & 2nd Gen Intel® Core™ i5-2410M With Turbo Boost 2.0
July 19, 2011
Radiant
Los Angeles
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store

I must like this laptop because I take it along.

Pros: fast functional and a great deal
Cons: not so great for off time
This was an impulse buy. I saw it on sale at Office Depot and I had a store credit to use up so I just bought it without any research at all.
So here's what I got without spending time.
Actually I got a really good deal on this powerful light comfortable handsome and fairly loaded machine. I love the design and all around feel of this model. The keyboard is a work of art to me but I peck type so what do I know? ((Well I know that I love the keyboard.))
So now the not so good parts...
I also have a Lenovo Ideapad 565 and it kind of blows this Thinkpad out of the water. The glossy screen on the Ideapad is just beautiful while the anti glare screen on my Thinkpad E420 is a little bit better than O.K.
The Lenovo E420 is all business and not much pleasure compared to my Lenovo Z565. For example the This Thinkpad has a very limited card reader and limited media software compared to my Ideapad. No Bluetooth..
I still love this baby and even though I could still return it I won't.
If I could do it again I would order from the Lenovo website and upgrade the screen to glossy and add Bluetooth
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lenovo® ThinkPad® Edge E420 (1141-A24) Laptop Computer With 14 LED-Backlit Screen & 2nd Gen Intel® Core™ i5-2410M With Turbo Boost 2.0
June 27, 2011
Frank
New Orleans, La
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:36 - 45

Great Sandy Bridge Laptop - Quick Review

Pros: Value for Money, Battery Life, Quiet, Display Screen, Design, cpu, 3 usb ports one serial ata/usb and hdmi
Cons: no drive activity lights, no bluetooth, no hinge latches in the closed position
The I5 Sandy Bridge is great! 5.9 windows index with 6.9 for the CPU.
Battery life is OVER 2.5 hours listening to Pandora and watching Netflix - which works for me.
Keyboard, video and overall feel is great. Simple clean design.
No bluetooth and no drive activity light anywhere on the machine.
It runs cool and quiet.
I like the hard buttons for the mute, vol, camera, screen intensity and media playback - function keys double as those accessory control keys.
No media included. Took 4 DVD's and about 1.25 hours to complete initial system backup.
Tochpad is very large and takes a little getting used to, but works as well as others.
No Numpad on the 14 inch model.
Office Depot had the best deal I could find on this unit. Online could not touch their price.
Speakers work fine. Nothing special
+62points
63out of 64found this review helpful.