Office Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Office Depot
Shop Clocks or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black

X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black

Item #:805564
Average Customer Rating:
3.226 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(11)
4 stars
(5)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(9)
15 of 31(48%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
Review 1 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
March 23, 2015
New Orleans
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

Don't last long.

Cons: Quality
Bought it and it was broken after a couple of months of using it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
January 26, 2015
Ramsey, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Pencil Sharpener

Pros: Good Value, Quality
This pencil sharpen with it being electric works pretty slick at my desk job. It doesn't bind up like some nor when you push a pencil into it you don't have to hold it from moving. I do like that since I work in a fast paced environment and need to get my stuff done quickly. I know that it might sound silly that a pencil sharpener would mean so much and its efficiency but most people don't have time to dingle around with a electric pencil sharpener. Great quality for the price.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
January 14, 2015
Phila, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Worst

Does not last very long. Lead gets stuck in the sharpener and stops working. Ours barely lasted 3 months
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
December 29, 2014
enterprise or
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Other

good product

Pros: Good Value, Quality, Long Lasting
this is the second one of these that we have bought in the last 20 years they last that long. easy to use & very care free.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
October 30, 2014
Corpus Christi TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

disappointed

The receptacle doesn't attach to the base securely. It will only sharpen if you are holding it together.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
September 15, 2014
Goshen Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

a little tricky to use

Pros: Powerful Motor, Large Shavings Receptacle
Cons: Difficult to Use
I have to hold the removable front to get the sharpener to go.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
September 8, 2014
Murray, UT`
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

A very good product.

Pros: Comfortable Grip, Good Value, Quality, Long Lasting
A good buy for a very good product.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
August 21, 2014
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Other

I LOVE this sharpener!

Pros: Good Value, Quality, sharpens in seconds, tips don't break off after sharpening, sharpens watercolor pencils without clogging
I've bought several electric sharpeners and they always broke after a couple of months but this sharpener has held up through my watercolor pencils very nicely. I've noticed several bad reviews on this sharpener and thought I might add some advice on how to use this sharpener.
It is very sensitive and all you have to do is firmly hold your pencil in and let the Sharpener do it's thing. You cannot push the pencil in and force it to sharpen, I believe that's how I broke my previous sharpeners. Because of this, it may not be a good idea for school children to use, seeing that a lot of children may be rough with a sharpener and will want to shove the pencil in as hard as they can. With gentle care, this pencil sharpener, is a great buy, however I did have to tape the front end to the sides with masking tape because it kept falling off, other than that, I just love it!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
July 10, 2014
Houston, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

The worst

Cons: Pricey/Poor Value, Quality, Weak Motor
I ordered several of these to put in classrooms. One worked the first time it was used, then stopped completely. The others work, but not very well and act like they are about to go out completely. Don't waste your money on this one.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
June 6, 2014
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Two Defective Sharpeners

Cons: Quality
I read many reviews trying to find a quality pencil sharpener for the office. Somehow, this one was the best reviewed. Granted, it DOES do an excellent job of sharpening pencils... so long as you are holding the receptacle on tight. I initially received (what I thought was) a defective sharpener which I promptly exchanged for another sharpener... which also turned out to be defective. So... maybe that's just how they're made! The receptacle doesn't securely attach to the base, and it won't operate unless the two are engaged. I'm certainly back on the hunt for a better sharpener, because this one isn't going to cut it.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
March 31, 2014
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Not what I expected

Cons: Weak Motor, Small Shavings Receptacle
I guess they just don't make them like they used to. Didn't sharpen great, and motor seemed to wear down after just a few seconds of sharpening.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
March 24, 2014
FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Fair purchase

Have not used long enough to form a "5" opinion. It seems to be well made and does sharpen quickly. The downside would be the shaving receptacle. Although it is conveniently located in the front and easy to remove, the shavings end up on your desk due to the shallow compartment. However, not seeing the item in advance, that would be hard to determine when ordering online. The next one I order, I will be sure I look in the store.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
February 4, 2014
City, State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely Perfect!

This X–Acto 1818 Series Electric Pencil
Sharpener is great! sharpened a brand new pencil with it and it was sharpened absolutely perfectly! The leal came to a very fine point, and when I tested it, it didm't break! I recommend this sharpener to everyone!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
January 28, 2014
San Jose, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

2 Burned Out

Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: overheats when used too often, shavings drawer is not large enough
When it worked, it worked great! I teach art, so students are often sharpening their pencils and colored pencils. After being used for 2 months, the two I bought have burned out. Sadly, pencil sharpeners, electric ones, are not made for a lot of use. So unless, you're only going to use it intermittently, I do not recommend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
December 17, 2013
Buffalo, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Under Powered

Cons: Quality, Weak Motor
When we received this item and tried to sharpen the first pencil the sharpener just made a buzzing sound when we inserted the pencil in . After I gave it a nice whack on the side, the motor would now actually rotate instead of just buzz but it barely had enough power to sharpen a pencil and you had to be really easy on the amount of force when pushing the pencil in. My 5 year old was completely frustrated with it and I would say it was nearly unusable so It went back to the store. It may have been a defective unit, but did not want to give this particular model a second chance.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
September 9, 2013
Wilsonville, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Love it!

Pros: Powerful Motor, Good Value, Easy to Use
Cons: Loud, Small Shavings Receptacle
I have only had this pencil sharpener a few weeks, so I can't say how well it will hold up yet. I can say that it sharpens pencils very well and very fast. I'm thrilled as I am a mother of two school age children and am forever sharpening pencils. Sharping all 48 pencils for back to school took me 5-10 minutes max.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
July 25, 2013
Livonia, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Pencil sharpener.

Unit does not sharpen to center of pencil lead. The new point consisted of wood and lead making pencil difficult to use! Ticonderoga #1 pencils.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
May 9, 2013
Elyria, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Traditional Office
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online

Good

Pros: Powerful Motor, Good Value, Easy to Use, Quality
Cons: auto stop does not work
Makes a very sharp point, it's quiet and quick! Overall happy with the price vs. product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
April 17, 2013
Hollywood, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65

Nice Sharpener but No Automatic Stop

Pros: pirce
Cons: no auto stop
The description shows Automatic Start/Stop as YES, however, there is no automatic stop. Just be careful to take a look after a few seconds so you don't grind your pencil to a nub. I am happy with the job it does for the price I paid.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
March 11, 2013
City, State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pencil Sharpener

I have two of these. One at home and one at work. They do the job of quickly sharpening pencils and the price was reasonable. Like all pencil sharpeners, it does the best job if you slowly rotate the pencil while it's being sharpened. Construction is similar to the two "Boston" sharpeners that finally wore out after 20 years, so I hope these do as well. Apparently, the old Boston electric sharpener is now branded "X-Acto" but really owned by Elmer's Products, the glue people. Of course, on the bottom it says "Made In China" like everything else!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>