Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black

X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black

Item #:805564
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(7)
4 stars
(5)
3 stars
(3)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(4)
11 of 20(55%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
Review 1 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
September 15, 2014
Patti
Goshen Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

a little tricky to use

Pros: Powerful Motor, Large Shavings Receptacle
Cons: Difficult to Use
I have to hold the removable front to get the sharpener to go.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
September 8, 2014
glehaven
Murray, UT`
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

A very good product.

Pros: Comfortable Grip, Good Value, Quality, Long Lasting
A good buy for a very good product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
August 21, 2014
LCRobertson
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Other

I LOVE this sharpener!

Pros: Good Value, Quality, sharpens in seconds, tips don't break off after sharpening, sharpens watercolor pencils without clogging
I've bought several electric sharpeners and they always broke after a couple of months but this sharpener has held up through my watercolor pencils very nicely. I've noticed several bad reviews on this sharpener and thought I might add some advice on how to use this sharpener.
It is very sensitive and all you have to do is firmly hold your pencil in and let the Sharpener do it's thing. You cannot push the pencil in and force it to sharpen, I believe that's how I broke my previous sharpeners. Because of this, it may not be a good idea for school children to use, seeing that a lot of children may be rough with a sharpener and will want to shove the pencil in as hard as they can. With gentle care, this pencil sharpener, is a great buy, however I did have to tape the front end to the sides with masking tape because it kept falling off, other than that, I just love it!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
July 10, 2014
Training Coordinator
Houston, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

The worst

Cons: Pricey/Poor Value, Quality, Weak Motor
I ordered several of these to put in classrooms. One worked the first time it was used, then stopped completely. The others work, but not very well and act like they are about to go out completely. Don't waste your money on this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
June 6, 2014
Brittany
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Two Defective Sharpeners

Cons: Quality
I read many reviews trying to find a quality pencil sharpener for the office. Somehow, this one was the best reviewed. Granted, it DOES do an excellent job of sharpening pencils... so long as you are holding the receptacle on tight. I initially received (what I thought was) a defective sharpener which I promptly exchanged for another sharpener... which also turned out to be defective. So... maybe that's just how they're made! The receptacle doesn't securely attach to the base, and it won't operate unless the two are engaged. I'm certainly back on the hunt for a better sharpener, because this one isn't going to cut it.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
March 31, 2014
ades
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Not what I expected

Cons: Weak Motor, Small Shavings Receptacle
I guess they just don't make them like they used to. Didn't sharpen great, and motor seemed to wear down after just a few seconds of sharpening.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
March 24, 2014
books
FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Fair purchase

Have not used long enough to form a "5" opinion. It seems to be well made and does sharpen quickly. The downside would be the shaving receptacle. Although it is conveniently located in the front and easy to remove, the shavings end up on your desk due to the shallow compartment. However, not seeing the item in advance, that would be hard to determine when ordering online. The next one I order, I will be sure I look in the store.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
January 28, 2014
ArtTeacher
San Jose, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

2 Burned Out

Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: overheats when used too often, shavings drawer is not large enough
When it worked, it worked great! I teach art, so students are often sharpening their pencils and colored pencils. After being used for 2 months, the two I bought have burned out. Sadly, pencil sharpeners, electric ones, are not made for a lot of use. So unless, you're only going to use it intermittently, I do not recommend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
December 17, 2013
Sam
Buffalo, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Under Powered

Cons: Quality, Weak Motor
When we received this item and tried to sharpen the first pencil the sharpener just made a buzzing sound when we inserted the pencil in . After I gave it a nice whack on the side, the motor would now actually rotate instead of just buzz but it barely had enough power to sharpen a pencil and you had to be really easy on the amount of force when pushing the pencil in. My 5 year old was completely frustrated with it and I would say it was nearly unusable so It went back to the store. It may have been a defective unit, but did not want to give this particular model a second chance.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
September 9, 2013
Lisa C
Wilsonville, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Love it!

Pros: Powerful Motor, Good Value, Easy to Use
Cons: Loud, Small Shavings Receptacle
I have only had this pencil sharpener a few weeks, so I can't say how well it will hold up yet. I can say that it sharpens pencils very well and very fast. I'm thrilled as I am a mother of two school age children and am forever sharpening pencils. Sharping all 48 pencils for back to school took me 5-10 minutes max.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
May 9, 2013
BDeull
Elyria, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Traditional Office
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online

Good

Pros: Powerful Motor, Good Value, Easy to Use, Quality
Cons: auto stop does not work
Makes a very sharp point, it's quiet and quick! Overall happy with the price vs. product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
April 17, 2013
44mag
Hollywood, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65

Nice Sharpener but No Automatic Stop

Pros: pirce
Cons: no auto stop
The description shows Automatic Start/Stop as YES, however, there is no automatic stop. Just be careful to take a look after a few seconds so you don't grind your pencil to a nub. I am happy with the job it does for the price I paid.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
January 29, 2013
NotSoSharp
Santa Ana, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online

HORRIBLE

Pros: size
Cons: Quality
I just got this for my office and plugged it right in. It is a nice size but it stopped sharpening midway through my second pencil and gave me a hard time during the first one! I gave it a chance and tried to check if maybe it had become clogged or something but it just stopped working for no reason. I definately won't be ordering another one or anything else from this brand!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
August 14, 2012
Eraser
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:26 - 35

Pencil sharpener

I purchased this item for my department. It does at great job at producing a pointy tip that does not break. Major improvement over the old one we had.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 15 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
March 16, 2012
beaches045
Hermosa Beach, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Pleasure
Bought this product:Online
Gender of user:Female
Age of user:21 - 30

It Stands Up to My Daughter

Pros: value for the price, when pencil is sharpened the tip doesn't fall off
This is at least the fourth pencil sharpener I have purchased for my daughter and it is the only one that is still operational. Granted she has only had it several weeks, but the others I have purchased have fallen by the wayside (read returned) in disrepair. She uses a lot of Crayola Coloured Pencils and it stands up to her continued use.
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 16 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
August 17, 2010
martinez
Tacoma, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Gender:Female
Age:36 - 45
Bought this product:Online

Powerful Sharpener

Sleek and space-saving. Powerful.
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
February 5, 2009
mawetz6
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I purchased this as a Christmas gift for my son. It does not have an automatic stop and it ate up his pencils. I returned it.
+19points
34out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 18 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
October 14, 2008
Anonymous
Lake Wales, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:School User
Gender:Male
Bought this product:Online

Good bang for the buck

Pros: speed, price
Cons: Quality
Great Product. It's cheap, fast and quiet. Great for a classroom. The quality is a bit low, but it's what I expected for this price. I'd recommend!!!
+26points
29out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 19 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
September 2, 2008
roseann
Alexandria, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very powerful

I purchased one and it arrived broken. However I did receive a replacement and it is a very powerful sharpener.
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 20 for X-Acto® By Boston® 1800-Series Electric Pencil Sharpener, Black
February 21, 2008
caha
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent product

We normally get our pencil sharpeners through our school district, but decided to get it at officedepot. These work better and are not as loud as our old ones were.
+137points
141out of 145found this review helpful.