Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP Pavilion 500-056 Desktop Computer With AMD A8 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Office Depot.

HP Pavilion 500-056 Desktop Computer With AMD A8 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor

Item #:848198
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
9 of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HP Pavilion 500-056 Desktop Computer With AMD A8 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
Review 1 for HP Pavilion 500-056 Desktop Computer With AMD A8 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good computer

Mickles
new orleans
December 25, 2013
Very fast, easy to set up, very good value for money, bluetooth works great, video clear, needs better sound but ok for daily listening, used to creative sound but this computer has great expansion options so sound card very easy to put in. Opened 10 windows same time computer never slowed down. If you are average user, work from home , anything this is all you need. With low price options to add to computer wide open.
Pros: value, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: sound
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Mickles
new orleans
Primary Use:Home User
Review 2 for HP Pavilion 500-056 Desktop Computer With AMD A8 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great machine

john3
Appleton,Wi
December 20, 2013
I replaced my 8yr old hp xp machine with this and it is awesome. easy set up super fast and win 8 was no big deal and I am no pc guru..loce the pc so much got the wife one to.
Pros: Performance
Cons: none
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
john3
Appleton,Wi
Primary Use:Home User
Review 3 for HP Pavilion 500-056 Desktop Computer With AMD A8 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

HP Desktop May be the best I have eer owned

Rob
South Carolina
December 14, 2013
First, let me say that I have owned several HP products. I have purchased two notebooks and this is my second desktops by them. I was truly hesitant at first because of the new Windows 8 functionality. However, with a little know how and lots of reading, I have quickly learned to work with this new system of Microsoft.
Secondly, the machine handles with ease and quickness. I have only had this machine about two weeks and there is not much more I can SAY ON IT AT THE TIME EXCEPT THAT IT FEELS REALLY GOOD.I JUST HOPE THAT IT WILL BE MY LAST MACHINE PURCHASED... OLD MAN
Pros: value, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: Difficult to Use
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Rob
South Carolina
Primary Use:Home User
Review 4 for HP Pavilion 500-056 Desktop Computer With AMD A8 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AMAZING COMPUTER!

Coolcrumb8
December 13, 2013
This computer is amazing. It runs games decently. However, it runs Minecraft GREAT! I can play Minecraft at the hugest settings while getting about 60 to 100 frames, on average. While recording, I can run it at 30 t 50 frames. The computer was easy to set up and it is EXTREMELY quiet. It is also VERY fast. I love it! :D
Pros: value, Lightweight, Quality, Performance, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Display Screen, Easy to Set Up, amazing!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Coolcrumb8
Primary Use:Other
Review 5 for HP Pavilion 500-056 Desktop Computer With AMD A8 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Desktop And Even Better Tech Support

SharonInTX
Texas
November 25, 2013
I purchased this computer to replace my 5 year old HP Pavilion with Windows Vista. When I got the new Windows 8, I was totally lost. I work from home and needed something that was familiar and didn't require a long learning curve. I am 63 years old and have never even used a smart phone, so this was totally foreign to me.
I called Tech Support and couldn't have asked for better or more patient customer service. Archita put a Start button on my desktop. She also removed the password that I continually had to enter if computer went to sleep. I'm the only one who uses the computer; I don't need it to keep asking me for a password. She also moved all my Explorer Favorites to the new Explorer 10.
She spent lots of time on the phone with me to determine why I wasn't getting any sound from my speakers, which by the way, were not HP and not bought with the computer. We determined that the speakers were blown (didn't work on the old computer either.) But together we connected the audio cable from my old HP flatscreen monitor to the back of the tower and behold! Now I have sound.
In addition to this, she also helped get my MS Outlook 2003 set up to correctly receive email and put in correct inbox folders from my ATT email addresses. My new desktop did NOT have MS Outlook on it and in no way was she obligated to help me, but she did. She spend 2-3 hours EVERY DAY for 3 consecutive days on the phone with me to help get my new PC working just right. I couldn't have asked for better customer service and I will tell everyone I know about my experience. If I ever have to buy another computer, it definitely will be another HP.
Pros: value, Quality, Performance, Easy to Use, Easy to Set Up, great tech support
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
SharonInTX
Texas
Primary Use:Home User
Review 6 for HP Pavilion 500-056 Desktop Computer With AMD A8 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Bought a lemon

Katt
Norman, Okla.
November 16, 2013
It may be only one of a few lemons. I bought the computer on Oct. 28th and took it back to OD on Nov. 16th.
The short version is I had to do a hard shutdown, then unplug the power cable, plug it back in then reboot. This was happening repeatedly.
I had to do this in order for my HP monitor to receive a VGA signal from the computer. The hard shutdown was because the computer would not shutdown.
I checked with Microsoft on the off chance that it was a software issue.
software Ok.
Called HP support. 3x's. It is the worst support I have ever run accross in that the technicians are not knowledgeable enough to troubleshoot their own product. Their solution was to keep unplugging and plugging the power cord. I was told each time that the motherboard had built up a static charge.
I wasn't born yesterday; if there was indeed a static charge build up, then they were in fact admitting to a design flaw, but no remedy.
Ok, off my soap box now; I most likely got the luck of the draw and got a lemon.
I took it back and upgraded to the HP Envy; a more everything machine. I just hope it doesn't have more problems.
Pros: value, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Easy to Set Up
Cons: Quality, Performance
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Katt
Norman, Okla.
Primary Use:Business User
Review 7 for HP Pavilion 500-056 Desktop Computer With AMD A8 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Decent Hardware

Christian
Thomasville, GA
October 7, 2013
This computer has never dropped below 40fps while playing WoW on ultra settings.
Pros: value, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance, great for starting pc gaming!
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Christian
Thomasville, GA
Primary Use:Home User
Review 8 for HP Pavilion 500-056 Desktop Computer With AMD A8 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Computer

JSL
PA
October 5, 2013
I love this computer. It's fast and runs so smoothly. Lots of room for expansion. Windows 8 takes some getting used to, but is working great. Fast shipping and a great price.
Pros: value, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
JSL
PA
Primary Use:Home User
Review 9 for HP Pavilion 500-056 Desktop Computer With AMD A8 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Much faster than my old computer

Pauline
Florence SC
September 7, 2013
Arrived quickly. Fairly easy set up. Runs fast. Just trying to learn Windows 8.
Pros: Easy to Set Up, Performance
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Pauline
Florence SC
Primary Use:Home User
Review 10 for HP Pavilion 500-056 Desktop Computer With AMD A8 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Hp Computer

Mario
Missouri
August 10, 2013
Computer is very functional. Only thing is I should have gotten a system with Windows 8 Pro or Windows 7 Pro operating system because you can not Remote Desktop to this computer.
Pros: value, Quiet, Easy to Use, Performance
Cons: windows 8 home ed.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Mario
Missouri
Primary Use:Business User