Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor

HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor

Item #:848252
Average Customer Rating:
4.091 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(17)
4 stars
(10)
3 stars
(1)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(3)
26 of 31(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 49 Answers
Customer Reviews for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
Review 1 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
April 19, 2014
sam7
central Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great Computer

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
You just can't go wrong with this computer. To get this much memeory and hard drive space at this great Office Depot price is unbeatable.Start is only takes seconds.
Review 2 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
April 10, 2014
kanastos
Corpus Christi, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Very good CPU

Cons: windows 8
This CPU was purchased to replace a much older system. I like the easy access to the USB ports. It is a Windows 8 system. The computer works great, it is just quite an adjustment getting used to the Windows 8. I will just have to keep plugging away at it.
Review 3 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
April 1, 2014
CandJsGifts
Jacksonville, AR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

It's a SHAME!!!

Pros: it was a good price., when it worked it was great.
Cons: operating system stopped working after 5 months.
I purchased this desktop September 2013, March 2013, less than a year later, the operating system has completely stopped working.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
March 30, 2014
Sadeesh
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Latest Wireless Driver is missing.

Gave three start for the price offered in Office Deport. For this config I could not find it in any other place for such a price. Another issue is You need to update the Wireless Driver. Its a shame that you put more than $500 and HP can't ship the PC with latest wireless drivers. So don't be surprised if your PC does not pick up the Wireless as soon as you boot it up. Need to hook up to a wired ethernet cable and update the driver.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
February 22, 2014
N8Mueller
Oklahoma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Solid All Round Computer

Pros: plenty of ram, good sized hard drive, price, quick start up
Cons: underpowered graphics card, small power supply
Before I share my experience with this PC, I should mention that mine cost $600 came with a 2 TB Hard Drive, 12 GB DDR3 Ram, 300W Power Supply, and an AMD Radeon 8670D graphics card.
I finally decided that it was time to replace the 7 year old HP Pavillion that I purchased before going to college. The computer was really showing its age. Because that computer served me well, I gave preference to HP when shopping for a new one.
I ended up going with this particular model because I felt it had the best mix of power vs affordability. I'm a light PC gamer (I tend to go more for the Steam sales, and am not willing to pay to be able to run games on the highest graphics settings).
I have a dual monitor set up (I'm used to using two at work, so I wanted the same at home), and am using the bluetooth keyboard and mouse that came with the computer. There's nothing special about either, but it is nice that they readily connected to the PC with no effort on my part beyond pressing the "connect" button. Ultimately I think I will probably switch back to my Logitech mouse as it is more ergonomic and has a couple more programmable buttons. The computer seems to handle everything quite well. It has been able to handle multiple applications running at the same time with no slow down. I don't know if it is the computer or improvements to Windows, but the start up time on this is almost tablet quick, taking mere seconds to boot up.
I'm running Windows 8.1(64 bit), and after a week of use, let me just say that I get it. I definitely understand what Microsoft is trying to do with Windows 8, and would be interested to try a Surface tablet to see how integrated the MS experience has become. Many of the motions and mouse clicks are different than in older versions of Windows, but make sense when you start to think about the built in touch-screen functionality. I believe that most of the complaints around Windows 8 are coming mostly just because it is a little different. After a couple days, I am using Windows 8 as efficiently as the older versions. The start up to the live tiles, while a little off-putting coming from a PC, makes more and more sense as you customize the main page to include the apps you use.
There are a couple issues that may create problems later should you want to upgrade any of the components. For a PC coming from HP's gaming line, the graphics card is definitely underpowered, if you are looking to play the latest and greatest videogames. Further compounding this problem is the power supply. This model only has a 300W power supply, which means that if you ever decide to upgrade the graphics card, you will probably need to upgrade the power supply first. If you dabble in upgrading your PCs to extend their life, this may be a deal-breaker.
In short, while the HP envy won't impress the gamer in your life, this PC offers good value for money, and should offer the speed you want to cover pretty much all of your day to day needs. It boots quickly, can handle multiple applications at the same time with no slow down, and should be able to run most games (just not on the highest settings). While there is a bit of a learning curve, don't let Windows 8 scare you, it will come to make sense. The two big downsides to this PC are the weak graphics card and too small power supply. In spite of these drawbacks, I would consider this to be a good purchase. If this computer holds up as well as the last HP I had, I will be one overjoyed customer.
26 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
January 19, 2014
Sher
Flat Rock, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

HP Envy Computer

Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Nice design with easy automatic set up. Prompts for information first time turning on which is quicker than earlier models. Performance is quite quick and programs load fast. Many apps available and ready for set up. Nice to have 8 USB ports and multiple card readers. Power on button has been improved. Included keyboard isn't as good as prior models. Could be a bit more angled for easier typing. Graphics and wireless connectivity very good.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
January 9, 2014
Whiskers
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Replaced my XP out-dated computer

I've had this computer about 2 months. I'm very happy with the speed and quality of the computer. It has great features. For me the best option was being able to go wireless. Windows 8 is an adjustment from what I'm accustomed to but I realize a common platform was needed to utilize the cloud for various computing devices. I still need some training maneuvering between and closing out screens. I was able to set up my desktop similar to what I had on my old computer. I did have some minor issues with some of the old documents I've tried to move that I'm sure I'll be able to solve. I've actually spent very little time overall on this computer and everything I did was on the fly. I would consider myself a novice so for the set up and transition to go as easy as it did speaks volumes to the quality of this computer.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
January 7, 2014
bandero94
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great for Budget Gaming

Pros: Easy to Set Up, lightning fast, great sound, good for gaming
Cons: none so far
I bought this computer mainly for school and video games. It is powerful and lightning fast! Browsing the internet is a great experience on this computer with its impressive response time. You can play lots of video games on highest settings with no lag, but more gpu demanding games (Skyrim and Battlefield for instance) might make you crank down your settings a bit to get a lag free experience. Watching videos is also great! The sound is amazing. I had a bit of a problem with updating to Windows 8.1, though. So I decided to refresh the whole computer back to Windows 8, and that solved the issue. Obviously that isn't the computer's fault, so I am still giving it 5 stars. I purchased it on Black Friday so it was an amazing deal for $500.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
December 21, 2013
RCRino
Chelan, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Doing good so far

Pros: Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: Difficult to Use
Haven't had computer long but very easy to use. Windows 8 takes some getting used to but is awesome! Love the 12 usb ports, no more usb splicers here!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
December 20, 2013
Happy customer
Salem, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great computer

Pros: value, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
So far, this has been a great computer, super fast. Have never used an AMD processor before, but seems to be doing great thus far. Graphics are great. Overall value, hard to beat.
Review 11 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
December 16, 2013
Ronald
Tallahassee
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Worst ever

Pros: Easy to Set Up
Cons: Quality, Performance
Bad software loaded and corrupted computer. After several calls to Microsoft and HP had to take it back for a full refund.
2 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
December 14, 2013
pete
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

great value

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: had an error that i could not fix
I am going to take the computer back and exchange it for the same one. Because of an error that keeps coming up. Other that that it is a great computer.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
December 14, 2013
Gerry
Bay Area, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Excellent PC, very pleased with my Envy

Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: value, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
I purchased this PC on Cyber Monday and got a really good deal for it. I was skeptical at first because I have always been more of a Intel guy but the AMD processer has proven itself in the weeks since. Solid desktop for the price, does what I need it to and more. Paired it with some good speakers to put the Beats by Dr. Dre soundcard to good use. Couldn't be happier. Very easy on the eyes as well. Everything was EXTREMELY easy to set up as well. Just recently paired it with a HP LaserJet Pro MFP M127fw printer (also purchased through Office Depot) and it too was very easy to set up and use. I think I am sold on HP.
Review 14 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
December 14, 2013
John
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Great value

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Good computer for the price. Fast and Easy set up.
Shopping experience and the communication was great.
Would buy from Office Depot online again.
Review 15 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
December 14, 2013
Kb
MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Nice computer

Pros: value, Easy to Set Up
I am pleased with this computer. Set up was easy until we tried to hook it up to the TV. Had to purchase a DCI to DCI cable and use a separate audio cord to hear sound from the tv speakers. I had purchased a DCI to HDMI adapter but could not get the sound to work even with the additional audio cord. Beware this HP does not have an HDMI port.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
December 1, 2013
Zackary014
Palestine, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great product for the money

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Easy to Set Up, Performance
I have only had this PC for a few day and I am VERY pleased! I would recommend this machine to anyone.
Review 17 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
November 29, 2013
CAPTAIN RON
OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

BEST BANG FOR YOUR PC DOLLAR

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance, super great value
Cons: n/a
THIS IS THE MUSCLE CAR OF PCs, AN IMPRESSIVE PERKS AND POWER WITH ALL THE FACTORY BOLT ONs @ A SUPER ONCE A YEAR SAVINGS! YOU JUST CAN'T BEAT THIS ONE, UNLESS YOU STEAL IT. SUPER BUY!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
November 24, 2013
bill
pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

hp 700-056

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
arrived on time easy to set up everything worked out of the box
Review 19 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
November 22, 2013
len
Oregon
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Disappointing so far

I'll start with the bad: Upgrade to Windows 8.1 is impossible. I've done all the windows and HP updates and have run the windows 8.1 compatibility tool. It has a driver problem. Web search indicates that this is pretty universal on HP computers (see 0xC1900101- 0x30018). If you are talented enough, apparently removing the wireless card will solve the problem, but no one should have to dig into a brand new computer like that. The other irritant is every time the monitor goes to sleep, it resets the screen resolution. No previous computer has had this bad habit and I've tried everything to cure it with no luck.
Otherwise it was fairly easy to set up and seems fast. But the negative overwhelms the positive so far.
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
November 9, 2013
PC User
Portland, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fast & Quiet

Pros: value, Performance
Generally pleased. Frustrating to use Windows 8 now 8.1 which is not fault of HP. Would have been nice to have had some written documentation to help since not familiar with 8 at all. As expected took several hours for all the updates & then the update to Win 8.1.
I do think their should be something included on the Secure Boot which blocks the installation of any hardware. I needed a graphics cards to run my 2 monitors. After much searching from another computer finally found I had to disable Secure Boot in the Bios before hand. Still not sure now if I leave it disabled after installing the card or not. If so I just lost one of the new features.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>