Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor

HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor

Item #:848252
Average Customer Rating:
4.171 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(23)
4 stars
(11)
3 stars
(1)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(3)
30 of 35(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
44 Questions | 60 Answers
Customer Reviews for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
Review 1 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
October 6, 2014
mavsfanforlife
Dallas, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Am very happy with this PC

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
I got this recently for my new home office. I was getting rid of my very tired, outdated PC ....with Windows Vista on it.....so Windows 8.1 was a tiny bit of an adjustment but I love it.
Performance is wonderful and I like all the bells and whistles it has to offer - the pc itself and also Windows 8.
I needed plenty of USB ports (this has them!) , am running two monitors on it, has all the speed I need for my graphics programs, everything was easy to install, it automatically picked up on our wifi, wireless printers, etc.
Love it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
September 13, 2014
hpowner
portland oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

I own 24 of these

Pros: value, Quality, Performance
I saw someone talking about performance, and it irritated me enough to write a quick review. I literally own 24 of these exact computer
I do a lot of work with apps and programs that require a lot of memory and VIDEO memory. So, these come with a decent dedicated video card, and 12gb of ram.
You will not beat that for the price. Period. End of story.
Believe me I've looked.
That being said, it comes with FILTHY windows 8.
Put windows 7 on asap and it works like a champ.
"Downgrading" (but really upgrading) to Win7 is hard your first time, but, after doing it dozens of times, its not that rough. Look online for guides.
Best of luck, and as i said, this pc is a good value.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
September 2, 2014
GeraldPeterson
Indianapolis
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

SLOW COMPUTER!!

Let me be clear - I own an HP Envy series computer (actually I bought two of them for my business).
Believe the reviews that say "this is a slow computer"!!
Because it is an exasperatingly slow computer!
And I even purchased the upgrade 12 GB of RAM and it is still very slow.
My recommendation (based on 7 months of experience now) - stay away from all HP Envy series computers - they are very slow.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
June 21, 2014
Don Powell
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Impressive

Very nice system and worth the upgrade.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
June 16, 2014
Evny 700 Reviewer
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Work Horse

Wanted to wait several weeks after purchasing and using to review. Spent much time researching comps from all box stores and local stores as well. Decided on this one based on specs, price, reviews. Use it mainly when working from the house running Photoshop, CAD, and even Microsoft Flight Simulator (FSX) with zero problems thus far. It powers up FAST. Using multiple screens, however, purchased a triplehead2go in order to run 3+ monitors.
Note: To FSX users...Technically, to date, Windows 8.1 is not compatible with FSX. If you search around long enough online you will discover how to remedy this.
Blessings.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
May 25, 2014
doug
chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

turned on and worked

Pros: wasnt broken
its a computer that worked. things today vary so much with quality so who knows if yours will but mine did.
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
May 18, 2014
tommyg8589
Spartanburg, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great computer

Pros: value, Easy to Set Up, Performance
I was skeptical about buying a computer from Office Depot, but I have been very pleased. This computer is super fast and very quiet. It may not be the computer for gamers, because it only has a 300 watt power supply and on board video..but it is a great computer for 95% of users. Make sure the first thing you do if you buy this computer..is update to Windows 8.1.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
April 30, 2014
Prettytan
Orlando, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Awesome!!

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Easy to Set Up, Performance
I brought this computer on sale in Jan at Office Depot just to play the Sims 3 and so far no issues at all, I love it, thinking about getting one for my son as well!!!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
April 19, 2014
sam7
central Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great Computer

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
You just can't go wrong with this computer. To get this much memeory and hard drive space at this great Office Depot price is unbeatable.Start is only takes seconds.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
April 10, 2014
kanastos
Corpus Christi, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Very good CPU

Cons: windows 8
This CPU was purchased to replace a much older system. I like the easy access to the USB ports. It is a Windows 8 system. The computer works great, it is just quite an adjustment getting used to the Windows 8. I will just have to keep plugging away at it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
April 1, 2014
CandJsGifts
Jacksonville, AR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

It's a SHAME!!!

Pros: it was a good price., when it worked it was great.
Cons: operating system stopped working after 5 months.
I purchased this desktop September 2013, March 2013, less than a year later, the operating system has completely stopped working.
-3points
5out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
March 30, 2014
Sadeesh
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Latest Wireless Driver is missing.

Gave three start for the price offered in Office Deport. For this config I could not find it in any other place for such a price. Another issue is You need to update the Wireless Driver. Its a shame that you put more than $500 and HP can't ship the PC with latest wireless drivers. So don't be surprised if your PC does not pick up the Wireless as soon as you boot it up. Need to hook up to a wired ethernet cable and update the driver.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
February 22, 2014
N8Mueller
Oklahoma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Solid All Round Computer

Pros: plenty of ram, good sized hard drive, price, quick start up
Cons: underpowered graphics card, small power supply
Before I share my experience with this PC, I should mention that mine cost $600 came with a 2 TB Hard Drive, 12 GB DDR3 Ram, 300W Power Supply, and an AMD Radeon 8670D graphics card.
I finally decided that it was time to replace the 7 year old HP Pavillion that I purchased before going to college. The computer was really showing its age. Because that computer served me well, I gave preference to HP when shopping for a new one.
I ended up going with this particular model because I felt it had the best mix of power vs affordability. I'm a light PC gamer (I tend to go more for the Steam sales, and am not willing to pay to be able to run games on the highest graphics settings).
I have a dual monitor set up (I'm used to using two at work, so I wanted the same at home), and am using the bluetooth keyboard and mouse that came with the computer. There's nothing special about either, but it is nice that they readily connected to the PC with no effort on my part beyond pressing the "connect" button. Ultimately I think I will probably switch back to my Logitech mouse as it is more ergonomic and has a couple more programmable buttons. The computer seems to handle everything quite well. It has been able to handle multiple applications running at the same time with no slow down. I don't know if it is the computer or improvements to Windows, but the start up time on this is almost tablet quick, taking mere seconds to boot up.
I'm running Windows 8.1(64 bit), and after a week of use, let me just say that I get it. I definitely understand what Microsoft is trying to do with Windows 8, and would be interested to try a Surface tablet to see how integrated the MS experience has become. Many of the motions and mouse clicks are different than in older versions of Windows, but make sense when you start to think about the built in touch-screen functionality. I believe that most of the complaints around Windows 8 are coming mostly just because it is a little different. After a couple days, I am using Windows 8 as efficiently as the older versions. The start up to the live tiles, while a little off-putting coming from a PC, makes more and more sense as you customize the main page to include the apps you use.
There are a couple issues that may create problems later should you want to upgrade any of the components. For a PC coming from HP's gaming line, the graphics card is definitely underpowered, if you are looking to play the latest and greatest videogames. Further compounding this problem is the power supply. This model only has a 300W power supply, which means that if you ever decide to upgrade the graphics card, you will probably need to upgrade the power supply first. If you dabble in upgrading your PCs to extend their life, this may be a deal-breaker.
In short, while the HP envy won't impress the gamer in your life, this PC offers good value for money, and should offer the speed you want to cover pretty much all of your day to day needs. It boots quickly, can handle multiple applications at the same time with no slow down, and should be able to run most games (just not on the highest settings). While there is a bit of a learning curve, don't let Windows 8 scare you, it will come to make sense. The two big downsides to this PC are the weak graphics card and too small power supply. In spite of these drawbacks, I would consider this to be a good purchase. If this computer holds up as well as the last HP I had, I will be one overjoyed customer.
+40points
40out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
January 19, 2014
Sher
Flat Rock, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

HP Envy Computer

Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Nice design with easy automatic set up. Prompts for information first time turning on which is quicker than earlier models. Performance is quite quick and programs load fast. Many apps available and ready for set up. Nice to have 8 USB ports and multiple card readers. Power on button has been improved. Included keyboard isn't as good as prior models. Could be a bit more angled for easier typing. Graphics and wireless connectivity very good.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
January 9, 2014
Whiskers
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Replaced my XP out-dated computer

I've had this computer about 2 months. I'm very happy with the speed and quality of the computer. It has great features. For me the best option was being able to go wireless. Windows 8 is an adjustment from what I'm accustomed to but I realize a common platform was needed to utilize the cloud for various computing devices. I still need some training maneuvering between and closing out screens. I was able to set up my desktop similar to what I had on my old computer. I did have some minor issues with some of the old documents I've tried to move that I'm sure I'll be able to solve. I've actually spent very little time overall on this computer and everything I did was on the fly. I would consider myself a novice so for the set up and transition to go as easy as it did speaks volumes to the quality of this computer.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
January 7, 2014
bandero94
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great for Budget Gaming

Pros: Easy to Set Up, lightning fast, great sound, good for gaming
Cons: none so far
I bought this computer mainly for school and video games. It is powerful and lightning fast! Browsing the internet is a great experience on this computer with its impressive response time. You can play lots of video games on highest settings with no lag, but more gpu demanding games (Skyrim and Battlefield for instance) might make you crank down your settings a bit to get a lag free experience. Watching videos is also great! The sound is amazing. I had a bit of a problem with updating to Windows 8.1, though. So I decided to refresh the whole computer back to Windows 8, and that solved the issue. Obviously that isn't the computer's fault, so I am still giving it 5 stars. I purchased it on Black Friday so it was an amazing deal for $500.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
December 21, 2013
RCRino
Chelan, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Doing good so far

Pros: Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: Difficult to Use
Haven't had computer long but very easy to use. Windows 8 takes some getting used to but is awesome! Love the 12 usb ports, no more usb splicers here!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
December 20, 2013
Happy customer
Salem, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great computer

Pros: value, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
So far, this has been a great computer, super fast. Have never used an AMD processor before, but seems to be doing great thus far. Graphics are great. Overall value, hard to beat.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
December 16, 2013
Ronald
Tallahassee
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Worst ever

Pros: Easy to Set Up
Cons: Quality, Performance
Bad software loaded and corrupted computer. After several calls to Microsoft and HP had to take it back for a full refund.
-5points
3out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
December 14, 2013
pete
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

great value

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: had an error that i could not fix
I am going to take the computer back and exchange it for the same one. Because of an error that keeps coming up. Other that that it is a great computer.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>