Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor

HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor

Item #:848252
Average Customer Rating:
4.16 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(43)
4 stars
(18)
3 stars
(3)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(6)
57 of 67(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
54 Questions | 88 Answers
Customer Reviews for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
Review 1 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
March 26, 2015
Anoka, Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
I have always been happy with HP desktop computers. The Envy is a step above the rest! The speed alone is enough to make me a happy customer, as like most I'm multi-tasking everyday and this computer makes my job a delight!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
March 24, 2015
Santa Cruz, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Powerful desktop computer

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Lots of muscle in this baby, lots of ports, and room inside for expansion. Very easy to set up. However, i installed a PCI Express Firewire card into an open slot and it disabled the wireless network card. I was hoping to edit video from an older camera with a firewire output and that is proving to be a compatibility challenge. Otherwise, however, this is a lot of computer for $650.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
March 22, 2015
Lakebay, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

HP Envy

Pros: Easy to Use, Battery Life, Display Screen, Easy to Set Up, Performance
I love the computer, even if it is Win 8.1, just a learning curve. The CPU runs great, the wireless mouse works great. The keyboard is a diff issue. I've gone thru 3 diff KBs, none have worked properly. I went to Office Depot & got the adapter, using my old Compaq KB. Now it works fine, don't have to go back & review every single thing I type. I'd say get the unit, but also get an adapter so you can use your old, works-just-fine KB. There's no port on the unit to plug into, thus the adapter. After the 3rd new mouse/KB I just told them to resolve the case. HP was great thru the whole thing, I love'em.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
March 19, 2015
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great once a year offer.

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Easy to Set Up, Performance
We have purchased two of these computers on Black Friday sales.
Great deal. Needed no upgrades to video card to play on line games.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
March 16, 2015
COLORADO SPRINGS & ISRAEL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

I HAVE BEEN BUYING COMPUTERS SINCE THE 1970'S AND

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance, automatically installed my personal info.
THIS HP WAS SO GOOD, I BOUGHT 1,000 SHARES OF HP STOCK!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
March 10, 2015
Goshen Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

HP Envy 700-406

Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
This is an awesome easy to use desktop. Setup was so easy, in fact had no problems and transferring files using my jump drive made this task sooo easy! Computer is fast, user friendly, and loaded with additional apps and programs. Starting with Windows 8.1is a little intimidating being a Pro 7 user, but a little effort and I am already using at intermediary level. Plenty of memory at 12GB and storage is enormous, 2 TB. Absolutely love this computer. HP is and always will be my choice computer.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
March 9, 2015
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great Computer

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Nice fast computer only drawback was the Windows 8 but found a program to emulate windows 7 so I am a happy camper
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
March 2, 2015
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Nice fast computer

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Easy to Set Up, Performance
I have had several HP's over the last 25 years and they are always a good buy, this one was no different super fast easy to figure out everything that was needed was in the box. It did have Windows 8 and I downloaded the free software to make it emulate Windows 7 which made me happy,
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
February 19, 2015
Salt Lake City, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Smooth and Fast

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance, nice looking
Cons: no hdmi
I picked this up on Black Friday for $480. It is fast and quiet. I have loved it so far. I really like the Windows 8.1 and I'm really excited to see Windows 10 on it this year.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
February 18, 2015
Ocean Springs, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Great investment

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Glad the Sales/ techs at Office Depot showed it to me. It will last a while. Plenty of Ram and Memory. I will never fill it up. Got a great deal.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
February 17, 2015
Escondido, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

HPEnvy 700

Because we are switching over from an xp and windows 7 computers
I have not been to thrilled with this. I think once I learn the 8.1 It will be ok
however, I miss my old desktop window. It would have been nice if the computer had come with Office 2013. We had to get that separate and we have had a lot of popup adds that we are having to deal with.
I expected the computer to be faster than it is, I guess because the old HP that I had been using was 9 yr old.( But it seems to be the same speed as the new one). Anyway. I think it will be fine once I figure everything out.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
February 16, 2015
Placerville, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

A very nice computer

Pros: value, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: Heavy/Bulky, os took getting used to.
The HP Envy 700 is probably the best computer I've ever had. Even the Windows 8.1 OS has been easier to use than I anticipated, and has a lot of new features. All in all an excellent product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
February 9, 2015
Central Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Very Good Desktop Computer

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: noisy sound card, too many "bloatware" programs installed
We purchased this computer on sale from Office Depot for a very competitive price. Even with sales tax, it was less expensive than most online options.
The system comes with 12GB of memory (plenty to run the pre-installed Windows 8.1) and a roomy 2TB drive. There are also several drive expansion slots available inside the case if you want to add more internal drives. There are also two empty memory slots so you can easily upgrade to 28GB of memory (the system maximum is 32GB if you want to replace the original 12GB with 16GB). As delivered, the system supports using two monitors (DVI-D and VGA) at the same time, and it also comes with several USB 2.0 and USB 3.0 ports.
Windows 8.1 running on the supplied 2TB hard drive is reasonably fast, but if you move the system to an SSD (solid state drive) as I did, the performance is excellent. From turning on the computer until the login screen is displayed is about 4 seconds, and from login until the desktop is displayed is about 3 seconds. I highly recommend that approach.
I only have two negative comments: the amount of pre-installed "bloatware" software, and the quality of the sound card. Most system vendors install unwanted (and usually unnecessary) trial-version or other software on the systems they sell, and HP is one of the worst in that regard. My advice: delete all of it at the beginning and install only the software you really want. The other negative is the quality of the sound card. It has (at least on my system) a lot of electrical noise (including when the hard drive is active) that can be heard on the speakers. I've tried several different types of speakers and I still am not satisfied with the quality, so I usually keep the speaker volume turned down unless I need to hear something.
Overall, though, this is a quality system for a reasonable price. I recommend it.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
January 12, 2015
Tulsa, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

HP Envy 700

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Looking for a replacement for my ailing desktop. Saw this in the weekly ad. Couldn't believe the specs for the money. It was on sale at $50 off. Then 3 days later in the next ad it was another $50 lower. So went back to the store and they refunded me the $50.00.
So far haven't run into any problems on installing hardware or software.
Things are running smoothly.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
January 11, 2015
Los Angeles, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Other

Great Computer, but...

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: Display Screen, graphics issue
The first one I picked up had a graphics driver issue, freezing the screen and showing a notification saying "AMD driver has stopped working and has fully recovered" Which became worst in the few days I had it. Youtube videos made it freeze, it was very inconsistent. I am writing this review on my 2nd one now. So far...so good. The PC is fast, I can play all my games on it very well and it handles my music production software tremendously. (FL Studio 11, Sony Acid Pro 7, and Pro Tools) I love this computer and I really want this one I have now to last me. I'll post an update in case anything happens for the sake of future buyers of this machine. Thank you all!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
January 6, 2015
South Puget Sound, WA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Poor Setup

Cons: Display Screen, Difficult to Set Up
Most head scratching I have done!!! System will not recognize DVI. Finally got VGA monitor working. I will be in the shop by Wednesday.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
December 29, 2014
Carmel, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Love this computer

Pros: value, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: windows 8
Purchased on Black Friday for a great price. So far it's been working great for me. Very fast, but I'm not a gamer by any means. For normal day to day computer use I think this is more than enough machine. Just wish it had come with Windows 7 instead of Windows 8.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
December 24, 2014
Rome, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Nice computer

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Easy to Set Up, Performance
I bought this computer for home use and love it. It is fast and has lots of memory. even came with wireless keyboard and mouse.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
December 22, 2014
tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

worst

Cons: Performance, windows corrupted
operating system corrupted keyboard unresponsive
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP Envy 700-056/700-216 Desktop Computer With AMD A10 Quad-Core Accelerated Processor
December 22, 2014
Tx
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

BIOS, Boot Manager and UEFI Real Problem

Pros: Performance
Cons: Difficult to Set Up
HP use to mean both engineering integrity and manufacturing reliability. No more. Unfortunately the very basic structure of running computers has changed while HP forgot to do the engineering. This also involves Microsoft but to a greater degree HP's inability to keep up and do the basic engineering redesign that should have been done several years ago. If you are replacing an older HP running System 7 I would suggest you hang on to it and wait to see if HP figures out this major major major (did I mention major?) faux pas (screw up)
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>