Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Lenovo® G580 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i3 Processor, Brown

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Office Depot.

Lenovo® G580 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i3 Processor, Brown

Item #:859453
Average Customer Rating:
3.375 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(2)
4 stars
(3)
3 stars
(0)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(1)
5 of 8(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo® G580 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i3 Processor, Brown
Review 1 for Lenovo® G580 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i3 Processor, Brown
January 10, 2013
Dadu
ATL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store

only problems

Pros: Value for Money
Cons: Design, Performance, Build Quality, Difficult to Use
This Lenovo is a joke!Time waisting big time on my side.I hate it! I got the first one at end of Nov 2012. Did not perform weel, W8 - did not do the upgrades, a "lemon". 8 Hours with Microsoft on the phone and Lenovo c.s. Returned it on Dec 4 , got same model, OK first 2 weeks, not too bad. First week of Jan 2013 the wireless connectivity - not good.Changed my wireless router,etc.
I have an old HP laptop, Ipad,tablets - all OK, going on line.Realized that it is a Lenovo issue. Returned Jan 8, lucky O.D. took it back - upgraded to the Lenovo I5, for 499.00 on sale. I hope this is going to be better. If not I will NEVER buy Lenovo again. In the past 7 years bought 4 HP( 3 w/ AMD processor-broken / one 4 y.o still working w/ intel) , 3 Toshiba ( all intell still work - one went bad within the first year).This is my first Lenovo. I have a "large" family - made gifts to them. I think it is just luck! When I'll have 1.5k to spend I'll get a Mac. My ipad2 & iphone 4s work just fine. I still think that W 8 no good if you do not have a touch screen.
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lenovo® G580 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i3 Processor, Brown
December 27, 2012
Ad Rock
Washington DC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:36 - 45

Waste of effort

Pros: Value for Money, Battery Life, Quiet, Display Screen
Cons: Performance, Build Quality, Difficult to Use
I just returned this laptop after two frustrating weeks, i could no longer bare it.
Problem 1: Windows 8. If you are doing web development good luck. Most browsers have a separate offset for Windows 8 so what you think you are double checking will be totally inaccurate.
Problem 2: The touch pad lacks accuracy and sensitivity. The pointer will often jump across the screen and you will end up clicking and deleting things you never intended.
Problem 3: Compatibility with Win 8. The app screen and other hidden screens will quite often pop up while you are in the middle of doing work. You will not lose your work but you will waste probably 5 to 10 minutes every hour dealing with this quirk in the system.
Problem 4: Like reducing the size of you widow in Chrome? Well too bad... you can no longer do that on this computer. Why? I have no clue.
Problem 5. I realize it is a cheap laptop... but does it have to also feel cheap? That being said it did withstand 3 airplane trips.
Save yourself the headache and avoid this laptop.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lenovo® G580 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i3 Processor, Brown
December 13, 2012
BusinessUser
Athens, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65

Quality notebook

Pros: Value for Money, Features, Quiet, Easy to Use, Performance
Cons: Design, unsure about touchpad
I've had the G580 for just under a week. I've found it to be very fast & responsive, & seems to have very good "build quality" compared to other similarly priced notebooks. The color is nice, though I'd much prefer a matte finish & display. (The "brown" is actually a more attractive, very dark brown that looks more like black = a happy surprise). Some points to be aware of:
1). Another reviewer brought up that he had a technical problem with Windows Update (esp. two individual files). I had this problem, & found on Lenovo's support forum (I believe from a Lenovo tech/employee) that there's a conflict with a program, and you need to do this: "Run" (Windows key + R will bring that up); enter "msconfig"; go to "Services" tab; disable (by unchecking) "nalpeiron services", which will only (temporarily) have the effect of disabling the Nitro Pro (PDF reading/editing) program. Then restart your system, & update should work. Do an internet search on Lenovo's support forum to verify if you feel more comfortable before doing.
2). My wireless signal was pretty weak until I updated driver (by going to Device Manager -> Network adapters (or cards) -> Broadcom wireless 802.11 bgn->select "update driver")
3). Learn 8-10 of the most common Windows 8 "keyboard shortcuts" & it makes life a lot easier going from Windows 7 to Win. 8.
4). The display is nice, the keyboard well above average with good tactile feedback.
5). My only concern is thus far, I've found the touchpad somewhat temperamental & not always responsive. Part of this is probably that I've not spent a lot of time with a touchpad. But I bought a nice Logitech mouse (M325) & am finding it's much better than using a touchpad.
Best of luck...
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lenovo® G580 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i3 Processor, Brown
December 11, 2012
KimJ
Salem, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Pleasure
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:36 - 45
Gender of user:Male
Age of user:21 - 30

My Son Loves It

Pros: Value for Money, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Performance
Cons: windows 8 is still buggy
Despite a few Windows 8 related issues the first day, the Lenovo G580 has worked like a champ. The processor is fast enough that my son can surf the web, stream Netflix and game without lag. It's lightweight enough that it can fit in his ever-present book bag with ease and it goes everywhere with him. Not really sure about the battery life as he always seems to have a plug nearby.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lenovo® G580 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i3 Processor, Brown
December 11, 2012
AshWag
Salt Lake City, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:36 - 45

Great purchase after much research

Pros: Value for Money, Features, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Performance
Cons: large size
This laptop is exactly what I have been looking for. Over the last couple of months I have done a lot of research on laptops under $500 and this one had what I needed/wanted. Plus, the price was well worth the performance it provided. I use this computer for work so I really just needed the basic functionality and not all the bells and whistles but I also didn't want to purchase something that would be outdated before I even opened the box.
The computer is easy to use, the large screen makes everything easy to read and view photos and the brown color (although I wasn't sure about it when I purchased) is actually quite pretty and different from the standard black and grays you normally see. Windows 8 isn't as easy as everyone says it is to figure out but each day I get better at it.
Overall I am very happy with my purchase and would recommend this computer to anyone looking for a user friendly, mid level computer that is a quality product.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lenovo® G580 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i3 Processor, Brown
December 9, 2012
Keys customer
Florida Keys
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Pleasure
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65

Good value for money

Pros: Value for Money, Quiet, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Performance
Cons: initial programs installed conflicted w/ windows 8
First impression- not good- BUT worked with Lenovo support and learned that system came with programs that conflicted with Windows 8. I could not reconfigure after installing updates. Lenovo customer support removed the conflicting programs and computer is now everything that I expected.( They removed Nitro pdf program) I rated this computer based on the performance AFTER the 2 hours spent with Lenovo on the phone.
Hope this will save potential returns and someone else the initial headaches that I had as I feel that this computer is a good value for the money.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lenovo® G580 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i3 Processor, Brown
December 8, 2012
ChrisB-PC-Tech
Northeast Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65

Laptop is great-Windows update is not

Pros: Value for Money, Features, Battery Life, Quiet, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Design, Performance
Windows 8 Update is failing on KB2769165 and then on KB2770917.
This is a Microsoft problem and not a Lenovo problem.
Do a Google search for the fix for those KB's.
I have had this happen on an HP as well.
Review 8 for Lenovo® G580 Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i3 Processor, Brown
November 26, 2012
customer
Gainesville, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Student
Primary Use:School User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male

Internet very slow

Operating system doesn't work well with laptop. The laptop does not update. Every time I try to update it gets to 7% then says the update failed and is reverting changes. I'm guessing this is because there is some compatibility issues with the laptop and operating systems. If anyone did purchase this laptop and it is working perfect please let me know.
9 of 13 people found this review helpful.