Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Lenovo® IdeaPad Z580 (59350984) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5 Processor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Office Depot.

Lenovo® IdeaPad Z580 (59350984) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5 Processor

Item #:859489
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(13)
4 stars
(7)
3 stars
(0)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(2)
20 of 23(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo® IdeaPad Z580 (59350984) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
Review 1 for Lenovo® IdeaPad Z580 (59350984) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
November 20, 2013
MEND
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Glad I bought this computer

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Display Screen, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance, good sound
I was mainly concerned with sound quality and battery life. Both have proven to be very good. I bought this 9 months ago and so far have found no issues displeasing. Still learning Windows 8 features but that is no reflection on the computer itself. Has plenty memory. Also when I use it on battery power on my lap I feel no heat coming from it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lenovo® IdeaPad Z580 (59350984) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
July 3, 2013
Josh
Abilene, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Student
Primary Use:Pleasure
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:16 - 25

Awesome Upgrade

Pros: Sound Quality, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Design, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: some of their service
Ive been using a 5 yr old gateway desktop for the last 5 years. Intel pentium processor, like 1g cache, etc specs. This laptop was easy to set up, is extremely quick and up-to-date with today's tech. Windows 8 is amazing, i'm 18 and this is most definitely technology for me. The screen resolution is great, the sound system is high quality for a laptop. Ive read complaints about the touchpad in reviews, and its quite easy to use. It works similar to a smartphone. This is made for the current generation. The only thing is that office depot had sent my laptop to someone else and gave me theirs (switched the tags for the boxes) and so that set me back to receive this dream-machine by almost another week. Now that I have it, I am very satisfied with the product, just not with their service expertise. **The store clerk was extremely helpful and Im glad I went to her. Their warehouse was who messed up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lenovo® IdeaPad Z580 (59350984) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
May 29, 2013
Snyder711
Mechanicsville, Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:26 - 35

Great Product and Service

Pros: Sound Quality, Battery Life, Good Value, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Lightweight, Design, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Shopped, ordered, delivered, happy happy happy. less than 18 hours in my hands.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lenovo® IdeaPad Z580 (59350984) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
May 18, 2013
CA kid
Southern CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Amateur
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:36 - 45

Good laptop

Pros: Good Value, Easy to Use, Easy to Set Up, Performance, great price
Cons: battery life, Sound Quality, keyboard is not backlit
I was a little hesitant about purchasing this Lenovo laptop, but I'm glad I did. The laptop is easy to use and a good value for the price. Office Depot had the best price for the laptop. It was $479.00 with the i5 processor, 8GB of RAM, and 750 GB on the hard drive, try to beat that!! I know other people have commented about the mouse pad and the key pad, but I have not had any issues. You can adjust the sensitivity of the mouse pad if it seems sensitive or not sensitive enough. Anyway, enough of my ranting about this laptop. I would highly recommend purchasing this laptop, especially for the price.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lenovo® IdeaPad Z580 (59350984) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
May 8, 2013
TXwritergirl
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female
Age:36 - 45

Great Laptop for a great price

Pros: Sound Quality, Good Value, Lightweight, Performance, Battery Life, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Easy to Set Up
Cons: Design, location of touch pad
I love my Lenovo Ideapad! The only thing I don't love about it is the placement of the touch pad. Its placement is a little off to the left, and when I am typing, my wrist eventually ends up grazing the pad which will send my screen flying out of Word, or whatever program I'm using, to the Windows main page or the apps page. This can be very frustrating when you are concentrating hard and are suddenly thrown out of your train of thought and have to go through several steps to get back into your project.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lenovo® IdeaPad Z580 (59350984) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
April 27, 2013
Me
Wa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65

Bad Choice

Cons: Pricey/Poor Value, Performance
Had the laptop less than a month and all of a sudden it would not turn on at all. The Lenovo help line was useless. Disappointed in the quality. Office Depot was awesome!! Replaced it with a Toshiba.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lenovo® IdeaPad Z580 (59350984) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
April 21, 2013
Henry VIII
Colorado Springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Pleasure
Bought this product:In-store

Great Purchase

Pros: Sound Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Design, Easy to Set Up, Performance
This machine is loaded for the price. I've read a number of cons on the touchpad and Windows 8. The gesture feature of the Synaptics Touch Pad is great. It takes about 5-10 minutes to learn how to use it properly. Simply click on its icon in the notification tray and it will provide a link to Synaptics page for the pictured tutorial. There is a reason why it sometimes acts like it has a mind of its own ~ it's because you are telling to act this way. Windows 8 is also great. Very comprehensive tutorials can be found on Youtube. I was up and running in about an hour. I'm not done yet and am about to continue to the more advanced usage. 8 gigs ram, the minimum for Win 8. 3rd i5 processor. And the Dolby Sound Theater. I am over 50, have been very ill and have found this machine very easy to add devices, apps, and programs. There is a learning curve like anything else new.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lenovo® IdeaPad Z580 (59350984) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
April 16, 2013
Unhappy Camper
PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65
Gender of user:Female
Age of user:11 - 20

LENOVO does not stand behind product

Cons: Sound Quality, battery life, warrantee
Bought for daughter for Christmas, Broke mid March, send to Lenovo for repair. They said we damaged it would be $300 to fix 3 month old computer. We did not damage. Go with another company that stands behind their product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lenovo® IdeaPad Z580 (59350984) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
April 14, 2013
Xiaonomama
Chicagoland Area
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:School User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:36 - 45

It has all the bells and whistles

Pros: Sound Quality, Battery Life, Good Value, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Lightweight, Easy to Set Up, Performance
It is fast and very light. Windows8 is a bit of learning curve but I will eventually get used to it. Good price.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lenovo® IdeaPad Z580 (59350984) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
April 13, 2013
Gram
Canton, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Student
Primary Use:School User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:16 - 25
Gender of user:Female
Age of user:11 - 20

Lenovo Laptop

Pros: Sound Quality, Battery Life, Good Value, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Lightweight, Design, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Purchased this laptop for my Granddaughter and she says the laptop has met all her needs and more. She is in her first year of college.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lenovo® IdeaPad Z580 (59350984) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
April 8, 2013
Chuey
Pacific Northwest
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:66 and above

Big Improvement Over My Last Computer!

Pros: Sound Quality, Good Value, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Lightweight, Design, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: battery life
I was on the verge of purchasing another brand from another store but, saw an on line advertisement from "Office Depot". That turned out to be good luck in a couple of ways! The computer was better and the price was even better! I will definitely shop Office Depot before I buy anything in the future. They had good, prompt service and shipped as advertised. Great place to do business with.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lenovo® IdeaPad Z580 (59350984) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
March 30, 2013
zhassan
Dearborn,MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am a(n):Student
Primary Use:School User
Bought this product:Online

Fast but touchpad annoying

Pros: value, Battery Life, Quiet
Cons: touchpad
As the title says, its fast but the touchpad sometimes has a mind of its own and navigates by itself. My cousin has a Lenovo with a normal touchpad and I like it better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lenovo® IdeaPad Z580 (59350984) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
March 21, 2013
lawyermomma
Kentucky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:36 - 45

Great keyboard and screen

Pros: Quiet, Display Screen
Cons: windows 8 learning curve
I use my laptop for a lot of writing in Word, completing online Adobe forms, email and for my children to stream movies while in my office. The sound quality is significantly better than on my former Toshiba Satellite. The laptop is excellent for those tasks.
The keyboard and all other aspects of construction meet my expectations. The learning curve for me was Windows 8. Which works well, once you become familiar with how to use the touchpad. It is set up like more like a swipe screen. After reading a few articles on transitioning to Windows 8, I like it, but found it loathsome until I took the time to so that.
Most significantly, while I online I had to stop working because I was trying to move the curser with the touchpad, but did not know I needed to only use the very middle of the pad, otherwise it is set up to change the screen on which I was working. I find that to be a great feature now that I know how to make it work, but before that I was ready to return the computer!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lenovo® IdeaPad Z580 (59350984) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
March 11, 2013
NorseHubby
Cedar Park, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:36 - 45

Mouse Pad Fail

Pros: value, Performance
Cons: Difficult to Use, mouse pad
While I am please with the speed and price of this laptop, I am thoroughly unhappy with the mouse pad functionality. It freezes up while scrolling around. It takes me back to a previous page when I scroll a certain way. It doesn't click when I think it will. It moves even after I've stopped scrolling. Basically, the thing has a mind of it's own which conflicts with what I expected it to do. This, coupled with my lack of Windows 8 experience, has caused much confusion and frustration. Trust me, after writing this review, I intend to hunt around for fixes for this crazy mouse pad. Maybe I can disable the whole thing!
Here are a few tips I've discovered: 1# don't use the IE on the Windows 8 #W-8# homescreen... go to the Desktop and use IE there. 2) use your Windows key #beside the left CNTL key) to get back to the homescreen. 3) when scrolling and all of a sudden your W-8 options come up, don't continue scrolling as it will take you somewhere else... immediately click somewhere on the page to keep that window active.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Lenovo® IdeaPad Z580 (59350984) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
March 10, 2013
Prof
Oakland County, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:66 and above
Gender of user:Female
Age of user:31 - 40

Nice updating

Pros: value, Features, Battery Life, Quiet, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Design, Performance
Altho I had to scramble to learn the new Win 8 interface, the machine is superb. It even improves on the characteristic soft touch made famous by IBM and continued by Lenovo. That is important for an experienced user like me, one who was once an expert typist. I like the way that the Z580 interfaced with my TV without any fiddling around as I had to do with my two previous computers. Perhaps Lenovo could put a 5-page Win 8 primer in the box with the computer to help a novice get through the new Win 8 features and to get to the familiar Win 7 back end.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lenovo® IdeaPad Z580 (59350984) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
March 10, 2013
OmaGma
Johnson City, NT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:66 and above

Great quality laptop

Pros: value, Features, Battery Life, Quiet, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Design, Performance
Not that I'm an expert, but my brother probably is and he recommended Lenovo for laptops. He has two because of the work he does and has been very satisfied with them. I expect to be satisfied also. And so far, so good!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Lenovo® IdeaPad Z580 (59350984) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
February 28, 2013
frustrated
CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Student
Primary Use:School User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:16 - 25

Worst touchpad ever

Cons: Difficult to Use
The touchpad is ruining the entire computer. You not only cannot type properly without changing your hand posture (because the oversized touchpad is brushed constantly) but you also can't freaking click straight because the click buttons are touch sensitized so whenever you touch the button to click on it the cursor jumps two or three inches down. Finally, because the buttons are connected and it's just trying to read if was pushed down to the left or right the when you right click you are probably going to have it read as a left click (unless you're clicking on the very far right).
All in all, be prepared to be mad that you wound up with a laptop without a touchpad and carrying a mouse everywhere you go. Thanks lenovo.
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lenovo® IdeaPad Z580 (59350984) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
January 28, 2013
suitemusik29
Baltimore, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Student
Primary Use:School User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:16 - 25
Gender of user:Male
Age of user:21 - 30

great overall performance!

Pros: Value for Money, Quiet, Easy to Use, Performance
Cons: Display Screen
The keypad says it all! When i heard that most computers were switching to windows 8 i was bummed out, but when i saw that this intelligent touchpad was really convenient i came to peace with windows 8. I'm still not a fan, but the touch pad on this Lenovo is great! Besides for that, I have also gamed with this laptop, even though im not a gamer, and got pretty good results! Additionally, the computer runs pretty fast, i don't need to wait more than a maximum of 15 seconds to open up a program, it is usually less waiting time. My final statement is that this computer is best overall. It isn't so expensive and its perfect for the average user.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Lenovo® IdeaPad Z580 (59350984) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
January 23, 2013
vapnut
Suffolk, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65

Good for the money

Pros: Value for Money, Features, Performance
I purchased this product for a friend that was looking for a new laptop. After a lot of research I decided this brand and model was the best fit and I wasn't dissapointed. It was my first Windows 8 purchase yet it was not hard to figure out how to use it. I was able to connect to a Ipad hotspot with no difficulty and printer hook up went flawlessly. I installed Office 2007 with no problems. This is a very nice laptop at a very nice pricepoint and making the purchase through Office Depot was the best choice even over ALL of the other online retailers. The free delivery was on time and overall I am very pleased with my purchase.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Lenovo® IdeaPad Z580 (59350984) Laptop Computer With 15.6 Screen & 3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5 Processor
January 14, 2013
MissLeopard83
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Student
Primary Use:School User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female
Age:26 - 35

My favorite laptop!

Pros: Value for Money, Features, Battery Life, Quiet, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Design, Performance
After my old HP laptop died on me, I desperately needed a new one because I am taking online classes. My old laptop only had 3GB DDR3 and 320GB HD. It was rather slow and I didn't really like the features on it. I looked around at several stores before going to Office Depot and I found this laptop on display. I know Lenovo is a good brand -- they've been around forever. Also, the IT guy at my mom's office said he rarely sees them for repairs. After thinking it over for about 10 minutes, I decided to purchase.
I got the laptop home and set it up. I am not used to Windows 8 and was worried about using a new OS. It was confusing at first, but with my experience using computers, I was able to figure it out. I LOVE my new laptop! My favorite external feature is the AccuType keyboard. My old laptop had a keyboard where all the keys were grouped together and I was constantly making mistakes. I also LOVE that it has a dedicated numeric keypad so I am not searching for the number keys.
I love how fast this machine is. It truly is the best one I've ever owned! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>