Office Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Office Depot
Shop Clocks or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Toshiba Satellite® A665-S5173 Laptop Computer With 15.6 LED-Backlit Screen & Intel® Core™ i5-480M Processor With Turbo Boost Technology

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Office Depot.

Toshiba Satellite® A665-S5173 Laptop Computer With 15.6 LED-Backlit Screen & Intel® Core™ i5-480M Processor With Turbo Boost Technology

Item #:898314
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(10)
4 stars
(0)
3 stars
(0)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(0)
10 of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Toshiba Satellite® A665-S5173 Laptop Computer With 15.6 LED-Backlit Screen & Intel® Core™ i5-480M Processor With Turbo Boost Technology
Review 1 for Toshiba Satellite® A665-S5173 Laptop Computer With 15.6 LED-Backlit Screen & Intel® Core™ i5-480M Processor With Turbo Boost Technology
February 15, 2011
MrBurns
Monroe, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:School User
Gender:Male
Age:16 - 25
Bought this product:In-store
Gender of user:Male
Age of user:21 - 30

Awesome!

Pros: great monitor, great sound, great backlit keyboard, light, great battery life, looks awesome
Cons: i have yet to find one....
I have been searching for over a month to find a laptop that would be poratable, with good battery life. i was using to using my dell vostro 1710 which is nice, but its to big and akward. this thing is great. its beautfully designed. runs anything in the adobe CS5 suite. also runs MS office 2010 like a charm. The backlit keyboard is a huge plus. and the audio is simply amazing. i would have like to got a blu ray drive, and dedicated graphics, however im sure i can add in a blu ray drive at a later date. all in all, this machine is absoloutley amazing. my friends are jealous, so i think a few of them may be going to office depot to buy up the last few. Highly recommend it!
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Toshiba Satellite® A665-S5173 Laptop Computer With 15.6 LED-Backlit Screen & Intel® Core™ i5-480M Processor With Turbo Boost Technology
March 6, 2011
AbrahamGuitar
Tujunga, CA USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Home User
Gender:Male
Age:26 - 35
Bought this product:In-store

Excellent product

Pros: 64-bit, fairly thin, easily accessible hdd and ram, intel widi, 4gb ram
Cons: no blueray drive
Nice sounding speakers, not much junkware and nice bright screen. I am running Linux (Fedora 14 X86_64 bit) and it works great. I haven't been able to get the lit-keyboard or the Intel WiDi to work under Fedora, but so far everything else seems to be working. I would have preferred that the USB ports were positioned closer to the back and not near the front (I know, just a personal preference).
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Toshiba Satellite® A665-S5173 Laptop Computer With 15.6 LED-Backlit Screen & Intel® Core™ i5-480M Processor With Turbo Boost Technology
April 12, 2011
cpc1972
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This computer is great

Pros: Value for Money, Features, Battery Life, Quiet, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Design, Performance
I have had this computer about one month now. Cant really come up with anything negative. This computer with these specs and the price was a steal. Speakers are great sounding. It is fast. The one thing is though our local office depot was sold out at all the stores in town. I eventually got one of them that new how to order it for me since you couldnt order it online. All in all I got more formy money then I thought I would in the i5 processor. I thought I would have to go with an i3 but this came on sale and I was able to get the i5. Great value for the money. Oh wiat a minute this is way more then you should get for this price.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Toshiba Satellite® A665-S5173 Laptop Computer With 15.6 LED-Backlit Screen & Intel® Core™ i5-480M Processor With Turbo Boost Technology
March 4, 2011
pdl2mtl90
Tulsa, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Home User
Gender:Male
Age:36 - 45
Bought this product:In-store

Great buy

Pros: backlit keyboard, hdmi output, lots of memory, large hard drive
Cons: volume is kind of low
Researched multiple laptops before buying this one. Couldn't be happier. This replaces a 7 year old Toshiba that is still running strong. Very little "bloatware" to remove. Did have a hard time removing Norton (part of it is hid in Toshiba PC Checkup). Love Windows 7 also.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Toshiba Satellite® A665-S5173 Laptop Computer With 15.6 LED-Backlit Screen & Intel® Core™ i5-480M Processor With Turbo Boost Technology
April 24, 2011
cwsjr
georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65

great laptop

Pros: Value for Money, Features, Battery Life, Quiet, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Design, Performance, backlit keyboard, speakers
Cons: absolutely none
not much to say,other to say this is a serious machine that i have had for about a month.i had purchased a lenovo thinkpad with the i5 processor,which i was satisfied with,and just happened to be looking at the od sale paper one day and this toshiba was on sale,but what had caught my eye was the backlit keyboard which i had always wanted,they are hard to find. so i had the lenovo for 13 days,i hurried down to the local od and exchanged for the toshiba,i could not be happier,this is an all around excellent laptop,from speed, to running multiple tasks, and yes, the harman kardon speakers and of course the backlit keyboard,the person who had the low sound needs to go to the mixer and tweak their options,,because this unit has excellent sound with the right sound settings.all in all very happy with purchase,highly recommended!!!!!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Toshiba Satellite® A665-S5173 Laptop Computer With 15.6 LED-Backlit Screen & Intel® Core™ i5-480M Processor With Turbo Boost Technology
May 2, 2011
Claude
Tyler, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65

Happy Camper!!

Pros: Value for Money, Features, Quiet, Easy to Use, Performance
Cons: none
This is a very good laptop for use around the home. I especially like the back-lit display, the speakers, the great keyboard feel, and the fact that the laptop runs very cool. Obviously, the i-5 processor has good power. The battery life is okay and probably on par with other systems in this price range. I've had the computer for approximately 2 months and look forward to many years of usage. To me, this system is hard to beat in a 15.6" size at this price.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Toshiba Satellite® A665-S5173 Laptop Computer With 15.6 LED-Backlit Screen & Intel® Core™ i5-480M Processor With Turbo Boost Technology
January 18, 2011
4G63
Baltimore, Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Home User
Gender:Male
Age:26 - 35
Bought this product:In-store

Really Nice Laptop

Was shopping in the summer for a laptop and was looking for something quick, had good storage, and wanted something with decent to good speakers. This computer fits the bill!!
Most laptops have average to below average speakers but this computer rocks while listening to music or movies! I've also fallen in love with the backlit keys...you don't realize how nice it is to type while surfing the internet or typing whatever while your room lights are dimmed/off but the computer keys are giving off a nice white LED glow. Obviously you can turn them off or they can be timed to go off after 15 seconds. The LED backlit screen also looks fantastic.
As far as hardware, I've got no complaints. It can run several programs at once (had my VirtualDJ program running while playing with Google SketchUp without so much as a hiccup) so I don't think you'll run into problems with most common software. In fairness, I will say that I don't play games on it so I can't give an honest assessment of their performance on this laptop.
After all that, I'd tell anyone I knew that this computer would be a great purchase!
+110points
113out of 116found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Toshiba Satellite® A665-S5173 Laptop Computer With 15.6 LED-Backlit Screen & Intel® Core™ i5-480M Processor With Turbo Boost Technology
March 4, 2011
ImageBuilder
Boulder, CO., Nesodden, NO.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65
Bought this product:Online

Toshiba Pro-Graphical Applications and Creations

I searched long and hard after having my 2007 HP "Entertainment" 14" Hi-Def notebook crashed, and 32 bit Vista OSs moved on to W7 64 bit OSs (with much improved user interfaces, speed, and intuitive menus, for sure). I needed a computer which would mutlitask, and keep up with HD video editing and the latest Photoshop applications. Further, complex multi-layered GIS mapping software fast response use was needed, with data entry capacities, and data compulation/computation time series mapbuilding responsiveness built through the datastream from complex databases. It had the separate keypad for the details involved! This was the unit to do the job, and it did. The reviews on the i3s were OK but lacked the multitasking speed of the i5s, and with the i7s some were having technical and heat problems--not so with this processor (with hyper-threading and turbo boost going on for hours of use!). Great too is simply watching an HD video from a few feet away on the widescreen, with the up-resolution feature from standard DVDs it jumps out at you, as alive (it can even take an non widescreen and make it so with the Toshiba Media Player features); and good audio from a laptop is refreshing.
Pros: even the resident programs from Toshiba have practical uses. Sound, speed, quality keyboard, good ergonomics of well contrived keys, switches, and commands. Touchpad responsiveness. The wide screen too allows for Google tools on the right side without leaving the screen too small for internet pages. It handles many programs opened at the same time, uses W7 (radically cleaner to use than Vista was) and has the express expansion slot for when I add USB 3.0 for new external HDrive fast large video files downloading for onboard editing. Cons: only the inability to really sharpen the screen for higher definition for closeup critical viewing of pro photos, but adding an outboard monitor solved that problem for back from the field uses. The color and motion playback is excellent though for viewing a few feet from the screen. It is obvious this was tested for AV users and media program builders, not just contrived for advertising sales of the product, or passive audience uses. Great show, Toshiba!!!
+36points
37out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Toshiba Satellite® A665-S5173 Laptop Computer With 15.6 LED-Backlit Screen & Intel® Core™ i5-480M Processor With Turbo Boost Technology
May 11, 2011
bookbuyer99
Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65

Love this laptop

Pros: Value for Money, Quiet, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Design, Performance, backlit keys which are also comfortable to use, great speakers
Cons: haven't found one in over a month now.
I previously had an HP that I was happy with except it had Vista which I did not like, so I started looking around at laptops. I decided to consider Toshiba, since my husband had one for over 8 years and it was still going strong. I went to OD and found one I thought I liked and bought it, but did not like it at all, so went back to OD and looked to exchange it. I found this one with the backlit keys and the better hard drive and did my exchange. I had to pay more for this one but it was so worth it. I am very happy with this computer, it is a quality piece of gear for the money. It runs much cooler than my HP and quieter too. I am looking forward to many years of use.
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Toshiba Satellite® A665-S5173 Laptop Computer With 15.6 LED-Backlit Screen & Intel® Core™ i5-480M Processor With Turbo Boost Technology
February 22, 2011
detroit9
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Home User
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65
Bought this product:In-store

this is a laptop

Pros: processors@64 bit
Cons: a big zero
as in everything i purchase that is of importance to me,i research that item to death,so after 2 days of reviews of this laptop,the processors etc. i came to 1 conclusion,this is it! system buss speed of 2736,this thing rocks,for a windows laptop,this about as good as it gets,anybody want to buy a hp,lol
+21points
23out of 25found this review helpful.