Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11-e010nr/e110r Laptop Computer With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A4 Accelerated Processor

HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11-e010nr/e110r Laptop Computer With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A4 Accelerated Processor

Item #:898526
Average Customer Rating:
3.177 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(3)
4 stars
(5)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(3)
8 of 15(53%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer Reviews for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11-e010nr/e110r Laptop Computer With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A4 Accelerated Processor
Review 1 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11-e010nr/e110r Laptop Computer With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A4 Accelerated Processor
December 14, 2013
Lisa
St. Petersburg, Fl
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Need to get used to it

Pros: Battery Life, Lightweight, Easy to Set Up
Cons: Difficult to Use, Display Screen
My first thought was its really small, and the touch screen and keyboard seemed to be at odds, {the curser moving by itself, screen changing without me doing anything}, after a few sittings though I got used to its size and its movement. On the plus side it was super easy to transfer information from my desk top, and this is really an amazing battery for the amount of time you get.
I'm not to impressed with the screen image, not that I'd want to watch a movie on this size screen.
All in all I'm a bit in the middle, not hating, not totally liking.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11-e010nr/e110r Laptop Computer With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A4 Accelerated Processor
October 5, 2013
Prof Z
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

wonderful product

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Display Screen, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Cons: none
I bought this to replace my old (dinosaur) netbook. This is a terrific, powerful little computer that is convenient to carry around and has a very long battery life - even when connected to the Internet (6+ hours). So much better than a tablet because it has a large hard drive; no need to rely on cloud storage - store on your own computer - which is more secure. Also better than a tablet because it can handle full programs instead of bits/pieces with apps. I have loaded it with the full version of Office 2013. Love the Windows 8 and the touch screen. Overall, a lot of bang for the buck.
I am always leery of any computer that is not a Toshiba - but Toshiba didn't have this product so I had to go with HP - and I am pleased. If you want one, better grab one fast because apparently these little netbooks are going the way of tablets with no hard drives and programs as apps only.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11-e010nr/e110r Laptop Computer With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A4 Accelerated Processor
March 1, 2014
EC2124
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

ExcellentProduct

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Display Screen, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance, everything
Cons: nothing :)
THis is an excellent product. After buying 4 Chromebooks with failure to work properly, finding this product was excellent. how ever, some times it makes movements without you wanting to. But overall is a great product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11-e010nr/e110r Laptop Computer With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A4 Accelerated Processor
July 20, 2014
Desiree
Slidell, LA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Horrible

Pros: value
Cons: Quality, Performance
Purchased this laptop today and it's going back in the morning. It is so slow and just stops working in the middle of doing something.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11-e010nr/e110r Laptop Computer With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A4 Accelerated Processor
April 21, 2014
lmprtodd
Jackson, MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

A tablet with a keyboard, plus.

Pros: value, Battery Life, Lightweight, Easy to Set Up
Cons: Display Screen, Performance
I have been using Windows 8 from day one and have really enjoyed it. This laptop is a present for my granddaughter who is graduating from high school this year. It's a little slower than my desktop system, but my desktop is a quad-core, 8 GB system. I really enjoy using the touchscreen with the keyboard. I purchased a wireless mouse to use with it also, but I'm not sure I need it. Being able to touch, swap, scroll, select with a touch is a lot easier than using the mouse. I does do a lot of updating. I spent several days working with it getting all the updates installed. I agree that the function keys should be function keys and it is a real pain going into the setup to change them. I had to do this with my desktop systems. Must be an HP thing. Battery life has been very good, about 4 or 5 hours, easy. The screen is very shiny. A matte screen would be a great help. The case is a bit slippery, too. Glad I purchased the insurance because it is easy to slip from you hand. Bluetooth would have been a great addition, too.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11-e010nr/e110r Laptop Computer With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A4 Accelerated Processor
October 5, 2013
Loretta
Cambridge, MA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

it is a slow computer

Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Difficult to Use, Slow
The computer has a good size and is nice, but it works really slow
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11-e010nr/e110r Laptop Computer With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A4 Accelerated Processor
August 27, 2013
Karla
Champaign, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Good Size.....Love the touchscreen...

Pros: Sound Quality, Good Value, Lightweight, Display Screen, Easy to Set Up
Cons: Performance
This was easy to set up, although there's a learning curve for Windows 8 of course.
Contrary to the other review on this page, my laptop is very quiet. I do agree that the processor is very slow.
However, I love the size, I love the touchscreen, it's very quiet and the screen is very clear.
I will use it just for email and internet.
For me it will be great!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11-e010nr/e110r Laptop Computer With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A4 Accelerated Processor
April 11, 2014
Happy User
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

I love this computer

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
I really enjoy using this computer. I use it for work tasks and for entertainment. My daughter came home from college for spring break. She saw it and took it. Now I need another one.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11-e010nr/e110r Laptop Computer With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A4 Accelerated Processor
October 4, 2013
Stuart
Lake Worth, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

Excellent for Home-Schooling

Pros: Easy to Use, Lightweight, Quality
Cons: battery life
Bought this for my granddaughter who is being home-schooled. She has adapted not only to using it for all her assignments, but also to connecting to all the websites she needs. We have also purchased an external DVD drive to install software that was purchased previously, as well as being able to watch videos. Although the disk drive has ample space for her needs, she is also using the DVD drive for backup.
Would recommend this to anyone who wants a small, lightweight, adaptable computer.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11-e010nr/e110r Laptop Computer With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A4 Accelerated Processor
September 7, 2013
NGFATL
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

Touch Screen Netbook

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life, Display Screen, Lightweight, Quality, Easy to Set Up, Performance
Love new touch screen netbook. Lightweight, fast, and good battery life makes it fantastic to use as a college student.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11-e010nr/e110r Laptop Computer With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A4 Accelerated Processor
March 19, 2014
Bob Langill
Portland OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Other

A nice value, but not designed for me

Pros: value, Battery Life, Display Screen, Lightweight, touch screen
Cons: navigation key layout
Plus: Touchscreen interface
Screen is bright and easy to read
USB 3.0 ports all the way around
Battery life is OK
Light weight
Minus: Cursor key layout
Some gestures get misinterpreted.
No extended desktop
Limited resolution on monitor display
In discussing this machine, my primary comparison is to my Asus EEE netbook, which I still have and use sometimes.
I use my new notebook mostly for the same things I used my netbook: access to my stuff and the internet while I'm commuting each day. I have a fairly long commute, so weight, size and battery life are important to me. So far, this machine meets those criteria pretty well.
I didn't buy this computer because I was looking for a touchscreen, but it's nice to have. Most of the time, I use the touch pad and cursor keys for navigation. That brings me to the first negative comparison to the netbook. My Eee netbook has the inverted-t layout for the navigation keys. The HP uses a squashed diamond layout with half-height up/down keys. Since they also the pg up/pg dn keys that can be annoying when I'm trying to use them to page through displays or documents.
Another key difference is in the F-keys. On the HP, their default mode is as media control keys. To use them as F-keys in applications requires holding the Fn key. I was able to locate information in the manual that told me how to switch the in setup mode and make a one-time change. But it's one indication that HP had someone else in mind when they designed this machine.
On plus side, I appreciate having three USB 3.0 ports to connect to. There are laptops that have only one USB 3.0 and the other connections are USB 2.0. Those manufacturers strike me as willing to cut value for customers even when it's much greater than the costs they save. Because all the ports are USB 3.0, HP didn't put the blue tab on them which runs against current practice.
At 11.6 inches, the HP's display is larger than the netbook's 10.3 inches, but it's still small enough to use on the train or bus seat. While the physical display is larger, I've found two ways that it's smaller: connecting to an external monitor and in the desktop mode.
When my ASUS Eee connects to my monitor, the display runs at full 1920 x 1080 resolution. With this laptop, the display runs with black sidebars because trying to use higher resolutions gives me a fuzzy display. Downloading the the monitor's video driver didn't improve things.
The ASUS display also supports a virtual desktop. I can run multiple applications with reduced overlap by scrolling the virtual desktop that is larger than the display. The lack of a virtual desktop on this HP laptop might not be because of the the machine itself: The ASUS runs XP while this HP is running Windows 8.1. Regardless of the reason, the missing virtual desktop creates a less convenient setup.
Since I've touched upon Windows 8, I'll start by admitting one thing I do appreciate: the short boot up time. It's not the instant on you'll get from tablets, but it's not bad. A few days ago, when I used the XP netbook instead of this laptop, I found myself saying "Any time now. . ." after turning it on. On the other hand, under Windows 8, applications can take longer to boot up that the system does. At least, it seems that way.
Another plus is the size of the hard drive: 500Gb. Since it was designed to be a media machine, it needed to have enough room for music, videos, and images. I've backed up all my mp3's and jpg's on this machine and still have lots of room I'm not sure what to do wth. Not a bad problem to have.
Overall, I'm pleased with the performance and value I'm getting for the price I paid.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11-e010nr/e110r Laptop Computer With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A4 Accelerated Processor
August 12, 2013
ColdTar
Salt Lake City, UT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Noisy, Slow and Inexpensive

Pros: Good Value, Display Screen, Easy to Set Up
Cons: Performance, noisy
I just got this today on sale. Using the Office Depot card, it will end up costing about three hundred bones.
One thing that I noticed pretty quickly is how noisy it gets. I thought someone had parked their jet engine in my office. I started looking around to see who had done it, but noticed it was just my computer. It's OK though, because I am not one of these people who needs a silent computer.
The second thing I noticed was speed. It is not super fast, and any real processing activities will almost peg the processor. Running the Windows defender full scan and solitaire at the same time pegs the machine at 100% CPU usage. Just running the virus scan takes about 64% of the processor power. The AMD A4 chip is slow and underpowered. I have another system that is nearly identical except that it is running the I3 and it only uses about 40% CPU when doing the solitaire/virus scan benchmark test.
But since, I bought this as an internet/email checking machine. I'm probably keeping it.
All of that being said
+23points
27out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11-e010nr/e110r Laptop Computer With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A4 Accelerated Processor
September 10, 2013
Even Colder Tar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Down to 1 star

Pros: Easy to Use, Lightweight, Easy to Set Up
Cons: battery life, Quality, sloooooooow
I have had this thing for about a month, and I need to update my review. This thing is horrible. The performance is unacceptable for a computer made in 2013. I am trying to type this review on this machine, and it can't even keep up with my typing.
Also, if you put it to sleep without plugging it in, you will completely drain your battery.
Wish I would have taken advantage of the 15 day return.
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11-e010nr/e110r Laptop Computer With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A4 Accelerated Processor
April 29, 2014
British
Fort Lauderdale,FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

slow processor

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Display Screen, Lightweight, Easy to Set Up
Cons: Performance, slow processor
I brought this laptop about 3 weeks ago on sale for $329.99. witch was a great deal, but when I started to use the internet it was very slow. if this had a larger processor I would have given a higher rating. but I had to take it back, and I got a Tashiba NB15t with a 2.0 processor. Witch works great
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11-e010nr/e110r Laptop Computer With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A4 Accelerated Processor
October 13, 2013
TexansFan13
Houston, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

S L O W

Pros: Battery Life, Display Screen
Cons: Performance, sssllllloooowwwww, windows 8 is terrible
This was given to us to replace my wife's HP Mini netbook because of its speed, and this seems to be even slower. There's no reason a laptop is slower than a netbook, but it is. Researching it online, it turns out the dual core processor they use to promote long battery life all but eliminates your ability to multitask in the way my wife needs to. If you have the ability prior to purchase, pay extra to upgrade to a quad core processor. Everything I've read says that makes all the difference is WAY worth the extra cost.
And if you haven't used windows 8 yet - OH MY GOSH. It's terrible. Microsoft radically changed things for the sake of changing them.
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11-e010nr/e110r Laptop Computer With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A4 Accelerated Processor
February 8, 2014
Kirk
Clearfield ut
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Average

Pros: value, Display Screen, Lightweight
Cons: Performance
I like the size and weight and the price but I had to restore the hard drive twice in two days because windows had a problem. The 3rd time was the charm. It works for my 87 year old mother. Windows8.1 is a learning curve not my favorite.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11-e010nr/e110r Laptop Computer With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & AMD A4 Accelerated Processor
October 20, 2013
MaddenSixx
Amarillo, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

Not much use when it's for school

Pros: Easy to Use, Battery Life, Lightweight
Cons: Quality, Slow
I got this laptop to use purely for school. My school does a lot of things on the internet which is fine with me. This computer actually almost made me fail a test because right in the middle of the text the internet wouldn't respond and I ended the task and brought the internet up again and it wouldn't load so I had to use my personal computer and I had to rush through the test.
It's very slow. I also spent 95% of the time having to update the computer.
-1point
7out of 15found this review helpful.