Office Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Office Depot
Shop Clocks or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Microsoft® Windows® 7 Home Premium Family Pack, Upgrade Version For 3 Users, Traditional Disc

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Office Depot.

Microsoft® Windows® 7 Home Premium Family Pack, Upgrade Version For 3 Users, Traditional Disc

Item #:934353
Average Customer Rating:
4.524 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(28)
4 stars
(9)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(0)
39 of 41(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Microsoft® Windows® 7 Home Premium Family Pack, Upgrade Version For 3 Users, Traditional Disc
Review 1 for Microsoft® Windows® 7 Home Premium Family Pack, Upgrade Version For 3 Users, Traditional Disc
May 2, 2011
computertech
City, State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

thanks! Just what was needed for my home computers. No more Vista for me!!! Excellent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Microsoft® Windows® 7 Home Premium Family Pack, Upgrade Version For 3 Users, Traditional Disc
April 6, 2011
woman82
Rockford, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Great Purchase

If your thinking of upgrading this is a great bargain. Three computers for this price is great. It did take several hours but was an easy install. If I just would of waited a week and I could of saved $20.00.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Microsoft® Windows® 7 Home Premium Family Pack, Upgrade Version For 3 Users, Traditional Disc
April 2, 2011
Variable
Virginia Beach, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Windows 7 Good stuff

Great for my 3 kids computer upgrade. Re formatted their hard drives and wiped clean, reinstalled Win 7 and all 3 are like brand new and running great. 1 product 3 licenses. Great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Microsoft® Windows® 7 Home Premium Family Pack, Upgrade Version For 3 Users, Traditional Disc
March 29, 2011
zoomie
Brunswick, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Good value

I like that you can use the same liscense for 3 computers. Most families today have more than one computer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Microsoft® Windows® 7 Home Premium Family Pack, Upgrade Version For 3 Users, Traditional Disc
March 29, 2011
Looking Up
City, State
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Great new operating system

Windows 7 is very attractive and easy to navigate. It was easy to install, but did require me to start from scratch in installing my other software. I find it pleasing to work with, but could do without all the extra toolbars and icons. I like my screen orderly and simple.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Microsoft® Windows® 7 Home Premium Family Pack, Upgrade Version For 3 Users, Traditional Disc
March 22, 2011
Larry Mc
Honolulu, HI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Best Deal Ever on Windows 7 Premium

Cost per OS at three user installs is approx $35 each. You get both x86 and x64 install disks. Cost per one Win 7 Premium Upgrade is approx $89. What great savings for multiple installs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Microsoft® Windows® 7 Home Premium Family Pack, Upgrade Version For 3 Users, Traditional Disc
March 21, 2011
Frank of Oakland
Oakland, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Doews what it's supposed to

Excellent value. Not many places carry the 3 pack upgrade. EZ upgrade when going from Vista to Windows 7. No need to backup your drive first but it is recommended. If going from Windows XP to 7, you better backup your harddrive first or you most likely will lose everything. By the time you download and add all the necessary updates from Bill Gates/Microsoft, you will be in this upgrade about 5-6 hours with all the restarts and caffine breaks. But it's all worth it. Also, you can go to Microsoft first to check and see if your pc is even upgradeable. This is recommended before plunking down your Franklin.
Good luck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Microsoft® Windows® 7 Home Premium Family Pack, Upgrade Version For 3 Users, Traditional Disc
March 21, 2011
MicahM
City, State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Purchase

Ordered online received the next day! The only issue I had installing Windows 7 on 3 PCs was a compatibility issue with a sound card on an older computer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Microsoft® Windows® 7 Home Premium Family Pack, Upgrade Version For 3 Users, Traditional Disc
March 21, 2011
Scarp
City, State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Impressed!

Product priced great and afforable. Ordered online and received the software the very next day. I am totally impressed!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Microsoft® Windows® 7 Home Premium Family Pack, Upgrade Version For 3 Users, Traditional Disc
March 21, 2011
keythread
Rolla, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Not sure it's worth it.

The price caught my eye as I had exactly three computers to upgrade. But I was very disappointed with the installation. Upgrades in the past have simply required a previous "disk" for an earlier Windows version that was verified during the installation process. In this case - the previous version of Windows had to be installed. On two computers I already had Windows XP installed but for the third I had to completely install Windows XP to then install the Windows 7 upgrade. Don't like the idea of having to do this every time I change my hard disk.
Otherwise, Windows 7 seems to work well and recognized all my devices.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Microsoft® Windows® 7 Home Premium Family Pack, Upgrade Version For 3 Users, Traditional Disc
March 21, 2011
bigdaved57
City, State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Windows

Just a great product , very easy to install and works great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Microsoft® Windows® 7 Home Premium Family Pack, Upgrade Version For 3 Users, Traditional Disc
January 28, 2011
fktoml
West Carrollton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Windows 7 Home Premium Family 3-Pack

Great buy. Recommend this if you need to upgrade 3 copies of Windows to Windows 7 Home Premium.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Microsoft® Windows® 7 Home Premium Family Pack, Upgrade Version For 3 Users, Traditional Disc
November 10, 2009
Bleutoo
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65
Bought this product:In-store

Windows 7 Home Premium Review

I installed Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit as an upgrade to Windows XP Pro 32-bit. The installation went very smoothly. I used Windows Easy Transfer to transfer my files and settings to a spare hard disk without any problems. I installed Windows 7 64-bit on a new disk leaving my system as a dual-boot XP or 7. (You get two disks with the family pack upgrade, one for 32-bit and one for 64-bit.) I was able to find 64-bit drivers for all but one device, an older ATI Theatrix 650 TV tuner and video capture card. All other devices either had a driver on the Windows installation disk, or had downloadable drivers from the manufacturer. Installation time was a lot faster than XP, though a bit longer if you include the Easy Transfer step. Since it was a new installation, I did have to reload my applications. So far, all of them have run without any problems, even those that had some issues under XP seem to work flawlessly under 7 (particularly Pinnacle Studio 12). I was pleasantly surprised at how well the Easy Transfer worked. Most of my settings, transferred over to the Windows 7 installation. Even settings for many of my applications.
Impressions:
So far I have to say 7 is a vast improvement over Vista and XP. Microsoft has eliminated or at least greatly improved the many annoying issues with Vista, and has significantly improved the stability and speed compared to XP. The improvement over startup and shutdown times alone would be worth the upgrade. The touch and feel is a nice compromise between old and new. I also like the new library feature of 7. It offers a new simply yet elegant way to organize files.
Although how you get to a lot of operating system tasks have been moved around from where they were in XP, I have had very little trouble figuring out how to do what I used to do in XP. It is actually pretty intuitive. My guess is most people who upgrade from XP to 7 will be very happy. Those who upgrade from Vista will be ecstatic.
I would highly recommend this upgrade for anyone who is stuck using Windows. Make sure you use the Upgrade Advisor first so you can check for any problems and download new drivers, particularly if you choose to install the 64-bit version instead of the 32-bit version.
My computer is home-built with an Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 on a GIGABYTE GA-EP35C-DS3R mother board w/ 3G memory. My next attempt will be on an older HP dc7600. HP does not offer Windows 7 drivers for this model, so we'll see how well it works.
I bought my copy locally at Office Depot for $150 or $50 per license, not a bad price for what you get.
+159points
163out of 167found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Microsoft® Windows® 7 Home Premium Family Pack, Upgrade Version For 3 Users, Traditional Disc
October 26, 2009
danthecomputerman
Pewaukee, Wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Better Than Vista!

In general, I think that Microsoft has put a lot of time into doing Windows 7. It's easier to use, it's faster, and it has a lot of cool features. I really like the fact that it made my computer startup/shutdown faster, and also go to sleep and wake up from sleep faster. Do I think that you should go out and get this and upgrade your XP or Vista machine? Definitely! It's highly worth it for all of the features your getting along with the benefits of being able to install this on 3 different computers with the family pack. Get it! Now!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Microsoft® Windows® 7 Home Premium Family Pack, Upgrade Version For 3 Users, Traditional Disc
Based on the average of (28) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 26 out of 27