Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP Envy x2 11-g010nr Convertible Tablet With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & Intel® Atom™ Processor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Office Depot.

HP Envy x2 11-g010nr Convertible Tablet With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & Intel® Atom™ Processor

Item #:948607
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(15)
4 stars
(11)
3 stars
(6)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(7)
26 of 40(65%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HP Envy x2 11-g010nr Convertible Tablet With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & Intel® Atom™ Processor
Review 1 for HP Envy x2 11-g010nr Convertible Tablet With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & Intel® Atom™ Processor
June 2, 2014
Erich
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Beats Audio is a disappointment!

Pros: Battery Life, Lightweight, Quality
Cons: sound volume low, windows 8
Can hardly hear the sound. All forums seem to report the same issue. PLEASE HP, fix this! Other than the volume issue and it having Win8 I love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Envy x2 11-g010nr Convertible Tablet With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & Intel® Atom™ Processor
March 6, 2014
Taylor
Atlanta, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

I wanted to like it

Pros: value, Easy to Use, Battery Life
Cons: Heavy/Bulky, Performance, mouse disappears, low volume
When I purchased this product in Sept 2013 I was trying to find something that doubled as a laptop and a tablet. I wasn't looking for any sort of major storage and / or computing power, but rather something I could answer work emails on while also storing my music & photos. I loved it at first but then as time went on it just started acting very strange at times.
I was charging it overnight this week and the next day it wouldn't turn on at all. I figure it didn't charge right, but sure enough nothing changed. When I pushed the power button it would vibrate like it wanted to start but then nothing. Took it to the Office Depot techs and they tell me it's completely done for. Here I am not even 6 months later and I already have to use the 1-yr factory warranty. I'd rather switch computers, but I also don't want to be out $600.
Pros
Great to Travel With
Long Battery Life (others have had trouble)
Very Portable
Quick Start Up
Cons
Mouse would disappear often
Didn't last 6 months
Volume was weak at best
Couldn't import any movies easily
When used as a laptop it becomes extremely top-heavy. Had to hold it upright when used on my lap.
Storage space used up completely with a couple thousand songs in iTunes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Envy x2 11-g010nr Convertible Tablet With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & Intel® Atom™ Processor
October 5, 2013
monkeybut
hawaii
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

great product

Pros: value, Battery Life, Display Screen, Quality, Easy to Set Up
This computer is not for everyone, but for those of us that simply need a device that can do basic functions well and be fun to use this is the one. At the $550 price points it is a great deal. Read the specs and if fits your needs go ahead and buy it. It was worked great for me with no tech issues. Looks great and is very versatile. Windows 8 is fun and I think better then the other OS, but it takes getting use to. But very fun!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Envy x2 11-g010nr Convertible Tablet With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & Intel® Atom™ Processor
August 29, 2013
AWM81
San Francisco, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Terrible. Broken after 5 months.

Pros: Lightweight, Easy to Set Up
Cons: Quality, Performance, known issues, breaks easily, defective, camera broken, dead after 5 months, horrible way to spend your money, best $600 paperweight i've ever purchased!, buyer beware, missing my fantasy football draft
I normally don't write reviews, but I feel very strongly that I need to warn others about the HP Envy x2.
I did a fair amount of researching online prior to purchase, but not a deep dive. I regret this one, and here's why:
When I first took it home, I started looking through the features and attempted to use the camera. It did not work. At all. It had an error message. Knowing I only had 14 days to return, I took it back and got a new one. This should have been a red flag!
The camera on the second one worked fine, and so I kept it. Now, I mainly only use my laptop to online shop, and browse the web, so this thing was NOT worked to death. Maybe 1-2 hours a day of internet browsing. The only thing I even downloaded was iTunes, and I hooked up my photostream for iPhone. That is it.
Anyway, it started acting buggy and the mouse would disappear randomly (you had to restart to get it to come back, the mouse options in settings do nothing) and actually I read another reviewer had the same issue, so I was bummed.
Then it started having browser issues, not loading websites property. Still, I couldn't blame this on the Envy so I kept on, and just lived with restarting it all the time. Then a few days ago, the screen resolution was randomly resetting itself to be teeny tiny, like 3"x4". Assuming that I must have hit some hot keys to cause this, I tried resetting the screen resolution in "Settings" - which is not easy to do on a 3x4 shrunken screen, btw. That did not fix it, and moments later it just crashed. Shut down. Dead. Would not restart. I left it alone for several hours, hoping it would work again later. Nothing, still dead. I left it alone for a day, and still dead. I'm writing this review from my office PC and tonight I plan to drain the battery completely, and then try one more time. Beyond that, I have to throw myself on the mercy of the HP warranty, and I'm not looking forward to that. This was supposed to be an easy, fun toy, and it's anything but. I paid the sale price and would have probably been happy if it lasted 12-18 months. But 5 months and it's a paperweight? Ridiculous.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Envy x2 11-g010nr Convertible Tablet With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & Intel® Atom™ Processor
July 29, 2013
jpenvyx2
Los Angeles, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Buyer Beware! Serious Touch Screen Issues

Cons: Poorly Built/Quality, Screen/Display
There is a widespread and annoying issue with the touchscreens on these tablets where large portions of the screen are not responsive when you place the tablet on certain surfaces (demonstrated in video). I had this issue with my tablet and sent it for repair only to have it returned by HP with a note saying "NO DEFECT FOUND", despite the fact that the repair engineer called me and told me he was able to see the issue. I don't know if that is indicative of a screw up in the repair process or whether this is an issue that HP knows about and is choosing to ignore/deny it.
After complaining about the issue HP offered a replacement which they sent to me a week late after being told it would only take 3 days. The replacement has the exact same issue.
A quick search on google for "HP Envy X2 grounding issue" will show a thread on HP's support forum where a number of customers are experiencing the same issue.
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Touchscreen Issue
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Envy x2 11-g010nr Convertible Tablet With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & Intel® Atom™ Processor
July 24, 2013
LoRaw
Portland, OR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

What a disapointment!

Pros: Battery Life, Screen/Display, Lightweight
Cons: Sound Quality, Speed/Performance, Difficult to Use, touchpad/mouse, windows 8 software
I did quite a bit of homework before purchasing this product. I am what you would call a "late adopter" and am never first to buy the most/best/newest technology products on the market. And purchasing the HP Envy only confirms my attitude. I've only had it for a few short weeks, but I have been plagued by issue after issue since the start. The touch pad is awful!!! The controls for reducing its squirrely feel and constant jumping the cursor don't work. I have also turned on my tablet and discovered no touch pad function at least a dozen times since I bought it. I am also experiencing a malfunction in shutting whatever I'm working on #internet, app, calendar# and being inexplicably sent back to the start menu right in the middle of what I'm doing. The idea of a small notebook with a detachable keyboard seems like a good idea, but the other functionality is no trade off. Even on sale $600 is not a small amount to spend on something that doesn't work very well. I'm ready to return this and go back to my dinosaur of a laptop.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Envy x2 11-g010nr Convertible Tablet With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & Intel® Atom™ Processor
July 14, 2013
Elin
Atlanta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Amateur
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65

Incompatible with Google

Pros: Well Built/Quality
Cons: Difficult to Use
If you use Google email, calendar and contacts, do not buy this machine. In fact avoid ALL WINDOWS 8 products as they share this glitch. Without a clunky workaround, it won't sync your Google files with your Android devices.
If you want to use Microsoft mail, calendar and contacts, then enjoy. It's a nice machine.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Envy x2 11-g010nr Convertible Tablet With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & Intel® Atom™ Processor
June 29, 2013
Great little laptop
Fargo, ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Traditional Office
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65

Very portable laptop

Pros: value, Battery Life, Screen/Display, Lightweight, Well Built/Quality, Easy to Set Up, Speed/Performance
Bought this to carry with me when traveling and typing up notes in the car. It recovers from sleep mode quickly which makes it very nice entering some notes every 20 minutes or so and then let it hibernate again. It runs Office, file managing programs, imports photos from SD card, runs GPS mapping program and a database for our business. Having the ability to run WIndows programs was a determining factor in selecting this PC. Android and iOS don't run the programs that I need for business tasks. I used an external DVD drive to load software from DVDs.
I haven't used the tablet form much, but the keyboard attaches and separates easily from the screen. I can type so much faster with the keyboard than with a tablet, so I have left the keyboard attached. A charge will last multiple days for me since I don't use it for an extended period at a time.
I hope to try the tablet form out a bit more as time progresses. It should be even easier to type while sitting in a car without the keyboard.
I'm very pleased with this purchase.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Envy x2 11-g010nr Convertible Tablet With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & Intel® Atom™ Processor
May 26, 2013
Mary
Austin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Amateur
Primary Use:School User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65
Gender of user:Female
Age of user:11 - 20

Happy with this purchase

Pros: Battery Life, Screen/Display, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Well Built/Quality, Easy to Set Up, Speed/Performance
Cons: Sound Quality
SO far, good battery life, nice, compact, precise
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Envy x2 11-g010nr Convertible Tablet With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & Intel® Atom™ Processor
April 13, 2013
Chris
Denver
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65

Excellent for my purposes

Pros: value, Battery Life, Screen/Display, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Well Built/Quality, Easy to Set Up
Solidly built, excellent keyboard, excellent touch. No problems with machine at all. Only reservation is that the active stylus is not available yet. Battery life is superb - I can use all day without problems. Citrix Receiver from Microsoft store does not work, but I can reach my server through Citrix Gateway.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Envy x2 11-g010nr Convertible Tablet With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & Intel® Atom™ Processor
April 7, 2013
migg
San Clemente, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:26 - 35
Gender of user:Male
Age of user:31 - 40

Good purchase

Pros: value, Battery Life, Screen/Display, Lightweight, Well Built/Quality, Easy to Set Up
Cons: table too heavy for keyboard
Awesome product, unfortunately it still has a few bugs that make it difficult to use... esp when it gets stuck in half screen or over magnification... but other than that... it is freakin cool and will be the way of the future. thank you
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Envy x2 11-g010nr Convertible Tablet With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & Intel® Atom™ Processor
April 6, 2013
Ali
Cooper City, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65

Good Buy

Pros: Battery Life, Screen/Display, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Well Built/Quality, Easy to Set Up, Speed/Performance
Cons: Value/Price, Sound Quality
Good tablet. Sound quality is very good, but a bit low. I returned an ASUS vivo bcause the volume was too low. I would have liked to find a USB on the tablet as oppose to th keyboard. Overall, though, this is a very nice convertable tablet with a sleek design.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Envy x2 11-g010nr Convertible Tablet With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & Intel® Atom™ Processor
March 30, 2013
Yusef
New jersey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Student
Primary Use:Pleasure
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:15 or younger

Amazing!

Pros: Battery Life, Screen/Display, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Well Built/Quality, Easy to Set Up, Speed/Performance
Cons: Sound Quality
Good quality meets expectations and overall a good buy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Envy x2 11-g010nr Convertible Tablet With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & Intel® Atom™ Processor
March 24, 2013
mcfly
football, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Pleasure
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:26 - 35

great product

Pros: Sound Quality, value, Battery Life, Screen/Display, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Well Built/Quality, Easy to Set Up, Speed/Performance
This item was excellent. Everyone else's went up 100 dollars but they kept it on sale! Easy to use and capability to use as a tablet or computer which is great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP Envy x2 11-g010nr Convertible Tablet With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & Intel® Atom™ Processor
March 17, 2013
tgueth
Troy, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:46 - 65

Outstanding tablet/laptop - great unit

Pros: value, Battery Life, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Well Built/Quality, Easy to Set Up, Speed/Performance
Cons: ssd drive size
This is an oustanding example of what a Windows 8 tablet can be, with good enough functionality for general usage as a laptop. As a tablet, this is a great device. Responsive and fast. Just works great.
As a laptop, it is good. While the Atom processor is a little less than I would like, the great battery life is a very good tradeoff. With the SSD drive, as a laptop it is very responsive. For general work, it is fast.
Love the keyboard lock mechanism. Solid as a rock. A small complaint is takes a bit of a pull to disconnect the tablet, but it is a minor complaint.
The SSD is a little small at 32 gig (there is a 64 gig version). If it was over 100 gig, this would be a perfect device. I look forward to this unit in another year or two.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Envy x2 11-g010nr Convertible Tablet With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & Intel® Atom™ Processor
March 11, 2013
cmc2534
virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:26 - 35
Gender of user:Female
Age of user:31 - 40

Nice comprimse of tablet and computer

Pros: Sound Quality, value, Battery Life, Screen/Display, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Well Built/Quality, Easy to Set Up, Speed/Performance
I was an hour from returning this hybrid for something else, horrible problems with connecting to a wireless network, connection dropping off to 2 bars and then to none within 10 feet of router. Everything else in my house worked. Ive been through all the upgrades and all of my wireless features. Took over a week but the problem was fixed by either an upgrade that took forever to become effective or the fact that I lowered the strength of my wireless routers signal output from high to medium. Not sure if its the limitations of the tablet itself or not but all of my signals are coming in better with a lowered signal. Go figure. my only concern is that public wifi isnt adjustable so this may be a problem when I take it on the road or to other homes.
Overall this is well made and fairly quick device, with the keyboard included its a great deal with an awesome battery life. Really like it now that the wireless is connecting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Envy x2 11-g010nr Convertible Tablet With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & Intel® Atom™ Processor
March 10, 2013
Matt
Rapid City, SD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:School User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Male
Age:26 - 35

Wow. Blown away

Pros: Battery Life, Screen/Display, Speed/Performance
I patiently waited for this X2 to be released and finally it's in my hands!! It's everything they advertise it to be. Sleek, responsive, stupid long battery life, impressive sound, and screen clarity. I've had this machine for about a week and I haven't had any of the typing gliches others mentioned. I had the sound gliche but I downloaded the BIOS software update from HPsupport.com and it took care of it. I've watched netflix with no problems, downloaded and used the full microsoft software with no problems. I'm very impressed that this tablet runs the full windows 8 and microsoft, and everything else. I love love love the ability to add 2 additional SD cards, AND two USB slots. I'm just tickled happy with this machine. I really hope the other customers give it a second chance, these convertables are the future of computing and they just need to work out some bugs. Oh, also, I don't have any worrys about the detaching the tablet and keyboard lasting forever, once you try it you can see it's very well built. My wife and I spent our tax return on new tablets. She got the Ipad 2, I got the Envy X2. She's jealous.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Envy x2 11-g010nr Convertible Tablet With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & Intel® Atom™ Processor
January 11, 2013
Sally
Charlotte, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Home Office
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:26 - 35

Ugh...Most frustrating computer ever!

Pros: sleek well made design
Cons: not for typing
I was so excited to get this computer and waited months for it to be released. Currently waiting on the return package to get rid of this horrible thing....I have multiple HP laptops and printers and have never had anything but praise, the reason I was so excited that this was released. It looks and feels sleek, feels durable and well made. Unfortunately, once you turn it on, that all changes. The space bar sometimes does one space, but will randomly do two. A lot of times, when keys are pressed, they do not register. While typing more a few words, the curser will jump around and make you start writing in the middle of other words or at the beginning. It is very slow moving as well. The two interfaces (Windows 8 and conventional Windows 7 window) do not interact. If you are on the internet on one and open the other, it doesn't carryover the page. I cannot watch Netflix on the Windows 8 interface because although Silverlight is downloaded, it only works in the Windows 7 window. This just begins to describe my problems with the computer. <-ah, see, the double space between the "with" and "the"!! I hope it is just quirks with mine and not all X2s, but time will tell. In the meantime, I can't wait to send mine back.
+5points
11out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP Envy x2 11-g010nr Convertible Tablet With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & Intel® Atom™ Processor
January 6, 2013
Free Thinkers Society
Edmond, Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:36 - 45

HP ENVY x2

Pros: it's an hp!
Beautiful! Sleek design, love the keyboard, did I mention D-E-T-A-C-H-A-B-L-E screen!, 64 GB SSD, Windows 8, DURABLE, BEATS AUDIO!, Great Camera, smooth feel on the touchpad, portable, silver, bottom has a lift-bar built it.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for HP Envy x2 11-g010nr Convertible Tablet With 11.6 Touch-Screen Display & Intel® Atom™ Processor
Based on the average of (25) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 15 out of 25