Office Depot Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Office Depot® Brand Mobile Folding Cart With Lid, 16H x 18W x 15D, Black

Office Depot® Brand Mobile Folding Cart With Lid, 16H x 18W x 15D, Black

Item #:987304
Average Customer Rating:
3.432 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Overall Rating Totals
5 stars
(15)
4 stars
(8)
3 stars
(2)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(10)
24 of 36(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Office Depot® Brand Mobile Folding Cart With Lid, 16H x 18W x 15D, Black
Review 1 for Office Depot® Brand Mobile Folding Cart With Lid, 16H x 18W x 15D, Black
June 27, 2014
Anne T
Redondo Beach, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Not A Good Purchase

Pros: good wheels
Cons: Flimsy, cheap, unsturdy, dont waste your money
Within 4 months of purchase, the bottom of the crate cracked and the sides caved in. I believe I loaded in approximately 12-15 lbs. Not a heavy load considering the crate was supposed to support 70 lbs.. I only used it 4-5 x a week from car to client homes. The crate is flimsy, cannot support weight and could have a longer, adjustable handle. Not A good purchase - don't waste your money.....................
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Office Depot® Brand Mobile Folding Cart With Lid, 16H x 18W x 15D, Black
June 7, 2014
Instructor
Fort Worth, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

You get what you pay for

Pros: price
Cons: construction of cart
I purchased this cart for carrying my books to and from class. As an instructors, sometimes I carry five to six books to class each day. This cart can not handle the weight of regular textbooks. Bottom fell out after a month of use.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Office Depot® Brand Mobile Folding Cart With Lid, 16H x 18W x 15D, Black
May 4, 2014
Jeff
San Jose, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Broke the first use

This cheap and broke the first use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Office Depot® Brand Mobile Folding Cart With Lid, 16H x 18W x 15D, Black
April 16, 2014
MPaff
Gainesville, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

Didn't last a year

Thin plastic which can barely carry 10 pounds of books - the entire bottom cracked and dislodged all my class supplies in the parking lot --- during a particularly cold, windy, and wet day. Horrible. I cursed this piece of worthless filth so much, the devil would have smiled. To replace this cheaply made, over-priced accumulation of garbage, I purchased a steel retracting hand-cart and a Rubbermaid Roughneck storage tote. For the same price as this chunk of refuse.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Office Depot® Brand Mobile Folding Cart With Lid, 16H x 18W x 15D, Black
March 15, 2014
Music Teacher
Palo Alto, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Functional Folding Cart at a Reasonable Price

Pros: light for lifting into and out of my car, wheels are sturdy, easy to fold up
Cons: handle will break eventually
I use this cart every day for my job which involves driving from school to school teaching music. It's great for getting all my instruments and materials into and out of my classroom at each school. The cart is relatively sturdy on a day to day basis, but the weak point is the telescoping handle. Sooner or later it just stops working; it either stops going back into the cart or it stops coming out of the cart. At that point I have to buy a new cart. The shortest time until the handle broke was about three months. The longest time was three years. But I keep getting this same cart because it really is the best for the price.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Office Depot® Brand Mobile Folding Cart With Lid, 16H x 18W x 15D, Black
March 15, 2014
Brenda
Minnesota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Already Broken

I used this for the first time. I raised the handle all the way up but after several times, the handle will not go completely down.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Office Depot® Brand Mobile Folding Cart With Lid, 16H x 18W x 15D, Black
March 14, 2014
Charlie
Tucson az
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

Flimsy don't waste money on it

I bought this cart and it fell apart within a couple uses they use cheap plastic things to hold the cart together and they don't stand up to shlepping materials to and from a classroom. Book, Files etc..I've spoken to other teachers and Office Depot employees that indicated similar problems with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Office Depot® Brand Mobile Folding Cart With Lid, 16H x 18W x 15D, Black
February 8, 2014
ladybug6
ladybug6
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Other

good for crafting

It was able to carry my sewing machine and fabric to the quilting shop, instead of making two trips and lugging it all with a bad back
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Office Depot® Brand Mobile Folding Cart With Lid, 16H x 18W x 15D, Black
December 21, 2013
John
central PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Really helpful cart

Pros: very robust, takes a lot of abuse, easy to keep clean, holds a lot of stuff, ideal size
As an older guy who needs some assistance with heavy loads, this cart is the perfect answer. The wheels are substantial. The design is very functional. People always ask me where I got this little gem. I take it everywhere.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Office Depot® Brand Mobile Folding Cart With Lid, 16H x 18W x 15D, Black
November 30, 2013
Cassandra
Taos, New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

love it

I adore my little cart - it means I can load my groceries up at the store, and wheel it from my van into the kitchen in one trip!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Office Depot® Brand Mobile Folding Cart With Lid, 16H x 18W x 15D, Black
November 3, 2013
Stoneykat
New Jersey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

A good product if you get one that works

Pros: holds a lot, durable if treated well, attractive, small to carry
Cons: handle gets stuck, clips don't clip tight
I ordered this cart because I backed up over my previous one and crushed it. When the order came, it was a terrible delivery. The cart was defective in that the side clips did not clip all the way closed. The bottom panel did not fall down by itself. I had to push it down. So, in order to avoid shipping it back, I took it to the store, which was a 45 minute drive to exchange it. The good news is that the store manager in Voorhees Office Depot was very kind and considerate when I realized I forgot to bring the lid. He just switched out the lid and we opened it and tested all the problem areas and I went home with a really good product and I was very happy. So, the cart is a good product if you get one that works in all the problem areas. I wasn't willing to settle for a cart that was not in perfect condition. I have been buying these carts for years and love them, I get a lot of compliments on them when people see me carrying them folded up. They stop me and ask me what is that I am carrying, and I have to open it up so they can see it and I tell them I bought it at Office Depot.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Office Depot® Brand Mobile Folding Cart With Lid, 16H x 18W x 15D, Black
October 26, 2013
Katstone
Winslow Township, New Jersey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Home User

Love this product

Pros: get lots of compliments, small but holds a lot
Cons: some of the carts have problem areas, the handle does not got down easily
I have to say that this is my 4th cart and I was very dissatisfied with the cart. The floor of the cart did not fall down on its own. I had to push it down. The clips on the side did not close all the way, and the handle did not go down easily. I didn't want to go through shipping it back so I called the store and they let me exchange it. The store is about a 45 minute ride for me and when I got there, I forgot the lid. The manager of the Office Depot in Voorhees was very kind and considerate and just took the lid from the new one (actually, the one I brought in was new also) and let me open the cart and test all the problem areas. It was perfect. So, the good part is that I got a great product. The floor fell down, the clips closed all the way and the handle went down easily. The Office Depot Manager in Voorhees was the best customer service rep and treated me with respect and consideration so that I didn't have to drive back to the store. Now, I am very happy. I was very dissatisfied with the delivery. He told me that the delivery is a different entity from OD and it was a nightmare. The inside of the delivery box was crushed. I ordered an inkjet cartridge and 2 reams of paper. The box with the inkjet cartridge was crushed and one of the reams of paper was torn open. .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Office Depot® Brand Mobile Folding Cart With Lid, 16H x 18W x 15D, Black
October 15, 2013
Boat Captn
South East - USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primary Use:School User

Awesome cart!

Pros: light weight, Durable, huge help, Easy to Use, easy to store
I purchased my cart several years ago. I'm a teacher for a specialized industry and because of that I travel a lot and bring my books, materials, etc. with me. My cart lasted 4 years!! I finally have to replace it due to the fact the pins in the handle, which keep it from falling down, have completely broken off. I loved my cart and it has been such a big help. Perhaps the fact I got mine so long ago is the reason it was more durable, can't really attest to that yet. I can tell you though, I HAVE overloaded this cart with no problems and it's held up going over flights of stairs, sidewalks, asphalt - you name it - throughout 10 different states. I'm getting a new one today!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Office Depot® Brand Mobile Folding Cart With Lid, 16H x 18W x 15D, Black
October 10, 2013
Just another shopper
Tulsa, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

Very useful, know the limits

Pros: convenient size, wheels, sturdy enough if you don't push it
Cons: no place to attach the lid if not using as a lid, very unstable if you put in something too wide
This cart is really handy to lug some stuff around, but it definitely has it's limits... if you push them, you'll probably be unhappy.
I'm using it to store and carry presentation equipment for a professional society... projector, microphone, power cords, etc. One of the boxes in it is a little bit wider than this cart, and if you try to fit it in it will push out on the sides and the whole thing becomes unstable. If I turn that box on it's side, it sticks out the top but since I'm not trying to stack anything on, it still works for me. It's important to use the "sticks" that store in the base to hold the side hinges in place, otherwise it's really unstable regardless.
From reading the reviews it sounds like there is a market for a heavier duty model. Some of those people might look at a separate folding cart and just a regular file box or crate of some sort.
One thing I really don't understand, as cleverly designed as it is to fold up to a compact size, why is there no place to store the lid when it is folded? Or if, as in my case, when what I am carrying sticks out the top and the lid won't fit? It seems like it should have a place to store the lid on one of the sides when not in use. It is a pain to carry folded if you have the lid too. The fact that in the store the cardboard and tape hold the lid in place confirmed my suspicion I'm not missing some way to attach it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Office Depot® Brand Mobile Folding Cart With Lid, 16H x 18W x 15D, Black
August 22, 2013
Pepe5080
Miami
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Primary Use:Business User

As bad and weak as competitor

Pros: price
Cons: weak, short life cycle
Office Depot brand products are usually good products... this might be the exeption. This cart is as bad and weak as the original product, the only difference is that this one has a lower price. The only reason why I keep buying it is because I didn't find a decent product to replace it. Avg life cycle is 3 monts. Dissapointed.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Office Depot® Brand Mobile Folding Cart With Lid, 16H x 18W x 15D, Black
July 16, 2013
BrokenNeckandProduct
San Francisco Bay Area
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:In-store
Gender:Male
Age:36 - 45

FAILING Cart with Lid

Cons: entire product is worthless
I purchased the Office Depot Brand, "Mobile Folding Cart with Lid", that should be re-named the FAILING Cart. This is the worst product I have purchased this year! It has broken in 7 places with just 1 & 1/2 weeks light use. The bottom panel has plastic pins that easily break, the 1/8 portion of the bottom of the back started to crack on the third use. The lid does not have any area designated to pull it off. I used it for light files, as I am disabled. I purchased two, as I thought it would work great for my wife also... Double the trouble. The same areas failed on hers also.
Brittle plastic that is not even recycled. On close observation, you will not see any Office Depot logo, or any other identifying or manufacturing ID's on the product, except the paper sticker... That was their smartest design feature! I have purchased another similar product from another retailer that is excellent with three months use. Don't even waste your time considering this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Office Depot® Brand Mobile Folding Cart With Lid, 16H x 18W x 15D, Black
November 18, 2012
greenie
san Jose, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Home User
Bought this product:In-store

collapsible cart

Pros: lightweight & compact
Cons: Flimsy
This well designed, lightweight cart only lasted 2 years for me before the bottom dropped down and the front part ripped out. I didn't exceed the maximum weight or abuse it. I'd pay twice the price for a lightweight metal one, but all are plastic.
I have belted my new one in two places and duct taped the interior to reduce the risk of the side prongs not engaging the bottom slots which I suspect was the cause of my last mishap.
The need for an improved design is a great opportunity for a clever person!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Office Depot® Brand Mobile Folding Cart With Lid, 16H x 18W x 15D, Black
September 6, 2012
listgirl
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a(n):Enthusiast
Primary Use:Pleasure
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:36 - 45

Great scrapbook crop bin!

Pros: big enough to fit everything, easy to roll, nicely priced
I purchased this rolling crate the night before going to a scrapbooking crop at a store. This crate was big enough to fit my supplies so that everything is in one place and I don't have to carry extra totes or bags. The plastic IRIS scrapbooking bins fits in the crate sideways. I found it sturdy and perfect for my cropping needs.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Office Depot® Brand Mobile Folding Cart With Lid, 16H x 18W x 15D, Black
August 9, 2012
SespeSally
Southern California
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:School User
Bought this product:Online
Gender:Female
Age:46 - 65

Great Design - Handy, but Poor Quality

These carts are very handy and easy to use, but we keep having to replace them because they're not very sturdy. We keep replacing them because they're so handy, but we would much rather pay more for higher quality construction, and would probably save money in the long run. We give them heavy use moving art and activity materials for classes for young children and their parents.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Office Depot® Brand Mobile Folding Cart With Lid, 16H x 18W x 15D, Black
May 22, 2012
SmallOfficeFL
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am a(n):Professional
Primary Use:Business User
Bought this product:Online

Poor construction, flimsy, not worth it

Pros: holds files
Cons: cheap construction, Flimsy, not worth the price
I purchased this product to tote various files back and forth. I was supposed to be able to grab the handle, hit the button in the center, and lift the handle up to pull it (like you would for a small suitcase). It pulls up but is not that smooth. When you need to put it back down, again you are supposed to be able to push the button and lower the handle. On the one I just ordered, one side lowers and the other side is jammed.
This product is cheap and will be returned. Simply grabbing the handle moves the handlebar's plastic around and looks as though it will break.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>